DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 remain pending, with claim 1 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 2023/0307492 A1; Chou et al.; 09/2023; (“492”) in view of US 10,468,187 B2; Shin et al.; 11/2019; (“187”).
Regarding Claim 1. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure comprising:
a substrate (item 202);
a capacitor (MIM capacitor item 104) comprising:
first electrode layers (items 102a and 102c) and at least one second electrode layer (items 102b and 102d) alternately disposed on the substrate (first and second electrode layers are alternately disposed on the substrate); and
a first dielectric layer (item 114a) disposed between one of the first electrode layers and the at least one second electrode layer (disposed between items 102a and 102b);
a second dielectric layer (item 117) disposed on the first electrode layers and the at least one second electrode layer (disposed on layer items 102a, 102c and at least on layer item 102b) and having a first opening (opening for conductive plug structure item 106) and at least one second opening (opening for conductive plug structure item 108), wherein the first opening exposes the first electrode layers (first opening exposes layers 102a and 102c), and the at least one second opening exposes the at least one second electrode layer (second opening exposes at least layer 102b);
a first conductive layer (layer embodying the conductive plug structure item 106) electrically connected to the first electrode layers (layer item 106 connects to layer items 102a and 102c), wherein the first conductive layer is a single conductive layer disposed on the second dielectric layer (first conductive layer is a single layer item 106 disposed on layer item 117) and extending into the first openings (first conductive layer extends into opening for item 106); and
a second conductive layer (layer embodying the conductive plug structure item 108) electrically connected to the at least one second electrode layer (layer item 108 connects to at least layer items 102b) and disposed on the second dielectric layer (second conductive layer disposed on layer item 117) and in the at least one second opening (second conductive layer disposed on at least opening for conductive plug structure item 108).
Top part of Fig. 3 (annotated by Examiner), from Chou et al., “492”
492 does not teach about a capacitor structure comprising: first openings.
187 teaches in Figs. 1 and 2 about a capacitor structure comprising:
first openings (Fig. 1, openings for via items 41), wherein the first openings expose the first electrode layers (Fig. 2, first openings expose the first electrode layers items 21).
It would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to consider utilizing the first openings of 187 to connect the first electrode layers at multiple locations via a plurality of first openings in the capacitor structure of 492 in order to provide connection redundancy (“since the first via 41 is connected to all of the first electrode layers 21 …, even if some of the internal electrodes … are not connected to the via … there is no problem in forming capacitance, such that reliability may be excellent”) as taught by 187 in Col. 9, Ln. 47-54.
Regarding Claim 2. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein the first
conductive layer extends into the first opening.
492 does not teach about a capacitor structure, wherein the first conductive layer extends into all the first openings.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first conductive layer extend into the duplicated first openings as explained in Claim 1 rejection, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 3. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein the first conductive layer comprises:
a conductive line portion (upper horizontal line portion of item 106); and
contact portions connected to the conductive line portion (lower horizontal line portion items 208a and 208b).
492 does not teach about a capacitor structure, wherein each of the contact portions is disposed in the corresponding first opening.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the contact portions disposed in the corresponding first opening for each duplicated first opening as explained in Claim 1 rejection, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 4. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein the conductive line portion and the contact portions are integrally formed (conductive line portion and contact portions 208a-b are integrally formed into conductive layer item 106).
Regarding Claim 5. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein a portion of the first openings exposes the same first electrode layer (portion items 208b expose the same first electrode layer item 102c).
Regarding Claim 6. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein a first opening exposes different first electrode layers.
492 does not teach about a capacitor structure, wherein two adjacent first openings expose different first electrode layers.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate first openings as explained in rejection for Claim 1 and to provide redundant connections by exposing different first electrode layers, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 7. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, comprising a plurality of the second electrode layers (items 102b and 102d), wherein the second dielectric layer comprises a second opening, the second opening exposes the second electrode layers (second opening exposes electrode layer 102b and 102d), and the second conductive layer is a single conductive layer (conductive layer item 108 is a single layer) disposed on the second dielectric layer (disposed on layer item 117) and extending into the second openings (second conductive layer extends into opening for item 108).
492 does not teach about a capacitor structure, wherein the second dielectric layer comprises a plurality of the second openings.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the second opening as the first opening was duplicated and explained for the rejection of Claim 1, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 8. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein the second conductive layer extends into the second opening (second conductive layer item 108 extends into the second opening).
492 does not teach about a capacitor structure, wherein the second conductive layer extends into all the second openings.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the second opening as the first opening was duplicated and explained for the rejection of Claim 1, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 9. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein a portion of the second openings exposes the same second electrode layer (portion items 208d expose the same second electrode layer item 102d).
Regarding Claim 10. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein a second opening exposes different second electrode layers.
492 does not teach about a capacitor structure, wherein two adjacent second openings expose different second electrode layers.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate second openings as explained in rejection for Claim 1 regarding first openings and to provide redundant connections by exposing different second electrode layers, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 11. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein the second conductive layer comprises:
conductive line portion (upper horizontal line portion of item 108); and
at least one contact portion connected to the conductive line portion (lower horizontal line portion items 208c and 208d), wherein the at least one contact portion is disposed in the at least one second opening (at least item 208c is disposed in the second opening).
Regarding Claim 12. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein the conductive
line portion and the at least one contact portion are integrally formed (conductive line portion and contact portions 208c-d are integrally formed into conductive layer item 108).
Regarding Claim 13. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein a top surface of the first conductive layer and a top surface of the second conductive layer have the same height (top surfaces of layer items 106 and 108 have the same height).
Regarding Claim 14. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein there are two openings in the capacitor.
492 does not teach about a capacitor structure, wherein there are third openings in the capacitor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate openings as explained in rejection for Claim 1 regarding first openings and to provide redundant connections between first or second conductive layers and first or second electrode layers, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 15. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein a portion of the second dielectric layer is disposed in the first and second openings (second dielectric portion items 116a-c are disposed in the first and second openings).
492 does not teach about a capacitor structure, wherein a portion of the second dielectric layer is disposed in the third openings.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate openings to create third openings as explained in rejection for Claim 1 and to include portions of the second dielectric layer in these duplicated third openings (to provide an insulative dielectric layer within the third openings), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 16. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein a top-view pattern of the first conductive layer and a top-view pattern of the second conductive layer match each other (first and second conductive layers match number of horizontal and vertical segments from a top-view).
Regarding Claim 17. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein
a top-view pattern of the first conductive layer is not disclosed,
a top-view pattern of the second conductive layer is not disclosed.
492 does not teach about a capacitor structure, wherein
a top-view pattern of the first conductive layer comprises a first comb-shaped portion,
a top-view pattern of the second conductive layer comprises a second comb shaped portion, and
the first comb-shaped portion and the second comb-shaped portion match each other.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the shape, size, or coverage of the first and second conductive layers to fit any semiconductor package where the invention may be deployed (to meet capacitance and design needs), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding Claim 18. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein a second connection terminal (item 210) electrically connected to the at least one second electrode layer by the second conductive layer (item 210 connects to at least item 102b by layer item 108).
492 does not teach about a capacitor structure, wherein
a first connection terminal electrically connected to the first electrode layers by the first conductive layer; and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the second connection terminal type and use the same terminal type for the first connection terminal (to provide the capacitor structure with top connection accessibility for the first and second conductive layers), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 19. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein
the second connection terminal is shown in a cross-sectional view and no details regarding possible top views are disclosed.
492 does not teach about a capacitor structure, wherein
a top-view pattern of the first connection terminal comprises a first side, a second side, a third side, and a fourth side,
the first side and the third side are opposite to each other,
the second side and the fourth side are opposite to each other,
the second side is connected to the first side and the third side and is disposed
between the first side and the third side,
the fourth side is connected to the first side and the third side and is disposed
between the first side and the third side,
a top-view pattern of the second connection terminal comprises a fifth side, a sixth side, a seventh side, and an eighth side,
the fifth side and the seventh side are opposite to each other,
the sixth side and the eighth side are opposite to each other,
the sixth side is connected to the fifth side and the seventh side and is disposed between the fifth side and the seventh side, and
the eighth side is connected to the fifth side and the seventh side and is disposed between the fifth side and the seventh side.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the layout of a first and second connection terminals to comprise a plurality of sides and/or shapes (to meet capacitance and design needs), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding Claim 20. 492 teaches in Fig. 3 about a capacitor structure, wherein
first and second conductive layers are represented as whole and independent from each other.
492 does not teach about a capacitor structure, wherein
a top-view pattern of the first conductive layer comprises:
a first main portion disposed directly below the top-view pattern of the first connection terminal;
a first extension portion connected to the first main portion, wherein the first extension portion is disposed between the top-view pattern of the first connection terminal and the top-view pattern of the second connection terminal and is adjacent to the fifth side of the second connection terminal; and
a second extension portion connected to the first main portion, wherein the second extension portion surrounds the sixth side, the seventh side, and the eighth side of the second connection terminal, and
a top-view pattern of the second conductive layer comprises:
a second main portion disposed directly below the top-view pattern of the
second connection terminal,
a third extension portion connected to the second main portion, wherein the third extension portion is disposed between the top-view pattern of the first connection terminal and the top-view pattern of the second connection terminal and is adjacent to the first side of the first connection terminal; and
a fourth extension portion connected to the second main portion, wherein the fourth extension portion surrounds the second side, the third side, and the fourth side of the first connection terminal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the layout of a first and second connection terminals and conductive layers to comprise a plurality of conductive sub-layers embodying a greater in size first and second conductive layers (to meet capacitance and design needs), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments concerning prior art reference 492 not teaching about a plurality of first openings not exposing the first electrode layers, this additional subject matter is taught by Shin et al. (US 10,468,187 B2) as detailed in the above rejection of claim 1. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JORGE ANDRES LOPEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2897