DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 19, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Sarhan (MY190044) in view of Tomalin (US 2020/0061729). An English machine translation of Sarhan (MY190044) is included with the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
With respect to the limitations of claims 1 and 19, Sarhan teaches an electrode (Fig 1, electrode wire 100, Pg 7, Lines 20-25) comprising: a metallic electrode body (first layer 104, Pg 8, Lines 1-12) having an exterior surface region, the metallic electrode body formed of a copper-based alloy throughout a body thickness of the metallic electrode body (Pg 8, Lines 6-12, copper), and the exterior surface region is an enriched surface region of the copper-based alloy that is enriched in the at least one of aluminum or chromium relative (second layer 106, Zn-Al alloy, 5-10% Al content, Pg 8, Lines 14-19) to the copper-based alloy, metallic electrode body having a body configuration. Sarhan discloses the claimed invention except for the body configuration is selected from the group consisting of a hollow cylindrical body that defines an inner surface that borders a flow passage, a solid cylinder body and a combed body that has parallel spaced-apart fingers.
However, Tomalin discloses the body configuration is selected from the group consisting of a hollow cylindrical body that defines an inner surface (Fig 5B, core inner shell 74, copper, copper zinc alloy, 0032) that borders a flow passage (passage 52, 0028), a solid cylinder body and a combed body that has parallel spaced-apart fingers is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the electrode of Sarhan having a metallic electrode body formed of a copper-based alloy silent to the recited body configuration with the body configuration is selected from the group consisting of a hollow cylindrical body that defines an inner surface that borders a flow passage, a solid cylinder body and a combed body that has parallel spaced-apart fingers of Tomalin for the purpose of forming a known hollow electrode configuration that helps flush removed particles from the workpiece (0028).
With respect to the limitations of claims 2, 5 and 20, Sarhan teaches the metallic electrode body includes an interior region (102, 104) underlying the surface region (106), and the surface region has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 5% by weight (Pg 8, Lines 14-19, 5-10% Al by weight and is present in an amount of 5 wt% of total weight of the electrode wire);
the enriched surface region of the copper-based alloy is enriched in aluminum (Pg 8, Lines 14-19, 5-10% Al);
the body configuration is the solid cylinder body (first layer 104).
With respect to the limitations of claim 21, Sarhan in view of Tomalin discloses the claimed invention except for the body configuration is the combed body that has parallel spaced-apart fingers. However, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have the body configuration is the combed body that has parallel spaced-apart fingers, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and that discovering the optimum or workable shape configuration involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04).
Claim 3, 4, 6, 7 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Sarhan (MY190044) in view of Tomalin (US 2020/0061729) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Ochiai (US 2007/0104585).
With respect to the limitations of claims 3, 4, 6 and 7, Sarhan discloses the metallic electrode body includes an interior region (first layer 104) underlying the surface region (second layer 106). Sarhan in view of Tomalin discloses the claimed invention except for the surface region has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 10% by weight; the surface region has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 25% by weight; the exterior surface region is enriched in chromium; the exterior surface region is enriched in aluminum and chromium.
However, Ochiai discloses the surface region has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 10% by weight (0006, 0049 electrodes 31, 33, 35 made from aluminum or chromium powder are considered mostly aluminum or chromium and have a material content to greater than 10% by weight); the surface region has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 25% by weight (0006, 0049 electrodes 31, 33, 35 made from aluminum or chromium powder are considered mostly aluminum or chromium and have a material content to greater than 25% by weight); the exterior surface region is enriched in chromium (Fig 3, electrodes 31, 33, 35, 0006, 0049, employing a molded body molded from mixed powders of one or more of an aluminum powder, an aluminum alloy powder, a chromium powder and a chromium alloy powder); the exterior surface region is enriched in aluminum and chromium (0006, 0049, one or more of an aluminum powder, an aluminum alloy powder, a chromium powder and a chromium alloy powder) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the electrode of Sarhan in view of Tomalin having an aluminum surface region silent to the recited weight percentage, chromium and aluminum and chromium layer with the surface region has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 10% by weight; the surface region has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 25% by weight; the exterior surface region is enriched in chromium; the exterior surface region is enriched in aluminum and chromium of Ochiai for the purpose of providing a known electrode that is suitable for forming a protective coating having oxidation resistance formed on a metal turbine component (0006) by electric discharge processing (0007), thereby improving the overall versality of the electrode.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have the surface region has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 10% by weight; the surface region has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 25% by weight, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable weight % ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04).
With respect to the limitations of claims 22, 23 and 24, Sarhan teaches the enriched surface region of the copper-based alloy has a thickness of up to 0.1 millimeters (Pg 8, Par 3, second layer 106 is having a thickness of 5 microns).
Claims 23 and 24 are also rejected because they are dependent upon claim 1.
Claims 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ochiai (US 2007/0104585) in view of Sarhan (MY190044) and Tomalin (US 2020/0061729) as evidenced by Malmborg (US 2019/0284675).
With respect to the limitations of claim 13, Ochiai teaches a method of machining comprising: providing a metallic workpiece that is formed of an alloy (0001, 0002, 0021, turbine airfoil 1) that has a composition that includes at least one of aluminum (as evidenced by Malmborg, 0002, gas turbine engine airfoils (e.g., fan blades, vanes, etc.) have been made from a solid metal (e.g., nickel, aluminum, titanium, or alloys thereof)) or chromium; providing an electrode that includes a metallic electrode body that has a surface region that is enriched in at least one of aluminum or chromium (Fig 3, electrodes 31, 33, 35, 0006, 0049, employing a molded body molded from mixed powders of one or more of an aluminum powder, an aluminum alloy powder, a chromium powder and a chromium alloy powder); bringing the electrode into proximity (processing head 29, 0026) of the metallic workpiece (airfoil main body 5); and providing a voltage differential across (support member 37 is electrically connected to the electric power source 27, 0026, 0030) the metallic workpiece (5) and the electrode (31, 33, 35), the voltage differential causing an electric arc that removes material from the metallic workpiece and vaporizes at least a portion of the surface region of the electrode (0030, 0033), the at least one of aluminum or chromium that is vaporized from the surface region suppresses vaporization loss of aluminum or chromium from the metallic workpiece (0030, 0033). Ochiai discloses the claimed invention except for the metallic electrode body formed of a copper-based alloy throughout a body thickness of the metallic electrode body, and the exterior surface region is an enriched surface region of the copper-based alloy that is enriched in the at least one of aluminum or chromium relative to the copper-based alloy, metallic electrode body having a body configuration selected from the group consisting of a hollow cylindrical body that defines an inner surface that borders a flow passage, a solid cylinder body and a combed body that has parallel spaced-apart fingers.
However, Sarhan discloses the metallic electrode body (first layer 104, Pg 8, Lines 1-12) having an exterior surface region, the metallic electrode body formed of a copper-based alloy throughout a body thickness of the metallic electrode body (Pg 8, Lines 6-12, copper), and the exterior surface region is an enriched surface region of the copper-based alloy that is enriched in the at least one of aluminum or chromium relative (second layer 106, Zn-Al alloy, 5-10% Al content, Pg 8, Lines 14-19) to the copper-based alloy is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the machining method of Ochiai having a metallic electrode body silent to the recited copper with the metallic electrode body is formed of a copper-based alloy of Sarhan for the purpose of using a known alternative electrode material that is highly electrically conductive (Pg 8, Lines 6-12) and is suitable for electrical discharge machining.
Additionally, Tomalin discloses the body configuration is selected from the group consisting of a hollow cylindrical body that defines an inner surface (Fig 5B, core inner shell 74, copper, copper zinc alloy, 0032) that borders a flow passage (passage 52, 0028), a solid cylinder body and a combed body that has parallel spaced-apart fingers is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the machining method of Ochiai in view of Sarhan having a metallic electrode body formed of a copper-based alloy silent to the recited body configuration with the body configuration is selected from the group consisting of a hollow cylindrical body that defines an inner surface that borders a flow passage, a solid cylinder body and a combed body that has parallel spaced-apart fingers of Tomalin for the purpose of forming a known hollow electrode configuration that helps flush removed particles from the workpiece (0028).
With respect to the limitations of claim 16, Ochiai teaches a machine comprising: an electrode including a metallic electrode body having a surface region that is enriched in at least one of aluminum or chromium (Fig 3, electrodes 31, 33, 35, 0006, 0049, employing a molded body molded from mixed powders of one or more of an aluminum powder, an aluminum alloy powder, a chromium powder and a chromium alloy powder); a fixture (jig 25, 0025) for holding a metallic workpiece (turbine airfoil 12, 0021); an actuator operable to move (processing head 29, 0026) the electrode relative to the fixture; and a power source (electric power source 27, 0025) operably connected with the electrode and the fixture to provide a voltage differential across the electrode and the metallic workpiece (0030, 0033).
Ochiai discloses the claimed invention except for the metallic electrode body formed of a copper-based alloy throughout a body thickness of the metallic electrode body, and the exterior surface region is an enriched surface region of the copper-based alloy that is enriched in the at least one of aluminum or chromium relative to the copper-based alloy, metallic electrode body having a body configuration selected from the group consisting of a hollow cylindrical body that defines an inner surface that borders a flow passage, a solid cylinder body and a combed body that has parallel spaced-apart fingers.
However, Sarhan discloses the metallic electrode body (first layer 104, Pg 8, Lines 1-12) having an exterior surface region, the metallic electrode body formed of a copper-based alloy throughout a body thickness of the metallic electrode body (Pg 8, Lines 6-12, copper), and the exterior surface region is an enriched surface region of the copper-based alloy that is enriched in the at least one of aluminum or chromium relative (second layer 106, Zn-Al alloy, 5-10% Al content, Pg 8, Lines 14-19) to the copper-based alloy is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the machining of Ochiai having a metallic electrode body silent to the recited copper with the metallic electrode body is formed of a copper-based alloy of Sarhan for the purpose of using a known alternative electrode material that is highly electrically conductive (Pg 8, Lines 6-12) and is suitable for electrical discharge machining.
Additionally, Tomalin discloses the body configuration is selected from the group consisting of a hollow cylindrical body that defines an inner surface (Fig 5B, core inner shell 74, copper, copper zinc alloy, 0032) that borders a flow passage (passage 52, 0028), a solid cylinder body and a combed body that has parallel spaced-apart fingers is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the machine of Ochiai in view of Sarhan having a metallic electrode body formed of a copper-based alloy silent to the recited body configuration with the body configuration is selected from the group consisting of a hollow cylindrical body that defines an inner surface that borders a flow passage, a solid cylinder body and a combed body that has parallel spaced-apart fingers of Tomalin for the purpose of forming a known hollow electrode configuration that helps flush removed particles from the workpiece (0028).
With respect to the limitations of claims 14, 15, 17 and 18, Ochiai in view of Sarhan discloses the metallic electrode body includes an interior region (inner region and outer surface of electrodes 31, 33, 35) underlying the enriched surface region of copper based alloy (Sarhan, Pg 8, Lines 6-12, copper), and the enriched surface region of the copper-based alloy has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 25% by weight (0006, 0049 electrodes 31, 33, 35 made from aluminum or chromium powder are considered mostly aluminum or chromium and have a material content to greater than 25% by weight); the surface region is enriched in aluminum and chromium (0006, 0049).
Ochiai in view of Sarhan and Tomalin discloses the claimed invention except for the surface region has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 25%. However, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have the surface region has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 25% by weight, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable weight % ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Sarhan (MY190044) in view of Ochiai (US 2007/0104585) and Tomalin (US 2020/0061729).
With respect to the limitations of claim 16, Sarhan teaches a machine (Pg 3, Line 26 thru Pg 4, Line 5, electrode wire for use in wire electrical discharge machining requires an EDM machine) comprising: an electrode (Fig 1, electrode wire 100, Pg 7, Lines 20-25) including a metallic electrode body (first layer 104, Pg 8, Lines 1-12) having a surface region, the metallic electrode body formed of a copper-based alloy throughout a body thickness of the metallic electrode body (Pg 8, Lines 6-12, copper), and the exterior surface region is an enriched surface region of the copper-based alloy that is enriched in the at least one of aluminum or chromium relative (second layer 106, Zn-Al alloy, 5-10% Al content, Pg 8, Lines 14-19) to the copper-based alloy, metallic electrode body having a body configuration.
Sarhan discloses the claimed invention except for the body configuration is selected from the group consisting of a hollow cylindrical body that defines an inner surface that borders a flow passage, a solid cylinder body and a combed body that has parallel spaced-apart fingers; a fixture for holding a metallic workpiece; an actuator operable to move the electrode relative to the fixture; and a power source operably connected to the electrode and the fixture to provide a voltage differential across the electrode and the metallic workpiece.
However, Tomalin discloses the body configuration is selected from the group consisting of a hollow cylindrical body that defines an inner surface (Fig 5B, core inner shell 74, copper, copper zinc alloy, 0032) that borders a flow passage (passage 52, 0028), a solid cylinder body and a combed body that has parallel spaced-apart fingers is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the electrode of Sarhan having a metallic electrode body formed of a copper-based alloy silent to the recited body configuration with the body configuration is selected from the group consisting of a hollow cylindrical body that defines an inner surface that borders a flow passage, a solid cylinder body and a combed body that has parallel spaced-apart fingers of Tomalin for the purpose of forming a known hollow electrode configuration that helps flush removed particles from the workpiece (0028).
Additionally, Ochiai discloses a fixture (Fig 3, jig 25, 0025) for holding a metallic workpiece (turbine airfoil 12, 0021); an actuator operable to move (processing head 29, 0026) the electrode (electrodes 31, 33, 35, 0006, 0049) relative to the fixture; and a power source (electric power source 27, 0025) operably connected with the electrode and the fixture to provide a voltage differential across the electrode and the metallic workpiece (0030, 0033) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the electrode of Sarhan silent to the specifics of the machine with a fixture for holding a metallic workpiece; an actuator operable to move the electrode relative to the fixture; and a power source operably connected to the electrode and the fixture to provide a voltage differential across the electrode and the metallic workpiece of Ochiai for the purpose of providing a known EDM machining configuration that moves an electrode relative to a workpiece (0029, 0030).
With respect to the limitations of claims 14, 15, 17 and 18, Ochiai in view of Sarhan discloses the metallic electrode body includes an interior region (inner region and outer surface of electrodes 31, 33, 35) underlying the enriched surface region of copper based alloy (Sarhan, Pg 8, Lines 6-12, copper), and the enriched surface region of the copper-based alloy has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 25% by weight (0006, 0049 electrodes 31, 33, 35 made from aluminum or chromium powder are considered mostly aluminum or chromium and have a material content to greater than 25% by weight); the surface region is enriched in aluminum and chromium (0006, 0049).
Ochiai in view of Sarhan and Tomalin discloses the claimed invention except for the surface region has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 25%. However, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have the surface region has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 25% by weight, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable weight % ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04).
With respect to the limitations of claims 17 and 18, Sarhan in view of Ochiai discloses the metallic electrode body includes an interior region (104) underlying the enriched surface region of the copper-based, and the enriched surface region of the copper-based has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 25% by weight (Ochiai, 0006, 0049 electrodes 31, 33, 35 made from aluminum or chromium powder are considered mostly aluminum or chromium and have a material content to greater than 25% by weight); the surface region is enriched in aluminum and chromium (Ochiai, 0006, 0049).
Sarhan in view of Tomalin and Ochiai discloses the claimed invention except for the surface region has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 25%. However, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have the surface region has a greater amount of combined aluminum and chromium than the interior region by at least 25% by weight, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable weight % ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 5, 6, 7 and 13-18 have been amended.
Claims 8-12 are cancelled.
Claims 22-24 are new.
Claims 1-7 and 13-24 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has argued on pages 6-7 about amended claims 1, 13 and 16 that Sarhan in view of Ochiai, Tomalin or Malmborg fails to disclose the limitations of "the metallic electrode body formed of a copper- based alloy throughout a body thickness of the metallic electrode body, and the exterior surface region is an enriched surface region of the copper-based alloy that is enriched in the at least one of aluminum or chromium relative to the copper-based alloy.", because Sarhan’s electrode wire is not formed of a copper-based alloy throughout its body thickness, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The first layer 104 is formed of a copper- based alloy throughout a body thickness of the metallic electrode body.
The applicant further argues that Sarhan does not disclose “the exterior surface region is an enriched surface region of the copper-based alloy that is enriched in the at least one of aluminum or chromium relative to the copper-based alloy” because the second layer 106 is only a coating layer, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The second layer 106 is coated on an exterior surface of the first layer 104 and enriches layer 104 by providing for increased conductivity (Pg 9, Par 2). As defined by Merriam-Webster online dictionary, Enrich is to make rich or richer especially by the addition or increase of some desirable quality, attribute, or ingredient.
Conclusion
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 8/3/2026