DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 with regards to claim 16 have been fully considered but are moot in view of modified grounds for rejection. The amended limitations relating to the reflective structure of device claim 16 are taught by Ji (US 20190265408 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Menezo (US 11531171 B2) in view of Andry (US 8855452 B2) and Ji (US 20190265408 A1).
With regards to claim 16, Menezo teaches a package (Menezo/(Fig4/Package 3 [Photonic chip]) comprising
a silicon layer (Menezo/Fig4/Silicon layer 100 [Substrate]); a reflective structure within the silicon layer (Menezo/Fig4/reflective structure 160 [Mirror lens]) wherein the reflective structure has a U-shape in a cross-sectional view (Fig4/U-shape in reflective element 160);
a first photonic routing structure (Menezo/Fig4/Component defined by elements 121’ and 122’) over a first side of the silicon layer (Menezo/Fig4/Structure defined by layers 110, 120, 130, and 140), wherein the first photonic routing structure comprises an insulating layer (Menezo/Fig4/Insulating layer 110 [Buried oxide layer]) on the first side of the silicon layer;
a silicon waveguide (Menezo/Fig4/Silicon waveguide 120 [Light guiding layer]; Column 5/Lines 54-57) on the insulating layer;
a photonic device on the insulating layer (Menezo/Fig4/Photonic device 123 [Active photonic components]); and
a grating coupler (Menezo/Fig4/Grating coupler 122' [Surface coupling array]) on the insulating layer wherein a light path from a light source to the reflective structure passes through the grating coupler (Fig4/[Light originates from element LA, then travels through element 122 before interacting with element 160);
a redistribution structure (Menezo/Fig4/Redistribution structure 20 [Copper micropillars]) on the first photonic routing structure, wherein the redistribution structure is electrically connected (Fig4/Electrical connections 124 [Metal levels]) to the photonic device; and
an electronic die on the redistribution structure (Menezo/Fig4/PE [Electronic chip]), wherein the electronic die is electrically connected to the redistribution structure (Menezo/Fig4).
Menezo does not specifically disclose the grating coupler as being directly over the reflective mirror in the embodiment previously discussed, but does disclose the aforementioned arrangement in another similar embodiment (Menezo/Fig6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to laterally shift the position of the grating coupler such that it was directly over the reflective mirror for the purpose of altering the light path in a desirable fashion. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to laterally shift the position of the grating coupler such that it was directly over the reflective mirror, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Menezo is silent regarding the insulating layer extending from a lateral surface of the reflective structure to the grating coupler, and the reflective structure extending into the insulating layer; However, the practices of configuring an optical package such that an insulating layer extends from a lateral surface of a reflective structure to a grating coupler and a reflective structure extends into the insulating layer exist in the art as exemplified by Andry and Ji.
Menezo and Andry are considered to be analogous in the field of optoelectronic packages and the formation thereof. Andry teaches a package comprising an optical package wherein an insulating layer extends from a lateral surface of a reflective structure to a grating coupler (Andry/Fig2/Insulating layer 204, Reflective structure 216, Lateral surface [“A” as labeled by examiner below], and Grating coupler [“B” as labeled by examiner below]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the package disclosed by Menezo such that the insulating layer extends from a lateral surface of the reflective structure to the grating coupler, as suggested by Andry, since doing so would allow for the reflector of Menezo to be disposed closer to the grating and would improve the efficiency of the optical communication within the finished device.
Menezo, Andry, and Ji are considered to be analogous in the field of optoelectronic packages and the formation thereof. Menezo and Andry disclose an optoelectronic package with an insulating layer, a silicon layer, and a reflective structure extending into the silicon layer. Ji teaches a reflective structure extending fully through a silicon layer into an insulating layer (Ji/Fig11/Silicon layer 112 and insolating layer 114). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the reflective structure of Menezo and Andry such that it extends through the insulating layer of Menezo and Andry as suggested by Ji since doing so would further a reduction of optical losses in the communication between the reflective structure and the grating coupler.
With regards to claim 20, Menezo, Andry, and Ji together disclose the package of claim 16, further comprising a support structure (Menezo/Fig4/Support structure 140 [Encapsulation]) over the electronic die. Menezo, Andry, and Ji do not teach the support structure as comprising a lens configured to optically couple an optical fiber to the grating coupler. However, Menezo does disclose a lens disposed between the grating and metal layer with regards to the path taken by light moving through the package (Menezo/Fig4/Path shown by arrows). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate a lens within the support structure disclosed by Menezo, Andry, and Ji as suggested by Menezo in order to better control the light before it enters the grating coupler.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Menezo (US 11531171 B2), Andry (US 8855452 B2), and Ji (US 20190265408 A1) as applied to claim 16 above, in further view of Freedman (US 12135461 B2).
With regards to claim 17, Menezo, Andry, and Ji together disclose the package of claim 16, but are silent regarding a plurality of first nitride waveguides within the redistribution structure, and by extension at least one first nitride waveguide of a plurality of first nitride waveguides as being optically coupled to the silicon waveguide. However, the practice of configuring an optical package to include nitride waveguides in the above fashion exists in the art as exemplified by Freedman.
Menezo, Andry, Ji, and Freedman are considered to be analogous in the field of optoelectronic packages and the formation thereof. Freedman teaches a plurality of silicon nitride waveguides that are optically coupled to other components (Freedman/Fig1b/Silicon Nitride waveguide 330 [SiN waveguide] and equivalents components in parallel channels; Column 5/Lines 2-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plurality of silicon nitride waveguides as taught by Freedman within the package taught by Menezo, Andry, and Ji and to couple said SiN waveguides to the silicon waveguides, since doing so would allow for additional avenues of optical communication within the completed package.
With regards to claim 18, Menezo, Andry, and Ji together disclose the package of claim 16, but are silent regarding the package comprising a second photonic routing structure over a second side of the silicon layer. However, the practice of configuring an optical package in the above fashion exists in the art as exemplified by Freedman. Menezo, Andry, Ji, and Freedman are considered to be analogous in the field of optoelectronic packages and the formation thereof.
Freedman teaches a plurality of silicon nitride waveguides that are optically coupled to other components (Freedman/Fig1b/Silicon Nitride waveguide 330 [SiN waveguide] and equivalents components in parallel channels; Column 5/Lines 2-6). It would have been obvious to have the second photonic routing structure comprise silicon nitride waveguides as taught by Freedman and to couple said SiN waveguides to the waveguides taught by Menezo and Andry since doing so would allow for additional avenues of optical communication within the completed package. Furthermore, since Menezo, Andry, and Ji disclose one photonic routing structure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to add a second photonic routing structure to the package since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
With regards to claim 19, Menezo, Andry, Ji, and Freedman together disclose the package of claim 18, further comprising a via (Menezo/Fig5b/Via 125 [Interconnection via]) extending through the second photonic routing structure, wherein the via is electrically connected (Menezo/Fig5b) to the redistribution structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 7-15, and 21 are allowed.
With regards to claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest a method comprising: forming a waveguide over a top surface of a dielectric layer, wherein the dielectric layer is on a first surface of a substrate; forming a grating coupler over the top surface of the dielectric layer, wherein the grating coupler is optically coupled to the waveguide; after forming the waveguide and forming the grating coupler, thinning the substrate, wherein after thinning the substrate, the substrate has a second surface facing away from the dielectric layer; after thinning the substrate, forming a recess in the second surface of the substrate, wherein the recess laterally overlaps the grating coupler, wherein the recess extends through the substrate and exposes a lateral surface of the dielectric layer, and wherein the recess extends into the dielectric layer; and after forming the recess, depositing a reflective material in the recess and on the lateral surface of the dielectric layer, wherein the reflective material has a reflectivity of at least 90%, wherein the grating coupler is between the reflective material in the recess and a light source along a straight line, wherein the reflective material is positioned to reflect light back to the grating coupler. The closest prior art was relied upon in the rejection set forth 02/26/2026.
Claims 2-5, 7-8, and 21 inherit the allowability of claim 1 on which they depend.
With regards to claim 9, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest a method comprising: receiving a workpiece comprising a substrate, a first dielectric layer over the substrate, and an optical layer over the first dielectric layer, wherein the first dielectric layer is between the substrate and the optical layer; patterning the optical layer to form a first waveguide and a grating coupler; after patterning the optical layer, forming a first opening through the substrate and partially through the first dielectric layer, that exposes the first dielectric layer, wherein at least a portion of the first opening is directly over the grating coupler; depositing a metal layer in the first opening in the substrate, wherein the grating coupler is between the metal layer and a light source along a straight line; and depositing a second dielectric layer in the first opening in the substrate and over the metal layer. The closest prior art was relied upon in the rejection set forth 10/14/2025.
Claims 10-15 inherit the allowability of claim 9 on which they depend.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC E MANHEIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874