DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/23/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 16-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 16-20 should each be indicated as being withdrawn in the claim set. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365674) hereinafter “Jeon”.
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 2, 5 and 6 of Jeon teach a display device (Paragraph 0002) comprising: a substrate (Combination of Items 100, 111 and BSM1) comprising a transmissive display area (Item SA) comprising a first pixel area (Pg to the left of TA in Fig. 5), a second pixel area (Pg to the right of TA in Fig. 5), and an opening area (Item TA) between the first pixel area and the second pixel area and defining a substrate opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in Item 111; Paragraph 0148 where the opening H1 extends to a top surface of Item 100 which is below the top surface of Item 111); a light-emitting element layer above the substrate (Combination of Items 100, 111 and BSM1) and comprising a first light-emitting element (Pa in Pg to the left of Item TA in Fig. 5) in the first pixel area and a second light-emitting element (Pa in Pg to the right of Item TA in Fig. 5) in the second pixel area; and a first inorganic encapsulation layer (Item 310) above the light-emitting element layer and extending from the first pixel area to the second pixel area across the substrate opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in the substrate).
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 6 of Jeon further teaches an organic encapsulation layer (Item 320) above the first inorganic encapsulation layer (Item 310) and comprising: a first organic encapsulation portion (Portion of Item 320 over Item Pa of Pg to the left of Item TA in Fig. 5) overlapping the first light-emitting element in a plan view; a second organic encapsulation portion (Portion of Item 320 over Item Pa of Pg to the right of Item TA in Fig. 5) overlapping the second light-emitting element in the plan view; and a third organic encapsulation portion (Portion of Item 320 over Item TA) overlapping the substrate opening portion in the plan view and extending between the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element; and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (Item 330) above the organic encapsulation layer (Item 320).
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 6 of Jeon further teaches where the first organic encapsulation potion, the second organic encapsulation portion and the third organic encapsulation portion are integrally provided.
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 6 of Jeon further teaches an inorganic insulating layer (Item IL) between the substrate (Combination of Items 100, 111 and BSM1) and the light-emitting element layer, defining an inorganic insulating layer opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in Item IL) overlapping the substrate opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in Item 111) in a plan view, and directly contacting the first inorganic encapsulation layer (Item 310); and an organic insulating layer (Item 117; Paragraph 0154) between the inorganic insulating layer (Item IL) and the light-emitting element layer and defining an organic insulating layer opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in Item 117) overlapping the substrate opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in Item 111) in the plan view, a width of the organic insulating layer opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in Item 117) being greater than a width of the inorganic insulating layer opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in Item IL).
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 6 of Jeon further teaches an organic encapsulation layer (Item 320) above the first inorganic encapsulation layer (Item 310) and having at least a portion in the inorganic insulating layer opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in Item IL) and the organic insulating layer opening portion (Portion of H1 in Item 117); and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (Item 330) above the organic encapsulation layer (Item 320).
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 6 of Jeon further teaches where the light-emitting element layer comprises: a first pixel electrode (Item 221) in the first pixel area (Pg to the left of TA in Fig. 5); a first emission layer (Item 222b) above the first pixel electrode (Item 221); a second pixel electrode (Item 221) in the second pixel area (Pg to the right of TA in Fig. 5); a second emission layer (Item 222b) above the second pixel electrode (Item 221); and an opposite electrode (Item 223) above the first emission layer and the second emission layer and defining an opposite electrode opening portion (Portion of Item 223 that has been removed to form H1) overlapping the substrate opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in Item 223) in a plan view.
Regarding claim 9, Fig. 6 of Jeon further teaches where the light-emitting element layer further comprises: a first functional layer (Item 222a) between the first pixel electrode (Item 221) and the first emission layer (Item 222b) and defining a first functional layer opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in Item 222b) overlapping the substrate opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in the substrate) in the plan view; a second functional layer (Item 222c) between the first emission layer (Item 222c) and the opposite electrode (Item 223) and defining a second functional layer opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in Item 222c) overlapping the substrate opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in the substrate) in the plan view; and a capping layer (Item 250) above the opposite electrode (Item 223) and defining a capping layer opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in Item 250) overlapping the substrate opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in the substrate) in the plan view.
Regarding claim 11, Fig. 2 of Jeon further teaches the device further comprising a component (Item 20) overlapping the first pixel area, the opening area, and the second pixel area in a plan view.
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 2 of Jeon teaches where the substrate further comprises a display area (Item DA) surrounding at least a portion of the transmissive display area (Item SA), and wherein the light-emitting element layer further comprises a third light-emitting element (Item Pm) in the display area (Item DA).
Regarding claim 13, Fig. 5 of Jeon teaches the opening area (Item H1 in Item TA) comprises a plurality of opening areas (Item H1 in Item TA) in the transmissive display area (Item SA), the plurality of opening areas comprising first opening areas spaced apart from one another along a virtual first straight line extending in a first direction (Left to right across the page); and second opening areas spaced apart from one another along a virtual second straight line parallel to the virtual first straight line, wherein a virtual third straight line that is between adjacent ones of the first opening areas, and that extends in a second direction (Ip and down across the page) crossing the first direction (Left to right across the page), passes through a center of one of the second opening areas.
Under an alternate interpretation of Jeon, Regarding claim 1, Figs. 2, 5 and 6 of Jeon teach a display device (Paragraph 0002) comprising: a substrate (Combination of Items 102-104, 111 and BSM1) comprising a transmissive display area (Item SA) comprising a first pixel area (Pg to the left of TA in Fig. 5), a second pixel area (Pg to the right of TA in Fig. 5), and an opening area (Item TA) between the first pixel area and the second pixel area and defining a substrate opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in Item 111; Paragraph 0148 where the opening H1 extends to a top surface of Item 100 which is below the top surface of Item 111); a light-emitting element layer above the substrate (Combination of Items 102-104, 111 and BSM1) and comprising a first light-emitting element (Pa in Pg to the left of Item TA in Fig. 5) in the first pixel area and a second light-emitting element (Pa in Pg to the right of Item TA in Fig. 5) in the second pixel area; and a first inorganic encapsulation layer (Item 310) above the light-emitting element layer and extending from the first pixel area to the second pixel area across the substrate opening portion (Portion of Item H1 in the substrate).
Under the alternate interpretation of Jeon, Regarding claim 10, Fig. 6 of Jeon further teaches a protective layer (Item 101) below the substrate (Combination of Items 102-104, 111 and BSM1), overlapping the opening area (Item H1) in a plan view, and comprising an inorganic protective layer comprising an inorganic material (Paragraph 0123).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365674) hereinafter “Jeon” in view of Choi (US 2010/0051910) hereinafter “Choi”.
Regarding claim 6, Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except further comprising an inorganic layer between the organic insulating layer and the light-emitting element layer, defining an inorganic layer opening portion overlapping the substrate opening portion in the plan view, and having at least a portion of a lower surface thereof in direct contact with the first inorganic encapsulation layer, the lower surface facing the substrate.
Choi teaches where an inorganic layer (Item 119) between an organic layer (Item 118) and a light emitting layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an inorganic layer between the organic insulating layer and the light-emitting element layer because the inorganic layer acts as a buffer layer which blocks outgassing from the organic layer (Choi Paragraph 0052).
When the inorganic layer of Choi is included in the structure of Jeon as stated above, an inorganic layer opening portion overlapping the substrate opening portion in the plan view will be present, and have at least a portion of a lower surface thereof in direct contact with the first inorganic encapsulation layer, the lower surface facing the substrate.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365674) hereinafter “Jeon” in view of Zeng et al. (US 2023/0056754) hereinafter “Zeng”.
Regarding claim 7, Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except wherein the substrate comprises: an organic substrate layer defining an organic substrate opening portion as part of the substrate opening portion; and an inorganic substrate layer above the organic substrate layer and defining an inorganic substrate opening portion as part of the substrate opening portion, wherein a width of the organic substrate opening portion is greater than a width of the inorganic substrate opening portion, and wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer is in direct contact with at least a portion of a lower surface of the inorganic substrate layer, the lower surface facing the organic substrate layer.
Figs. 2c and 11b of Zeng teach where a substrate (Item 10) comprises: an organic substrate layer (Item 10C) defining an organic substrate opening portion as part of a substrate opening portion; and an inorganic substrate layer (Item 10D) above the organic substrate layer (Item 10C) and defining an inorganic substrate opening portion as part of the substrate opening portion, wherein a width of the organic substrate opening portion is greater than a width of the inorganic substrate opening portion, and wherein a first inorganic encapsulation layer (Item 24) is in direct contact with at least a portion of a lower surface of the inorganic substrate layer (Item 10D), the lower surface facing the organic substrate layer (Item 10C).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the substrate opening portion extend further into the substrate of Jeon such that the substrate comprises: an organic substrate layer defining an organic substrate opening portion as part of the substrate opening portion; and an inorganic substrate layer above the organic substrate layer and defining an inorganic substrate opening portion as part of the substrate opening portion, wherein a width of the organic substrate opening portion is greater than a width of the inorganic substrate opening portion, and wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer is in direct contact with at least a portion of a lower surface of the inorganic substrate layer, the lower surface facing the organic substrate layer because the substrate opening portions allow for the substrate to be flexible such that the display substrate can be stretched (Zeng Paragraph 0035).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365674) hereinafter “Jeon” in view of Yim et al. (US 20136/0314647) hereinafter “Yem” and in further view of Waldern et al. (US 2020/0292745) hereinafter “Waldern”.
Regarding claim 14, Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except where an anti-reflection layer above the first inorganic encapsulation layer and comprising a first circular polarization layer; a light reflection layer below the substrate; and a light compensation layer between the substrate and the light reflection layer and comprising a second circular polarization layer.
Fig. 7 of Yem teaches a display comprising a first anti-reflection layer (Item 71) comprising a first circular polarization layer on one side of the display; and a light compensation layer comprising a second circular polarization layer (Item 72) below a substrate (Item 3) on another side of the display.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an anti-reflection layer above the first inorganic encapsulation layer and comprising a first circular polarization layer; and a light compensation layer below the substrate comprising a second circular polarization layer because this is known to adjust light exiting the the display (Yem Paragraph 0006).
Jeon does not teach a light reflection layer below the substrate, such that the light compensation layer is between the substrate and the light reflection layer.
Waldern teaches where a mirror is provided along with a polarization layer (Paragraph 0089).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a light reflection layer below the substrate such that the light compensation layer is between the substrate and the light reflection layer because the mirror provides reflection of incident light while the light compensation layer changes it polarization orthogonally (Waldern Paragraph 0089).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365674) hereinafter “Jeon” in view of Mairs (US 2019/0096965) hereinafter “Mairs”.
Regarding claim 15, Jeon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except a solar cell layer below the substrate.
Mairs teaches where a solar cell layer (Item 3) is below a substrate (Item 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a solar cell layer below the substrate because the solar cell layer can act as a secondary charging method for a battery which operates the device (Mairs Paragraph 0010).
Conclusion
/ERIC K ASHBAHIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891