DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The amendment filed on May 11th, 2026 has been acknowledged. By this amendment, claims 1-3, 8-11, 15, 17-19, 21, 25, 28, and 30 have been amended. Accordingly, claims 1-30 are pending in the present application in which claims 1, 4, 10, 12, 15, 21, 25, 28, and 30 are in independent form. Applicant’s amendment to claims 15 has obviated the 112(b) issue in the previous office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, 17, 18, 20, 28, and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 6-7, “the electronic component” should be --the electronic components--.
In claim 10, line 6, “coupled to circuit” should be --coupled to the circuit-- since “a circuit” has been defined in claim 10, line 4.
In re claim 17, lines 1-2, “attaching the electronic component” should be --attaching the electronic components--.
In claim 18, lines 1-2, “attaching the electronic component” should be --attaching the electronic components--.
In claim 20, line 1, “attaching the electronic component” should be --attaching the electronic components--.
In claim 28, line 4, “two or more electronic component” should be --two or more electronic components--.
In claim 29, line 2, “the electronic component” should be --the electronic components--.
Appropriate correction is required.
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manack et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0059423).
In re claim 15, Manack discloses a method of fabricating an electronic device 501, the method comprising attaching a semiconductor die 508 to a substrate or a die attach pad 502 (see paragraph [0037] and fig. 5A); performing an electrical connection process that couples the semiconductor die 508 to a circuit 510 (see paragraph [0037] and fig. 5A); forming a package structure 512 that encloses the semiconductor die 508 and having an opening 514 that exposes metal terminals 516 attached to the substrate or the die attach pad 502 (see paragraph [0038] and fig. 5A); and attaching electronic components (550,552,554) through the opening 514 to the metal terminals 516 (see paragraphs [0037], [0038] and fig. 5A).
In re claim 19, as applied to claim 15 above, Manack discloses wherein attaching the electronic components (550,552,554) includes soldering terminals of the electronic components (550,552,554) to the metal terminals 516 to couple the electronic components (550,552,554) to the circuit 510 (see paragraphs [0035], [0038] and fig. 5A).
In re claim 20, as applied to claim 19 above, Manack discloses wherein attaching the electronic component (550,552,554) includes dispensing solder paste on the metal terminals 516; attaching terminals of the electronic components (550,552,554) on respective ones of the solder paste; and reflowing the solder paste to couple the electronic components (550,552,554) to the circuit 510 (see paragraph [0038] and fig. 5A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manack et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0059423) in view of Jow (U.S. Pub. 2008/0067641).
In re claim 1, Manack discloses an electronic device 501, comprising a semiconductor die 508 attached to a die attach pad 502 and coupled to a circuit 510 of the electronic device 501 (see paragraph [0037] and fig. 5A); two or more electronic components (550,552,554) coupled to the circuit 510 (see paragraph [0037] and fig. 5A); and a package structure 512 that encloses the semiconductor die 508, the package structure 512 having an opening 514 that exposes a top and at least partial side portions of the electronic component (550,552,554) (see paragraph [0038] and fig. 5A).
Manack discloses that the semiconductor die is attached to the die attach pad but is silent to wherein the semiconductor die is attached to a substrate.
However, Jow discloses in a same field of endeavor, an electronic device 10, including, inter-alia, a semiconductor die (30,40) attached to a die attach pad 26 (see paragraph [0018] and fig. 2) or to a substrate 15 (see paragraph [0021] and fig. 3).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Jow into the electronic device of Manack in order to enable the semiconductor die to be attached to a substrate in Manack to be formed because Jow provides evidence that it is well-known in the art to attach the semiconductor die to either a die attach pad or to a substrate in order to obtain a package structure. Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Manack in combination with Jow discloses wherein the electronic device further comprising a conductive lead 504 that is coupled to the circuit 510 and extends outward from the package structure 512; and metal terminals 516 attached to the substrate, the electronic components (550,552,554) being coupled to respective ones of the metal terminals 516 (see paragraphs [0037], [0038] and fig. 5A of Manack).
In re claim 3, as applied to claim 2 above, Manack in combination with Jow discloses wherein one of the metal terminals 516 is coupled to the conductive lead 504; and the electronic component (550,552,554) is soldered to one of the metal terminals 516 (see paragraphs [0035], [0038] and fig. 5A of Manack).
In re claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, Manack in combination with Jow discloses wherein the electronic components (550,552,554) are passive circuit components (see paragraph [0040] and fig. 5A of Manack).
In re claim 9, as applied to claim 8 above, Manack in combination with Jow discloses wherein each of the electronic components has terminals soldered to respective metal terminals 516 of the electronic device (see paragraph [0038] and fig. 5A of Manack).
In re claim 10, Manack discloses a system, comprising a circuit board 150; and an electronic device 100 attached to the circuit board 150 (see paragraph [0030] and fig. 1D), the electronic device comprising a semiconductor die 508 attached to a die attach pad 502 and coupled to a circuit 510 of the electronic device (see paragraph [0037] and fig. 5A); two or more electronic components (550,552,554) coupled to circuit 510 (see paragraph [0037] and fig. 5A); a package structure 512 that encloses the semiconductor die 508, the package structure 512 having an opening 514 that exposes a top and at least partial side portions of the electronic components (550,552,554) (see paragraph [0038] and fig. 5A); and a conductive lead 504 that is coupled to the circuit 510 and extends outward from the package structure 512 (see paragraph [0038] and fig. 5A), the conductive lead coupled to the circuit board 150 (see paragraph [0030] and fig. 1B).
Manack discloses that the semiconductor die is attached to the die attach pad but is silent to wherein the semiconductor die is attached to a substrate.
However, Jow discloses in a same field of endeavor, an electronic device 10, including, inter-alia, a semiconductor die (30,40) attached to a die attach pad 26 (see paragraph [0018] and fig. 2) or to a substrate 15 (see paragraph [0021] and fig. 3).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Jow into the electronic device of Manack in order to enable the semiconductor die to be attached to a substrate in Manack to be formed because Jow provides evidence that it is well-known in the art to attach the semiconductor die to either a die pad or to a substrate in order to obtain a package structure. Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 11, as applied to claim 10 above, Manack in combination with Jow discloses wherein the electronic device further comprises a conductive lead 504 that is coupled to the circuit 510 and extends outward from the package structure 512; and a metal terminal 516 attached to the substrate, one of the electronic components (550,552,554) being coupled to the metal terminal 516 (see paragraphs [0037], [0038] and fig. 5A of Manack).
In re claim 28, Manack discloses an electronic device 501, comprising a semiconductor die 508 attached to a die attach pad 502 and coupled to a circuit 510 of the electronic device 501 (see paragraph [0037] and fig. 5A); two or more electronic component (550,552,554) coupled to the circuit 510 (see paragraph [0037] and fig. 5A); and a package structure 512 that encloses the semiconductor die 508, the package structure 512 having a tapered opening 514 that exposes a portion of the electronic components (550,552,554) (see paragraph [0038] and fig. 5A).
Manack discloses that the semiconductor die is attached to the die attach pad but is silent to wherein the semiconductor die is attached to a substrate.
However, Jow discloses in a same field of endeavor, an electronic device 10, including, inter-alia, a semiconductor die (30,40) attached to a die attach pad 26 (see paragraph [0018] and fig. 2) or to a substrate 15 (see paragraph [0021] and fig. 3).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Jow into the electronic device of Manack in order to enable the semiconductor die to be attached to a substrate in Manack to be formed because Jow provides evidence that it is well-known in the art to attach the semiconductor die to either a die pad or to a substrate in order to obtain a package structure. Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 29, as applied to claim 28 above, Manack in combination with Jow discloses wherein no portion of the package structure 512 contacts the electronic component (see paragraph [0038] and fig. 5A of Manack).
In re claim 30, Manack discloses an electronic device 501, comprising a semiconductor die 508 attached to a die attach pad 502 and coupled to a circuit 510 of the electronic device 501 (see paragraph [0037] and fig. 5A); two or more electronic components (550,552,554) coupled to the circuit 510; and a package structure 512 that encloses the semiconductor die 508, the package structure 512 having an opening 514 that exposes a portion of the electronic components (550,552,554), wherein no
portion of the package structure 512 contacts the electronic components (550,552,554) (see paragraph [0038] and fig. 5A).
Manack discloses that the semiconductor die is attached to the die pad but is silent to wherein the semiconductor die is attached to a substrate.
However, Jow discloses in a same field of endeavor, an electronic device 10, including, inter-alia, a semiconductor die (30,40) attached to a die pad 26 (see paragraph [0018] and fig. 2) or to a substrate 15 (see paragraph [0021] and fig. 3).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Jow into the electronic device of Manack in order to enable the semiconductor die to be attached to a substrate in Manack to be formed because Jow provides evidence that it is well-known in the art to attach the semiconductor die to either a die pad or to a substrate in order to obtain a package structure. Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manack et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0059423), as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Jow (U.S. Pub. 2008/0067641).
In re claim 16, as applied to claim 15 above, Manack is silent to wherein forming the package structure includes performing a molding process with a mold feature engaging a surface of the metal terminal to create the opening of the package structure.
However, Jow discloses in a same field of endeavor, a method of fabricating an electronic device, including, inter-alia, the step of forming the package structure 50 includes performing a molding process with a mold feature (a upper mold 92 and a lower mold 94) engaging a surface of the metal terminal to create the opening 60 of the package structure 50 (see paragraphs [0027], [0028], [0029] and fig. 5B of Jow).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Jow into the electronic device of Manack in order to enable the step of forming the package structure includes performing a molding process with a mold feature engaging a surface of the metal terminal to create the opening of the package structure in Manack to be performed in order to provide passive component in the opening (see Abstract of Jow).
In re claim 17, as applied to claim 16 above, Manack in combination with Jow discloses wherein attaching the electronic component (550,552,554) includes soldering terminals of the electronic components (550,552,554) to respective ones of the metal terminals 516 to couple the electronic component (550,552,554) to the circuit 510 (see paragraph [0037] and fig. 5A of Manack).
In re claim 18, as applied to claim 16 above, Manack in combination with Jow discloses wherein attaching the electronic component (550,552,554) includes dispensing solder paste on the metal terminals 516; attaching terminals of the electronic components (550,552,554) on respective ones of the solder paste; and reflowing the solder paste to couple the electronic components (550,552,554) to the circuit 510 (see paragraph [0038] and fig. 5A of Manack).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 12-14, and 21-27 are allowed over prior art of record.
Reasons For Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
It is determined that the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of independent claims 4, 12, 21, and 25 as a whole taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “a second semiconductor die attached to the substrate and having a second transistor with a drain coupled to the second metal terminal and a source coupled to the switching mode, the first conductive lead is coupled to the first metal terminal to form a reference node of the circuit, the second conductive lead is coupled to the switching mode of the circuit, and the third conductive lead is coupled to the second metal terminal to form an input node of the circuit", as recited in independent claim 4, “the electronic device includes a second semiconductor die, first, second, and third conductive leads, and first and second metal terminals, the semiconductor die is a first semiconductor die attached to the substrate and having a first transistor with drain coupled to a switching node of the circuit and a source coupled to the first metal terminal, the second semiconductor die is attached to the substrate and has a second transistor with drain coupled to the second metal terminal and a source coupled to the switching mode, the first conductive lead is coupled to the first metal terminal to form a reference node of the circuit, the second conductive lead is coupled to the switching node of the circuit, and the third conductive lead is coupled to the second metal terminal to form an input node of the circuit”, as recited in independent claim 12, “the second semiconductor die is attached to the substrate and has a second transistor with a drain coupled to the second metal terminal and a source coupled to the switching node; the first conductive lead is coupled to the first metal terminal to form a reference node of the circuit; the second conductive lead is coupled to the switching node of the circuit; and the third conductive lead is coupled to the second metal terminal to form an input node of the circuit”, as recited in independent claim 21, and “the second semiconductor die is attached to the substrate and has a second transistor with a drain coupled to the second metal terminal and a source coupled to the switching node; the first conductive lead is coupled to the first metal terminal to form a reference node of the circuit; the second conductive lead is coupled to the switching node of the circuit; and the third conductive lead is coupled to the second metal terminal to form an input node of the circuit”, as recited in independent claim 25.
Claims 5-7, 13, 14, 22-24, 26, and 27 also allowed as being directly or indirectly dependent of the allowed independent base claims.
Response to Applicant’s Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 8-11, 15-20, and 28-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892