DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 9-12, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Publication 2016/0200975 to Cooper et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Cooper et al. teaches an etchant composition comprising: an etidronic acid or a salt thereof (Paragraph 31), an inorganic base (Paragraph 27), hydrogen peroxide (Paragraph 28), and a remaining amount of water, wherein 0.01 to 5 wt% of the etidronic acid or the salt thereof; 0.1 to 2.8 wt% of the inorganic base; 15 to 25 wt% of the hydrogen peroxide; and a remaining amount of water are included (Tables), based on the total weight of the etchant composition, and the etchant composition further comprises a phosphate (Paragraph 29) selected from the group consisting of trisodium phosphate (Na₃PO₄), monopotassium phosphate (KH2PO4), dipotassium phosphate (K2HPO₄), monoammonium phosphate ((NH₄)H₂PO₄), diammonium phosphate ((NH₄)₂HPO₄), triammonium phosphate ((NH4)₃PO₄), and a combination of two or more thereof. The composition is disclosed with sufficient specificity for anticipation, further the composition would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by selectin of the recited embodiments and disclosed ranges with predictable results.
Regarding Claim 4, Cooper et al. teaches the inorganic base is a hydrate (aqueous).
Regarding Claim 5, Cooper et al. teaches (Tables) etidronic acid or a salt thereof (0.1%) and the inorganic base (0.2%) 1:1 to 1:2.5.
Regarding Claim 7, Cooper et al. teaches embodiments in which a quaternary ammonium salt is not included.
Regarding Claim 9, Cooper et al. teaches (Tables) 0.01 to 1 wt% of the phosphate.
Regarding Claims 10 and 19, Cooper et al. teaches (Paragraph 31) one or more chealating agents may be used.
Regarding Claim 11, Cooper et al. teaches (Paragraph 39) pH 6-10. Further, the same pH would reasonably be expected to be achieved using the same components, or else is the result of essential limitations that are not claimed.
Regarding Claim 12, Cooper et al. teaches etching a titanium-containing material layer. However, the claim reads on an intended use and does not materially limit the claimed composition.
Regarding Claim 18, Cooper et al. teaches (Paragraph 27) inorganic base such as potassium hydroxide.
Conclusion
/ROBERTS P CULBERT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716