DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Between Species I and II, applicant’s election with traverse of Species I, claim 2; and Species II, claims 3, 4 and 6 are non-elected in the reply filed on 11-26-24 is acknowledged. (Notes: there was a mistake made by examiner that claim 12 should be also belong to Species II, a gap is arranged inside the resin layer, same as claim 3.)
Between Species III and IV, applicant’s election without traverse of Species IV, claims 8, 18 and 20; and Species III, claims 7, 11, 17 and 19 are non-elected in the reply filed on 11-26-24 is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse between Species I and II, and the traversal is on the ground(s): A) the requirement is improper since the alleged species are
neither independent nor distinct, as required for a proper restriction; and B) fig. 8 and fig. 9 do not depict different embodiments of the invention, and they are merely enlarged views of different portions of the same substrate of fig. 2.
The arguments are not found persuasive because
A) For example, claims 2 and 3 of Species I and II are clearly independent (see claims list) and distinct (claim 2 has limitations of wherein the circuit component includes a substrate, and wherein the gap is arranged at at least one of a position between the substrate of the circuit component and the resin layer and a position between the substrate of the circuit component and the shield layer; and claim 3 has limitations of the gap is arranged within an adjacent region inside the resin layer adjacent to the circuit component).
B) Fig. 8 and 9 are different embodies of the circuit board of fig. 2; fig. 8 shows a gap is arranged between resin layer and component; and fig. 9 shows a gap is arranged within an adjacent region inside the resin layer.
Because these inventions are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious burden on the examiner if restriction were not required; the distinct characteristics require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one group would not likely be applicable to another group; and/or the groups are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, therefore, the restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL; and therefore, claims 1-2, 5, 8-10, 14 10 and 20 will be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains to make and/or use the invention.
In Claim 1 the limitation of “a mounting substrate having a first main surface and a second main surface, the first main surface and the second main surface facing each other.”, which contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 14 recite the limitations of "the main surface of the circuit component”, which lacks of anticipated base of the limitation, there is no limitation of "a main surface of the circuit component” anywhere before; and furthermore, there is “a main surface of the mounting substrate” in claim 1, the limitation as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the important feature of “wherein the circuit component includes a substrate, and wherein the gap is arranged at at least one of a position between the substrate of the circuit component and the resin layer and a position between the substrate of the circuit component and the shield layer” of claim 2, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okamoto et al. (US5672414).
Re Claim 1, Okamoto show and disclose
A high frequency module comprising:
a mounting substrate (85, fig. 9) having a first main surface (top) and a second main surface (bottom), the first main surface and the second main surface facing each other (see 112 rejection above);
a circuit component (7, fig. 9) mounted on the first main surface of the mounting substrate;
a resin layer (filled resin, fig. 9) disposed on the first main surface of the mounting substrate and covering at least a part of an outer peripheral surface of the circuit component (fig. 9); and
a shield layer (71A, fig. 9) covering at least a part of the resin layer and a main surface of the circuit component farther from the mounting substrate (fig. 9),
wherein a gap is arranged at at least one of a position between the circuit component and the resin layer, a position between the circuit component and the shield layer (fig. 9), a position inside the resin layer, and a position inside the shield layer.
Re Claim 2, Okamoto show and disclose
The high frequency module according to Claim 1, wherein the circuit component includes a substrate (4, fig. 9), and wherein the gap is arranged at at least one of a position between the substrate of the circuit component and the resin layer and a position between the substrate of the circuit component and the shield layer (fig. 9).
Re Claim 8, Okamoto show and disclose
The high frequency module according to Claim 1, wherein the gap (gap in 74A, fig. 9) is arranged along a thickness direction of the shield layer inside the shield layer (fig. 9), and overlaps with an interface between the circuit component and the resin layer in the thickness direction of the shield layer (fig. 9).
Re Claim 9, Okamoto show and disclose
The high frequency module according to Claim 1, wherein a thickness of a part of the shield layer provided on the main surface of the circuit component is set to a first thickness (thickness of 71A in area with top component 7, fig. 9), wherein a thickness of a part of the shield layer provided on a main surface of the resin layer farther from the mounting substrate is set to a second thickness (thickness of 71A with gap in 74A, fig. 9), and wherein the first thickness is more than the second thickness (fig. 9).
Re Claims 17, Okamoto show and disclose
The high frequency module according to Claim 2, wherein the gap (gap in center of layer 74A, fig. 9) is arranged along a thickness direction of the shield layer inside the shield layer (fig. 9), and does not overlap with an interface between the circuit component and the resin layer in the thickness direction of the shield layer (fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto et al.
Re Claim 10, Okamoto show and disclose
The high frequency module according to Claim 1,
Okamoto disclosed claimed invention except for the high frequency module is used in a communication apparatus module, and a signal processing circuit connected to the high frequency module and performs signal processing on a high frequency signal, since Okamoto disclosed the high frequency module, and the high frequency module is capable to be used in a communication apparatus module, and connect to a signal processing circuit to perform signal processing on a high frequency; therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use the high frequency module in a communication, in order to make a complete working system for the electronic device; and since this limitation is a intended-use limitation (be used in a communication apparatus module, and to perform signal processing on a high frequency); and since it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 UAPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claims 5, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto et al., in view of Shiga (US5723904).
Re Claims 5 and 14, Okamoto show and disclose
The high frequency module according to Claims 1 and 2, respectively,
Okamoto does not disclose
wherein the main surface of the circuit component includes a plurality of ground marks.
Shiga teaches a device wherein
wherein the main surface of the circuit component includes a plurality of ground marks (the ground lines are located at the upper surface of the IC chip, [col. 3, line 53]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add ground lines on main surface of the circuit component as taught by Shiga, in order to make ground connections easily for the electronic device.
Re Claim 20, Okamoto show and disclose
The high frequency module according to Claim 5, wherein the gap (gap in center of layer 74A, fig. 9) is arranged along a thickness direction of the shield layer inside the shield layer (fig. 9), and does not overlap with an interface between the circuit component and the resin layer in the thickness direction of the shield layer (fig. 9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-6573028-B1 US-6521482-B1 US-6359341-B1 US-6285559-B1 US-6262513-B1 US-6054759-A US-5754402-A US-5359222-A US-5355016-A US-5352925-A US-4527010-A US-5371404-A US-6548880-B1 US-6320739-B1 US-6498422-B1 US-6396154-B1 US-6188297-B1 US-6054753-A US-5723875-A US-4933739-A US-20020044215-A1 US-20020001178-A1.
/XIAOLIANG CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848