DETAILED ACTION
Previous Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, filed January 13, 2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (New, Necessitated by Amendment)
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Obara (US 2003/0166918 A1) in view of Maruyama et al. (EP 2 366 720 A1).
Examiner’s Note: “Low substituted” is defined in the instant specification to be a content of hydroxypropoxy group of 4.0-11.0 % by mass [0030].
Regarding claim 1, Obara discloses a low-substituted cellulose powder [Abstract], such as low-substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose [0016] with 4 to 20% by weight of hydroxypropoxy group [0016] to be used in cosmetics or pharmaceuticals [0002]. The average particle size is 0.1 µm to 100 µm measured by dry laser diffraction [0029]. Water is included in a composition with the low-substituted cellulose powder [Abstract] [0020] [0027] [0031]-[0032].
Obara does not disclose that the low-substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose powder has an aspect ratio equal to or more than 2.0 and less than 5.0.
Maruyama discloses low-substituted hydroxypropylcellulose with an aspect ratio of less than 2.5 (such as 2.2, 2.3, and 2.4) [abstract] [0001] [0103]. Maruyama teaches that low-substituted hydroxypropylcellulose with an aspect ratio of less than 2.5 achieves good flowability of the powder [0022]-[0023] [0042].
Since Obara generally discloses a low-substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose powder, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an aspect ratio of 2.5 or less (such as 2.2, 2.3, or 2.4), within the teachings of Obara, because Maruyama teaches that low-substituted hydroxypropylcellulose with this aspect ratio allows for good flowability of the powders [0022]-[0023] [0042]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 A.
Claim 2 is rendered prima facie obvious because Obara discloses the low-substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose has 4 to 20% by weight of a hydroxypropoxy group [0016]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claim 3 is rendered prima facie obvious because Obara discloses 425 g of a 6.3 wt.% aqueous NaOH solution is dissolved in 7.5 g of low-substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose powder [0031]. The ratio of the mass of water to the mass of the low-substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose is more than 3.0.
Claim 6 is rendered prima facie obvious because Obara discloses the product may be a liquid [0002] [0007]. The limitation of “personal care product” is viewed as an intended use limitation. Nevertheless, Obara’s teachings are capable of meeting the intended use because Obara discloses the product may be a cosmetic [0002] [0007].
Response to Arguments/Analysis of Unexpected Results
Applicant's arguments filed 1/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, and will be addressed insofar as they apply the new ground of rejection.
Applicant argues that the ready to use low-substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose of Obara has a D50 of 2 µM which is not within the instantly claimed range.
The Examiner disagrees because patents are relevant as prior art for all that they contain (See MPEP 2123) and Obara discloses the average particle size is 0.1 µm to 100 µm measured by dry laser diffraction [0029] which overlaps with the instantly claimed range.
Applicant argues at pg. 4-5 that the composition produced according to Example 1 has a low-substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose powder that has a D50 and a specific aspect ratio according to claim 1, whereas Comparative Example 1 contains low substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose that has a D50 of less than 30 µM, which results in an inferior cleaning capability compared to the composition of claim 1. Applicant argues that the beneficial properties with the claimed size and aspect ratio are unexpected over the prior art.
The Examiner has fully reviewed and considered the unexpected results alleged by the applicant. The applicant’s results show that the personal care compositions according to Examples 1-4, have good cleansing properties, excellent skin feel and caused no rough skin feel and irritation, whereas Comparative Examples 1-2 had poor cleansing properties [0131]-[0132].
The Examiner agrees that the beneficial properties (i.e., cleansing, skin feel) of the Examples of the invention vs. the Comparative Examples are unexpected over the prior art.
However, the claims are not “commensurate in scope” with the showing. See MPEP § 716.02(d). The applicant has only shown improved properties with an aspect ratio of 2.2 to 3.8 and a D50 value of 38 to 53 µM. Comparative Examples 1 and 2 have values that fall within the instantly claimed ranges yet do not have the same beneficial properties.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Obara (US 2003/0166918A1) in view of Maruyama et al. (EP 2 366 720 A1) and further in view of Ohara (JP 2002204951 A).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Obara in view of Maruyama was previously discussed.
As discussed, Obara discloses the low -substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose has a particle size of 0.1 µM to 100 µM (measured by dry methods) [0029]. Obara also discloses that the low-substituted cellulose is in the swollen state when added to water [Abstract] [0012] [0027].
Obara does not disclose that the low-substituted cellulose has a particle size of 50 µM to 400 µM when measured by wet laser diffraction, as recited in claim 4.
Ohara discloses a low-substituted cellulose to be used in cosmetics (Abstract) where the average particle size is 1 µM to 100 µM measured by a wet laser diffraction method (English translation, pg, 4, 11th paragraph). Ohara teaches that particles of this size have good stability (English translation, pg, 4, 11th paragraph).
Since Obara generally teaches a cosmetic with low-substituted cellulose, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an average particle size of 1 µM to 100 µM measured by a wet laser diffraction method, within the teachings of Obara, because Ohara teaches this size of low-substituted cellulose within a cosmetic composition. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use this size of low-substituted cellulose in order to obtain particles that have good stability as taught by Ohara (English translation, pg, 4, 11th paragraph). A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Obara (US 2003/0166918A1) in view of Maruyama et al. (EP 2 366 720 A1) and further in view of Asirvatham (WO 2021/126667 A1).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Obara in view of Maruyama was previously discussed.
Obara does not disclose a surfactant, as recited in claim 5.
Asirvatham discloses surfactants in personal care products, such as cosmetics [Abstract]. Asirvatham teaches that surfactants are widely used in cosmetics because it provides cleansing attributes to the composition [0003].
Since Obara generally teaches a cosmetic, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a surfactant, within the teachings of Obara, because Asirvatham teaches surfactants within a cosmetic composition. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use a surfactant in order to provide cleansing attributes to the composition as taught by Asirvatham [0003].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,882,923 in view of Obara (US 2003/0166918A1).
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,513,565 in view of Obara (US 2003/0166918A1).
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,166,918 in view of Obara (US 2003/0166918A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the composition except for water.
Obara discloses a low-substituted cellulose powder [Abstract], such as low-substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose [0016]. Water is included in a composition with the low-substituted cellulose powder [Abstract] [0020] [0027] [0031]-[0032].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include water, within the claims. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to formulate the composition, as taught by Obara [Abstract] [0020] [0027] [0031]-[0032].
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,959,959 in view of Maruyama et al. (EP 2 366 720 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the composition except for an aspect ratio of 2-5.
Maruyama discloses low-substituted hydroxypropylcellulose with an aspect ratio of less than 2.5 (such as 2.2, 2.3, and 2.4) [abstract] [0001] [0103]. Maruyama teaches that low-substituted hydroxypropylcellulose with an aspect ratio of less than 2.5 achieves good flowability of the powder [0022]-[0023] [0042].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an aspect ratio of less than 2.5, within the claims. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to have particles with this aspect ratio because Maruyama teaches that low-substituted hydroxypropylcellulose with an aspect ratio of less than 2.5 achieves good flowability of the powder [0022]-[0023] [0042].
Response to Double Patenting Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive
Applicant argues that the pending claims are non-obvious over Obara and therefore, Obara cannot be used to reject the claims as obvious under the double patenting standard.
The Examiner disagrees. Obara discloses a low-substituted cellulose powder [Abstract], such as low-substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose [0016]. Water is included in the composition with the low-substituted cellulose powder and it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include water, within the claims, to formulate the composition, as taught by Obara [Abstract] [0020] [0027] [0031]-[0032].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner , Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612