DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khojasteh (US 2002/0058204).
Khojasteh discloses planarizing underlayer precursor compositions which are useful in multilayer lithographic processes. (Para, 0008). Khojasteh discloses these underlayer precursor compositions provide underlayers having outstanding optical, mechanical and etch selectivity properties. (Para, 0008). Khojasteh also discloses lithographic structures containing the underlayers prepared from the compositions of the invention, methods of making such lithographic structures, and methods of using such lithographic structures to pattern underlying material layers on a substrate. (Para, 0008). Khojasteh also discloses the compositions are particularly useful for lithographic processes using radiation less than 200nm in wavelength to configure the underling material layers. (Abstract; Para, 0070).
Khojasteh discloses an alternative embodiment of the underlayer precursor composition suitable for formation of a planarizing underlayer, the composition comprising: (a) a polymer containing: (i) saturated polycyclic moieties, and (ii) aromatic moieties, (b) an acid generator, and (c) a crosslinker. (Para, 0016-0021; 0048-0053). These disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘A underlayer composition for photolithography comprising: a copolymer, wherein the copolymer includes a first repeating unit having a first functional group…’ These disclosures also teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 2, ‘ The underlayer composition for the photolithography of claim 1, wherein the copolymer further includes a second repeating unit having a second functional group…’ Khojasteh also illustrates the moieties which comprises the polymer. (Para, 0055). The monomers illustrated in group (VI) teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘A underlayer composition for photolithography comprising: …wherein the first functional group is represented by one of Chemical Formulas 1 to 4…In Chemical Formulas 1 to 4, “R1”, “R2”, “R3”, “R4”, “R5”, “R6”, and “R7” are each independently hydrogen, deuterium, or an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, and “*” is a part bonded to the first repeating unit of the copolymer.’ The monomers illustrated in group (VI) also teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 2, ‘The underlayer composition for the photolithography of claim 1, …and wherein the second functional group is one of -NH-, -OH, -OCH3, -COOH, and -SH.’ The monomers illustrated in group (VI) also teach and/or suggest the limitations of claims 3-4 as well as the limitations of claims 5-8.
Therefore, the recitations of claims 1-8 are anticipated by the disclosures and illustrations of Khojasteh as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khojasteh as applied to claims 1-8 in paragraph 3 above, and further in view of Kaneko (US 2020/0124963).
The disclosures of Khojasteh as discussed in paragraph 3 above teach and/or suggest the limitations of claims 11-14. Khojasteh also discloses a lithographic structure on a substrate, the structure comprising: (a) a planarizing layer obtained by reacting an underlayer precursor composition of the invention, (b) a radiation-sensitive imaging layer over the planarizing layer. (Para, 0022-0024).
Khojasteh also discloses a method of forming a patterned material feature on a substrate, the method comprising: (a) providing a material layer on a substrate, (b) forming a planarizing layer over the material layer, the planarizing layer being formed by reacting an underlayer precursor composition of the invention, (c) forming a radiation-sensitive imaging layer over the planarizing layer, (d) patternwise exposing the imaging layer to radiation thereby creating a pattern of radiation-exposed regions in the imaging layer, (e) selectively removing portions of the imaging layer and the planarizing layer to expose portions of the material layer, and (f) etching the exposed portions of the material layer, thereby forming the patterned material feature. (Para, 0025-0031). These disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 9, ‘ A multilayered structure comprising: a lower layer; an underlayer on the lower layer; and a photoresist layer on the underlayer…’ Moreover, the disclosures of Khojasteh as discussed in paragraph 3 above teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 9, ‘A multilayered structure comprising: …wherein the underlayer includes a monomolecule having a vinyl group (-CH=CH2), or a copolymer having a first functional group, and wherein the first functional group is represented by one of Chemical Formulas 1 to 4. In Chemical Formulas 1 to 4, “R1”, “R2”, “R3”, “R4”, “R5”, “R6”, and “R7” are each independently hydrogen, deuterium, or an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, and “*” is a part bonded to the first repeating unit of the copolymer.
Still, the disclosures of Khojasteh fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 9, ‘A multilayered structure comprising: …wherein the photoresist layer includes a fluorinated alkyl group…’ However, the disclosures of Khojasteh further in view of the disclosures of Kaneko (US 2020/0124963) provide such teachings.
Kaneko is directed to an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition, resist film, a pattern forming method and a method of manufacturing a device using the resin composition. Kaneko discloses the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition of an embodiment of the present invention may include a resin having a group represented by General Formula (1) which will be described later. (Para, 0053). Kaneko explains that in a case where many halogen atoms are included in the resin, the glass transition temperature (Tg) of the resin is lowered, which causes collapse of a pattern thus formed to easily occur. (Para, 0054). Therefore, Kaneko discloses that a group represented by General Formula (1) contained in the resin included in the composition of the embodiment of the present invention has a structure having low flexibility, it is possible to avoid pattern collapse in a case where halogen atoms are introduced into the resin. (Para, 0055). Kaneko explains by incorporating the halogen atoms into the resin, the EUV light absorption efficiency of a resist film, a coating film of the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition, is improved. (Para, 0056).
Kaneko discloses the composition of the embodiment of the present invention, the resin (A) has a group represented by General Formula (1). (Para, 0062). Kaneko discloses the group represented by General Formula (1) is a group whose polarity increases through decomposition by the action of an acid (hereinafter also referred to as an “acid-decomposable group”). (Para, 0062). Kaneko discloses in Formula (1) R4 represents an alkyl group which may be substituted with a halogen atom, a cycloalkyl group which may be substituted with a halogen atom or a halogenated alkyl group, or an aryl group which may be substituted with a halogen atom or a halogenated alkyl group. (Para, 0063). Kaneko explains the halogenated alkyl group is intended to mean an alkyl group whose hydrogen atom is substituted with a halogen atom. (Para, 0064). Kaneko further discloses R4 is preferably an aryl group which may be substituted with a halogen atom or a halogenated alkyl group. (Para, 0065). Kaneko also discloses from the viewpoint that the pattern collapse is further suppressed, in the group represented by General Formula (1), the halogen atom which can be included in each of R4, R5, R6, and LR1 is preferably a fluorine atom, a chlorine atom, a bromine atom, or an iodine atom, more preferably the fluorine atom or the iodine atom, and still more preferably the fluorine atom. (Para, 0093). Kaneko further discloses in General Formula (1), the halogenated alkyl group is also preferably a fluorinated alkyl group, a chlorinated alkyl group, a brominated alkyl group, or an iodinated alkyl group, more preferably the fluorinated alkyl group or the iodinated alkyl group, and still more preferably the fluorinated alkyl group. (Para, 0094). The disclosures of Khojasteh further in view of these disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 9, ‘A multilayered structure comprising: …wherein the photoresist layer includes a fluorinated alkyl group…’
Kaneko also discloses a pattern forming method which comprises forming a resist film on a substrate, exposing the resist film to irradiation and developing the resist. (Para, 0436-0441). Kaneko then discloses each step in greater detail. (Para, 0443-0498). The disclosures of Khojasteh as discussed above further in view of these disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 15.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the disclosures of Khojasteh further in view of the disclosures of Kaneko because both are directed to methods of fabricating electronic devices using photoresist layers and photolithographic patterning methods and the disclosures of Kaneko also provide a resist composition which forms a resist film that has excellent sensitivity, and as a result, the LER performance of a pattern formed by exposure and development is excellent, that can also suppress pattern collapse.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khojasteh in view of Kaneko as applied to claims 9 and 11-15 in paragraph 6 above, and further in view of Huang (US 2023/0106223).
The disclosures of Khojasteh and Kaneko as discussed in paragraph 6 above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 10, ‘ The multilayered structure of claim 9, wherein the underlayer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of 1,3-divinyltetramethyldisilazane (DVS), vinyltrimethoxysilane (VTMS), vinyltrimethoxysilane, vinyltrichlorosilane, vinylmethyldichlorosilane, vinyldimethylchlorosilane, tris(2-methoxyethoxy)(vinyl)silane, 3-(methacryloyloxy)propyltrimethoxysilane, 3-(acryloyloxy)propyltrimethoxysilane, trimethoxy(4-vinylphenyl)silane, 3- methacryloyloxy)propylmethyldiethoxysilane, and 3- (methacryloyloxy)propylmethyldiethoxysilane.’ However, the discslroues of Khojasteh and Kaneko further in view of the disclosures of Huang provide such teachings.
Huang discloses a moisture-curable alkoxysilyl-containing polymer compositions which are clear, transparent, low yellow color and non-yellowing and exhibit good adhesion to a variety of different substrates. (Para, 0002). Huang discloses the inventive alkoxysilyl-containing polymer compositions can be used in formulating coatings, adhesives or sealants in industrial and consumer applications, including construction, electronics, marine and transportation. (Para, 0002). Huang also discloses that when exposed to UV light the composition do not yellow or change in color. (Para, 0042). Huang discloses the composition in greater detail in via comparative examples (Para, 0276-0277). In this comparative example Huang also discloses the ingredients in Table 1, where ingredient 16 is a desiccant vinyltrimethoxysilane. (Para, 0277). The disclosures of Khojasteh and Kaneko further in view of these disclosures of Huang teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 10.
Huang further explains the results of the various testing of the example compositions 1-5, which demonstrate the advantage of using the silicon compounds containing a conjugated C═C group (b)(iii). (Para 0285). Huang explains that Example 1 used phenyltrimethoxysilane had a percent non-yellowing value of −25.9 and after exposure to the UV radiation, the sample become less yellow. (Para, 0285) Huang discloses that when the silicon compounds containing a conjugated C═C group (b)(iii) was 3-methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane, in Example 2, the percent non-yellowing value was −15.3, indicating that this compound was an effective component in the UV light stabilizer package. (Para, 0285). Huang explains that comparative Examples 1, which contained a silicon compound absent the conjugated C═C group, did not provide the same level of non-yellowing benefit. (Para, 0285).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the combination of Khojasteh and Kaneko further in view of the disclosures of Huang because Huang discloses a resin composition that includes a silicon containing compound that prevents yellowing of a resin layer that can be used in electronic device formation method such as those disclosed in Khojasteh and/or Kaneko so that when exposed to UV light discoloration of the layer is prevented.
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khojasteh in view of Kaneko as applied to claims 9 and 11-15 in paragraph 6 above, and further in view of Ota (US 2021/0269666).
The disclosures of Khojasteh and Kaneko as discussed above teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 16, ‘ A method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising: forming an underlayer on a lower layer; and forming a photoresist layer on the underlayer, wherein the forming of the underlayer includes applying an underlayer composition on the lower layer, wherein the forming of the photoresist layer includes applying a resist composition containing a fluorinated alkyl group on the underlayer…wherein the underlayer composition includes a monomolecule having a vinyl group (-CH=CH2), or a copolymer having a first functional group, and wherein the first functional group is represented by one of Chemical Formulas 1 to 4. In Chemical Formulas 1 to 4, “R1”, “R2”, “R3”, “R4”, “R5”, “R6”, and “R7” are each independently hydrogen, deuterium, or an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, and “*” is a part bonded to the first repeating unit of the copolymer.’ Moreover, the disclosures of Khojasteh and Kaneko as discussed above teach and/or suggest the limitation of claims 17-19. till the disclosures of Khojasteh and Kaneko as discussed above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 16, ‘ …wherein the forming of the photoresist layer includes…using a fluorine-based solvent...’ However, the disclosures of Khojasteh and Kaneko further in view of the disclosures of Ota provides such teachings.
Ota discloses that is known in the prior art that material having high fluorine content, however, has poor solubility in a general-purpose solvent; thus, a fluorine-containing solvent needs to be used for the preparation of a coating liquid. (Para, 0006). The disclosures and Khojasteh in view of Kaneko, which teach and/or suggest a resist material with high fluorine content, further in view of this disclosure teaches and/or suggest the limitation of claim 16, ‘ …wherein the forming of the photoresist layer includes…using a fluorine-based solvent...’
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the combination of Khojasteh and Kaneko further in view of Ota because, similar to Khojasteh and Kaneko, Ota is directed to analogous actinic ray-curable compositions and films formed from them and Ota demonstrates an understanding in the art for the need to use fluorine based solvents with fluorine based coating materials, which provides one of ordinary skill in the art at reasonable expectation of reasonably forming a desired radiation sensitive coating material that has desired properties.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khojasteh in further in view of Kaneko and further in view of Ota as applied to claims 16-19 in paragraph 8 above, and further in view of Hoshino (US 2020/0073240).
The disclosures of Khojasteh, Kaneko and/or Ota fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 20, ‘The method of claim 18, further comprising performing a developing process to selectively remove the second portion of the photoresist layer, wherein the developing process is performed using a fluorine-based solvent.’ However, the disclosures of Khojasteh, Kaneko and Ota further in view of Hoshino provides such teachings.
Hoshino is also directed to a resist composition. Hoshino discloses the polymer of the resist composition comprises a monomer unit (A) that includes an organic group that with at least 5 but not more than 7 fluorine atoms and a monomer unit (B) where R2 is a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, an unsubstituted alkyl group, or a fluorine atom-substituted alkyl group, R3 is a hydrogen atom, an unsubstituted alkyl group, or a fluorine atom-substituted alkyl group, p and q are each an integer of not less than 0 and not more than 5, and p+q=5. (Claim 1). Hoshino then recites in claim 2, ‘ The polymer according to claim 1, wherein R1 is a pentafluoroalkyl group.’ Hoshino recites in claim 5, ‘ A method of forming a resist pattern comprising: forming a resist film using the positive resist composition according to claim 4; exposing the resist film; and developing the resist film that has been exposed, wherein the developing is carried out using a developer having a surface tension of 17 mN/m or less.’ Hoshino recites in claim 6, ‘The method of forming a resist pattern according to claim 5, wherein the developer comprises a fluorine-containing solvent.’ The disclosures of Khojasteh, Kaneko and Ota further in view of these disclosures of Hoshino teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the combination of Khojasteh, Kaneko and Ota further in view of Hoshino, because similar to Khojasteh, Kaneko and Ota, Hoshino is directed to an analogous resist composition that includes fluoroalkyl groups and Hoshino discloses a method of pattering such films that provides one of ordinary skill in the art at reasonable expectation of reasonably forming a desired radiation sensitive coating material that has desired properties which can then be patterned to form a desired image.
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899