CTNF 18/155,579 CTNF 89417 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Please amend lines 9-10 to instead recite “the inlet outlet inlet/outlet structure” as established in line 3 . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 17, The preamble of claim 17 recites “The guard of claim 13 ,” which is indefinite because claim 13 refers to “ The system of claim 1 ”. It is unclear if applicant intends for the preamble of claim 17 to refer to the guard of claim 16 , or the system of claim 13 . Appropriate clarification is required. Regarding claim 18, The preamble of claim 18 recites “The guard of claim 13 ,” which is indefinite because claim 13 refers to “ The system of claim 1 ”. It is unclear if applicant intends for the preamble of claim 18 to refer to the guard of claim 16 , or the system of claim 13 . Appropriate clarification is required. Regarding claim 19, The preamble of claim 19 recites “The guard of claim 15 ,” which is indefinite because claim 15 refers to “ The system of claim 1 ”. It is unclear if applicant intends for the preamble of claim 19 to refer to the guard of claim 16 , or the system of claim 15 . Appropriate clarification is required. Regarding claim 20, The preamble of claim 20 recites “The guard of claim 13 ,” which is indefinite because claim 13 refers to “ The system of claim 1 ”. It is unclear if applicant intends for the preamble of claim 20 to refer to the guard of claim 16 , or the system of claim 13 . Appropriate clarification is required. Line 8 recites “the transparent window material”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Line 3 establishes a window material but does not recite that it is transparent. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 5-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by US Pat. 2,698,983 to Griffin (hereinafter “Griffin”) . Regarding claims 1 and 7, Griffin discloses a system comprising: a heatset steam tunnel (formed by tank 31 and hood 155; see Fig. 1, 7-8) extending along a longitudinal axis, the heatset steam tunnel having an inlet/outlet structure (at 26, 193; see Fig. 7-8), the inlet/outlet structure extending along a horizontal axis that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and a vertical axis that is perpendicular to the horizontal axis and the longitudinal axis; an operator space (spaced along the horizontal axis adjacent to inlet/outlet structure) positioned adjacent the inlet/outlet structure of the heatset steam tunnel [see Fig. 2-3]; and a guard (155) at least partially covering the inlet/outlet structure [see Fig. 7-8], wherein the guard comprises a window material (e.g. 201, 202 in Fig. 4, 6) that permits an operator to see therethrough into the inlet/outlet structure, wherein the guard is configured to direct steam from the inlet/outlet structure of the heatset steam tunnel away from the operator space while permitting viewing into the inlet/outlet structure from the operator space [see col. 4, line 51 – col. 13, line 29]. Regarding claims 2-3, Griffin discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the guard further comprises a frame, wherein the frame defines a plurality of openings (e.g. at 195, 196), wherein the window material (201, 202) extends across each of the openings of the plurality of openings of the frame [see Fig. 4, 6]. Regarding claim 5, Griffin discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the window material comprises a plurality of panes (201, 202) [see Fig. 4, 6]. Regarding claim 6, Griffin discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the guard (155) is configured to direct steam in a downward or at least partially downward direction along the vertical axis [see Fig. 4; col. 13, lines 1-29]. Regarding claim 8, Griffin discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the operator space comprises at least a first zone that is positioned on a first side of the inlet/outlet structure along the horizontal axis and a second zone that is positioned on an opposed second side of the inlet/outlet structure along the horizontal axis [See Fig. 3]. Regarding claim 9, Griffin discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the guard comprises: a pair of side coverings (156, 157) that are spaced along the horizontal axis; and a top covering (155) that extends between the pair of side coverings [see Fig. 4]. Regarding claim 10, Griffin discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the top covering (155) comprises: a first section that extends along the longitudinal axis from a first end to a second end; and a second section that extends downwardly from the second end of the first section at an obtuse angle [see Fig. 6-8]. Regarding claim 11, Griffin discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the guard comprises an upper portion and a lower portion, wherein the upper portion comprises the pair of side coverings (156, 157) and the top covering (155), wherein the lower portion comprises a pair of lower side coverings (40, 41) , and wherein the lower portion comprises a lower vent (at 42) that is configured to permit downward release of steam [see Fig. 7-8]. Regarding claim 12, Griffin discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the window material comprises an amorphous polymeric material (“plastic”). Regarding claims 13-14, Griffin discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the window material is transparent and clear [“transparent panels”; col. 9, lines 75-81]. Regarding claim 16, Griffin discloses a guard that is configured to cover at least a portion of an inlet/outlet structure of a heatset steam tunnel (formed by tank 31 and hood 155; see Fig. 1, 7-8), the heatset steam tunnel extending along a longitudinal axis, the inlet/outlet structure extending along a horizontal axis and a vertical axis that is perpendicular to the horizontal axis, the guard comprising: a pair of side coverings (156, 157; see Fig. 4) that are spaced along the horizontal axis [see Fig. 4]; a top covering (155; see Fig. 6-8) that extends between the pair of side coverings [see col. 4, line 51 – col. 13, line 29]; and a lower vent (at 42) that is configured to permit downward release of steam [see Fig. 6-8; col. 1-13], wherein the guard is configured to direct steam in a downward or at least partially downward direction along the vertical axis [e.g see Fig. 4, 6; col. 9, line 82 – col. 10, line 1]. Regarding claim 17, Griffin discloses the guard of claim 13, wherein the guard is configured to direct steam in a downward or at least partially downward direction along the vertical axis [e.g. see Fig. 4, 6; col. 9, line 82 – col. 10, line 1]. Regarding claim 18, Griffin discloses the guard of claim 13, wherein the top covering (155) comprises: a first section that extends along the longitudinal axis from a first end to a second end; and a second section that extends downwardly from the second end of the first section at an obtuse angle [see Fig. 6-8]. Regarding claim 19, Griffin discloses the guard of claim 15, wherein the guard comprises an upper portion and a lower portion, wherein the upper portion comprises the pair of side coverings (156, 157) and the top covering (155), wherein the lower portion comprises a pair of lower side coverings (40, 41) , and wherein the lower portion comprises a lower vent (at 42) that is configured to permit downward release of steam [see Fig. 7-8] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin . Regarding claim 15, Griffin teaches that the window material “may be made from glass, plastic, or any other suitable material” [col. 9, lines 75-81], but does not explicitly teach that the window material is translucent. However it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to select a window material that is translucent, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. [see MPEP 2144.07] . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 07-43-02 AIA Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 4 and 20, Griffin does not teach or suggest that the guard further comprises at least one screen that is configured to cover the plurality of openings, wherein the at least one screen defines a plurality of apertures, wherein the guard further comprises a plurality of fasteners that extend through respective apertures of the plurality of apertures and couple the window material to the at least one screen. Upon a comprehensive search no available prior art was able to teach or suggest, singly or in combination, all features of claims 4 and 20. For at least the above reasons claims 4 and 20 contain allowable subject matter . Conclusion See the attached PTO-892 for a list of the prior art made of record which includes additional prior art not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THOMAS BUCCI whose telephone number is (571)270-5406. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Barr can be reached at (571) 272-1414. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THOMAS BUCCI/Examiner, Art Unit 1711 /MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/155,579 Page 2 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/155,579 Page 3 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/155,579 Page 4 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/155,579 Page 5 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/155,579 Page 6 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/155,579 Page 7 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/155,579 Page 8 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/155,579 Page 9 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/155,579 Page 10 Art Unit: 1711