DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending.
The foreign priority application No.2020-126462 filed on July 27, 2020 in Japan has been received and it is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-12, and 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7-9 of copending Application No. 18/063,496 (US 2023/0133713) in view of Arai et al. (US 2018/0149973).
The copending Application No. 18/063,496 claims an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition comprising: a resin of which polarity increases through decomposition by an action of an acid; and a compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with actinic rays or radiation, wherein the compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with actinic rays or radiation and may include a compound (I),
Compound (I):a compound having one or more of the following structural moieties X and one or more of the following structural moieties Y, and an acid-decomposable group in which a polar group is protected by a leaving group that leaves by an action of an acid, where the compound generates an acid including the following first acidic moiety derived from the following structural moiety X and the following second acidic moiety derived from the following structural moiety Y upon irradiation with actinic rays or radiation,
Structural moiety X: a structural moiety which consists of an anionic moiety A1- and a cationic moiety M1+, and forms a first acidic moiety represented by HA1 upon irradiation with actinic rays or radiation,
Structural moiety Y: a structural moiety which consists of an anionic moiety A2- and a cationic moiety M2+, and forms a second acidic moiety represented by HA2 upon irradiation with actinic rays or radiation,
provided that the compound (I) satisfies the following condition IA: a compound PI formed by substituting the cationic moiety M1+ in the structural moiety X and the cationic moiety M2+ in the structural moiety Y with H in the compound (I) has an acid dissociation constant al derived from an acidic moiety represented by HA1, formed by substituting the cationic moiety M1+ in the structural moiety X with H+, and an acid dissociation constant a2 derived from an acidic moiety represented by HA2, formed by substituting the cationic moiety M2+ in the structural moiety Y with H+, and the acid dissociation constant a2 is larger than the acid dissociation constant a1 (claim 1).
The copending Application No. 18/063,496 fails to claim the resin of the instant application.
Arai et al. teach a resist composition comprising a base component (A) which changes solubility in a developing solution under action of an acid (abstract, par.0056). The resist composition may be a positive resist (par.0057), and in this case the base component (A1) increases its polarity and its solubility in a developing solution under the action of an acid (par.0075-0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use a resin (A1) having polarity that increases by an action of an acid of Arai et al. in the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition of the copending Application No. 18/063,496, because this resin is clearly taught by Arai et al. for this purpose.
Arai et al. specifically teach that the resin (A1) may be represented by the formulas:
and
(par.0797).
The second repeating unit of the resins above is a repeating unit of General Formula (1) in claims 1-3 and 8, wherein R1 is a C1 alkyl, R2 and R3 are hydrogen atoms, L1 is a carbonyl divalent linking group, R4 is an unsubstituted C2 alkenyl group, R5 and R6 are alkyl groups bonded to each other to form a monocyclic cycloalkane ring, wherein an unsaturated C2 alkyenyl group is included in -C(R4)(R5)(R6).
Therefore, the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition of the copending Application No. 18/063,496 modified by Arai is equivalent to the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition in claims 1-3 and 8 of the instant application.
The copending Application No. 18/063,496 claims a resist film (claim 7), same as in claims 5, 10, and 14 of the instant application.
The copending Application No. 18/063,496 claims a pattern forming method (claim 8), same as in claims 6, 11, and 15 of the instant application.
The copending Application No. 18/063,496 claims a method for manufacturing an electronic device (claim 9), same as in claims 7, 12, and 16 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2015/0331314) in view of Arai et al. (US 2018/0149973).
With regard to claims 1-3 and 8, Yamaguchi et al. teach an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition comprising (A) a resin having a group capable of decomposing by action of an acid to produce a polar group, and a compound (C1) containing a group capable of generating a first acidic functional group upon irradiation with an actinic ray or radiation and a group capable of generating a second acidic functional group upon irradiation with an actinic ray or radiation (abstract).
The compound (C1) may be represented by the formula:
(par.0807), and is a compound (I) satisfying the condition (I) in claim 1 (see par.0183-0261 of the specification of the instant application).
Yamaguchi et al. fail to teach the resin comprising a repeating unit of General Formula (1) in claim 1.
Arai et al. teach a resist composition comprising a base component (A) which changes solubility in a developing solution under action of an acid (abstract, par.0056). The resist composition may be a positive resist (par.0057), and in this case the base component (A1) increases its polarity and its solubility in a developing solution under the action of an acid (par.0075-0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use a resin (A1) having polarity that increases by an action of an acid of Arai et al. in the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition of Yamaguchi et al., because this resin is taught by Arai et al. for this purpose.
Arai et al. specifically teach that the resin (A1) may be represented by the formulas:
and
(par.0797).
The second repeating unit of the resins above is a repeating unit of General Formula (1) in claims 1-3 and 8, wherein R1 is a C1 alkyl, R2 and R3 are hydrogen atoms, L1 is a carbonyl divalent linking group, R4 is an unsubstituted C2 alkenyl group, R5 and R6 are alkyl groups bonded to each other to form a monocyclic cycloalkane ring, wherein an unsaturated C2 alkyenyl group is included in -C(R4)(R5)(R6).
Therefore, the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition of the Yamaguchi modified by Arai is equivalent to the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition in claims 1-3 and 8 of the instant application.
With regard to claims 4, 9, and 13, Yamaguchi et al. teach that a compound (C) may be included in the resist composition in an amount of up to 30 mass% based on the solid content of the resist composition (par.0469).
With regard to claims 5, 10, 14, and 17, Yamaguchi et al. teach a resist film formed by the resist composition (par.0836).
With regard to claims 6, 11, 15, and 18, Yamaguchi et al. teach a pattern forming process comprising the steps of:
-applying the resist composition onto a substrate and drying to form a resist film;
-exposing the resist film; and
-developing the exposed the resist film (par.0836-0837).
With regard to claim 7, 12, 16, and 19, Yamaguchi et al. teach a method for manufacturing an electronic device comprising the pattern forming method (par.0799).
Claims 1, 3-7, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2015/0331314) in view of Yagi et al. (WO 2020/066485 A1, with citations from the English equivalent US 2021/0191265).
With regard to claims 1-3, Yamaguchi et al. teach an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition comprising (A) a resin having a group capable of decomposing by action of an acid to produce a polar group, and a compound (C1) containing a group capable of generating a first acidic functional group upon irradiation with an actinic ray or radiation and a group capable of generating a second acidic functional group upon irradiation with an actinic ray or radiation (abstract).
The compound (C1) may be represented by the formula:
(par.0807), and is a compound (I) satisfying the condition (I) in claim 1 (see par.0183-0261 of the specification of the instant application).
Yamaguchi et al. fail to teach the resin comprising a repeating unit of General Formula (1) in claim 1.
Yagi et al. teach an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition comprising a compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with actinic rays or radiation, and a resin having polarity that increases by an action of an acid, in which the resin includes a repeating unit of General Formula (B-1):
(abstract).
Yagi et al. further teach that the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition has excellent sensitivity and excellent LER (line edge roughness) of a positive resist pattern to be formed by EUV exposure (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use the resin having polarity that increases by an action of an acid and having a repeating unit of General Formula (B-1) of Yagi et al.
in the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition of Yamaguchi et al., in order to take advantage of its properties.
Yagi et al. teach a resin comprising repeating units derived from the monomers:
(par.0465 and Table 1 in par.0489).
These are repeating units of General Formula (1) in claims 1 and 3, wherein R1 is a C1 alkyl, R2 and R3 are hydrogen atoms, L1 is a divalent linking group, R4 is a C6 alkyl group or C2 alkenyl group, R5 and R6 are alkyl groups bonded to each other to form a substituted monocyclic cycloalkane ring, wherein an unsaturated C6 aryl group or C2 alkenyl group is included in -C(R4)(R5)(R6).
Therefore, the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition of the Yamahuchi modified by Yagi is equivalent to the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition in claims 1 and 3 of the instant application.
With regard to claims 4 and 13, Yamaguchi et al. teach that a compound (C) may be included in the resist composition in an amount of up to 30 mass% based on the solid content of the resist composition (par.0469).
With regard to claims 5, 14, and 17, Yamaguchi et al. teach a resist film formed by the resist composition (par.0836).
With regard to claims 6, 15, and 18, Yamaguchi et al. teach a pattern forming process comprising the steps of:
-applying the resist composition onto a substrate and drying to form a resist film;
-exposing the resist film; and
-developing the exposed the resist film (par.0836-0837).
With regard to claim 7, 16, and 19, Yamaguchi et al. teach a method for manufacturing an electronic device comprising the pattern forming method (par.0799).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner would like to note that:
-the objection to the abstract is withdrawn after the filing of a new abstract on December 29, 2025;
-the provisional rejection of claims 1-3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 12, 14, and 16 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims` 1 and 7-9 of copending Application No. 18/063,496 (US 2023/0133713) in view of Sagehashi et al. (US 2013/0344442) is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendment to claim 1;
-the rejection of claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-12, and 14-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamaguchi et al. (US 2015/0331314) is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendment to claim 1;
-the rejection of claims 4, 9, 13, and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2015/0331314) is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendment to claim 1;
-the rejection of claims 1-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al. (US 2007/0015084) in view of Sagehashi et al. (US 2013/0344442) is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendment to claim 1.
However, new grounds of rejection for claims 1-19 are presented in paragraphs 4-8 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fukushima et al. (US 2021/0096465) teach a polymer comprising recurring units having multiple bond-containing acid labile groups (abstract). These repeating units may be represented by the formulas:
(par.0050).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722