Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Species II, Figures 4-7 in the reply filed on 06/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-8, 19-27 are elected by Applicant and examined as per below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claim limitations of Claim 6, 21, 29 and 31 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Claim 6 and Claim 21 recites “the heat exchange fins do not extend above top surfaces of the first one of the cooling housing and the second one of the cooling housing”, Claim 29 and Claim 31 recites “the additional heat exchange fins do not extend above top surfaces of the first one of the cooling housings and the second one of the cooling housings”, No Figure or Drawings (Figure 4-7 by election of Species II and Figure 10-11) depict “heat exchange fins” or “additional heat exchange fins” “do not extend above top surfaces of the first one of the cooling housings and the second one of the cooling housings”, Figure 4 does not provide enough detail to truly see if the heat exchange fins do not extend above the cooling housings, Figure 7 does not provide details to see the heat exchange fins do not extend above the cooling housings, Figure 10 does not provide details of the cooling housing, Figure 11 depicts the “tips” of the “heat exchange fins” extend above and below the “cooling housings”.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 21, 29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The Claimed subject matter and limitations of Claim 6, 21, 29 and 31 recites “the heat exchange fins” or “the additional heat exchange fins” “do not extend above top surfaces of the first one of the cooling housings and the second one of the cooling housings”, Applicant’s Remarks states support is found in paragraph [0032], [0035]-[0036] of the Specifications, the Examiner notes, there is no support found in paragraph [0032], [0035]-[0036] stating or suggesting “the heat exchange fins” or “the additional heat exchange fins” “do not extend above top surfaces of the first one of the cooling housings and the second one of the cooling housings” and the Examiner notes, no Figure or Drawings (Figure 4-7 by election of Species II and Figure 10-11) depict “heat exchange fins” or “additional heat exchange fins” “do not extend above top surfaces of the first one of the cooling housings and the second one of the cooling housings”, Figure 4 does not provide enough detail to truly see if the heat exchange fins do not extend above the cooling housings, Figure 7 does not provide details to see the heat exchange fins do not extend above the cooling housings, Figure 10 does not provide details of the cooling housing, Figure 11 depicts the “tips” of the “heat exchange fins” extend above and below the “cooling housings”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 19-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAO, XIDONG (WO 2022/228164 - hereinafter, "Yao") in view of Bash et al. (US 7,203,063 - hereinafter, "Bash").
With respect to Claim 6, Yao teaches (in Figure 1-3)
A liquid submersion cooled electronic device, comprising:
a device housing (11) that defines an interior space (interior space of (11));
a circuit board (15) at least partially disposed in the device housing (11), and heat producing electronic components (12+13) mounted on the circuit board (15) within the interior space (interior space of (11));
cooling housings (19) in the interior space (interior space of (11)) and in heat exchanging relationship with the heat producing electronic components (12+13);
a cooling liquid inlet (31) in the device housing (11) that is in fluid communication with each one of the cooling housings (19) and directing a single-phase cooling liquid (second cooling liquid) into each one of the cooling housings (19);
a cooling liquid outlet (32) in the device housing (11) that is in fluid communication with each one of the cooling housings (19) and receiving the single-phase cooling liquid (second cooling liquid) from each one of the cooling housings (19);
a single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17, in page 7, 2nd paragraph, “The casing 11 is filled with the first cooling liquid 17, which is indicated by a dot in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2. Obviously, the casing 11 has a closed chamber for accommodating the first cooling liquid 17, and the first cooling liquid 17 is used to soak the first cooling liquid 17. Two electronic components 13 , the heat generated by the second electronic components 13 is conducted to the heat exchange part 18 through the first cooling liquid 17” of the provided translation and in page 7, 4th paragraph, “It can be understood that the first cooling liquid 17 needs to be able to transfer heat to the heat exchange part 18 , and at least part of the heat exchange part 18 is immersed in the first cooling liquid 17 . In actual installation, the heat exchange part 18 can be immersed in the first cooling liquid 17 . , that is, the heat exchange part 18 is completely placed in the first cooling liquid 17 to improve the heat exchange efficiency between the heat exchange part 18 and the first cooling liquid 17” of the provided translation) in the interior space (interior space of (11)) and submerging the heat producing electronic components (12+13) and the cooling housings (19), wherein the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17) is isolated from and does not mix with the single-phase cooling liquid (second cooling liquid) that flows through the cooling housings (19);
a fluid conduit (16) that fluidly connects the cooling liquid inlet (31) to the cooling housings (19) and to the cooling liquid outlet (32); a section (162, see Figure 3 and 5) of the fluid conduit (16) extends between and fluidly connects a first one of the cooling housings (first of the (19) in the direction of flow) to a second one of the cooling housings (second of the (19) in the direction of flow) to direct the single-phase cooling liquid (second cooling liquid) from the first one of the cooling housings (first of the (19) in the direction of flow) to the second one of the cooling housings (second of the (19) in the direction of flow); and the section (162, see Figure 3 and 5) of the fluid conduit (16) is submerged in the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17); and
heat exchange fins (18, see Figure 3, 5 and 7-8) are fully submerged in the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17), and the heat exchange fins (18, see Figure 3, 5 and 7-8) do not extend above top surfaces (top surface of the (19) is the surface that is in contact with heat producing electronic component (12), see Figure 7-8, the heat exchange fins (18) do not exceed the surface that is in contact with heat producing electronic component (12), thus the heat exchange fins (18) do not extend above the top surfaces of (19)) of the first one of the cooling housings (first of the (19) in the direction of flow) and the second one of the cooling housings (second of the (19) in the direction of flow).
Yao fails to specifically teach or suggest heat exchange fins attached to and extending from an exterior surface of the section of fluid conduit.
Bash, however, teaches (in Figure 7, in column 7, lines 3-12) heat exchange fins (259) attached to and extending from an exterior surface (exterior surface of conduit (263)) of a section (the section of conduit (263) between a cooling housing (255) and another cooling housing (257), see Figure 7) of a conduit (263).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Bash with Yao, such that heat exchange fins attached to and extending from an exterior surface of a section of a conduit as taught by Bash since doing so would allow one or more Yao’s cooling housing to cool Yao’s heat producing electronic components having high-dissipation requirements. (in column 6, line 67 to column 7, line 2)
With respect to Claim 7, Yao as modified by Bash teaches the limitations of Claim 6 as per above, Yao further teaches (in Figure 1-3)
wherein the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17, on page 7, 5th paragraph, “In order to ensure that all the second electronic components 13 in the casing 11 can exchange heat well with the first cooling liquid 17 and improve the heat exchange efficiency between the heat exchange part 18 and the first cooling liquid 17, the casing 11 The airtight chamber is filled with the first cooling liquid 17 , so that the heat exchange part 18 and all the second electronic components 13 arranged in the casing 11 are immersed in the first cooling liquid 17” of the provided translation) is not circulated outside the device housing (11).
With respect to Claim 8, Yao as modified by Bash teaches the limitations of Claim 6 as per above, Yao further teaches (in Figure 1-3)
further comprising an inlet conduit (161) extending from the cooling liquid inlet (31) and into the interior space (interior space of (11)) and that directs the single-phase cooling liquid (second cooling liquid) into the interior space (interior space of (11)), the inlet conduit (161) is fluidly connected to the first one of the cooling housings (19), the inlet conduit (161) is submerged in the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17), and comprising additional heat exchange fins (see Figure 3, 182) disposed on an exterior surface of the inlet conduit (161, see Figure 3).
With respect to Claim 19, Yao as modified by Bash teaches the limitations of Claim 6 as per above, Yao further teaches (in Figure 1-3)
wherein the single- phase cooling liquid (second cooling liquid) differs from the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17, on page 7, 7th paragraph “The first cooling liquid 17 and the second cooling liquid can be selected from the same medium, or can be selected from different media. The first cooling liquid 17 is filled in the casing 11 and is in contact with electronic components and the like. Obviously, the first cooling liquid 17 is a non-conductive medium. If the second cooling liquid and the first cooling liquid 17 use the same medium, both are non-conductive media, and the cost is relatively high. In actual setting, it is better to use different media for the first coolant 17 and the second coolant to reduce costs. For example, the first coolant 17 can be selected from minerals that meet the requirements of non-conductivity. Oil or fluorinated liquid, and the second cooling liquid can be water with low price, or a composition composed of water and additives, wherein the additives can be alcohol substances, such as ethylene glycol and the like” of the provided translation).
With respect to Claim 20, Yao as modified by Bash teaches the limitations of Claim 19 as per above, Yao further teaches (in Figure 1-3)
wherein the single- phase cooling liquid (second cooling liquid) comprises water (water) or glycol (ethylene glycol) (on page 7, 7th paragraph “For example, the first coolant 17 can be selected from minerals that meet the requirements of non-conductivity. Oil or fluorinated liquid, and the second cooling liquid can be water with low price, or a composition composed of water and additives, wherein the additives can be alcohol substances, such as ethylene glycol and the like” of the provided translation).
With respect to Claim 21, Yao teaches (in Figure 1-3)
A liquid submersion cooled electronic device, comprising:
a device housing (11) that defines an interior space (interior space of (11));
heat producing electronic components (12+13) within the interior space (interior space of (11));
a cooling liquid circuit (see Figure 1, 16+18+19+23+24+31+32) that is configured to circulate a single-phase cooling liquid (second cooling liquid) into the device housing (11), through the interior space (interior space of (11)), and from the device housing (11);
a single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17, in page 7, 2nd paragraph, “The casing 11 is filled with the first cooling liquid 17, which is indicated by a dot in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2. Obviously, the casing 11 has a closed chamber for accommodating the first cooling liquid 17, and the first cooling liquid 17 is used to soak the first cooling liquid 17. Two electronic components 13 , the heat generated by the second electronic components 13 is conducted to the heat exchange part 18 through the first cooling liquid 17” of the provided translation and in page 7, 4th paragraph, “It can be understood that the first cooling liquid 17 needs to be able to transfer heat to the heat exchange part 18 , and at least part of the heat exchange part 18 is immersed in the first cooling liquid 17 . In actual installation, the heat exchange part 18 can be immersed in the first cooling liquid 17 . , that is, the heat exchange part 18 is completely placed in the first cooling liquid 17 to improve the heat exchange efficiency between the heat exchange part 18 and the first cooling liquid 17” of the provided translation) in the interior space (interior space of (11)) and submerging the heat producing electronic components (12+13), wherein the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17) is isolated from and does not mix with the single-phase cooling liquid (second cooling liquid) of the cooling liquid circuit (see Figure 1, 16+18+19+23+24+31+32) and the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17) is not circulated outside the device housing (11, on page 7, 5th paragraph, “In order to ensure that all the second electronic components 13 in the casing 11 can exchange heat well with the first cooling liquid 17 and improve the heat exchange efficiency between the heat exchange part 18 and the first cooling liquid 17, the casing 11 The airtight chamber is filled with the first cooling liquid 17 , so that the heat exchange part 18 and all the second electronic components 13 arranged in the casing 11 are immersed in the first cooling liquid 17” of the provided translation);
the cooling liquid circuit (see Figure 1, 16+18+19+23+24+31+32) includes cooling housings (19, see Figure 3) in the interior space (interior space of (11)) and in heat exchanging relationship with the heat producing electronic components (12+13), and the cooling liquid circuit (see Figure 1, 16+18+19+23+24) is configured to circulate the single-phase cooling liquid (second cooling liquid) through the cooling housings (19);
the cooling liquid circuit (see Figure 1, 16+18+19+23+24+31+32) includes a fluid conduit section (162, see Figure 3 and 5) that extends between and fluidly connects a first one of the cooling housings (first of the (19) in the direction of flow) to a second one of the cooling housings (second of the (19) in the direction of flow) to direct the single-phase cooling liquid (second cooling liquid) from the first one of the cooling housings (first of the (19) in the direction of flow) to the second one of the cooling housings (second of the (19) in the direction of flow); and the fluid conduit section (162, see Figure 3 and 5) is submerged in the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17);
heat exchange fins (18) are fully submerged in the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17), and the heat exchange fins (18) do not extend above top surfaces (top surface of the (19) is the surface that is in contact with heat producing electronic component (12), see Figure 7-8, the heat exchange fins (18) do not exceed the surface that is in contact with heat producing electronic component (12), thus the heat exchange fins (18) do not extend above the top surfaces of (19)) of the first one of the cooling housings (first of the (19) in the direction of flow) and the second one of the cooling housings (second of the (19) in the direction of flow).
Yao fails to specifically teach or suggest heat exchange fins attached to and extending from an exterior surface of the fluid conduit section.
Bash, however, teaches (in Figure 7, in column 7, lines 3-12) heat exchange fins (259) attached to and extending from an exterior surface (exterior surface of conduit (263)) of a fluid conduit section (the section of conduit (263) between a cooling housing (255) and another cooling housing (257), see Figure 7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Bash with Yao, such that heat exchange fins attached to and extending from an exterior surface of the fluid conduit section as taught by Bash since doing so would allow one or more Yao’s cooling housing to cool Yao’s heat producing electronic components having high-dissipation requirements. (in column 6, line 67 to column 7, line 2)
With respect to Claim 22, Yao as modified by Bash teaches the limitations of Claim 21 as per above, Yao further teaches (in Figure 1-3)
wherein the cooling liquid circuit (see Figure 1, 16+18+19+23+24+31+32) further includes a cooling liquid inlet (31) in the device housing (11) and a cooling liquid outlet (32) in the device housing (11), and an inlet conduit (161) is connected to the cooling liquid inlet (31), the inlet conduit (161) is fluidly connected to the fluid conduit section (162), and further comprising additional heat exchange fins (182, see Figure 3) attached to and extending from an exterior surface of the inlet conduit (161, see Figure 3).
With respect to Claim 23, Yao as modified by Bash teaches the limitations of Claim 21 as per above, Yao further teaches (in Figure 1-3)
Wherein the cooling liquid circuit (see Figure 1, 16+18+19+23+24+31+32) further includes a cooling liquid inlet (31) in the device housing (11) and a cooling outlet (32) in the device housing (11), wherein the cooling liquid circuit (see Figure 1, 16+18+19+23+24+31+32) further includes a heat exchanger (see Figure 1, 24) outside the device housing (11) through which the single- phase cooling liquid (second cooling liquid) flows, and a pump (23) that pumps the single-phase cooling liquid (second cooling liquid) to the heat exchanger (24), wherein the pump (23, on page 8, 5th paragraph, lines 3-6, “between the heat exchanger 24 and the shell 11 A second power component 23 may be provided in the circulation loop formed between the two, so as to increase the circulating power for the second cooling liquid, so as to increase the circulation rate of the second cooling liquid, thereby improving the heat exchange efficiency”, the pump (23) is stated to be between heat exchanger 24 and the device housing (11), the placement of the pump (23) is not required to at certain location only that the pump is between heat exchanger 24 and the device housing (11), thus the pump (23) can be placed between heat exchanger 24 and the cooling liquid outlet (32)) is fluidly disposed between the heat exchanger (24) and the cooling liquid outlet (32).
With respect to Claim 24, Yao as modified by Bash teaches the limitations of Claim 21 as per above, Yao further teaches (in Figure 1-3)
wherein the heat producing electronic components (12+13) comprise a central processing unit (12), a graphics processing unit, a power supply, a switch, a data storage drive, and/or a memory module (on page 6, 9th paragraph, “For example, the first electronic component may include a CPU (central processing unit, central processing unit), or a chip with higher power, such as a GPU (graphics processing unit, display chip) or Programmable logic chips, etc.; similarly, "second electronic components" does not mean that the corresponding electronic components are of the same type or the same shape, that is, the electronic components classified into the second electronic components may be the same The type may also be of different types. For example, the second electronic component may include a control chip or an interface card.”).
With respect to Claim 25, Yao as modified by Bash teaches the limitations of Claim 21 as per above, Yao further teaches (in Figure 1-3)
wherein the heat producing electronic components (12+13) are mounted on a circuit board (15).
With respect to Claim 26, Yao as modified by Bash teaches the limitations of Claim 21 as per above, Yao further teaches (in Figure 1-3)
wherein the single- phase cooling liquid (second cooling liquid) differs from the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17, on page 7, 7th paragraph “The first cooling liquid 17 and the second cooling liquid can be selected from the same medium, or can be selected from different media. The first cooling liquid 17 is filled in the casing 11 and is in contact with electronic components and the like. Obviously, the first cooling liquid 17 is a non-conductive medium. If the second cooling liquid and the first cooling liquid 17 use the same medium, both are non-conductive media, and the cost is relatively high. In actual setting, it is better to use different media for the first coolant 17 and the second coolant to reduce costs. For example, the first coolant 17 can be selected from minerals that meet the requirements of non-conductivity. Oil or fluorinated liquid, and the second cooling liquid can be water with low price, or a composition composed of water and additives, wherein the additives can be alcohol substances, such as ethylene glycol and the like” of the provided translation).
With respect to Claim 27, Yao as modified by Bash teaches the limitations of Claim 26 as per above, Yao further teaches (in Figure 1-3)
wherein the single- phase cooling liquid (second cooling liquid) comprises water or glycol (on page 7, 7th paragraph “For example, the first coolant 17 can be selected from minerals that meet the requirements of non-conductivity. Oil or fluorinated liquid, and the second cooling liquid can be water with low price, or a composition composed of water and additives, wherein the additives can be alcohol substances, such as ethylene glycol and the like” of the provided translation).
Claims 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Bash in view of Heydari (US 2022/0346285 - hereinafter, "Heydari").
With respect to Claim 28, Yao as modified by Bash teaches the limitations of Claim 6 as per above, Yao further teaches (in Figure 1-3)
further comprising a first cooling liquid circuit (see Figure 1, 16+18+19+23+24+31+32) in the interior space (interior space of 11);
the first cooling liquid circuit (see Figure 1, 16+18+19+23+24+31+32) includes the section (162, see Figure 3 and 5) of the fluid conduit (16), the first one of the cooling housings (19), and the second one of the cooling housings (the other (19));
the conduit (16) in the interior space (interior space of 11) through which the single-phase cooling liquid flows (second cooling liquid), the conduit (16) is submerged in the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17).
Yao fails to specifically teach or suggest a first cooling liquid circuit and a second cooling liquid circuit in the interior space; the second cooling liquid circuit is separate from the first cooling liquid circuit, the second cooling liquid circuit includes a third one of the cooling housings, a fourth one of the cooling housings, and a second section of the fluid conduit in the interior space through which the single-phase cooling liquid flows, the second section of the fluid conduit is submerged in the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid, and the second section of the fluid conduit fluidly connects the third one of the cooling housings to the fourth one of the cooling housings.
Heydari, however, teaches (in Figure 2) a first cooling circuit (214A+210A+210B) and a second cooling circuit (214B+210C+210D) in an interior space (interior space of (202)); the second cooling liquid circuit (214B+210C+210D) is separate from the first cooling liquid circuit (214A+210A+210B), the second cooling liquid circuit (214B+210C+210D) includes one of the cooling housings (210C), an other of the cooling housings (210D), and a section (section of fluid conduit (214B), see Figure 2) of an other fluid conduit (214B) in the interior space (interior space of (202)) through which a cooling liquid flows (secondary coolant, in paragraph [0069], “one or more cold plates 210A-D may support distinct ports and channels for a secondary coolant of a secondary cooling loop or a different fluid”), the section (section of fluid conduit (214B), see Figure 2) of the other fluid conduit (214B) is submerged in a bulk cooling liquid (fluid, in paragraph [0070], “a server tray 202 is an immersive-cooled server tray that may be flooded by fluid. In at least one embodiment, a fluid for an immersive-cooled server tray may be a dielectric engineered fluid capable of being used in an immersive-cooled server”), and the section (section of fluid conduit (214B), see Figure 2) of the other fluid conduit (214B) fluidly connects the one of the cooling housings (210C) to the other of the cooling housings (210D).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Heydari with Yao, such that a first cooling circuit and a second cooling circuit in an interior space; the second cooling liquid circuit is separate from the first cooling liquid circuit, the second cooling liquid circuit includes one of the cooling housings, an other of the cooling housings, and a section of an other fluid conduit in the interior space through which a cooling liquid flows, the section of the other fluid conduit is submerged in a bulk cooling liquid, and the section of the other fluid conduit fluidly connects the one of the cooling housings to the other of the cooling housings as taught by Heydari since doing so would allow for cooling of additional or associated heat producing electronic components of Yao’s liquid submersion cooled electronic device. (in paragraph [0069])
With respect to Claim 29, Yao as modified by Bash as modified by Heydari teaches the limitation of Claim 28 as per above and Yao further teaches (in Figure 1-3)
Yao teaches that it is known in the art to provide
heat exchange fins (259 as taught by Bash in Claim 6 as per above) attached to and extending from an exterior surface (exterior surface of conduit (263) as taught by Bash in Claim 6 as per above) of a section (the section of conduit (263) between a cooling housing (255) and another cooling housing (257), see Figure 7 as taught by Bash in Claim 6 as per above) of a conduit (263 as taught by Bash in Claim 6 as per above) heat exchange fins (18, see Figure 3, 5 and 7-8) are fully submerged in the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17), and the heat exchange fins (18, see Figure 3, 5 and 7-8) do not extend above top surfaces (top surface of the (19) is the surface that is in contact with heat producing electronic component (12), see Figure 7-8, the heat exchange fins (18) do not exceed the surface that is in contact with heat producing electronic component (12), thus the heat exchange fins (18) do not extend above the top surfaces of (19)) of the first one of the cooling housings (first of the (19) in the direction of flow) and the second one of the cooling housings (second of the (19) in the direction of flow).
Accordingly, Yao’s teachings would be applicable the section of the other fluid conduit of Heydari such that, additional heat exchange fins (heat exchange fins as taught by Yao and 259 as taught by Bash) attached to and extending from an exterior surface (exterior surface of a conduit, as taught by Bash) of the section of the other fluid conduit (214B) and the additional heat exchange fins (heat exchange fins as taught by Yao and 259 as taught by Bash) are fully submerged in the bulk cooling liquid (fluid, in paragraph [0070], “a server tray 202 is an immersive-cooled server tray that may be flooded by fluid. In at least one embodiment, a fluid for an immersive-cooled server tray may be a dielectric engineered fluid capable of being used in an immersive-cooled server”), and the additional heat exchange fins (heat exchange fins as taught by Yao and 259 as taught by Bash) do not extend above top surfaces (top surface of the (19) is the surface that is in contact with heat producing electronic component (12), see Figure 7-8, the heat exchange fins (18) do not exceed the surface that is in contact with heat producing electronic component (12), thus the heat exchange fins (18) do not extend above the top surfaces of (19) as taught by Yao) of the first one of the cooling housing (first of the (19) in the direction of flow as taught by Yao) and the second one of the cooling housings (second of the (19) in the direction of flow as taught by Yao).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Yao with Heydari, such that additional heat exchange fins attached to and extending from an exterior surface of the section of the other fluid conduit and the additional heat exchange fins are fully submerged in the bulk cooling liquid, and the additional heat exchange fins do not extend above top surfaces of the first one of the cooling housing and the second one of the cooling housings as taught by Yao since doing so would improve the heat exchange efficiency between the bulk cooling liquid and the cooling liquid. (on page 11, 1st paragraph of the provided translation, “The fins of the first 181A and the 182A can increase the heat exchange area between the heat exchange part 18A and the first cooling liquid, thereby improving the heat exchange efficiency between the first cooling liquid and the second cooling liquid, thereby improving the heat exchange between the first cooling liquid and the second cooling liquid”)
With respect to Claim 30, Yao as modified by Bash teaches the limitation of Claim 21 as per above and Yao further teaches (in Figure 1-3)
Wherein the cooling liquid circuit (see Figure 1, 16+18+19+23+24+31+32) includes a first cooling liquid circuit (see Figure 1, 16+18+19+23+24+31+32) in the interior space (interior space of 11);
the first cooling liquid circuit (see Figure 1, 16+18+19+23+24+31+32) includes the fluid conduit section (162, see Figure 3 and 5), the first one of the cooling housings (19), and the second one of the cooling housings (the other (19));
the conduit (16) in the interior space (interior space of 11) through which the single-phase cooling liquid flows (second cooling liquid), the conduit (16) is submerged in the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17).
Yao fails to specifically teach or suggest a first cooling liquid circuit and a second cooling liquid circuit in the interior space; the second cooling liquid circuit is separate from the first cooling liquid circuit, the second cooling liquid circuit includes a third one of the cooling housings, a fourth one of the cooling housings, and a second fluid conduit section in the interior space through which the single-phase cooling liquid flows, the second fluid conduit section is submerged in the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid, and the second fluid conduit section fluidly connects the third one of the cooling housings to the fourth one of the cooling housings.
Heydari, however, teaches (in Figure 2) a first cooling circuit (214A+210A+210B) and a second cooling circuit (214B+210C+210D) in an interior space (interior space of (202)); the second cooling liquid circuit (214B+210C+210D) is separate from the first cooling liquid circuit (214A+210A+210B), the second cooling liquid circuit (214B+210C+210D) includes one of the cooling housings (210C), an other of the cooling housings (210D), and an other fluid conduit section (a section of fluid conduit (214B), see Figure 2) in the interior space (interior space of (202)) through which a cooling liquid flows (secondary coolant, in paragraph [0069], “one or more cold plates 210A-D may support distinct ports and channels for a secondary coolant of a secondary cooling loop or a different fluid”), the other fluid conduit section (the section of fluid conduit (214B), see Figure 2) is submerged in a bulk cooling liquid (fluid, in paragraph [0070], “a server tray 202 is an immersive-cooled server tray that may be flooded by fluid. In at least one embodiment, a fluid for an immersive-cooled server tray may be a dielectric engineered fluid capable of being used in an immersive-cooled server”), and the other fluid conduit section (the section of fluid conduit (214B), see Figure 2) fluidly connects the one of the cooling housings (210C) to the other of the cooling housings (210D).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Heydari with Yao, such that a first cooling circuit and a second cooling circuit in an interior space; the second cooling liquid circuit is separate from the first cooling liquid circuit, the second cooling liquid circuit includes one of the cooling housings, an other of the cooling housings, and an other fluid conduit section in the interior space through which a cooling liquid flows, the other fluid conduit section is submerged in a bulk cooling liquid, and the other fluid conduit section fluidly connects the one of the cooling housings to the other of the cooling housings as taught by Heydari since doing so would allow for cooling of additional or associated heat producing electronic components of Yao’s liquid submersion cooled electronic device. (in paragraph [0069])
With respect to Claim 31, Yao as modified by Bash as modified by Heydari teaches the limitation of Claim 30 as per above and Yao further teaches (in Figure 1-3)
Yao teaches that it is known in the art to provide heat exchange fins (259 as taught by Bash in Claim 21 as per above) attached to and extending from an exterior surface (exterior surface of conduit (263) as taught by Bash in Claim 21 as per above) of a fluid conduit section (the section of conduit (263) between a cooling housing (255) and another cooling housing (257), see Figure 7 as taught by Bash in Claim 21 as per above), the heat exchange fins (18) are fully submerged in the single-phase bulk dielectric cooling liquid (17), and the heat exchange fins (18) do not extend above top surfaces (top surface of the (19) is the surface that is in contact with heat producing electronic component (12), see Figure 7-8, the heat exchange fins (18) do not exceed the surface that is in contact with heat producing electronic component (12), thus the heat exchange fins (18) do not extend above the top surfaces of (19)) of the first one of the cooling housings (first of the (19) in the direction of flow) and the second one of the cooling housings (second of the (19) in the direction of flow)
Accordingly, Yao’s teachings would be applicable the other fluid conduit section of Heydari such that, additional heat exchange fins (heat exchange fins as taught by Yao and 259 as taught by Bash) attached to and extending from an exterior surface (exterior surface of a conduit, as taught by Bash) of the other fluid conduit section (214B) and the additional heat exchange fins (heat exchange fins as taught by Yao and 259 as taught by Bash) are fully submerged in the bulk cooling liquid (fluid, in paragraph [0070], “a server tray 202 is an immersive-cooled server tray that may be flooded by fluid. In at least one embodiment, a fluid for an immersive-cooled server tray may be a dielectric engineered fluid capable of being used in an immersive-cooled server”), and the additional heat exchange fins (heat exchange fins as taught by Yao and 259 as taught by Bash) do not extend above top surfaces (top surface of the (19) is the surface that is in contact with heat producing electronic component (12), see Figure 7-8, the heat exchange fins (18) do not exceed the surface that is in contact with heat producing electronic component (12), thus the heat exchange fins (18) do not extend above the top surfaces of (19) as taught by Yao) of the first one of the cooling housing (first of the (19) in the direction of flow as taught by Yao) and the second one of the cooling housing (second of the (19) in the direction of flow as taught by Yao).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Yao with Heydari, such that additional heat exchange fins attached to and extending from an exterior surface of the other fluid conduit section and the additional heat exchange fins are fully submerged in the bulk cooling liquid, and the additional heat exchange fins do not extend above top surfaces of the first one of the cooling housing and the second one of the cooling housing as taught by Yao since doing so would improve the heat exchange efficiency between the bulk cooling liquid and the cooling liquid. (on page 11, 1st paragraph of the provided translation, “The fins of the first 181A and the 182A can increase the heat exchange area between the heat exchange part 18A and the first cooling liquid, thereby improving the heat exchange efficiency between the first cooling liquid and the second cooling liquid, thereby improving the heat exchange between the first cooling liquid and the second cooling liquid”)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner notes that Applicant’s arguments are directed to the claims as amended, and the rejection has been modified to meet the limitations of the amended claims (See rejection above).
With respect to Applicant’s remarks to rejection under 35 USC 103 in view of Yao in view of Bash (Present remark page 7-8) The Examiner respectfully disagrees, Yao teaches the limitation “the heat exchange fins do not extend above top surfaces of the first one of the cooling housings and the second one of the cooling housings”, the top surface could be designated as the surface of the cooling housing that is in contact with the heat producing electronic component as there is no claim limitations claiming an orientations of the liquid submersion cooled electronic device and/or details or specifics as to what surfaces as in contact with or opposite of or parallel to or perpendicular to or facing, thus the top surface could be designated as the surface of the cooling housing that is in contact with the heat producing electronic component.
With respect to Applicant’s remarks to rejection under 35 USC 103 in view of Yao in view of Bash (Present remark page 8)
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument that "Bash is not an immersion cooled system. The components in Bash are not immersed or submerged in a liquid", the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.N./Examiner , Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841