DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 02/26/2026. Claims 23-24 are new. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-15, 17-20, and 22-24 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant, regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 23, the recitation “the one or more first stator teeth and the one or more second stator teeth project radially inward from a continuous, unitary stator yoke extending an entire axial length of a frame of the electrical machine.” (ll. 1-3) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “a continuous, unitary stator yoke”. It is unclear if the stator yoke is one single continuous, unitary piece or if the stator yoke is formed from elements combined together to produce an unbroken whole piece. Applicant fails to disclose that the stator yoke is continuous and unitary, or how “continuous, unitary” is defined. Examiner notes that definition of term unitary is “to form a single entity” and definition of continuous is “ forming an unbroken whole, without interruption”. Therefore, the scope of the claim is unascertainable. The recitation “a continuous, unitary stator yoke” is interpreted as stator yoke formed from several pieces combined or arranged together forming a whole stator yoke element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11-15, 17-19, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tellier 2010/0109471 in view of Bachmann 2021/0281210 and further in view of Rose 6617725.
Regarding Claim 1, Tellier teaches an electrical machine (multi-phase rotary electric machine) electrically configured to generate electrical energy used by two or more components of a gas-turbine engine (internal combustion engine), the electrical machine comprising (Abstract, [0004]; Figs. 1-4):
one or more first stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 501 of stator 5) having a first teeth axial length L1 that support first windings 70 (each phase stator incudes at least one winding 70) configured to generate a level of the electrical energy (electrical energy), the first windings 70 (each phase stator incudes at least one winding 70) have a first winding axial length ([0070-71; 0081; 0093-94]. Figs. 1 and 4-5. Tellier teaches an electrical machine that has two stator sections 501 and 502. Section 501 has length L1 and section 502 has length L2. Together they make up entire stator section length L. Each section has stator teeth 61, and each tooth 61 can have a length that extends from either part 501, 502, to a distance that is less than the axial length of the other part. Therefore, the teeth 61 of the first stator portion 501 have an axial length of L1. Each teeth 61, has windings 70 wrapped around them as seen in Fig. 5, that make up the winding sections 51,52 (seen in Fig. 1). In [0094], Tellier teaches that the winding sections can have different axial lengths based on the length of the teeth 61 (in each section 501, 502). Therefore, the first windings 70 have a first winding axial length that is based on the length L1 of teeth 61 of the first stator portion 501). Additionally, Tellier states that the length of the teeth can be less than the axial length L of the stator body so that the teeth can project axially form one of the parts to a distance less than the axial length of the other part so that the bun-shaped assembly can have different length coil heads. See para. [0093].
and one or more second stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 502 of stator 5) having a second teeth axial length L2 that support second windings 70 (each phase stator incudes at least one winding 70) configured to generate a level of the electrical energy (electrical energy), the first teeth axial length L1 different (distance less than axial length) than the second teeth axial length L2, the second windings 70 (each phase stator incudes at least one winding 70) have a second winding axial length that is different than the first winding axial length ([0020; 0025; 0068-71; 0081; 0093-95]; Figs. 2-5. Tellier teaches an electrical machine that has two stator sections 501 and 502. Section 501 has length L1 and section 502 has length L2. Together they make up entire stator section length L. Each section has stator teeth 61, and each tooth 61 can have a length that extends from either part 501, 502, to a distance that is less than the axial length of the other part. Therefore, for example, teeth 61 from part 501 having length L1 can extend a length of anywhere from 0 to L2 of part 502. Same applies for teeth 61 of part 502, having length L2 can extend a length of anywhere from 0 to L1 of part 501. Therefore, the axial length of teeth 61 are different and the first teeth axial length L1 is different than the second teeth axial length L2, as claimed. Additionally, Tellier teaches that each teeth 61, has windings 70 wrapped around them as seen in Fig. 5, that make up the winding sections 51,52 (seen in Fig. 1). In [0094], Tellier teaches that the winding sections can have different axial lengths based on the length of the teeth 61 (in each section 501, 502). Therefore, the first windings 70 have a first winding axial length that is based on the length L1 of teeth 61 of the first stator portion 501 and the second windings 70 have a second winding axial length that is based on the length L2 of teeth 61 of the second stator portion 502. Since the first and second teeth axial lengths L1, L2, respectively, are different, then the first and second windings 70 also have different axial lengths, as claimed.).
Tellier does not teach first windings configured to generate a first level of the electrical energy used by a first component of the two or more components; and second windings configured to generate a second level of the electrical energy used by a second component of the two or more components.
Bachmann teaches a similar electric machine 300 and
first windings 110 (first stator winding system) configured to generate a first level of the electrical energy (electrical energy) used by a first component 150 (electric motor 150) of the two or more components 150, 250 ([0009; 0033-34; 0038]; Fig. 1).
Rose teaches a similar electric machine (generator) and
second windings (second winding) configured to generate a second level of the electrical energy (produce a low-voltage signal for powering) used by a second component (ignition system) (Col. 2, ll. 5-10, Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the first windings 70 and the second windings 70 of Tellier and have the first windings 70 be configured to generate a first level of the electrical energy (electrical energy) used by a first component 150 (electric motor 150) of the two or more components, as taught by Bachmann, and have the second windings 70 be configured to generate a second level of the electrical energy (produce a low-voltage signal for powering) used by a second component (ignition system) of the two or more components, as taught by Rose, in order to supply power to the first electric motor (Bachmann [0009]) and in order to power the ignition system (Rose, Col. 2, ll. 7-10).
Regarding Claim 13, Tellier teaches a method comprising:
generating, via first windings 70 (each phase stator incudes at least one winding 70) around one or more first stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 501 of stator 5) of an electrical machine (multi-phase rotary electric machine), a level of electrical energy (electrical energy) generated by the first windings, the one or more first stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 501 of stator 5) having a first axial length L1; and
generating, via second windings 70 (each phase stator incudes at least one winding 70) around one or more second stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 502 of stator 5) of the electrical machine (multi-phase rotary electric machine), a level of the electrical energy (electrical energy) generated by the first windings, the one or more second stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 502 of stator 5) having a second axial length L2 different (distance less than axial length) than the first axial length L1 of the one or more first stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 501 of stator 5) ([0020; 0025; 0068-71; 0081; 0093-95]; Figs. 2-5. Tellier teaches that teeth 61 can have a length that extends from either part 501, 502, to a distance that is less than the axial length of the other part. Therefore, for example, teeth 61 from part 501 having length L1 can extend a length of anywhere from 0 to L2 of part 502. Same applies for teeth 61 of part 502, having length L2 can extend a length of anywhere from 0 to L1 of part 501. Therefore, the axial lengths L1 and L2 are different, as claimed).
Tellier does not teach a first level of electrical energy used by a first component electrically coupled to the electrical machine; and a second level of the electrical energy used by a second component electrically coupled to the electrical machine.
Bachmann teaches
a first level of electrical energy (electrical energy) used by a first component (controller 500) electrically coupled to the electrical machine 300 ([0009; 0038]; Fig. 1).
Rose teaches
a second level of the electrical energy (produce a low-voltage signal for powering) used by a second component (ignition system) electrically coupled to the electrical machine (generator) (Col. 2, ll. 5-10, Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the first windings 70 and the second windings 70 of Tellier and have the first windings 70 produce a first level of electrical energy (electrical energy) used by a first component (controller 500), as taught by Bachmann, and have the second windings 70 produce a second level of the electrical energy (produce a low-voltage signal for powering) used by a second component (ignition system), as taught by Rose, for the same reason as discussed in rejection of claim 1 above.
While Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose teaches an apparatus, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered an obvious extension of prior art teachings.
Regarding Claim 2, Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Tellier further teaches
the electrical machine (multi-phase rotary electric machine) comprises a rotor 45 on which one or more magnets (magnetic poles) are displaced, the rotor 45 mechanically coupled to the gas-turbine engine (internal combustion engine) ([0007; 0048]; Fig. 1).
Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose, as discussed so far, does not teach a rotor on which one or more magnets are displaced, the rotor mechanically coupled to the gas-turbine engine such that the rotor rotates the one or more magnets adjacent to the one or more first stator teeth such that the first windings generate the first level of the electrical energy and the second stator teeth such that the second windings generate the second level of electrical energy.
Rose further teaches
a rotor (rotor apparatus 125, seen in Fig. 11) on which one or more magnets 380 are displaced (seen in Fig. 11), the rotor mechanically coupled to the gas-turbine engine (internal combustion engine) such that the rotor (rotor apparatus 125) rotates the one or more magnets 380 adjacent to the one or more first stator teeth (implicit – stator 380 has teeth) such that the first windings (first winding) generate the first level of the electrical energy (generate a first high-voltage AC signal) and the second stator teeth (implicit – stator 380 has teeth) such that the second windings (second winding) generate the second level of electrical energy (produce a low-voltage signal for powering ignition system) (Col. 2, ll. 5-10, Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor 45 of Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose with Rose’s rotor (rotor apparatus 125, seen in Fig. 11) on which one or more magnets 380 are displaced (seen in Fig. 11), the rotor mechanically coupled to the gas-turbine engine (internal combustion engine) such that the rotor (rotor apparatus 125) rotates the one or more magnets 380 adjacent to the one or more first stator teeth (implicit – stator 380 has teeth) such that the first windings (first winding) generate the first level of the electrical energy (first high-voltage AC signal) and the second stator teeth (implicit – stator 380 has teeth) such that the second windings (second winding) generate the second level of electrical energy (produce a low-voltage signal for powering ignition system), in order to generate a first high-voltage AC signal and power the ignition system (Rose, Col. 2, ll. 5-10).
Regarding Claims 3 and 15, Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose teaches the invention and the method, respectively, as claimed and as discussed above for claims 1 and 13, respectively, and Tellier further teaches
the one or more first stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 501 of stator 5) extend axially (length L1 that can be less than entire length L) along the electrical machine (multi-phase rotary electric machine) for less than an entire axial length L of a frame of the electrical machine (multi-phase rotary electric machine),
and one or more second stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 502 of stator 5) extend axially (length L2 that can be less than entire length L) along the entire axial length L of the frame of the electrical machine (multi-phase rotary electric machine) ([0020; 0025; 0068-71; 0081; 0093-95]; Figs. 2-5).
Regarding Claims 5 and 17, Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose teaches the invention and the method, respectively, as claimed and as discussed above for claims 3 and 15, respectively, and Tellier further teaches
the more first stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 501 of stator 5) extend axially (length L1 that can be less than entire length L) along the electrical machine (multi-phase rotary electric machine) from a start of one side of the frame (seen in Fig. 4) to less (L1 is less than L) than the entire axial length L of the frame ([0020; 0025; 0068-71; 0081; 0093-95]; Figs. 2-5).
Regarding Claims 6 and 18, Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose teaches the invention and the method, respectively, as claimed and as discussed above for claims 3 and 15, respectively, and Tellier further teaches
the more first stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 501 of stator 5) extend axially (length L1 that can be less than entire length L) along the electrical machine (multi-phase rotary electric machine) less (L1 is less than L) than the entire axial length L of the frame without starting from or ending at either side of the frame ([0081; 0093-95]; Figs. 2-5. Tellier teaches that axial lengths L1 and L2 can be less than L and can extend less than length L. Therefore, it is implicit that L1 can start in the middle and end as it extends to one end of element 501 from the middle.).
Regarding Claims 7 and 19, Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose teaches the invention and the method, respectively, as claimed and as discussed above for claims 3 and 15, respectively, and Tellier further teaches
the more first stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 501 of stator 5) extend axially (length L1 that can be less than entire length L) along the electrical machine (multi-phase rotary electric machine) centrally (seen in Figs. 2-5) for less (L1 is less than L) than the entire axial length L of the frame of the electrical machine (multi-phase rotary electric machine) (([0081; 0093-95]; Figs. 2-5).
Regarding Claim 11, Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claims 1. However, Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose, as discussed so far, does not teach the first component of the two or more components includes an engine controller for the gas-turbine engine, and the second component of the two or more components includes one of an ignitor for the gas-turbine engine or a speed reference winding.
Bachmann further teaches
the first component 500 includes an engine controller (controller 500) for the gas turbine engine (internal combustion engine) ([0003, 0009; 0038]; Fig. 1).
Rose further teaches
the second component (ignition system) includes one of an ignitor (ignition system – inherently has ignitor) for the gas-turbine engine (internal combustion engine) or a speed reference winding (Abstract, Col. 2, ll. 5-10, Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the first component 500 and the second component (ignition system) of Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose to have the first component 500 include an engine controller (controller 500) for the gas-turbine engine (internal combustion engine), as taught by Bachmann, and have the second component (ignition system) include one of an ignitor (ignition system – inherently has ignitor) for the gas turbine engine (internal combustion engine), as taught by Rose, for the same reason as discussed in rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 12, Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Tellier further teaches
the electrical machine (multi-phase rotary electric machine) is a multi-phase alternating current generator (multi-phase rotary electric machine used as electric current generators) (Abstract, [0003-0004]; Figs. 1-4 ).
Regarding Claim 14, Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose teaches the method as claimed and as discussed above for claim 13, and Tellier further teaches
the electrical machine (multi-phase rotary electric machine) comprises a rotor 45 on which one or more magnets (magnetic poles) are displaced, the rotor 45 mechanically coupled to a gas-turbine engine (internal combustion engine) ([0007; 0048]; Fig. 1).
Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose, as discussed so far, does not teach a rotor on which one or more magnets are displaced, the rotor mechanically coupled to a gas-turbine engine such that the rotor rotates the one or more magnets adjacent to the one or more first stator teeth such that the first windings generate the first level of the electrical energy and the second stator teeth such that the second windings generate the second level of electrical energy.
Rose further teaches
a rotor (rotor apparatus 125, seen in Fig. 11) on which one or more magnets 380 are displaced (seen in Fig. 11), the rotor mechanically coupled to a gas-turbine engine (internal combustion engine) such that the rotor (rotor apparatus 125) rotates the one or more magnets 380 adjacent to the one or more first stator teeth (implicit – stator 380 has teeth) such that the first windings (first winding) generate the first level of the electrical energy (generate a first high-voltage AC signal) and the second stator teeth (implicit – stator 380 has teeth) such that the second windings (second winding) generate the second level of electrical energy (produce a low-voltage signal for powering ignition system) (Col. 2, ll. 5-10, Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor 45 of Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose with Rose’s rotor (rotor apparatus 125, seen in Fig. 11) on which one or more magnets 380 are displaced (seen in Fig. 11), the rotor mechanically coupled to a gas-turbine engine (internal combustion engine) such that the rotor (rotor apparatus 125) rotates the one or more magnets 380 adjacent to the one or more first stator teeth (implicit – stator 380 has teeth) such that the first windings (first winding) generate the first level of the electrical energy (first high-voltage AC signal) and the second stator teeth (implicit – stator 380 has teeth) such that the second windings (second winding) generate the second level of electrical energy (produce a low-voltage signal for powering ignition system), for the same reason as discussed in rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 22, Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Tellier further teaches
at least two windings of the first windings 70 (windings surrounding teeth 61 of stator portion 501) are located adjacent to each other, and at least two windings of the second 70 (windings surrounding teeth 61 of stator portion 502) are located adjacent to each other ([0068-71]; Figs. 4-5. Tellier teaches in [0068-71] and Figs. 4-5, first and second stator teeth 61 of sections 501, 502 with windings 70 surrounding each stator teeth. In Fig. 4, each of the plurality of the first stator teeth 61 and the plurality of the second stator teeth 61 are arranged such that at least two of the first and second stator teeth are adjacent to each other. With windings 70 wrapped around each stator teeth, there are at least two windings of the first windings 70 and at least two windings of the second windings 70 that are located adjacent to each other as claimed.)
Regarding Claim 23, as best understood, Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Tellier further teaches
the one or more first stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 501 of stator 5) and the one or more second stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 502 of stator 5) project radially inward (seen in Fig. 4) from a continuous, unitary stator yoke (continuous, unitary stator yoke as part of elements52 501, 502 …” can be assembled to form the body 50 of stator 5. Therefore, the formed body 50 reads as a continuous, unitary stator yoke, [0083]; Fig. 4) yoke are what support teeth 61 of both sections 501 and 502 of stator 5) made extending an entire axial length (seen in Fig. 4) of a frame of the electrical machine (multi-phase rotary electric machine) ([0066]; Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 24, Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Tellier further teaches
the one or more first stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 501 of stator 5) and the one or more second stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 502 of stator 5) are arranged circumferentially adjacent (parts 501, 502 (each having teeth 61) are angularly offset – this reads as adjacent, seen in Fig. 4) to one another around a common circular body (body of the electrical machine) with the body 50 made of parts 501, 502 radially surround the center body, seen in Fig. 1) of the electrical machine (multi-phase rotary electric machine) ([0051, 0056,0060-62; 0083]; Figs. 1-2).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose, and further in view of Pijanowski 2001/0030486.
Regarding Claim 9, Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1. However, Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose does not teach the electrical machine includes at least one spacer tooth between at least one first stator tooth of the one or more first stator teeth and at least one second stator tooth of the one or more second stator teeth.
Pijanowski teaches
the electrical machine 10 includes at least one spacer tooth (stator spaces) between at least one first stator tooth 172 (Fig. 4a) of the one or more first stator teeth 172 ([0026]; [0034]; Figs. 4A, 10) and at least one second stator tooth of the one or more second stator teeth.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the electrical machine (multi-phase rotary electric machine) of Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose to include at least one spacer tooth (stator spaces) between Tellier’s at least one first stator tooth 61 of the one or more second stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 501 of stator 5) and at least one second stator tooth 61 of the one or more second stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 502 of stator 5), as taught by Pijanowski, in order to modify the axis of bending in order to provide a stiffer stator construction (Pijanowski [0034]).
Regarding Claim 10, Tellier in view of Bachmann, Rose, and Pijanowski teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 9. However, Tellier in view of Bachmann, Rose, and Pijanowski, as discussed so far, does not teach the at least one spacer tooth has a first half profile that extends axially for the first axial length of at least one first stator tooth and a second half profile that extends axially for the second axial length of the at least one second stator tooth.
Pijanowski further teaches that stator spaces are placed between stator teeth and that the shape [profile] of the spacer depends on a particular stator geometry ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one spacer tooth (stator spaces) of Tellier in view of Bachmann, Rose, and Pijanowski to have a first half profile that extends axially for the first axial length L1 of Tellier’s at least one first stator tooth 61 (tooth 61 from stator portion 501 of stator 5) and a second half profile that extends axially for the second axial length L2 of the at least one second stator tooth 61 (tooth 61 from stator portion 502 of stator 5), as taught by Pijanowski, for the same reason as discussed in rejection of claim 9 above.
Therefore, the prior art recognizes the at least one spacer tooth (stator spaces) to be a result effective variable that affects the axis of bending, and therefore lends itself to optimization. See In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2144.05 II B. Thus, the recitation of “the second rotor bearing has a larger diameter than the first rotor bearing” is an obvious optimization of the prior art structure. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP 2144.05 II A: "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hon 10676199 in view of Tellier, Bachmann, and Rose.
Regarding Claim 20, Hon teaches a gas-turbine engine system 100 comprising:
a gas turbine engine 100 that includes:
a turbine 118, 116 configured to rotate a shaft 124, 122; and
a combustor 114;
a radial dedicated generator 56;
an assembly gearbox 134 configured to mechanically couple the shaft 124, 122 to the radial dedicated generator 56;
an engine control system 150 configured to control the gas turbine engine 100; and
an ignition system (implicit) configured to ignite combustion (ignition) within combustor 114 (Fig. 2).
Hon does not teach the radial dedicated generator comprises: one or more first stator teeth having a first axial length that support first windings configured to generate a first level of electrical energy used by the engine control system; and one or more second stator teeth having a second axial length that support second windings configured to generate a second level of the electrical energy used by the ignition system, the first axial length different than the second axial length.
Tellier teaches
the radial dedicated generator (multi-phase rotary electric machine) comprises:
one or more first stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 501 of stator 5) having a first axial length L1 that support first windings 70 (each phase stator incudes at least one winding 70) configured to generate a level of electrical energy (electrical energy),
and one or more second stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 502 of stator 5) having a second axial length L2 that support second windings 70 (each phase stator incudes at least one winding 70) configured to generate a level of the electrical energy (electrical energy), the first axial length L1 different (distance less than axial length) than the second axial length L2 ([0020; 0025; 0068-71; 0081; 0093-95]; Figs. 2-5. Tellier teaches an electrical machine that has two stator sections 501 and 502. Section 501 has length L1 and section 502 has length L2. Together they make up entire stator section length L. Each section has stator teeth 61, and each tooth 61 can have a length that extends from either part 501, 502, to a distance that is less than the axial length of the other part. Therefore, for example, teeth 61 from part 501 having length L1 can extend a length of anywhere from 0 to L2 of part 502. . Same applies for teeth 61 of part 502, having length L2 can extend a length of anywhere from 0 to L1 of part 501. Therefore, the axial length of teeth 61 are different and the first axial length L1 is different than the second axial length L2, as claimed. Inherently, windings 70 which wrap around teeth 61 of each portion, can have different total lengths wrapped around different teeth 61 lengths).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the radial dedicated generator 56 of Hon with Tellier’s radial dedicated generator (multi-phase rotary electric machine) that comprises: one or more first stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 501 of stator 5) having a first axial length L1 that support first windings 70 (each phase stator incudes at least one winding 70) configured to generate a level of electrical energy (electrical energy), and one or more second stator teeth 61 (teeth 61 from stator portion 502 of stator 5) having a second axial length L2 that support second windings 70 (each phase stator incudes at least one winding 70) configured to generate a level of the electrical energy (electrical energy), the first axial length L1 different (distance less than axial length) than the second axial length L2, in order to reduce the ripple of the armature current (Tellier [0016]).
Hon in view of Tellier does not teach first windings configured to generate a first level of electrical energy used by the engine control system; and second windings configured to generate a second level of the electrical energy used by the ignition system.
Bachmann teaches a similar electric machine 300 and
first windings (first stator winding system) configured to generate a first level of electrical energy (electrical energy) used by the engine control system (controller 500) ([0009; 0038]; Fig. 1).
Rose teaches a similar electric machine (generator) and
second windings (second winding) configured to generate a second level of the electrical energy (produce a low-voltage signal for powering) used by the ignition system (ignition system) (Col. 2, ll. 5-10, Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the first windings 70 and the second windings 70 of Hon in view of Tellier and have the first windings 70 be configured to generate a first level of electrical energy (electrical energy) used the engine control system (controller 500), as taught by Bachmann, and have the second windings 70 be configured to generate a second level of the electrical energy (produce a low-voltage signal for powering) used by the ignition system (ignition system), as taught by Rose, for the same reason as discussed in rejection of claim 1 above.
Response to Argument
Arguments filed on 2/26/2026, with respect to 103 rejections of claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-15, 17-20 have been considered, but are not persuasive and the same combination of the same references used in the previous Office Action, still reads on the amended claims, used in the current rejection. However, to the extent possible, Applicant’s arguments have been addressed in the body of the rejections at the appropriate locations, and a summary is provided below.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of independent claims 1 and 13:
Applicant argues (pp. 1-4) that prior art of Tellier does not teach "the first windings have a first winding axial length, ... and ... the second windings have a second winding axial length that is different than the first winding axial length." (claim 1) and "the first windings having a first winding axial length, ... and ... the second windings having a second winding axial length that is different than the first winding axial length." (claim 13) because Tellier’s teachings are “directed to a stator body divided axially into ‘wo complementary annular parts 501, 502 each having a partial axial length L1, L2’ to facilitate easier manufacturing of the windings. As Tellier explicitly states, ‘The sum of the two partial axial lengths L1, L2 of the two annular parts 501, 502 of the body 50 is therefore equal to the axial length L of the teeth 61 and the body 50.’ When assembled, the teeth in Tellier combine to form a uniform total axial length L.” Therefore, “Tellier strictly lacks any disclosure of a single stator assembly possessing circumferentially interspersed teeth of varying axial lengths (i.e., a first set of teeth with length X and a second set of teeth with length Y) configured to support different windings.”
However, Tellier teaches (in [0070-71, 0093-94]; Figs. 1 & 4-5) that the electric machine has two stator sections 501 and 502. Section 501 has length L1 and section 502 has length L2. Together they make up entire stator section length L. Each section has stator teeth 61, and each tooth 61 can have a length that extends from either part 501, 502, to a distance that is less than the axial length of the other part. Therefore, for example, teeth 61 from part 501 having length L1 can extend a length of anywhere from 0 to L2 of part 502. Same applies for teeth 61 of part 502. Therefore, the axial length of teeth 61 are different. Each teeth 61, has windings 70 wrapped around them as seen in Fig. 5, that make up winding sections 51,52 (seen in Fig. 1). In [0094], Tellier teaches that the winding sections can have different axial lengths based on the length of the teeth 61 (in each section 501, 502) having a different length. Therefore, the first winding axial length is different from the second winding axial length. Therefore, prior art of Tellier reads on the independent claims 1 & 13.
Applicant further argues (pp. 2-3) that the combination of prior art of Tellier in view of Bachmann and Rose lacks motivation to achieve the claimed invention.
However, Bachmann teaches in ([0009, 0033-34; 0038]; Fig. 1) an electric machine 300 comprising a first windings 110 and second windings 210. Each winding 110, 220 connected to provide electrical power to their respective separate components 130, 150 (from first winding 110); 230, 250 (from second winding 210). Rose teaches (in Col. 2, ll. 5-10; Fig. 9) an electric machine with second windings that produce a second level of electrical energy (low-voltage signal for powering) used by a second component (ignition system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the first windings 70 and the second windings 70 of Tellier and have the first windings 70 be configured to generate a first level of the electrical energy (electrical energy) used by a first component (first electric motor 150) of the two or more components, as taught by Bachmann, and have the second windings 70 be configured to generate a second level of the electrical energy (produce a low-voltage signal for powering) used by a second component (ignition system) of the two or more components, as taught by Rose, in order to supply power to the first electric motor (Bachmann [0009]) and in order to power the ignition system (Rose, Col. 2, Il. 7-10).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JACEK LISOWSKI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741