DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to the RCE field on 27 August 2026.
2. Claims 8, 21 and 25 have been amended.
3. Claims 8-27 remain Pending and Rejected.
Double Patenting
4. Double patenting rejection remain rejected until the terminal declaimer approved.
Responses to the Argument
5. The applicant’s arguments filed on 27 August 2026 are moot in view of new ground of rejection rendered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-19 and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C §103 as being unpatentable over Sah, Divyesh. (US Publication No. 20220179972), hereinafter Sah and in view of Zhoucheng Yi (WO Publication No. 2019227557), hereinafter Yi and in view of Watson et al. (US Publication no. 20210385071), hereinafter, Watson.
Regarding claim 8:
Sah does not explicitly teaches, receiving an encryption request from a first server that includes a data type indication and an identifier for one or more users; however, in a same field of endeavor Yi discloses this limitation (Yi, page 8, para.5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the method of key management of Sah with the sending encryption request to a sever disclosed in Yi to prevent key leakage and improve security of key management, stated by Yi at page 12, para. 8.
selecting a security management policy from a set of security management policies stored in a data structure based on the identifier and based on the data type indication (Sah, ¶28).
selecting a key management server based on the selected security management policy (Sah, ¶38, ¶94).
Sah in view of Yi does not explicitly teaches, wherein the selected security management policy specifies a list of key management servers, the key management server is selected from the list of key management servers specified by the selected security management policy based on an availability and based on a customer specified priority in the list, and the availability comprises a current network reachability; however in a same field endeavor Watson discloses this limitation (Watson, ¶45, ¶48, ¶32, ¶94, ¶21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the method of key management of Sah in view of Yi with the prioritization of management key disclosed in Watson to ensure that certain higher priority traffic is decrypted at the cost of not decrypting lower priority traffic., stated by Watson at ¶21.
transmitting a request for a data encryption key to the selected key management server (Sah, ¶48-49, ¶71).
receiving a plaintext key and an encrypted key from the selected key management server (Sah, ¶81, ¶83).
and in response to the encryption request, transmitting the plaintext key to the first server (Sah, ¶18, Fig.8).
Regarding claim 9:
wherein the encryption request includes a role indication for a user associated with the identifier, and the security management policy is selected based on the role indication (Sah, ¶113).
Regarding claim 10:
wherein the encryption request includes a data label, and the security management policy is selected based on the data label (Sah, ¶14, ¶28).
Regarding claim 11:
wherein the selected key management server is a cloud server (Sah, ¶15).
Regarding claim 12:
wherein the selected key management server is a hardware security module (Sah, ¶19).
Regarding claim 13:
wherein the selected key management server is in a customer cloud (Sah, ¶41).
Regarding claim 14:
comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, facilitate performance of operations, comprising: selecting a database server based on the selected security management policy; and storing encrypted data, which has been encrypted using the plaintext key, in the selected database server (Sah, ¶38, ¶94).
Regarding claim 15:
15. (Original) The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, wherein the selected security management policy includes a pointer and credentials that are used to select the database server and store the encrypted data in the selected database server (Sah, ¶14).
Regarding claim 16:
comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, facilitate performance of operations, comprising: determining a context identifier based on the encryption request; and storing the encrypted key in a record associated with the context identifier (Sah, ¶27).
Regarding claim 17:
wherein the record associated with the context identifier includes data identifying the selected key management server (Sah, ¶38, ¶94).
Regarding claim 18:
comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, facilitate performance of operations, comprising: receiving a decryption request including the context identifier; accessing the encrypted key in the record associated with the context identifier; determining the plaintext key based on the encrypted key; and transmitting the plaintext key in response to the decryption request (Sah, ¶81, ¶83).
Regarding claim 19:
wherein determining the plaintext key based on the encrypted key comprises: transmitting the encrypted key to the selected key management server; and receiving the plaintext key from the selected key management server (Sah, ¶48-49, ¶71).
Regarding claim 21:
Sah does not explicitly teaches, receiving an encryption request from a first server that includes a data type indication and an identifier for one or more users; however, in a same field of endeavor Yi discloses this limitation (Yi, page 8, para.5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the method of key management of Sah with the sending encryption request to a sever disclosed in Yi to prevent key leakage and improve security of key management, stated by Yi at page 12, para. 8.
selecting a security management policy from a set of security management policies stored in a data structure based on the identifier and based on the data type indication (Sah, ¶28).
selecting a key management server based on the selected security management policy (Sah, ¶38, ¶94).
Sah in view of Yi does not explicitly teaches, wherein the selected security management policy specifies a list of key management servers, the key management server is selected from the list of key management servers specified by the selected security management policy based on an availability and based on a customer specified priority in the list, and the availability comprises a current network reachability; however in a same field endeavor Watson discloses this limitation (Watson, ¶45, ¶48, ¶32, ¶94, ¶21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the method of key management of Sah in view of Yi with the prioritization of management key disclosed in Watson to ensure that certain higher priority traffic is decrypted at the cost of not decrypting lower priority traffic., stated by Watson at ¶21.
transmitting a request for a data encryption key to the selected key management server (Sah, ¶48-49, ¶71).
receiving a plaintext key and an encrypted key from the selected key management server (Sah, ¶81, ¶83).
and in response to the encryption request, transmitting the plaintext key to the first server (Sah, ¶18, Fig.8).
Regarding claim 22:
wherein the encryption request includes a role indication for a user associated with the identifier, and the security management policy is selected based on the role indication (Sah, ¶113).
Regarding claim 23:
wherein the encryption request includes a data label, and the security management policy is selected based on the data label (Sah, ¶14, ¶28).
Regarding claim 24:
comprising: selecting a database server based on the selected security management policy; and storing encrypted data, which has been encrypted using the plaintext key, in the selected database server (Sah, ¶38, ¶94).
Regarding claim 25:
a network interface (Sah, ¶12).
a processor, and a memory, wherein the memory stores instructions executable by the processor to (Sah, ¶41).
Sah does not explicitly teaches, receiving an encryption request from a first server that includes a data type indication and an identifier for one or more users; however, in a same field of endeavor Yi discloses this limitation (Yi, page 8, para.5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the method of key management of Sah with the sending encryption request to a sever disclosed in Yi to prevent key leakage and improve security of key management, stated by Yi at page 12, para. 8.
selecting a security management policy from a set of security management policies stored in a data structure based on the identifier and based on the data type indication (Sah, ¶28).
selecting a key management server based on the selected security management policy (Sah, ¶38, ¶94).
Sah in view of Yi does not explicitly teaches, wherein the selected security management policy specifies a list of key management servers, the key management server is selected from the list of key management servers specified by the selected security management policy based on an availability and based on a customer specified priority in the list, and the availability comprises a current network reachability; however in a same field endeavor Watson discloses this limitation (Watson, ¶45, ¶48, ¶32, ¶94, ¶21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the method of key management of Sah in view of Yi with the prioritization of management key disclosed in Watson to ensure that certain higher priority traffic is decrypted at the cost of not decrypting lower priority traffic., stated by Watson at ¶21.
transmitting a request for a data encryption key to the selected key management server (Sah, ¶48-49, ¶71).
receiving a plaintext key and an encrypted key from the selected key management server (Sah, ¶81, ¶83).
and in response to the encryption request, transmitting the plaintext key to the first server (Sah, ¶18, Fig.8).
Regarding claim 26:
wherein the encryption request includes a role indication for a user associated with the identifier, and the security management policy is selected based on the role indication (Sah, ¶113).
Regarding claim 27:
wherein the encryption request includes a data label, and the security management policy is selected based on the data label. (Sah, ¶14, ¶28).
7. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C §103 as being unpatentable over Sah in view of Yi and in view of Perlman et al. (US Publication No. 20210377016), hereinafter Perlman.
Regarding claim 20:
Sah in view of Yi and Watson does not explicitly suggest, receiving a re-keying request; determining a set of one or more context identifiers based on the re-keying request, wherein the set of one or more context identifiers includes the context identifier ;identifying a next key management server based on the re-keying request; responsive to the re-keying request, determining the plaintext key based on the encrypted key using the selected key management server; determining a new encrypted key based on the plaintext key using the next key management server; storing the new encrypted key in a record associated with the context identifier; and deleting the encrypted key and the plaintext key; however, in a same field of endeavor Perlman discloses this limitation ( Perlman, ¶35, ¶39, ¶33, ¶63-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the method of key management of Sah in view of Yi and Watson with the use re-keying method disclosed in Perlman to generate new key version for extra layer of security, stated by Perlman at ¶31.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Monjour Rahim whose telephone number is (571)270-3890.
/Monjur Rahim/
Patent Examiner
United States Patent and Trademark Office
Art Unit: 2436; Phone: 571.270.3890
E-mail: monjur.rahim@uspto.gov
Fax: 571.270.4890