Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Species AA in the reply filed on 11/20/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected product/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/20/25.
Priority
The instant application contains additional disclosure not presented in the previous applications in the family and therefore the claims have different priority dates based on when the subject matter was disclosed. It is noted that figures 26B-86 were not included in application 16/849600 and figures 41-78B were not included in application 17/090420, and Figures 63-78B were not included in application 17/543987, and figures 69-78B are not included in application 18/145275.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 13 of copending Application No. 18/344411 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain the same subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom et al. (US PGPub 2020/0388686) in view of Choi et al. (US PGPub 2021/0388686).
Claim 1: Eom teaches a method of forming a memory device, comprising: forming an alternating stack of disposable material layers (13) and silicon nitride layers (12) over a substrate (Fig. 10A); forming a memory opening (14) through the alternating stack (Fig. 10B); forming a memory film (15, 16) and a vertical semiconductor channel (17) in the memory opening, wherein the memory film comprises a continuous silicon nitride charge storage material layer and a tunneling dielectric layer [0138] (Fig. 10C); forming a backside trench (21) through the alternating stack (Fig. 10D); forming laterally-extending cavities (22) by removing the disposable material layers (13) selective to the silicon nitride layers through the backside trench (Fig. 10E); oxidizing portions of the continuous silicon nitride charge storage material layer [0146] (Fig. 10E) exposed in the laterally-extending cavities to form silicon oxide insulating layers and to separate the continuous silicon nitride charge storage material layer; and replacing remaining portions of the silicon nitride layers with electrically conductive layers (28A) (Fig. 10H-10I). Eom does not teach oxidizing portions of the silicon nitride layers, or that the oxidation separates the continuous silicon nitride charge storage material into a vertical stack of discrete silicon nitride charge storage material portions. Choi teaches oxidizing portions of the remaining alternating insulating layer, the oxidation separating the continuous silicon nitride charge storage material into a vertical stack of discrete silicon nitride charge storage material portions (134P) (Fig. 12K) [0134] to prevent cell interference due to charge diffusion between cells [0004].Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method taught by Eom to have included oxidizing the SiN layer and creating a discrete charge storage pattern to improve device performance as taught by Choi [0004].
Claim 2: Choi teaches (Fig. 12K) the portions of the continuous silicon nitride charge storage material layer that are exposed in the laterally-extending cavities are converted into a vertical stack of annular silicon oxide material portions (162A) during the oxidizing; and the vertical stack of discrete silicon nitride charge storage material portions (134P/D) is interlaced with the vertical stack of annular silicon oxide material portions along a vertical direction.
Claim 3: Choi teaches (Fig. 12K) the portions of the silicon nitride layers that are exposed in the laterally-extending cavities are converted into silicon oxide material portions that expand in volume to fill the laterally-extending cavities.
Claim 4: Choi teaches (Fig. 12K) laterally recessing the silicon oxide material portions, wherein remaining parts of the silicon oxide material portions that fill the laterally- extending cavities comprise the silicon oxide insulating layers.
Claim 5: Choi teaches (Fig. 12K) the memory film further comprises a blocking dielectric layer (132B).
Claim 6: Choi teaches (Fig. 12D-E) removing portions of the blocking dielectric layer exposed in the laterally-extending cavities, wherein remaining portions of the blocking dielectric layer comprise a vertical stack of tubular insulating spacers.
Claim 9: Choi teaches (Fig. 4B, 7, 9) an air gap (AG1/2/3) is formed in each of the silicon oxide insulating layers during the oxidation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach thinning the oxide to remove a bird’s beak issue.
Conclusion
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814