DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 08/12/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 11,579,415 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2005/0168840; hereinafter – “Kobayashi”).
Regarding claim 8, Kobayashi teaches a projection lens, comprising a first lens element (L1), a second lens element (L2), a third lens element (L3), a fourth lens element (L4), and a fifth lens element (L5) sequentially along an optical axis from a first side to a second side, wherein the first side is a light exit side, the second side is a light incident side, and each of the first lens element to the fifth lens element comprises a first side surface facing the first side and allowing imaging rays to pass through, and a second side surface facing the second side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (See e.g. Figs. 10-11; Paragraphs 0090-0099), wherein
an optical axis region of the second side surface of the first lens element (L1) is convex (See e.g. Figs. 10-11; Paragraphs 0090-0099);
the projection lens satisfies a following conditional expression: TL/BFL ≥ 4.400, where TL is a distance on the optical axis from the first side surface of the first lens element to the second side surface of the fifth lens element, BFL is a distance on the optical axis from the second side surface of the fifth lens element to a reference surface, and the reference surface is a light-emitting surface (See Fig. 11: TL/BFL = 11.37, within Applicant’s claimed range);
the first lens element (L1) has positive refracting power; the second lens element (L2) has negative refracting power; the third lens element (L3) has positive refracting power; the fourth lens element (L4) has positive refracting power; the fifth lens element (L5) has negative refracting power; lens elements of the projection lens are only the first lens element to the fifth lens element described above (See e.g. Figs. 10-11; Paragraphs 0060-0064 and 0090-0099);
wherein the periphery region of the second side surface of the first lens element is defined as a region located radially outside of a farthest transition point from the optical axis to an optical boundary of the second side surface of the first lens element, the transition point is an intersection point where the second side surface of the first lens element meets a tangent to the second side surface of the first lens element that is perpendicular to the optical axis, and the optical boundary of the second side surface of the first lens element is defined as a point at which a radially outermost marginal ray passing through the second side surface of the first lens element intersects the second side surface of the first lens element; wherein when the second side surface of the first lens element has no transition point, the optical axis region of the second side surface of the first lens element is defined as a region of 0%-50% of a distance between the optical axis and the optical boundary of the second side surface of the first lens element, and the periphery region of the second side surface of the first lens element is defined as a region of 50%-100% of the distance between the optical axis and the optical boundary of the second side surface of the first lens element (See e.g. Figs. 10-11; Paragraphs 0060-0064 and 0090-0099).
Regarding claim 9, Kobayashi teaches the projection lens according to claim 8, as above.
Kobayashi further teaches that the projection lens further satisfies a following conditional expression: ALT/(G23+T3+G34) ≤ 3.000, where ALT is a sum of thicknesses of five lens elements from the first lens element to the fifth lens element on the optical axis, G23 is an air gap between the second lens element and the third lens element on the optical axis, T3 is a thickness of the third lens element on the optical axis, and G34 is an air gap between the third lens element and the fourth lens element on the optical axis (See Fig. 11: ALT/(G23+T3+G34) = 0.73, within Applicant’s claimed range).
Regarding claim 10, Kobayashi teaches the projection lens according to claim 8, as above.
Kobayashi further teaches that the projection lens further satisfies a following conditional expression: (G23+G34+G45)/T1 ≥ 2.000, where G23 is an air gap between the second lens element and the third lens element on the optical axis, G34 is an air gap between the third lens element and the fourth lens element on the optical axis, G45 is an air gap between the fourth lens element and the fifth lens element on the optical axis, and T1 is a thickness of the first lens element on the optical axis (See Fig. 11: (G23+G34+G45)/T1 = 11.17, within Applicant’s claimed range).
Regarding claim 13, Kobayashi teaches the projection lens according to claim 8, as above.
Kobayashi further teaches that the projection lens further satisfies a following conditional expression: AAG/(G23+G45) ≤ 2.000, where AAG is a sum of four air gaps from the first lens element to the fifth lens element on the optical axis, G23 is an air gap between the second lens element and the third lens element on the optical axis, and G45 is an air gap between the fourth lens element and the fifth lens element on the optical axis (Fig. 11: AAG/(G23+G45) = 1.82, within Applicant’s claimed range).
Regarding claim 14, Kobayashi teaches the projection lens according to claim 8, as above.
Kobayashi further teaches that an optical axis region of the first side surface of the second lens element (L2) is convex (See e.g. Figs. 10-11; Paragraphs 0061 and 0090-0099).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, Kobayashi teaches the projection lens according to claim 8, as above.
Kobayashi fails to teach or reasonably suggest that the projection lens further satisfies a following conditional expression: TL/(T4+T5) ≤ 3.500, where T4 is a thickness of the fourth lens element on the optical axis, and T5 is a thickness of the fifth lens element on the optical axis.
Regarding claim 12, Kobayashi teaches the projection lens according to claim 8, as above.
Kobayashi fails to teach or reasonably suggest that the projection lens further satisfies a following conditional expression: (T2+T3+T4)/AAG ≥ 1.300, where T2 is a thickness of the second lens element on the optical axis, T3 is a thickness of the third lens element on the optical axis, T4 is a thickness of the fourth lens element on the optical axis, and AAG is a sum of four air gaps from the first lens element to the fifth lens element on the optical axis.
Claims 1-7, 15-17, and 19-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, the best prior art, Kobayashi, teaches a projection lens, comprising a first lens element (L1), a second lens element (L2), a third lens element (L3), a fourth lens element (L4), and a fifth lens element (L5) sequentially along an optical axis from a first side to a second side, wherein the first side is a light exit side, the second side is a light incident side, and each of the first lens element to the fifth lens element comprises a first side surface facing the first side and allowing imaging rays to pass through, and a second side surface facing the second side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (See e.g. Figs. 10-11; Paragraphs 0090-0099), wherein
an optical axis region of the second side surface of the first lens element (L1) is convex (See e.g. Figs. 10-11; Paragraphs 0060 and 0090-0099);
the first lens element (L1) has positive refracting power; the second lens element (L2) has negative refracting power; the third lens element (L3) has positive refracting power; the fourth lens element (L4) has positive refracting power; the fifth lens element (L5) has negative refracting power; lens elements of the projection lens are only the first lens element to the fifth lens element described above, wherein the periphery region of the first side surface of the fourth lens element is defined as a region located radially outside of a farthest transition point from the optical axis to an optical boundary of the first side surface of the fourth lens element, the transition point is an intersection point where the first side surface of the fourth lens element meets a tangent to the first side surface of the fourth lens element that is perpendicular to the optical axis, and the optical boundary of the first side surface of the fourth lens element is defined as a point at which a radially outermost marginal ray passing through the first side surface of the fourth lens element intersects the first side surface of the fourth lens element; wherein when the first side surface of the fourth lens element has no transition point, the optical axis region of the first side surface of the fourth lens element is defined as a region of 0%-50% of a distance between the optical axis and the optical boundary of the first side surface of the fourth lens element, and the periphery region of the first side surface of the fourth lens element is defined as a region of 50%-100% of the distance between the optical axis and the optical boundary of the first side surface of the fourth lens element surface. (See e.g. Figs. 10-11; Paragraphs 0060-0064 and 0090-0099).
Kobayashi fails to teach or reasonably suggest that an optical axis region of the first side surface of the fourth lens element is convex, or a periphery region of the first side surface of the fourth lens element is convex. Moreover, given the complex nature of optical systems, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would not be motivated to achieve the claimed structure given the teachings of Kobayashi, as such a modification would have unpredictable results.
Thus, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach the cumulative details of claim 1, specifically including the limitation: “an optical axis region of the first side surface of the fourth lens element is convex, or a periphery region of the first side surface of the fourth lens element is convex.”
Regarding claim 15, the best prior art, Kobayashi, teaches a projection lens, comprising a first lens element (L1), a second lens element (L2), a third lens element (L3), a fourth lens element (L4), and a fifth lens element (L5) sequentially along an optical axis from a first side to a second side, wherein the first side is a light exit side, the second side is a light incident side, and each of the first lens element to the fifth lens element comprises a first side surface facing the first side and allowing imaging rays to pass through, and a second side surface facing the second side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (See e.g. Figs. 10-11; Paragraphs 0090-0099), wherein
the first lens element (L1) has positive refracting power (See e.g. Figs. 10-11; Paragraph 0095);
the projection lens satisfies a following conditional expression: TL/BFL ≥ 4.400, where TL is a distance on the optical axis from the first side surface of the first lens element to the second side surface of the fifth lens element, BFL is a distance on the optical axis from the second side surface of the fifth lens element to a reference surface, and the reference surface is a light-emitting surface (See Fig. 11: TL/BFL = 11.37, within Applicant’s claimed range);
the second lens element (L2) has negative refracting power; the third lens element (L3) has positive refracting power; the fourth lens element (L4) has positive refracting power; the fifth lens element (L5) has negative refracting power; lens elements of the projection lens are only the first lens element to the fifth lens element described above (See e.g. Figs. 10-11; Paragraphs 0060-0064 and 0090-0099), wherein the periphery region of the first side surface of the fourth lens element is defined as a region located radially outside of a farthest transition point from the optical axis to an optical boundary of the first side surface of the fourth lens element, the transition point is an intersection point where the first side surface of the fourth lens element meets a tangent to the first side surface of the fourth lens element that is perpendicular to the optical axis, and the optical boundary of the first side surface of the fourth lens element is defined as a point at which a radially outermost marginal ray passing through the first side surface of the fourth lens element intersects the first side surface of the fourth lens element wherein when the first side surface of the fourth lens element has no transition point, the optical axis region of the first side surface of the fourth lens element is defined as a region of 0%-50% of a distance between the optical axis and the optical boundary of the first side surface of the fourth lens element, and the periphery region of the first side surface of the fourth lens element is defined as a region of 50%-100% of the distance between the optical axis and the optical boundary of the first side surface of the fourth lens element surface (See e.g. Figs. 10-11; Paragraphs 0063 and 0090-0099).
Kobayashi fails to teach or reasonably suggest that a periphery region of the first side surface of the fourth lens element is convex. Moreover, given the complex nature of optical systems, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would not be motivated to achieve the claimed structure given the teachings of Kobayashi, as such a modification would have unpredictable results.
Thus, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach the cumulative details of claim 15, specifically including the limitation: “a periphery region of the first side surface of the fourth lens element is convex.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025, see pages 10-22, regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 8 in view of Kobayashi have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kobayashi fails to teach the surface structure of the fourth lens required by the claims. However, In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., an optical axis region of the first side surface of the fourth lens is convex, or a periphery region of the first side surface of the fourth lens is convex) are not recited in the rejected claim(s) 8. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant further argues that Kobayashi fails to teach that “lens elements of the projection lens are only the first lens element to the fifth lens element described above” as set forth in the amended independent claims 1, 8, and 15.” However, Applicant provides no specific arguments as to how Kobayashi fails to teach such a feature. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
To the contrary, as detailed previously, there is no requirement in the claims that each of the lens elements be simple lens elements, and, as such, Applicant’s assertion that the number of lens elements in Kobayashi is six is incorrect. For example, Kobayashi explicitly teaches in Paragraph 0094 that “the projection lens according to the second embodiment is also constructed with the first lens unit L1, the second lens unit L2, the third lens unit L3, the fourth lens unit L4 and the fifth lens unit L5.”
Applicant’s claim does not preclude a lens element from being made of more than one component, but rather merely states that “lens elements of the projection lens are only the first lens element to the fifth lens element.” No special definition of “lens element” is found in the present specification, and, absent a special definition, Examiner is obligated to take the broadest reasonable interpretation not in conflict with the specification. It is noted that the feature upon which applicant relies (i.e., “a lens element”) has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s interpretation of, “lens element,” which states/seems to imply that the lens elements must be simple lenses. As such, Examiner's interpretation is both reasonable and not in conflict with the specification, and the limitation is met by the prior art.
Conclusion
Nicholas R. Pasko
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/Nicholas R. Pasko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896