DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Amendment filed 2/20/2026 wherein claims 2, 12, 21, and 22 are canceled, claims 6-7 and 13-14 are withdrawn and claims 1, 3-5, 8-11, 15-20, and 23 are presented for examination.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Filipenko et al. (WO 2018/068979 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 11, Filipenko teaches (Figures 1-4) a method of operating a fuel system (9; see Figure 4) including a fuel tank (14) that stores fuel therein (12), a fuel cooling system (27, 30a, 27a, 27b, 21, 11, 29a, 29b, 29, 30b, y) comprising a fuel cooling system fuel line (27, 27a, 27b, 29a, 29b, 29, y) in fluid communication with (see Figure 4) the fuel tank (14), one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (11, 21) in fluid communication with (see Figure 4) the fuel cooling system fuel line (27, 27a, 27b, 29a, 29b, 29, y), the fuel cooling system fuel line (27, 27a, 27b, 29a, 29b, 29, y) having a first portion (the portion from 14 to 27a, 27b) extending from the fuel tank (14) to the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (11, 21) and a second portion (a portion from 29a, 29b to 14) extending from the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (11, 21) to the fuel tank (14), and a fuel cooling system fuel pump (28), and a fuel delivery system (32, 15) comprising a turbine engine (15) having a combustion section (17), a fuel delivery system fuel line (32) in fluid communication with the fuel tank (14) and the combustion section (17), the fuel delivery system (32, 15) being fluidly separated from (see Figure 4) the fuel cooling system (32, 15) by the fuel tank (14), and a fuel delivery system fuel pump (28), the method comprising:
pumping (via 28) the fuel (12) from the fuel tank (14) with the fuel cooling system fuel pump (28) such that the fuel (12) flows through the fuel cooling system fuel line (27, 27a, 27b, 29a, 29b, 29, y);
directing (via 30a) the fuel (12) into the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (11, 21) such that the fuel absorbs heat from one or more aircraft components (21b, 11b) to become heated fuel (29a, 29b);
returning (via 30b) the heated fuel (from 29a, 29b) to the fuel tank (14) such that the heated fuel (from 29a, 29b) is stored in the fuel tank (14);
pumping (via 28) the heated fuel (from y) from the fuel tank (14) with the fuel delivery system fuel pump (28) such that the heated fuel (from y) flows through the fuel delivery system fuel line (32) separately from (see Figure 4) the fuel in the fuel cooling system fuel line (27, 27a, 27b, 29a, 29b, 29, y); and
directing the heated fuel (from y or x) to the combustion section (17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 8-11, 19-20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder (US 2022/0106053) in view of Filipenko et al. (WO 2018/068979 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Snyder teaches (Figures 1-8) a fuel system (24; see Figures 2-3) comprising:
a fuel tank (44) that stores fuel therein (see Paragraph 0056);
a fuel cooling system (47, 48) comprising:
a fuel cooling system fuel line (the fuel line from 62 to 63; see Figures 2-3) in fluid communication with (see Paragraph 0056 and Figures 2-3) the fuel tank (44);
one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (48) in fluid communication with (see Figures 2-3) the fuel cooling system fuel line (the fuel line from 62 to 63; see Figures 2-3); and
a fuel cooling system fuel pump (47) that pumps the fuel from the fuel tank (44) such that the fuel flows through the fuel cooling system fuel line (the fuel line from 62 to 63; see Figures 2-3) and into the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (48) to absorb heat from one or more aircraft components (see Paragraph 0054 and Figures 2-3) to become heated fuel (at the exit of 48), wherein the heated fuel (at the exit of 48) is returned and stored in the fuel tank (44; see Figures 2-3), wherein the fuel cooling system fuel line (the fuel line from 62 to 63) has a first portion (from 62 to 48) extending from the fuel tank (44) to the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (48) and a second portion (from 48 to 63) extending from the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (48) to the fuel tank (44); and
a fuel delivery system (from 46 to 14; see Figures 1-3) comprising:
a turbine engine (14) having a combustion section (see Paragraphs 0003 and 0081);
a fuel delivery system fuel line (the fuel line from 52 to 14) in fluid communication with (see Figures 2-3) the fuel tank (44) and the combustion section (within 14; see Paragraph 0003 and 0081), wherein the fuel delivery system fuel line (the fuel line from 52 to 14; see Figures 2-3) extends from the fuel tank (44) downstream of the fuel cooling system fuel line (the fuel line from 62 to 63; see Figures 2-3); and
the fuel delivery system fuel line (the fuel line from 52 to 14) directs the heated fuel from the fuel tank (44) such that the fuel flows through the fuel delivery system fuel line (the fuel line from 52 to 14) separately from the fuel that flows through the fuel cooling system fuel line (the fuel line from 62 to 63) and is delivered to the combustion section (within 14; see Paragraph 0003 and 0081),
wherein the fuel tank (44) separates the fuel cooling system fuel line (the fuel line from 62 to 63) from the fuel delivery system fuel line (the fuel line from 52 to 14; see Figures 2-3).
wherein the fuel tank (44) entirely separates the fuel cooling system (47, 48) from the fuel delivery system (from 46 to 14; see Figures 1-3).
Snyder does not teach that a fuel delivery system fuel pump that pumps the heated fuel from the fuel tank such that the fuel flows through the fuel delivery system fuel line separately from the fuel that flows through the fuel cooling system fuel line and is delivered to the combustion section.
Filipenko teaches (Figures 1-4) a fuel delivery system fuel pump (28) that pumps heated fuel (see Figure 4) from the fuel tank (14) such that the fuel flows through the fuel delivery system fuel line (32) separately from (see Figure 4) the fuel that flows through the fuel cooling system fuel line (27, 27a, 27b, 29a, 29b, 29, y) and is delivered to the combustion section (17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Snyder to have the fuel delivery system fuel pump that pumps the heated fuel from the fuel tank such that the fuel flows through the fuel delivery system fuel line separately from the fuel that flows through the fuel cooling system fuel line and is delivered to the combustion section, as taught by Filipenko, in order to provide a means to supply the fuel from the tank to the engine directly (see Paragraph 0050 of Filipenko).
Regarding Claim 4, Snyder in view of Filipenko teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Snyder in view of Filipenko does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers include a component-to-fuel heat exchanger.
Filipenko teaches (Figures 1-4) a fuel delivery system (see Figures 3-4), wherein one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (21, 11) include a component-to-fuel heat exchanger (21, 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Snyder in view of Filipenko to have the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers include a component-to-fuel heat exchanger, as taught by Filipenko, in order to use fuel as a coolant to effectively cool the electric machine without adding extra weight due to the use of additional cooling fluid (see Paragraph 0015 of Filipenko).
Regarding Claim 5, Snyder in view of Filipenko teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Snyder further teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (48) include a liquid-to-fuel heat exchanger (see Paragraph 0216).
Regarding Claim 8, Snyder in view of Filipenko teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Snyder further teaches (Figures 1-8) one or more cooling systems (20) including one or more cooling system heat exchangers (16, 36 ,48) for cooling one or more system components (16) of the one or more cooling systems (20).
Regarding Claim 9, Snyder in view of Filipenko teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Snyder further teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the one or more cooling systems (20) include the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (48).
Regarding Claim 10, Snyder in view of Filipenko teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Snyder further teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the one or more cooling systems (20) include an air-cooled heat exchanger (36) that cools oil (from 84; see Paragraphs 0090 and 0216) with cooling air (35; see Figures 2-3).
Regarding Independent Claim 11, Snyder teaches (Figures 1-8) a method of operating a fuel system (24; see Figures 2-3) including a fuel tank (44) that stores fuel therein (see Paragraph 0056), a fuel cooling system (47, 48) comprising a fuel cooling system fuel line (the fuel line from 62 to 63; see Figures 2-3) in fluid communication with (see Paragraph 0056 and Figures 2-3) the fuel tank (44), one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (48) in fluid communication with (see Figures 2-3) the fuel cooling system fuel line (the fuel line from 62 to 63; see Figures 2-3), the fuel cooling system fuel line (the fuel line from 62 to 63) having a first portion (from 62 to 48) extending from the fuel tank (44) to the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (48) and a second portion (from 48 to 63) extending from the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (48) to the fuel tank (44), and a fuel cooling system fuel pump (47), and a fuel delivery system (from 46 to 14; see Figures 1-3) comprising a turbine engine (14) having a combustion section (see Paragraphs 0003 and 0081), a fuel delivery system fuel line (the fuel line from 52 to 14) in fluid communication with (see Figures 2-3) the fuel tank (44) and the combustion section (within 14; see Paragraph 0003 and 0081), the fuel delivery system (from 46 to 14) being separated from (see Figures 2-3) the fuel cooling system (from 46 to 14) by the fuel tank (44), the method comprising:
pumping the fuel from the fuel tank (44) with the fuel cooling system fuel pump (47) such that the fuel flows through the fuel cooling system fuel line (the fuel line from 62 to 63; see Figures 2-3);
directing the fuel into the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (48) such that the fuel absorbs heat from one or more aircraft components (see Paragraph 0054 and Figures 2-3) to become heated fuel (at the exit of 48);
returning the heated fuel (at the exit of 48) to the fuel tank (44) such that the heated fuel (from 48) is stored in the fuel tank (44), and
directing the heated fuel (from 44) to the combustion section (within 14; see Figures 2-3).
Snyder does not teach that a fuel delivery system fuel pump that pumps the heated fuel from the fuel tank such that the fuel flows through the fuel delivery system fuel line separately from the fuel that flows through the fuel cooling system fuel line and is delivered to the combustion section.
Filipenko teaches (Figures 1-4) a fuel delivery system fuel pump (28) that pumps heated fuel (see Figure 4) from the fuel tank (14) such that the fuel flows through the fuel delivery system fuel line (32) separately from (see Figure 4) the fuel that flows through the fuel cooling system fuel line (27, 27a, 27b, 29a, 29b, 29, y) and is delivered to the combustion section (17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Snyder to have the fuel delivery system fuel pump that pumps the heated fuel from the fuel tank such that the fuel flows through the fuel delivery system fuel line separately from the fuel that flows through the fuel cooling system fuel line and is delivered to the combustion section, as taught by Filipenko, in order to provide a means to supply the fuel from the tank to the engine directly (see Paragraph 0050 of Filipenko).
Regarding Claim 19, Snyder in view of Filipenko teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Snyder further teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the fuel system (see Figures 2-3) includes one or more cooling systems (20) including one or more cooling system heat exchangers (16, 36 ,48), the method further comprising: cooling one or more system components (16) of the one or more cooling systems (20) with the one or more cooling system heat exchangers (16, 36, 48).
Regarding Claim 20, Snyder in view of Filipenko teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Snyder further teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the one or more cooling systems (20) include an air-cooled heat exchanger (36), the method further comprising cooling oil (from 84; see Paragraphs 0090 and 0216) with cooling air (35; see Figures 2-3) through the air-cooled heat exchanger (36).
Regarding Claim 23, Snyder in view of Filipenko teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Snyder further teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the fuel cooling system (47, 48) lacks any connection capable of (see Figures 2-3) providing fuel to the fuel delivery system (from 46 to 14) other than the fuel tank (44).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder (US 2022/0106053) in view of Filipenko et al. (WO 2018/068979 A1) and Blezard (US 3,158,197).
Regarding Claim 3, Snyder in view of Filipenko teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Snyder in view of Filipenko does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers include an air-to-fuel heat exchanger.
Blezard teaches (Figure 1) a fuel cooling system (see Figure 1), wherein the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (28, 29, 30) include an air-to-fuel heat exchanger (30; see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Snyder in view of Filipenko to have the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers include an air-to-fuel heat exchanger, as taught by Blezard, in order to abstract heat from the air of an aircraft cabin and/or cool aircraft equipment (Column 2, lines 20-28 of Blezard).
Claims 11 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blezard (US 3,158,197) in view of Filipenko et al. (WO 2018/068979 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 11, Blezard teaches a method of operating a fuel system (see Figure 1) including a fuel tank (11) that stores fuel therein (see Figure 1), and a fuel cooling system (19, 28, 29, 30, 22, 23) comprising a fuel cooling system fuel line (the line from 22 or 23 through 19) in fluid communication with (see Figure 1) the fuel tank (11), one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (28, 29, 30) in fluid communication with (see Figure 1) the fuel cooling system fuel line (19), the fuel cooling system fuel line (19) having a first portion (the portion from 22, 23 to 31) extending from the fuel tank (11) to the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (28, 29, 30, 31) and a second portion (a portion from 31 to 11) extending from the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (28, 29, 30, 31) to the fuel tank (11), and a fuel cooling system fuel pump (22 or 23), and a fuel delivery system (18, 16 to engines; see Figure 1) comprising a turbine engine (a liquid-fuel-burning aircraft engine; see Figure 1 and claim 1) having a combustion section (the section of the engine where the liquid fuel is burnt; see claim 1 and Figure 1), a fuel delivery system fuel line (16) in fluid communication with (via 20, 18) the fuel tank (11) and the combustion section (the section of the engine where the liquid fuel is burnt; see Figure 1 and claim 1) that is fluidly separate from (the fluid within 16 is separate from the fluid within 19; see Figure 1) the fuel cooling system fuel line (19), and a fuel delivery system fuel pump (18), the method comprising:
pumping the fuel (see Figure 1) from the fuel tank (11) with the fuel cooling system fuel pump (22 or 23) such that the fuel flows through (see Figure 1) the fuel cooling system fuel line (the line from 22 or 23 to 19);
directing the fuel (see Figure 1) into the one or more fuel cooling system heat exchangers (28, 29, 30) such that the fuel absorbs heat from one or more aircraft components (the aircraft cabin and aircraft equipment; see Figure 1 and Column 2, lines 28-30) to become heated fuel (see Figure 1 and Column 2, lines 20-38);
returning (via 19) the heated fuel (exiting 30) to the fuel tank (11) such that the heated fuel (from 30) is stored in the fuel tank (11);
pumping the heated fuel (fuel originating from 11 that is directed to 16 via 20; see Figure 1) from the fuel tank (11) with the fuel delivery system fuel pump (18) such that the heated fuel (fuel originating from 11 that is directed to 16 via 20; see Figure 1) flows through the fuel delivery system fuel line (16) separately from (the fluid within 16 is separate from the fluid flowing within 19; see Figure 1) the fuel in the fuel cooling system fuel line (19); and
directing the heated fuel (fuel originating from 11 that is directed to 16 via 20; see Figure 1) to the combustion section (the section of the engine where the liquid fuel is burnt; see claim 1 and Figure 1).
Blezard does not teach that a fuel delivery system is separated from fuel cooling system by the fuel tank.
Filipenko teaches (Figures 1-4) a fuel cooling system (27, 27a, 27b, 29, y; see Figure 4) and a fuel delivery system (32), wherein the fuel delivery system (32) is separated from (see Figure 4) the fuel cooling system (27, 27a, 27b, 29, y; see Figure 4) by the fuel tank (14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blezard to have the fuel delivery system extend from the fuel tank downstream of the fuel cooling system, wherein the fuel tank separates the fuel cooling system from the fuel delivery system, as taught by Filpenko, in order to supply colder fuel directly from the fuel tank if the temperature of preheated fuel is too high (Paragraph 0050 of Filipenko). In addition, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding Claim 15, Blezard in view of Filipenko teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Blezard further teaches (Figure 1) pumping the fuel (via 26 and 22) from the fuel tank (11) with the fuel cooling system fuel pump (22) during descent of an aircraft (see Figure 1 and Column 2, lines 45-65).
Regarding Claim 16, Blezard in view of Filipenko teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Blezard further teaches (Figure 1) preventing the fuel from being pumped (via 26 and 22) from the fuel tank (11) and into the fuel cooling system fuel line (the line from 22 through 19) during takeoff and climb of the aircraft (see Figure 1 and Column 2, lines 45-65).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blezard (US 3,158,197) in view of Filipenko et al. (WO 2018/068979 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Davis et al. (US 2022/0290609).
Regarding Claim 17, Blezard in view of Filipenko teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Blezard teaches circulating fuel flow using fuel circulating pumps (Column 2, lines 4-28). Blezard in view of Filipenko does not teach pumping the fuel from the fuel tank with the fuel cooling system fuel pump during at least one of taxiing, takeoff, or climb of an aircraft.
Davis teaches (Figures 1-13) a pump (30; see Paragraph 0055) configured to control the flow of fuel from a fuel reservoir (28) to cool engine and airframe components (26, 44), wherein more fuel is used for cooling where the engine is at aircraft takeoff (Paragraph 0077).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blezard in view of Filipenko to pump fuel from the fuel tank with the fuel cooling system fuel pump during high power settings such as takeoff, as taught by Davis, in order to vary the flow of fuel used for cooling based on engine operating conditions, flight conditions, and/or environmental conditions so that more fuel may be used for cooling where the engine is at a high power setting where thermal loads are relatively high (Paragraph 0077).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blezard (US 3,158,197) in view of Filipenko et al. (WO 2018/068979 A1) and Davis et al. (US 2022/0290609) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Lui et al. (US 10,752,374).
Regarding Claim 18, Blezard in view of Filipenko and Davis teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Blezard teaches that a flow of fuel is circulated using fuel circulating pumps (Column 2, lines 4-28). Blezard in view of Filipenko and Davis does not teach, as discussed so far, preventing the fuel from being pumped from the fuel tank and into the fuel cooling system fuel line during at least one of cruise, descent, or landing of the aircraft.
Davis teaches (Figures 1-13) a pump (30; see Paragraph 0055) configured to control the flow of fuel from a fuel reservoir (28) to cool engine and airframe components (26, 44), wherein less fuel is used for cooling where the engine is at a low power setting e.g., idle (Paragraph 0077).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blezard in view of Filipenko and Davis to restrict the flow of fuel from the fuel tank with the fuel cooling system fuel pump during low power settings such as takeoff, as taught by Davis, in order to vary the flow of fuel used for cooling based on engine operating conditions, flight conditions, and/or environmental conditions so that less fuel may be used for cooling where the engine is at a low power setting where thermal loads are relatively low (Paragraph 0077 of Davis).
Although Davis does not explicitly state that his low power setting or idle occurs during at least one of cruise, descent, or landing of the aircraft, Lui teaches that the engine power setting and the fuel demand is low during cruise at optimum range, idle descent, loiter, and ground static operation (Column 2, lines 35-44).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blezard in view of Filipenko and Davis to have the fuel restricted from being pumped from the fuel tank during at least one of cruise and descent of the aircraft, as taught by Lui, in order to provide lower fuel during lower engine power settings (Column 2, lines 35-44 of Lui).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach a fuel delivery system being separated from a fuel cooling system by a fuel tank, as recited in claim 11. In response, it is noted that Filipenko teaches (see Figure 4) a fuel delivery system (32, 15) being fluidly separated from (see Figure 4) the fuel cooling system (32, 15) by the fuel tank (14). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are refuted by the reference.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-11, 15-20, and 23 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being applied in this office action. However, to the extent possible, Applicant’s arguments have been addressed in the body of the rejection above, at the appropriate locations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741