DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to claims filed 11/12/2025.
Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 11/12/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 08/12/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 11/12/2025, with respect to rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Particularly, the amendments made regarding “executing” in addition with the newly added limitation of “launching, by the first VM, a virtual desktop session,” when viewed as a whole, is directed to a specific technical process with an improvement to provisioning and orchestration of virtual desktop. The rejection of 08/12/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7-10, regarding the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 and subsequent statement of common ownership, filed 11/12/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Oh et al. Patent No. US 9,086,897 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 11, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. Patent No. US 9,086,897 B2 (hereinafter Oh) in view of Padmanabhan et al. Pub. No. US 2022/0413885 A1 (hereinafter Padmanabhan).
With regard to claim 1, Oh teaches a method of provisioning a virtual desktop deployment, comprising:
receiving, at an admin service executing on first virtualized infrastructure, deployment information for the virtual desktop deployment (Col. 4, At the virtual machine search step S302, the connection broker 110 identifies a relevant user profile so as to allocate virtual machines, and searches for a virtual machine that satisfies the hardware configuration of the user terminal 20 and that is optimal for a computing environment, using a provisioning function), …;
providing the deployment information from the admin service to a lifecycle manager (LCM) executing on second virtualized infrastructure (Col. 4, As a result of searching performed at the virtual machine search step S302, it is determined whether a suitable virtual machine has been found at step S304. If it is determined that no suitable virtual machine is present, the connection broker 110 requests the virtual machine infrastructure 130 to generate a virtual machine by transmitting information about the hardware configuration);
executing, by the LCM in cooperation with a provider of a third virtualized infrastructure, virtual machines (VMs) (Col. 4, Accordingly, the virtual machine infrastructure 130 generates a virtual machine at step S306. At the user profile application step S308, after the virtual machine has been allocated or generated, the connection broker 110 applies the user profile to the allocated or generated virtual machine) based on the capacity and the image (Col. 4, At the user profile application step S308, the connection broker 110 may install an OS and an application required to construct the virtual desktop 200);
connecting, via a virtual desktop (VD) agent executing in the first VM (Col. 4, At the user terminal connection step S312, the connection broker 110 transmits the session information to the user terminal 20, and the user terminal 20 is connected to the virtual machine infrastructure 130)
launching, by the first VM, a virtual desktop session based on the image in the deployment information and enabling access to the virtual desktop session by a service client through an internet gateway of the third virtualized infrastructure (Col. 4, At the experience information communication step S314, the user terminal 20 communicates the experience information of users the virtual desktop 200 on the basis of a virtual desktop delivery protocol (VDDP).)
However, Oh does not explicitly teach the deployment information including a capacity and an image. Additionally, Oh does not explicitly teach the method of connecting the virtual desktop to a message cluster based on connection information.
Padmanabhan teaches the deployment information including a capacity and an image ([0047], Method 500 begins at operation 510 by receiving a VM image from a subscriber; [0049], The virtual machine cloud service provisions VMs at operation 540 using the capacity obtained in the Microsoft Azure Subscription)
providing, by the LCM to a first VM of the VMs, connection information for a message cluster in a fourth virtualized infrastructure ([0027], FIG. 2 is a flowchart of a method 200 of providing CVMs (Examiner notes: client virtual machine) to authorized subscriber clients in a secure and efficient manner. Method 200 begins at operation 210 by granting a subscriber client access to cloud service-based resource group within a subscriber controlled computing environment having a virtual network (Examiner notes: subscriber, as used herein, refers to publish/subscribe messaging model, wherein a subscriber aggregate (cluster) subscribes to a message publisher). Granting access to the cloud service-based resource group may be done by receiving an administrator subscription token via a subscriber client device to access the subscriber controlled virtual environment); and
connecting, by a virtual desktop (VD) agent executing in the first VM, to the message cluster based on the connection information ([0028], A line of sign connection via the virtual network to a domain controller in the subscriber controlled computing environment is established at operation 220. The domain controller is joined to a cloud-based directory service. At operation 230, the virtual network is extended to a subscriber client virtual machine in a producer cloud service. The client virtual machine is then joined at operation 230 to the virtual network; [0031], Each subscriber CVM may be registered with a desktop remoting service, such as WVD. Once registered multiple subscriber clients may be provided access to multiple respective subscriber CVMs via multiple respective unique network interface connections. Such access may be provided through a sequence referred to as reverse connect. Reverse connect establishes a remote desktop protocol (RDP) connection by way of the subscriber client and subscriber CVM by opening an inbound port on the CVM).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the teachings of Padmanabhan with the teachings of Oh in order to provide a method that teaches a virtual desktop receiving and accessing a message cluster given the specified connection information. The motivation for applying Padmanabhan teaching with Oh teaching is to provide a method that allows for a subscriber streamline deployment by simply specify a number of virtual machines to be provisioned and linked to the virtual network, such that saves significant effort in allocating and managing the provisioning of virtual machines (Padmanabhan, [0018]). Oh and Padmanabhan are analogous art directed towards hypervisor-specific management and integration aspects. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Oh with Padmanabhan to teach the claimed invention in order to provide streamlined provisioning and management of virtual machines in a multi-layer environment.
With regard to claim 7, Padmanabhan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first VM communicates with a connection service in the fourth virtualized infrastructure through the message cluster to establish a virtual desktop connection with a user ([0051], In one example, the sequence may utilize the following steps. The subscriber client connects to remote desktop service to obtain an RDP file. The remote desktop service contacts a remote desktop broker to obtain launch parameters and constructs the RDP file. The subscriber client connects to a nearby gateway and connects to the broker with a subscriber client identifier. The broker determines a corresponding subscriber CVM that is authorized for the subscriber client and instructs the CVM to connect to the gateway. The gateway handles the RDP traffic between the subscriber client and the subscriber CVM over a web socket relay which may be referred to as Reverse Connect).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the teachings of Padmanabhan with the teachings of Oh in order to provide a method that teaches message cluster routing in order to establish virtual desktop connection for a user. The motivation for applying Padmanabhan teaching with Oh teaching is to provide a method that allows for the user to simply provide credentials wherein the producer cloud services can link the credentials to the corresponding message cluster, streamlining the session connection of virtual desktop to the user (Padmanabhan, [0044]). Oh and Padmanabhan are analogous art directed towards desktop virtualization. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Padmanabhan with Oh to teach the claimed invention in order to provide virtualized infrastructure that enables scalable and streamlined communication between the user, the cloud provider, and the message cluster.
With regard to claim 11, Oh teaches a computing system (Col. 3, FIG. 1, is a block diagram showing a service architecture for a virtual desktop service according to an embodiment of the present invention … these steps may be performed by three principal actors namely, a Connection Broker (CB) 110, a Resource Pool (RP) 120, and a Virtual Machine Infrastructure (VMI) 130, as shown in FIG. 1), comprising:
a first virtualized infrastructure having an admin service executing to receive deployment information for a virtual desktop deployment (Fig. 2, Connection broker 110; Col. 4, At the virtual machine search step S302, the connection broker 110 identifies a relevant user profile so as to allocate virtual machines, and searches for a virtual machine that satisfies the hardware configuration of the user terminal 20 and that is optimal for a computing environment, using a provisioning function), …;
a second virtualized infrastructure having a lifecycle manager (LCM) configured to receive the deployment information from the admin service and to provision, in cooperation with a providing of a third virtualized infrastructure, virtual machines (VMs) (Fig. 2, Virtual Machine Monitoring Management 213; Col. 4, As a result of searching performed at the virtual machine search step S302, it is determined whether a suitable virtual machine has been found at step S304) …;
the virtualized infrastructure including a first VM of the VMs having a virtual desktop agent executing therein (Fig. 2, Virtual Machine Infrastructure 130; Col. 4, At the user terminal connection step S312, the connection broker 110 transmits the session information to the user terminal 20, and the user terminal 20 is connected to the virtual machine infrastructure 130), wherein the first VM is configured to launch a virtual desktop session based on the image of the deployment information (Col. 4, As the user profile application step S308, after the virtual machine has been allocated or generated, the connection broker 110 applies the user profile to the allocated or generated virtual machine) and to render the virtual desktop for access by a service client through an internet gateway of the third virtualized infrastructure (Fig. 2, Virtual Desktop 200; Col. 4, At the experience information communication step S314, the user terminal 20 communicates the experience information of users the virtual desktop 200 on the basis of a virtual desktop delivery protocol (VDDP).);
However, Oh does not explicitly teach the deployment information including a capacity and an image. Additionally, Oh does not explicitly teach the method of connecting the virtual desktop to a message cluster based on connection information.
Padmanabhan teaches the deployment information including a capacity and an image ([0047], Method 500 begins at operation 510 by receiving a VM image from a subscriber; [0049], The virtual machine cloud service provisions VMs at operation 540 using the capacity obtained in the Microsoft Azure Subscription)
a fourth virtualized infrastructure executing a message cluster (Fig. 1, Subscriber Environment 113; [0020], FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a system 100 for providing a cloud service 110 in a subscriber environment 113 in a subscriber environment domain to one or more subscriber clients 115), the LCM providing connection information to the VD agent ([0027], FIG. 2 is a flowchart of a method 200 of providing CVMs (Examiner notes: client virtual machine) to authorized subscriber clients in a secure and efficient manner. Method 200 begins at operation 210 by granting a subscriber client access to cloud service-based resource group within a subscriber controlled computing environment having a virtual network (Examiner notes: subscriber, as used herein, refers to publish/subscribe messaging model, wherein a subscriber aggregate (cluster) subscribes to a message publisher). Granting access to the cloud service-based resource group may be done by receiving an administrator subscription token via a subscriber client device to access the subscriber controlled virtual environment) and the VD agent connecting to the message cluster using the connection information ([0028], A line of sign connection via the virtual network to a domain controller in the subscriber controlled computing environment is established at operation 220. The domain controller is joined to a cloud-based directory service. At operation 230, the virtual network is extended to a subscriber client virtual machine in a producer cloud service. The client virtual machine is then joined at operation 230 to the virtual network; [0031], Each subscriber CVM may be registered with a desktop remoting service, such as WVD. Once registered multiple subscriber clients may be provided access to multiple respective subscriber CVMs via multiple respective unique network interface connections. Such access may be provided through a sequence referred to as reverse connect. Reverse connect establishes a remote desktop protocol (RDP) connection by way of the subscriber client and subscriber CVM by opening an inbound port on the CVM) which is substantially similar to claim 1 and therefore rejected with similar rationale.
Rationale to claim 1 applied here.
With regard to claim 17, it is a computer system having similar limitations as claim 7. Thus, claim 17 is rejected for the same rationale as applied to claim 7.
With regard to claim 18, Oh teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions to be executed in computing devices to cause the computing devices to carry out a method of provisioning a virtual desktop deployment (Col. 7, The code and code segments constituting the computer program may be easily inferred by those skilled in the art to which the present invention pertains. Such a computer program is stored in computer readable storage media and is read and executed by the computer). Claim 18 is a non-transitory computer readable medium having similar limitations as claim 1. Thus, claim 18 is rejected for the same rationale as applied to claim 1.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Padmanabhan as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Malakapalli et al. Pub. No. US 2011/0153716 A1 (hereinafter Malakapalli).
With regard to claim 2, Malakapalli teaches updating, by the LCM, an inventory manager executing in the second virtualized infrastructure within the VMs are provisioned ([0045], In block 806, the session broker transmits a request to pool manager 530 requesting available virtual desktops. In block 808, the pool manager 530 determines which virtual desktops 518(a-n) are available, by pooling the virtual desktops or by reading a table stored in memory that tracks the virtual desktop availability. In one embodiment, the pool manager 530 may determine that terminal server 552 is available for transmitting and receiving content (Examiner notes: updating the server as unavailable)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the teachings of Malakapalli with the teachings of Oh and Padmanabhan in order to provide a method that teaches inventory management. The motivation for applying Malakapalli teaching with Oh and Padmanabhan teaching is to provide a method that allows for tracking and managing the state and lifecycle of virtual desktops, such that enables other components to perform automatic provisioning of available resource (Malakapalli, [0046]). Oh, Padmanabhan, and Malakapalli are analogous art directed towards desktop virtualization. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Malakapalli with Oh and Padmanabhan to teach the claimed invention in order to provide virtual desktop availability tracking for provisioning automation.
With regard to claim 12, it is a computer system having similar limitations as claim 2. Thus, claim 12 is rejected for the same rationale as applied to claim 2.
Claims 3, 4, 13, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Padmanabhan as applied to claim 1, 11, and 18 above, and further in view of Loladia et al. Patent No. Us 12,095,725 B2 (hereinafter Loladia).
With regard to claim 3, Loladia teaches wherein the step of providing the connection information comprises:
obtaining, by the LCM, credentials from a VM hub executing the fourth virtualized infrastructure (Fig. 6, lines 33-39, FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating an example system 300 for resolving device credentials for device 302a-c (Examiner notes: VMs of Zhao) that communicates with a device management service 308 through a hub device 304 … Messages forwarded by the hub device 304 may be to the device management service 308 (Examiner notes: LCM of Zhao) may be provided to an authentication and authorization service 306 configured to resolve device credentials (Examiner notes: LCM obtains credentials) associated with a device 302a-c);
providing the credentials from the LCM to the VD agent in the first VM (Col. 3, lines 27-32, As illustrated device credentials 112 used to authenticate and authorize a device action, such as connecting to a resource or requesting a resource action, may be managed separately from a device profile 114 for the device 102, thereby decoupling device credentials 112 from the identity of the device 102; Col. 3, lines 57-62, As part of registering the device 102 with the device management service 104, device credentials 112 may be created for the device 102, or a customer may provide existing device credentials 112, and the device credentials 112 may be managed separately from a device profile 114 in the credentials data store 116);
connecting by the VD agent to the VM hub to obtain the connection information (Col. 4, lines 4-12, After registering the device 102 with the device manager service 104, the device 102 may send messages to the device management service 104 requesting a resource 108 to perform resource actions. Illustratively, resource actions may include, but are not limited to: … requesting that a message broker subscribe the device 102 to a named logical channel (e.g., topic); Col. 6, lines 45-56, The hub device 304 may communicate with the device management service 308 on behalf of many devices 302a-c and each connection established by the hub device 304 on behalf of a device 302a-c may be authenticated and authorized using device credentials linked of the device 302a-c. For example, a message forwarded by the hub device 304 to the device management service 308 may include identifying information for a device 302a-c that sent the message. The identifying information included in the message may be used to identify device credentials that may be used to authenticate the device 302a-c and authorize a resource action requested in the message, as described earlier (Examiner notes: obtainment of the connection information to the message cluster of Padmanabhan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the teachings of Loladia with the teachings of Oh and Padmanabhan in order to provide a method that teaches the transfer of credentials between the lifecycle manager, the virtual machine hub, and virtual desktop agent to obtain cluster manager connection information. The motivation for applying Loladia teaching with Zhao, Padmanabhan, and Liu teaching is to provide a method that allows for a device management service to support the routing of a substantial volume of messages to several different endpoint services while enforcing access control, enabling scalable communication while maintaining security (Loladia, Col. 2). Zhao, Padmanabhan, Liu, and Loladia are analogous art directed towards distributed device management. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Loladia with Zhao, Padmanabhan, and Liu to teach the claimed invention in order to provide highly scalable and secure device management and service routing.
With regard to claim 4, Loladia teaches wherein the VM hub obtains the connection information from the admin service (Col. 7, lines 26-32, In one example, the resources 410 provided to the devices 430 via the device management service may include: a message broker service … configured to maintain a list of device 430 registered to communicate with the device management service 402; Col. 6, lines 36-39, The hub device 304 may be configured to forward messages associated with the devices 302a-c to the device management service and to the device 302a-c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the teachings of Loladia with the teachings of Oh and Padmanabhan in order to provide a method that teaches a VM hub retrieving message cluster connection information from an administrative entity. The motivation for applying Loladia teaching Oh and Padmanabhan teaching is to provide a method that allows for proper access control of resource through credential verification, thereby increasing security (Loladia, Col 6). Oh, Padmanabhan, and Loladia are analogous art directed towards distributed device management. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Loladia with Oh and Padmanabhan to teach the claimed invention in order to provide an intermediary VM hub to provide access verification prior to obtaining message cluster connection information.
With regard to claim 13, it is a computer system having similar limitations as claim 3. Thus, claim 13 is rejected for the same rationale as applied to claim 3.
With regard to claim 14, it is a computer system having similar limitation as claim 4. Thus, claim 14 is rejected for the same rationale as applied claim 4.
With regard to claim 19, it is a non-transitory computer readable medium having similar limitations as claim 3. Thus, claim 19 is rejected for the same rationale as applied to claim 3.
Claims 5, 6, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Padmanabhan as applied to claims 1, 11, and 18 above, and further in view of Chitalia et al. Pub. No. US 2020/0007405 A1 (hereinafter Chitalia).
With regard to claim 5, Chitalia teaches connecting, by the VD agent, to another message cluster executing in the third virtualized infrastructure ([0047], In accordance with techniques of this disclosure, policy agents 205 of control plane servers 160 are configured to detect one or more VMs 148 that are executing on control plane servers 160 and dynamically associate each respective VM 148 with a particular one of network devices 152. In some examples, agent 205 of control plane servers 160 may receive (e.g., from virtualization utility 66 of FIG. 2) data identifying a set of one or more VMs 148 executing at a respective control plane server 160); and
sending statistics associated with the first from the VD agent to an edge gateway executing in the third virtualized infrastructure through the other message cluster ([0049], Policy agents 205 may analyze monitored data and/or metrics and generate operational data and/or intelligence associated with an operational state of servers 160 and/or one or more virtual machines 148 executing on such servers 160 …; [0054], Data plane proxy server 162 may receive data plane usage metrics from network devices 152. Such metrics may involve server 160, all virtual machines 148 executing on server 160, and/or specific instances of virtual machines 148. Policy agent 205 may poll resources of servers 160 to determine resource metrics, such as CPU usage, RAM usage, disk usage, etc. associated with a specifical VM).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the teachings of Chitalia with the teachings of Oh and Padmanabhan in order to provide a method that teaches an agent connecting to a message cluster in order to transmit statistics associated with the virtualized resource associated with the agent to a gateway. The motivation for applying Chitalia teaching with Oh and Padmanabhan teaching is to provide a method that allows for distributed analytics capabilities such that enables performance visibility and dynamic optimization and further to improve orchestration and planning within a computing environment (Chitalia, [0004]). Oh, Padmanabhan, and Chitalia are analogous art directed towards management of virtualized resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Chitalia with Oh and Padmanabhan to teach the claimed invention in order to provide collection and visibility of analytics of virtualized resources.
With regard to claim 6, Chitalia teaches wherein the admin service connects to the edge gateway to obtain the statistics (Fig. 1, 128 Admin service capable of routing to 108 Gateway; [0057], In accordance with techniques of this disclosure, agents 205 and 206 may monitor usage of resources of control plane servers 160 and data plane proxy servers 162, respectively, and may enable policy control 201 to analyze and control individual virtual nodes of network devices 152. Policy controller 201 obtains the usage metrics from policy agents 205, 206 and constructs a dashboard 203 (e.g., a set of user interfaces) to provide visibility into operational performance and infrastructure resources of data center 110.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply the teachings of Chitalia with the teachings of Oh and Padmanabhan in order to provide a method that teaches administrator service connecting to an edge gateway to obtain the metrics. The motivation for applying Chitalia teaching with Oh and Padmanabhan teaching is to provide a method that allows for a user interface device to obtain and visualize metrics of a data plane such that provides visibility to an administrator in order to best understand the resource utilization of the entire system infrastructure in context (Chitalia, [0058]-[0059]). Oh, Padmanabhan, and Chitalia are analogous art directed towards management of virtualized resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Chitalia with Oh and Padmanabhan to teach the claimed invention in order to provide visualize analytics of virtualized resources to an administrator in order to improve resource optimization and orchestration of such resources.
With regard to claim 15, it is a computer system claim having similar limitations as claim 6. Thus, claim 15 is rejected for the same rationale as applied to claim 5.
With regard to claim 16, it is a computer system having similar limitations as claim 6. Thus, claim 16 is rejected for the same rationale as applied to claim 6.
With regard to claim 20, it is a non-transitory computer readable medium having similar limitations as claim 5. Thus, claim 20 is rejected for the same rationale as applied to claim 5.
Conclusion
/I.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2195
/Aimee Li/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2195