DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 19 June 2026.
No claims were amended. No claim was cancelled. No new claims were added. Therefore, claims 1-8 are currently pending in the current application and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 19 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chen et al., US 20200278427 A1 in view of Yoo et al., US 20220317439 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., US 20200278427 A1 (“Chen”) in view of Yoo et al., US 20220317439 A1 (“Yoo”).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a master device comprising:
a light emission circuit configured to emit first laser light (Fig. 2C, light source 208, Paragraph [0053]);
an amplitude control circuit (Fig. 8a, amplitude controller 710, Paragraph [0083]; See also Figs. 7A-C, Paragraph [0078]-[0081]) configured to control a scanning amplitude of a micro electro mechanical system (MEMS) mirror (Fig. 2C, micro-mirror assemblies 252, Paragraph [0056]) that scans the first laser light emitted by the light emission circuit in a raster scan method (Fig. 2E, Paragraph [0059]);
a timing data generation circuit configured to generate timing data that indicates a timing when a scanning angle of the MEMS mirror becomes zero, based on an operation of the MEMS mirror (Fig. 5, reference signal 514, Paragraph [0068]: reference signal can include reference clock signals; Fig. 9B, pulses 906, Paragraph [0084]-[0085]);
[..];
a light emission control circuit configured to control light emission of the first laser light by the light emission circuit, based on the timing data generated by the timing data generation circuit (Fig. 2A, LiDAR controller 206, Paragraph [0053]); and
a data output circuit configured to output data to a slave device that operates dependent on an own device (Fig. 5D, output control signal 522a, Paragraph [0071]), wherein
[…], and the data output circuit outputs the timing data for one frame
Chen does not teach: a buffer configured to store the timing data in one frame of the scanning of the MEMS mirror; and
when the scanning amplitude of the first laser light on the MEMS mirror is changed, the light emission control circuit controls the light emission by using the timing data for one frame held by the buffer instead of the timing data generated by the timing data generation circuit.
However, Yoo teaches a scanning system with two MEMs mirrors. Yoo’s scanning system contains a memory device that stores driving parameters from a calibration frame for the MEMs mirrors (Fig. 4, memory 30, Paragraph [0077]). The driving parameters, which include timing data from zero-crossings (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0074]-[0075]), are written from the PLL controller during periods of calibration and recalibration (Fig. 4, PLL 24, Paragraph [0077]). To compensate for changes in the MEMs mirrors, the PLL controller loads driving parameters from the memory device to control the MEMs mirror and laser (Fig. 4, PLL 24, memory 30, Paragraph [0035], [0077]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen’s micromirror controller by adding a memory device to load and save driving parameters for the MEMs mirrors, disclosed by Yoo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to store parameters for different operating points, as suggested by Yoo (Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 2, Chen, as modified in view of Yoo, discloses the master device according to claim 1, wherein the buffer holds the timing data for a latest one frame generated by the timing data generation circuit (Yoo, Fig. 4, memory 30, Paragraph [0077]).
Regarding claim 7, Chen, as modified in view of Yoo, discloses the master device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a light reception circuit configured to receive first reflection light of the first laser light emitted by the light emission circuit (Chen, Fig. 2B, photodetector 216, Paragraph [0054]), wherein
the light emission control circuit controls the light emission, based on the timing data (Chen, Fig. 2A, LiDAR controller 206, Paragraph [0053]; Yoo, Fig. 4, memory 30, Paragraph [0035], [0077]), so as to alternately ensure a first period needed to emit the first laser light by the light emission circuit and receive the reflection light by the light reception circuit and a second period needed to emit second laser light and receive second reflection light by the slave device (Chen, Fig. 2A, LiDAR controller 206, Paragraph [0053], Fig. 2D, plurality of LiDAR modules 102a, 102b, and 102c, Paragraph [0057], Fig. 5D, controllers 510b-c, Paragraph [0071]).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses a sensor system comprising: a master device (Fig. 5D, controller 510r, Paragraph [0071]); and a slave device that operates dependent on the master device (Fig. 5D, controller 510r, Paragraph [0071]),
wherein the master device includes
a first light emission circuit that emits first laser light (Fig. 2C, light source 208, Paragraph [0053]),
a first amplitude control circuit (Fig. 8a, amplitude controller 710, Paragraph [0083]; See also Figs. 7A-C, Paragraph [0078]-[0081]) that controls a scanning amplitude of a first MEMS mirror (Fig. 2C, micro-mirror assemblies 252, Paragraph [0056]) that scans the first laser light emitted by the first light emission circuit in a raster scan method (Fig. 2E, Paragraph [0059]),
a timing data generation circuit that generates timing data that indicates a timing when a scanning angle of the first MEMS mirror becomes zero, based on an operation of the first MEMS mirror (Fig. 5, reference signal 514, Paragraph [0068]: reference signal can include reference clock signals; Fig. 9B, pulses 906, Paragraph [0084]-[0085]),
[…],
a first light emission control circuit that controls light emission of the first laser light by the first light emission circuit, based on the timing data generated by the timing data generation circuit (Fig. 2A, LiDAR controller 206, Paragraph [0053]), and
a data output circuit that outputs data to the slave device (Fig. 5D, output control signal 522a, Paragraph [0071]), and
the slave device includes
a second light emission circuit that emits second laser light (Fig. 2D, plurality of LiDAR modules 102a, 102b, and 102c, light sources 208a, 208b, 208c, Paragraph [0057]),
a second amplitude control circuit that controls a scanning amplitude of a second MEMS mirror that scans the second laser light emitted by the second light emission circuit in a raster scan method (Fig. 5D, controller 510b, amplitude control, Paragraph [0071]), and
a second light emission control circuit that controls light emission of the second laser light by the second light emission circuit, based on the timing data supplied from the master device (Fig. 2D, plurality of LiDAR modules 102a, 102b, and 102c have LiDAR controller 206, Paragraph [0053], [0057]; Fig. 5D, output control signal 522a, Paragraph [0071]), and
[…], and the data output circuit outputs the timing data for one frame
Chen does not teach: a buffer that stores the timing data in one frame of the scanning of the first MEMS mirror and when the scanning amplitude of the first laser light on the first MEMS mirror is changed, the first light emission control circuit controls the light emission by using the timing data for one frame stored in the buffer instead of the timing data generated by the timing data generation circuit.
However, Yoo teaches a scanning system with two MEMs mirrors. Yoo’s scanning system contains a memory device that stores driving parameters from a calibration frame for the MEMs mirrors (Fig. 4, memory 30, Paragraph [0077]). The driving parameters, which include timing data from zero-crossings (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0074]-[0075]), are written from the PLL controller during periods of calibration and recalibration (Fig. 4, PLL 24, Paragraph [0077]). To compensate for changes in the MEMs mirrors, the PLL controller loads driving parameters from the memory device to control the MEMs mirror and laser (Fig. 4, PLL 24, memory 30, Paragraph [0035], [0077]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen’s micromirror controller by adding a memory device to load and save driving parameters for the MEMs mirrors, disclosed by Yoo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to store parameters for different operating points, as suggested by Yoo (Paragraph [0048]).
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Yoo in further view of Kubota et al., US 20210088660 A1 (“Kubota”).
Regarding claim 3, Chen, as modified in view of Yoo, discloses the master device according to claim 2, wherein
the buffer includes
a storage circuit that stores the timing data for one frame (Yoo, Fig. 4, memory 30, Paragraph [0077]) and
[…].
Chen, as modified in view of Yoo, does not teach: a holding circuit that, when the timing data for one frame is collected in the storage circuit, holds the collected timing data for one frame and the timing data for the latest one frame over a next one frame.
However, Kubota teaches a distance measuring device with a scanning mirror. The distance measuring device has a storage circuit that contains a buffer circuit and an integral memory past frame result storage circuit. The integral memory past frame result storage circuit holds measurement data calculated from a last frame (Fig. 2, storage circuit 21, buffer circuit 21a, integral memory past frame result storage circuit 21b, Paragraph [0067]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify Chen and Yoo’s memory device by adding an integral memory past frame result storage circuit to hold past frame information, disclosed by Kubota. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined Kubota’s memory circuit with Chen and Yoo’s memory device, and the results would have been predictable (MPEP 2143 I KSR Rationale A).
Regarding claim 4, Chen, as modified in view of Yoo and Kubota, discloses the master device according to claim 3, wherein
when the scanning amplitude of the first laser light on the MEMS mirror is changed, the buffer outputs the timing data for the latest one frame held by the holding circuit to the light emission control circuit and the slave device (Yoo, Fig. 4, memory 30, Paragraph [0077]; Chen, Fig. 5D, output control signal 522a, Paragraph [0071]), and
the light emission control circuit controls the light emission based on the timing data for the latest one frame output from the buffer instead of the timing data generated by the timing data generation circuit (Yoo, Fig. 4, memory 30, Paragraph [0035], [0077]).
Regarding claim 5, Chen, as modified in view of Yoo and Kubota, discloses the master device according to claim 4, wherein in a case where the scanning amplitude of the first laser light on the MEMS mirror is changed over a plurality of frames (Yoo, Paragraph [0077]), the buffer causes the holding circuit to hold the timing data for the latest one frame immediately before the change of the scanning amplitude over the plurality of frames (Chen, Fig. 8A, Paragraph [0085]: disable/bypass phase controller 610; Kubota, Fig. 2, storage circuit 21, integral memory past frame result storage circuit 21b, Paragraph [0067]), and outputs the timing data for the latest one frame to the light emission control circuit and the slave device over the plurality of frames (Yoo, Fig. 4, memory 30, Paragraph [0035], [0077]; Chen, Fig. 5D, output control signal 522a, Paragraph [0071]).
Regarding claim 6, Chen, as modified in view of Yoo and Kubota, discloses the master device according to claim 4, further comprising:
a correction circuit configured to correct a phase target value that indicates a timing of light emission used to control the light emission by the light emission control circuit based on the timing data (Chen, Fig. 8A, phase controller 610, Paragraph [0073], [0082]), wherein
the correction circuit (Chen, Fig. 8A, phase controller 610, Paragraph [0073], [0082]),
when the scanning amplitude of the first laser light on the MEMS mirror is not changed, corrects the phase target value based on the timing data generated by the timing data generation circuit (Chen, Fig. 8A, phase controller 610, reference signal 514, Paragraph [0082]), and
when the scanning amplitude of the first laser light on the MEMS mirror is changed, corrects the phase target value based on the timing data for the latest one frame output from the buffer (Yoo, Fig. 4, memory 30, Paragraph [0077]).
Conclusion
/RACHEL NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645