DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action in response to the application filed 25 June 2025.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 12 and 13 and cancellation of claims 8-9 and 17-18 have been received and acknowledged. Claims 4, 6, and 16 were previously cancelled.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-15, and 19-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 June 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the rejections under 35 USC 101, Applicant argues: That the “….independent Claims 1, 12 and 13 as previously presented are directed to eligible subject matter under § 101…independent Claims 1, 12 and 13…integrate the claimed invention into a practical application, including an inventive concept amounting to significantly more…when the user changes from the recent activity view to the upcoming activity view, for example, not only are new calculations performed to provide the data elements on the display, but also the data sources used in those calculations change…the ’291 application which was incorporated by reference in the present application, as the data source integration of the ‘291 application is foundational to the claimed methods of the present application…independent claims as amended are even more analogous to Claims 1 and 2 of Example 37... are integrated into a practical application which “provide(s) a specific improvement over prior systems”. Applicant further submits that Applicant's claims clearly include an inventive concept amounting to significantly more than any judicial exception…”(Applicant’s response, pg. 1-5)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in the rejection below and previously, the recited claims are directed to a financial dashboard for analytical insight (Specification, [7] and original Claims 1, 12, and 13). As described in the Specification, the invention is “a method and system for providing a financial dashboard in a digital banking system …includes an account overview section and an overall financial health section… a recent activity view and an upcoming activity view… a transaction list and top spending categories, … cash flow summary … upcoming transactions, such as mortgage or loan payments, subscription fees, paychecks, etc.… display data for all accounts belonging to the customer user of the digital banking system…. “ (Specification, [7]; see also the recited claims). This is clearly a commercial or legal interaction and as such falls into the category organizing human behavior. Furthermore, though a GUI cannot be performed in the human mind, a human using his/her/their mind can use pencil and paper to monitor, describe, analyze financial data/transactions. (see US 5328278 (Pocket Size Personal Financial Organizer)).
It is again noted that the office action does not categorize the recited claims as mental processes or as mathematical model. Furthermore, it is noted that the rejection cites both the MPEP and the Specification to support the determination the recited claims merely uses a computer to perform an abstract idea, or merely add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception or merely uses generic computing elements well known, routing and conventional functions (See MPEP 2106.05 (d), (f) and (g)) (Specification, [18] processor … general purpose computer.. instructions… [28] processing device…[46] computing system… processing device… memory; Fig. 3 ) This is at most an improvement to the abstract idea. Again, unlike the patent eligible claims of Example 37, the instant claims use known technology (as cited) to process data; this is merely “apply-it” (MPEP 2106.05(f)) As such Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
With regard to the rejections under 35 USC 103, Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the newly amended claim language. Examiner respectfully disagrees as noted in the rejection below. Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the recited claims. For example, “wherein” statements and intended use language does not limit the scope of the claim. Additionally, as noted in the rejection below the prior art (McCamy, Mint.com and Cititbank.com) discloses user selected categories for transactions and designating those categories is a user design choice. As such, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, (1) it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, (2a) it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so (2b), it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Examples of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices; certain methods of organizing human activities; an idea itself; and mathematical relationships/formulas. Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., 573 U.S. ____ (2014).
The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. In the instant case, the claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
(1) In the instant case, the claims are directed towards a method and the system of financial dashboard/digital banking. In the instant case, Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11 and 12 are directed to a process. Claims 13-15, 19-20 are directed to a system.
(2a) Prong 1: Financial dashboard for analytical insight is categorized in/akin to the abstract idea subject matter grouping of: methods of organizing human activity [organizing human activity (commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations)]. As such, the claims include an abstract idea.
The specific limitations of the invention are (a) identified to encompass the abstract idea include:
1. A method for providing a … for analytical insight, said method comprising:
providing, to a …. having a …, a source of data to be displayed …;
…at least a portion of the data …;
… the …, where the …includes a first section and a second section;
… user …. for modifying what is displayed on the …
when indicated by the user instructions, …the user …. and …additional data from the …; and
…the display of the … on the user … based on the user instructions
where the data is financial data for one or more accounts of a user, and the graphical user interface is a financial dashboard where the first section is an account activity section and the second section is an overall financial health section, and
where the account activity section displays elements consisting of: a top spending categories graphic depicting transaction categories having highest spending amounts in an account for a current month, a transaction list for the account, a total monthly activity chart depicting spending totals in the account for a plurality of recent months including the current month, and a cash flow chart depicting inflow and outflow amounts for the account in the current month,
wherein the account activity section has a configuration which is user-selectable between a display of a recent activity view and a display of an upcoming activity view,
and when the account activity section … the recent activity view, the transaction list includes recent transactions, and the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart all include only actual transactions for the current month,
and when the account activity section displays the upcoming activity view, the transaction list includes upcoming transactions including scheduled bill payments and subscription payments, and the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart are user- configurable between a first option where only the actual transactions are included for the current month and a second option where both the actual transactions and the upcoming transactions are included for the current month,
and where selecting the first option causes the top spending categories graphic,the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart to be calculated based on the actual transactions provided in a database from a first business enterprise, and selecting the second option causes the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart to be calculated based on both the actual transactions provided in the database from the first business enterprise and the upcoming transactions provided in a database from a second business enterprise.
.
12. A method for providing a financial dashboard, said method comprising:
providing, to a server computer having …. to be displayed on the financial dashboard, where the data is financial data for one or more accounts of a user;
…at least a portion of the data over … having a…;
…the financial dashboard on …, where the financial dashboard includes an account activity section and an overall financial health section, and
where the account activity section is user-configurable to display either a recent activity view or an upcoming activity view for one account of the user, and the account activity section includes a top spending categories graphic depicting transaction categories having highest spending amounts in the one account for a current month, a transaction list for the one account, a total monthly activity chart depicting spending totals in the one account for a plurality of recent months including the current month, and a cash flow chart depicting inflow and outflow amounts for the one account in the current month;
… user instructions for modifying what is displayed on the financial dashboard, where the user instructions include selecting an element from either the account activity section or the overall financial health section to get additional detail about the element;
when indicated by the user instructions, … the user instructions from the user device to the server computer and
…additional data from the ….to the user device over the network; and
….the display of the financial dashboard on the user… based on the user instructions
wherein the account activity section has a configuration which is user-selectable between a display of a recent activity view and a display of an upcoming activity view,
and when the account activity section …the recent activity view, the transaction list includes recent transactions, and the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart all include only actual transactions for the current month,
and when the account activity section displays the upcoming activity view, the transaction list includes upcoming transactions including scheduled bill payments and subscription payments, and the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart are user- configurable between a first option where only the actual transactions are included for the current month and a second option where both the actual transactions and the upcoming transactions are included for the current month,
and where selecting the first option causes the top spending categories graphic,the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart to be calculated based on the actual transactions provided in a database from a first business enterprise, and selecting the second option causes the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart to be calculated based on both the actual transactions provided in the database from the first business enterprise and the upcoming transactions provided in a database from a second business enterprise.
.
13. A system for displaying a financial dashboard, said system comprising:
a … and
a ….;
reading a source of data to be displayed on the financial dashboard, where the data is financial data for one or more accounts of a user, and
… at least a portion of the data …. being used by the user; and
the user … are configured for;
… the financial dashboard including an account activity section and an overall financial health section,
… user …for modifying what is displayed on the financial dashboard, and when indicated by the user instructions,
….the user instructions to the server computer; and
the … is further configured for … additional data to the user … as required by the user instructions; and
the user … are further configured for … the display of the financial dashboard based on the user …..
where the account activity section displays elements consisting of: a top spending categories graphic depicting transaction categories having highest spending amounts in the one account for a current month, a transaction list for the one account, a total monthly activity chart depicting spending totals in the one account for a plurality of recent months including the current month, and a cash flow chart depicting inflow and outflow amounts for the one account in the current month, and
where the current month is selectable by the user to be either a calendar month or an account statement period month
wherein the account activity section has a configuration which is user-selectable between a display of a recent activity view and a display of an upcoming activity view,
and when the account activity section … the recent activity view, the transaction list includes recent transactions, and the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart all include only actual transactions for the current month,
and when the account activity section displays the upcoming activity view, the transaction list includes upcoming transactions including scheduled bill payments and subscription payments, and the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart are user- configurable between a first option where only the actual transactions are included for the current month and a second option where both the actual transactions and the upcoming transactions are included for the current month,
and where selecting the first option causes the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart to be calculated based on the actual transactions provided in a database from a first business enterprise, and selecting the second option causes the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart to be calculated based on both the actual transactions provided in the database from the first business enterprise and the upcoming transactions provided in a database from a second business enterprise.
As stated above, this abstract idea falls into the (b) subject matter grouping of: methods of organizing human activity .
Prong 2: When considered individually and in combination, the instant claims are do not integrate the exception into a practical application because the steps of providing…reading… to be calculated… to be calculated..do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that that imposes a meaningful limitation on the judicial exception (i.e. the abstract idea).
The instant recited claims including additional elements (i.e. transmitting…displaying…receiving… transmitting… transmitting…updating… displays … ) do not improve the functioning of the computer or improve another technology or technical field nor do they recite meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The limitations merely recite: “apply it” (or an equivalent) or merely include instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely uses a computer a as tool to perform an abstract idea or merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception or merely uses generic computing elements to perform well known, routine, and conventional functions or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05 (d), (f) and (g))
(2b) In the instant case, Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11 and 12 are directed to a process. Claims 13-15, 19-20 are directed to a system.
Additionally, the claims (independent and dependent) do not include additional elements that individually or in combination are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of abstract idea (i.e. provide an inventive concept). As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of: (graphical user interface, server computer, processor and memory, network, server computer, device, a display screen, instructions ) merely uses a computer a as tool to perform an abstract idea or merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception or merely uses generic computing elements to perform well known, routine, and conventional functions. (See MPEP 2106.05 (d), (f) and (g)) (Specification, [18] processor … general purpose computer.. instructions… [28] processing device…[46] computing system… processing device… memory; Fig. 3 )
The dependent claims have also been examined and do not correct the deficiencies of the independent claims.
It is noted that claim 2-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14-15 and 19-20 introduce the additional element of wherein clauses further define claim elements: the user device (Claims 2, 3, 14, ); the account activity sections.. (Claims 5, 15, 15,); the current month.. (Claim 7); the overall financial health (Claim 10, 19); the user instructions (Claim 11, 20). These elements are not a practical application of the judicial exception because these limitations merely recite: “apply it” (or an equivalent) or merely include instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely uses a computer a as tool to perform an abstract idea or merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception or merely uses generic computing elements to perform well known, routine, and conventional functions or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05 (d), (f) and (g)) Further these limitations taken alone or in combination with the abstract do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea alone because these elements amounts to mere use of a computer a as tool to perform an abstract idea or merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception or merely uses generic computing elements to perform well known, routine, and conventional functions. (See MPEP 2106.05 (d), (f) and (g)) (Specification, [18] processor … general purpose computer.. instructions… [28] processing device…[46] computing system… processing device… memory; Fig. 3 )
Therefore, Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 10, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by non-patent literature, McCamy, Laura. “ I've been using Mint for 3 years to track my spending and visualize my budget— here's what it's like to use the personal finance app” April 15, 2019 (https://markets.businessinsider.com/news/stocks/mint-app-intuit-review-2019-4-1028112005#once-youre-set-up-you-can-log-into-mint-on-your-comp%E2%80%A6) hereinafter referred to as McCamy. further in view of www.mint.com ( The Wayback Machine - https://web.archive.org/web/20170705004343/https://www.mint.com/.) July 5, 2017 hereinafter referred to as Mint.com.
Claims 13, 14, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCamy further in view of Mint.com further in view of Wong. A “Citi PremierMiles Visa offering 1.5 mpd on local spending till the end of the year.” 13 Sep 2019 (https://milelion.com/2019/09/13/citi-premiermiles-visa-offering-1-5-mpd-on-local-spending-till-the-end-of-the-year/) hereinafter referred to as Citibank.
Claim 1
McCamy discloses a method for providing a graphical user interface for analytical insight, said method comprising:
providing, to a server computer having a processor and memory, a source of data to be displayed in the graphical user interface; (See McCamy, personal finance app, add financial institutions where you have accounts…)
transmitting at least a portion of the data over a network from the server computer to a user device having a processor, memory and a display screen; (See McCamy, personal finance app, add financial institutions where you have accounts…See all your money in one place… find your bank or credit card… connect it securely to Mint… Norton certified to help ensure security for sensitive data…)
displaying the graphical user interface on the user device, where the graphical user interface includes a first section and a second section; (See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint on your computer or smartphone to view or enter information… use Mint on my phone…nice job the world is your oyster… your on-time payments… your credit usage….)
receiving user instructions for modifying what is displayed on the graphical user interface; (See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint on your computer or smartphone to view or enter information… use Mint on my phone…nice job the world is your oyster… your on-time payments… your credit usage…view details.)
when indicated by the user instructions, transmitting the user instructions from the user device to the server computer and ( See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint)
transmitting additional data from the server computer to the user device over the network; and (See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint ..update transactions…)
updating the display of the graphical user interface on the user device based on the user instructions. (See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint ..update transactions…)
where the data is financial data for one or more accounts of a user, and the graphical user interface is a financial dashboard where the first section is an account activity section and the second section is an overall financial health section, and (See McCamy, personal finance app, add financial institutions where you have accounts… log into Mint on your computer or smartphone to view or enter information… use Mint on my phone…nice job the world is your oyster… your on-time payments… your credit usage….)
where the account activity section displays elements … a top spending categories graphic depicting transaction categories having highest spending amounts in an account for a current month, a transaction list for the account, a total monthly activity chart depicting spending totals in the account for a plurality of recent months including the current month, and a cash flow chart depicting inflow and outflow amounts for the account in the current month. (See McCamy, categorizing transactions…transactions…learn my categories… categories…… spending by category… trends ….spending March 2019…spending October 2018 – March 2019…. this month … app visualizes my spending…visualize my cash flows/ March 2019…)
wherein the account activity section has a configuration which is user-selectable between a display of a recent activity view and a display of an upcoming activity view, (See McCamy, all cash and credit account …date…category…amount… transactions… categorizing transactions…learn my categories… categories… spending by category…this month …app visualizes my spending…visualize my cash flows/ March 2019…)
and when the account activity section displays the recent activity view, the transaction list includes recent transactions, and the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart all include only actual transactions for the current month, (See McCamy, all cash and credit account …date…category…amount… transactions… categorizing transactions…learn my categories… categories… spending by category…this month …app visualizes my spending…visualize my cash flows/ March 2019…goals…link goal to an account….)
and when the account activity section displays the upcoming activity view, the transaction list includes …, and the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart are user- configurable between a first option where only the actual transactions are included for the current month and a second option where both the actual transactions (See McCamy, all cash and credit account …date…category…amount… transactions… categorizing transactions…learn my categories… categories… spending by category…this month …app visualizes my spending…visualize my cash flows/ March 2019…goals…link goal to an account….) ….,
and where selecting the first option causes the top spending categories graphic,the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart to be calculated based on the actual transactions provided in a database from a first business enterprise, and selecting the second option causes the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart to be calculated based on both the actual transactions provided in the database from the first business enterprise and the …provided in a database from a second business enterprise. (See McCamy, all cash and credit account …date…category…amount… transactions… categorizing transactions…learn my categories… categories… ….date description category amount…app visualizes my spending…visualize my cash flows/ March 2019…goals…link goal to an account…emails me summaries, too…. spending by category…during…this month … all cash and credit accounts… total cash… total debt )
McCamy does not directly disclose the following; however Mint.com suggests/teaches:
…. and upcoming transactions for the current month.…. (See at least Mint.com, bills and money in one place…track and pay bills….)
…and upcoming transactions… (See at least Mint.com, bills and money in one place…track and pay bills….)
… including scheduled bill payments and subscription payments,… (See at least Mint.com, bills and money in one place…track and pay bills….)
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, McCamy discloses a review of some of the features of the Mint financial app. Mint.com is teaching of the Mint financial app . One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e. a disclosure of the features of Mint financial app with an additional a specific data element feature). As such the claimed invention is obvious over McCamy/ Mint.com.
McCamy does not directly disclose the following:
…consisting of…
However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would find it obvious to select and choose which and how many of the various data points/graphical elements to display as a user design choice including less than what is disclosed. One would be motivated to do so because ‘omission of a step or an element and its function is obvious if the function of the element is not desired.’ (MPEP 2144. 04 II. Elimination of a step or element and its function).
As a general matter, the grammar and intended meaning of terms used in a claim will dictate whether the language limits the claim scope. Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. The following are examples of language that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim:
(A) statements of intended use or field of use,
(B) “adapted to” or “adapted for” clauses,
(C) “wherein” clauses, or
(D) “whereby” clauses.
This list of examples is not intended to be exhaustive. See also MPEP § 2111.04
Claim 12
12. McCamy discloses a method for providing a financial dashboard, said method comprising:
providing, to a server computer having a processor and memory, a source of data to be displayed on the financial dashboard, where the data is financial data for one or more accounts of a user; (See McCamy, personal finance app, add financial institutions where you have accounts…)
transmitting at least a portion of the data over a network from the server computer to a user device having a processor, memory and a display screen; (See McCamy, personal finance app, add financial institutions where you have accounts…See all your money in one place… find your bank or credit card… connect it securely to Mint… Norton certified to help ensure security for sensitive data…)
displaying the financial dashboard on the user device, where the financial dashboard includes an account activity section and an overall financial health section, and (See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint on your computer or smartphone to view or enter information… use Mint on my phone…nice job the world is your oyster… your on-time payments… your credit usage….)
where the account activity section is user-configurable to display either a recent activity view or an upcoming activity view for one account of the user, and the account activity section displays elements …a top spending categories graphic depicting transaction categories having highest spending amounts in the one account for a current month, a transaction list for the one account, a total monthly activity chart depicting spending totals in the one account for a plurality of recent months including the current month, and a cash flow chart depicting inflow and outflow amounts for the one account in the current month; (See McCamy, categorizing transactions…transactions…learn my categories… categories…… spending by category… trends ….spending March 2019…spending October 2018 – March 2019…. this month … app visualizes my spending…visualize my cash flows/ March 2019…)
receiving user instructions for modifying what is displayed on the financial dashboard, where the user instructions include selecting an element from either the account activity section or the overall financial health section to get additional detail about the element; (See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint on your computer or smartphone to view or enter information… use Mint on my phone…nice job the world is your oyster… your on-time payments… your credit usage…view details///.)
when indicated by the user instructions, transmitting the user instructions from the user device to the server computer and( See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint)
transmitting additional data from the server computer to the user device over the network; and (See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint ..update transactions…)
updating the display of the financial dashboard on the user device based on the user instructions. (See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint ..update transactions…)
wherein the account activity section has a configuration which is user-selectable between a display of a recent activity view and a display of an upcoming activity view, (See McCamy, all cash and credit account …date…category…amount… transactions… categorizing transactions…learn my categories… categories… spending by category…this month …app visualizes my spending…visualize my cash flows/ March 2019…)
and when the account activity section displays the recent activity view, the transaction list includes recent transactions, and the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart all include only actual transactions for the current month, (See McCamy, all cash and credit account …date…category…amount… transactions… categorizing transactions…learn my categories… categories… spending by category…this month …app visualizes my spending…visualize my cash flows/ March 2019…goals…link goal to an account….)
and when the account activity section displays the upcoming activity view, the transaction list includes …, and the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart are user- configurable between a first option where only the actual transactions are included for the current month and a second option where both the actual transactions … (See McCamy, all cash and credit account …date…category…amount… transactions… categorizing transactions…learn my categories… categories… spending by category…this month …app visualizes my spending…visualize my cash flows/ March 2019…goals…link goal to an account….) ….
and where selecting the first option causes the top spending categories graphic,the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart to be calculated based on the actual transactions provided in a database from a first business enterprise, and selecting the second option causes the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart to be calculated based on both the actual transactions provided in the database from the first business enterprise and the ….provided in a database from a second business enterprise. (See McCamy, all cash and credit account …date…category…amount… transactions… categorizing transactions…learn my categories… categories… ….date description category amount…app visualizes my spending…visualize my cash flows/ March 2019…goals…link goal to an account…emails me summaries, too…. spending by category…during…this month … all cash and credit accounts… total cash… total debt )
McCamy does not directly disclose the following; however Mint.com suggests/teaches:
…. and upcoming transactions for the current month.…. (See at least Mint.com, bills and money in one place…track and pay bills….)
…and upcoming transactions… (See at least Mint.com, bills and money in one place…track and pay bills….)
… including scheduled bill payments and subscription payments,… (See at least Mint.com, bills and money in one place…track and pay bills….)
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, McCamy discloses a review of some of the features of the Mint financial app. Mint.com is teaching of the Mint financial app . One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e. a disclosure of the features of Mint financial app with an additional a specific data element feature). As such the claimed invention is obvious over McCamy/ Mint.com.
McCamy does not directly disclose the following:
…consisting of…
However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would find it obvious to select and choose which and how many of the various data points/graphical elements to display as a user design choice including less than what is disclosed. One would be motivated to do so because ‘omission of a step or an element and its function is obvious if the function of the element is not desired.’ (MPEP 2144. 04 II. Elimination of a step or element and its function).
As a general matter, the grammar and intended meaning of terms used in a claim will dictate whether the language limits the claim scope. Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. The following are examples of language that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim:
(A) statements of intended use or field of use,
(B) “adapted to” or “adapted for” clauses,
(C) “wherein” clauses, or
(D) “whereby” clauses.
This list of examples is not intended to be exhaustive. See also MPEP § 2111.04
Claim 13
13. McCamy discloses system for displaying a financial dashboard, said system comprising:
a plurality of user devices; and (See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint on your computer or smartphone )
a server computer in communication with the user devices and having at least one processor and memory, (See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint on your computer or smartphone )
where the server computer is configured for;
reading a source of data to be displayed on the financial dashboard, where the data is financial data for one or more accounts of a user, and (See McCamy, personal finance app, add financial institutions where you have accounts…)
transmitting at least a portion of the data over a network to a particular one of the user devices being used by the user; and(See McCamy, personal finance app, add financial institutions where you have accounts…See all your money in one place… find your bank or credit card… connect it securely to Mint… Norton certified to help ensure security for sensitive data…)
the user devices are configured for;
displaying the financial dashboard including an account activity section and an overall financial health section, (See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint on your computer or smartphone to view or enter information… use Mint on my phone…nice job the world is your oyster… your on-time payments… your credit usage….)
receiving user instructions for modifying what is displayed on the financial dashboard, and when indicated by the user instructions, (See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint on your computer or smartphone to view or enter information… use Mint on my phone…nice job the world is your oyster… your on-time payments… your credit usage…view details///.)
transmitting the user instructions to the server computer; and(See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint ..update transactions…)
the server computer is further configured for transmitting additional data to the user devices as required by the user instructions; and (See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint ..update transactions…)
the user devices are further configured for updating the display of the financial dashboard based on the user instructions. (See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint ..update transactions…)
where the account activity section displays elements …: a top spending categories graphic depicting transaction categories having highest spending amounts in the one account for a current month, a transaction list for the one account, a total monthly activity chart depicting spending totals in the one account for a plurality of recent months including the current month, and a cash flow chart depicting inflow and outflow amounts for the one account in the current month, and (See McCamy, categorizing transactions…transactions…learn my categories… categories…… spending by category… trends ….spending March 2019…spending October 2018 – March 2019…. this month … app visualizes my spending…visualize my cash flows/ March 2019…)
wherein the account activity section has a configuration which is user-selectable between a display of a recent activity view and a display of an upcoming activity view, (See McCamy, all cash and credit account …date…category…amount… transactions… categorizing transactions…learn my categories… categories… spending by category…this month …app visualizes my spending…visualize my cash flows/ March 2019…)
and when the account activity section displays the recent activity view, the transaction list includes recent transactions, and the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart all include only actual transactions for the current month, (See McCamy, all cash and credit account …date…category…amount… transactions… categorizing transactions…learn my categories… categories… spending by category…this month …app visualizes my spending…visualize my cash flows/ March 2019…goals…link goal to an account….)
and when the account activity section displays the upcoming activity view, the transaction list includes …., and the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart are user- configurable between a first option where only the actual transactions are included for the current month and a second option where both the actual transactions (See McCamy, all cash and credit account …date…category…amount… transactions… categorizing transactions…learn my categories… categories… spending by category…this month …app visualizes my spending…visualize my cash flows/ March 2019…goals…link goal to an account….) ….,
and where selecting the first option causes the top spending categories graphic,the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart to be calculated based on the actual transactions provided in a database from a first business enterprise, and selecting the second option causes the top spending categories graphic, the total monthly activity chart and the cash flow chart to be calculated based on both the actual transactions provided in the database from the first business enterprise and the…provided in a database from a second business enterprise. (See McCamy, all cash and credit account …date…category…amount… transactions… categorizing transactions…learn my categories… categories… ….date description category amount…app visualizes my spending…visualize my cash flows/ March 2019…goals…link goal to an account…emails me summaries, too…. spending by category…during…this month … all cash and credit accounts… total cash… total debt )
McCamy does not directly disclose the following; however Mint.com suggests/teaches:
…. and upcoming transactions for the current month.…. (See at least Mint.com, bills and money in one place…track and pay bills….)
…and upcoming transactions… (See at least Mint.com, bills and money in one place…track and pay bills….)
… including scheduled bill payments and subscription payments,… (See at least Mint.com, bills and money in one place…track and pay bills….)
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, McCamy discloses a review of some of the features of the Mint financial app. Mint.com is teaching of the Mint financial app . One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e. a disclosure of the features of Mint financial app with an additional a specific data element feature). As such the claimed invention is obvious over McCamy/ Mint.com.
McCamy does not directly disclose the following:
…consisting of…
However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would find it obvious to select and choose which and how many of the various data points/graphical elements to display as a user design choice including less than what is disclosed. One would be motivated to do so because ‘omission of a step or an element and its function is obvious if the function of the element is not desired.’ (MPEP 2144. 04 II. Elimination of a step or element and its function).
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, McCamy discloses a review of some of the features of the Mint financial app. Mint.com is teaching of the Mint financial app . One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e. a disclosure of the features of Mint financial app with an additional a specific data element feature). As such the claimed invention is obvious over McCamy/ /Mint.com.
McCamy does not directly disclose the following:
…consisting of…
However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would find it obvious to select and choose which and how many of the various data points/graphical elements to display as a user design choice including less than what is disclosed. One would be motivated to do so because ‘omission of a step or an element and its function is obvious if the function of the element is not desired.’ (MPEP 2144. 04 II. Elimination of a step or element and its function).
McCamy does not directly disclose the following; however, Citibank teaches:
….to be either a calendar month or an account statement period month. ( See at least Citibank, teaches that the statement month and calendar month may be different…)
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, McCamy discloses a review of some of the features of the Mint financial app. Citibank is merely used to disclose a data element used to in financial analysis. One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e. a disclosure of the features of Mint financial app with an additional a specific data element feature ). As such the claimed invention is obvious over McCamy / Citibank.
As a general matter, the grammar and intended meaning of terms used in a claim will dictate whether the language limits the claim scope. Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. The following are examples of language that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim:
(A) statements of intended use or field of use,
(B) “adapted to” or “adapted for” clauses,
(C) “wherein” clauses, or
(D) “whereby” clauses.
This list of examples is not intended to be exhaustive. See also MPEP § 2111.04
Claim 2
McCamy and Mint.com disclose the invention as claimed above in Claim 1.
McCamy further discloses:
wherein the user device is a tablet device or a smart phone configured with a mobile application which communicates with the server computer. (See McCamy, personal finance app, log into Mint on your computer or smartphone to view or enter information… use Mint on my phone….)
Claim 3
McCamy and Mint.com disclose the invention as claimed above in Claim 1.
McCamy further discloses:
wherein the user device is a personal computing device configured with a web browser application which communicates with the server computer. (See McCamy, personal finance app, …connect it securely to Mint… Norton certified to help ensure security for sensitive data…log into Mint on your computer or smartphone to view or enter information… use Mint on my pho