DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 04/17/2026. Claims 1-6, 8-18 and 20-22 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Further recognition:
The objections to the specification have been withdrawn.
The objections to the claims have been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6, 8-18 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claims 1 and 16, the recitation of “first vessel” and “second vessel” in at least claim 1. The claim should be amended to recite - - first inner vessel - - and -- second inner vessel -- for clarity. This is throughout the claims.
Claims 2-6, 8-15, 17-18 and 20-22 are objected to because of dependency from an objected to claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8-12, 15-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US6453680B1), in view of Thor (US-20190331298-A1) and further in view of Gill (GB2398115A).
Regarding Claim 1, Allen teaches a tank system for storing a cryogenic liquid [abstract; 10] comprising:
a first tank [18; fig. 3] including:
a first inner vessel [14; fig. 3] configured to store the cryogenic liquid [col. 4; lines 18-22];
a first outer jacket [12; fig. 3] surrounding the first inner vessel [fig. 3; col. 4; lines 18-22];
a support [col. 5; lines 36-37 “low heat leak structural supports (now shown)”] securing the first inner vessel [14] within the first outer jacket [12] and spacing the outer jacket from the first inner vessel [col. 5; lines 34-39 “ inner vessel 14 of the helium tank is suspended within the outer vessel 12”];
a support cooling channel [24; fig. 4] contacting the support [col. 5; lines 34-39 “provided with cooling from the thermal shield 21” someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that 21 would be in contact with the support ]; and
a second vessel including [16];
a second inner vessel [15; fig. 3] configured to store and supply a cooling fluid [col. ; lines 3-7 “coolant/nitrogen supply”] to the support cooling channel [col. 6; lines 9-14].
Allen does not explicitly teach a headspace of the first inner vessel positioned above the cryogenic liquid, a fuel line in fluid communication with a liquid side of the first inner vessel; and a recondenser positioned within a second headspace of the second inner vessel, said recondenser having an inlet configured to receive vapor from the headspace of the first inner vessel so that evaporated cooling fluid in the headspace of the second inner vessel is condensed and a pressure within the second inner vessel is reduced: an exit line configured to receive warmed vapor from an outlet of the recondenser and to direct received vapor to the fuel line or a support cooling channel directly contacting the support.
However, Thor teaches a headspace [0027 “headspace”] of the first inner vessel [10 corresponding to 14 of Allen] positioned above the cryogenic liquid [fig.1];
a fuel line [36] in fluid communication [0027 “in fluid communication”] with a liquid side [12] of the first inner vessel [10]; and
a recondenser [22a/b] positioned within a second headspace [0027 “headspace”] of the second inner vessel [24a/b corresponding to 15 of Allen], the recondenser [22a/] having an inlet [fig. 1 where 16a/b enters 22a/b] configured to receive vapor of the cryogenic liquid [0040 “hydrogen vapor”] from the first headspace of the first inner vessel [0040 “vapor from the headspace of tank 10”] so that evaporated portions of the cooling fluid in the second headspace are condensed [0037 “in the headspace of tank 24a is condensed” see also 0040 where they fluid would be vapor traveling through the coil] and a pressure within the second inner vessel is reduced [0037 “pressure head collapsed”]:
an exit line [fig. 1 the line between 22a and 28] configured to receive the vapor [fig. 1] from an outlet of the recondenser [0027 “outlet of the coil”] and to direct the received vapor to the fuel line [fig. 1 clearly showing the vapor flowing to the fuel line (36)], the vapor being warmed subsequent to passing through the recondenser [0040 “the hydrogen is warmed”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Allen to have a headspace of the first inner vessel positioned above the cryogenic liquid, a fuel line in fluid communication with a liquid side of the first inner vessel; and a recondenser positioned within a second headspace of the second inner vessel, said recondenser having an inlet configured to receive vapor from the headspace of the first inner vessel so that evaporated cooling fluid in the headspace of the second inner vessel is condensed and a pressure within the second inner vessel is reduced: an exit line configured to receive warmed vapor from an outlet of the recondenser and to direct received vapor to the fuel line in view of the teachings of Thor where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a tank system for storing a cryogenic liquid where vapor from the head space of the first inner vessel flows to a recondenser within the headspace of the second inner vessel to a fuel line which removes more heat from the system [Thor; 0004].
Furthermore, Gill teaches a support cooling channel [42 corresponding to 24 of Allen] directly contacting [figs. 3& 4 showing direct contact; see also paragraph 5 on pg. 4] the support [28 corresponding to the support of Allen].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the modified Allen teaching with Gill by combining a support cooling channel directly contacting the support where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a tank system for storing a cryogenic liquid with a support cooling channel directly contacting the support allowing a secure connection and lessening heat in leak [Gill; abstract].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches comprising a second outer jacket [13 fig. 3] surrounding the second inner vessel [15; col. 4; lines 47-52].
Regarding Claim 6, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches wherein the support cooling channel [24; fig. 4] is located midway between the first inner vessel and the first outer jacket [fig. 3 which shows thermal shield 21 midway between the first inner vessel 14 and the outer vessel 12; col. 6; lines 11-22].
Regarding Claim 8, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches comprising a cooling line [25; fig. 4] in fluid communication with the second inner vessel [15] and wherein the support cooling channel [24] is in fluid communication with the cooling line [col. 6; lines 11-19].
Regarding Claim 9, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 8 and Allen further teaches wherein the cooling line [25] includes a cooling line valve [30; fig. 4].
Regarding Claim 10, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches wherein the support cooling channel includes a vent [29; fig. 4; col. 7; lines 12-15].
Regarding Claim 11, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches comprising vacuum insulation in between the first inner vessel [] and the first outer jacket [col. 4; lines 18-21].
Regarding Claim 12, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches wherein the first inner vessel [14] is configured to store a cryogenic liquid fuel [col. 5; lines 27-34].
Regarding Claim 15, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches wherein the cooling fluid is liquid nitrogen [col. 2; lines 9-12].
Regarding Claim 16, Allen teaches method of storing a cryogenic liquid [abstract] comprising:
storing a cryogenic liquid [col. 4; lines 4-8] in a first inner vessel [14; fig. 3] of a first tank [18; fig. 3], said first inner vessel [14] also including a first outer jacket [12; fig. 3] and a support [col. 5; lines 36-37 “low heat leak structural supports (now shown)”] securing the first inner vessel [14] within the first outer jacket [12] and spacing the first outer jacket [12] from the first inner vessel [col. 5; lines 34-39 “ inner vessel 14 of the helium tank is suspended within the outer vessel 12”],
storing a cooling fluid [col. ; lines 3-7 “coolant/nitrogen supply”] in a second inner vessel [15; col. 6; lines 9-14];
cooling the support with a cooling fluid from the second inner vessel [col. 6 lines 55-col. 7 line 10];
directing the cooling fluid [nitrogen] from the second inner vessel [15] to a support cooling channel [24], wherein a portion of [21] the support cooling channel [24; fig. 4] is in contact with the support so that the cooling fluid cools the support [col. 5; lines 34-39 “provided with cooling from the thermal shield 21” someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that 21 would be in contact with the support ].
Allen does not explicitly teach said first inner vessel including a headspace of the first inner vessel positioned above the cryogenic liquid, storing the cooling fluid in a second inner vessel having a headspace of the second inner vessel with a recondenser positioned within the headspace of the second inner vessel and directing vapor from the headspace of the first inner vessel to the recondenser so that evaporated cooling fluid in the headspace of the second inner vessel is condensed, vapor from the headspace of the first inner vessel is warmed and a pressure within the second vessel is reduced withdrawing the cryogenic liquid from the first inner vessel using a fuel line; and directing the warmed vapor from the recondenser to the fuel line; and directing warmed vapor from the recondenser to the fuel line or a portion of the support cooling channel is in direct contact with the support so that the cooling fluid cools the support.
However, Thor teaches said first inner vessel including a headspace [0027 “headspace”] of the first inner vessel [10 corresponding to 14 of Allen] positioned above the cryogenic liquid [fig.1] containing a vapor [fig. 1 clearly showing a vapor above the cryogenic liquid];
storing a cooling fluid [carbon dioxide corresponding to the nitrogen of Allen] in a second inner vessel [24a/b corresponding to 15 of Allen] having a second headspace [0027 “headspace”] of the second inner vessel [24a/b] with a recondenser [22a/b] positioned within a headspace [0027 “headspace”] of the second inner vessel [24a/b corresponding to 15 of Allen]; and
directing the vapor from the headspace of the first inner vessel [0040 “vapor from the headspace of tank 10”] to the recondenser [0040 “through coils 22a or 22b”] so that evaporated portions of the cooling fluid in the second headspace are condensed [0037 “in the headspace of tank 24a is condensed” see also 0040 where they fluid would be vapor traveling through the coil], wherein the vapor from the first headspace forms a warmed vapor [0040 “headspace of tank 10” and “warmed”] and a pressure within the second inner vessel is reduced [0037 “pressure head collapsed”];
withdrawing cryogenic liquid from the first inner vessel using a fuel line [36; 0027 “in fluid communication” see also 0040 where the pump is replaced by a compressor ]; and
directing warmed vapor from the recondenser to the fuel line [fig. 1 clearly showing the warmed vapor from the recondenser flowing to the fuel line];
withdrawing the cryogenic liquid from the first inner vessel [10] using a fuel line [0027; 36]; and
directing the warmed vapor [0040 “the hydrogen is warmed”] from the recondenser to the fuel line[fig. 1 clearly showing the vapor flowing to the fuel line (36)].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Method of Allen to have a said first inner vessel including a headspace of the first inner vessel positioned above the cryogenic liquid, storing the cooling fluid in a second inner vessel having a headspace of the second inner vessel with a recondenser positioned within the headspace of the second inner vessel and directing vapor from the headspace of the first inner vessel to the recondenser so that evaporated cooling fluid in the headspace of the second inner vessel is condensed, vapor from the headspace of the first inner vessel is warmed and a pressure within the second vessel is reduced withdrawing the cryogenic liquid from the first inner vessel using a fuel line; and directing the warmed vapor from the recondenser to the fuel line; and directing warmed vapor from the recondenser to the fuel line in view of the teachings of Thor where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a method of storing a cryogenic liquid where vapor from the head space of the first inner vessel flows to a recondenser within the headspace of the second inner vessel to a fuel line which removes more heat from the system [Thor; 0004].
Furthermore, Gill teaches a portion [fig. 3 showing a portion i.e. the material of (28) that is not hollowed out] of the support cooling channel [42 corresponding to 24 of Allen] is in direct contact [fig. 3 clearly the channels (hollowed out portions) are in direct contact with the not hollowed out portions] with the support [28 corresponding to the support of Allen] so that the cooling fluid cools the support [paragraph 5 on pg. 4 “metal to metal connection” which would clearly cool the support 28].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the modified Allen teaching with Gill by combining a portion of the support cooling channel is in direct contact with the support so that the cooling fluid cools the support where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a tank system for storing a cryogenic liquid with a portion of the support cooling channel is in direct contact with the support so that the cooling fluid cools the support allowing a secure connection and lessening heat in leak [Gill; abstract].
Regarding Claim 18, modified Allen teaches the method of claim 16 and Allen further teaches wherein the cooling fluid is liquid nitrogen [col. 2; lines 9-12].
Regarding Claim 20, modified Allen teaches the method of claim 16 and Allen teaches further comprising venting vapors of the cooling fluid [col. 7; lines 12-19 “venting the nitrogen vapor” and “the trace lines 24”] formed due to evaporation of the cooling fluid during cooling of the support [col. 7; lines 3-18 “venting the nitrogen vapor from the system that has been generated in the nitrogen inner vessels 15 as well as the trace lines 24”].
Claim(s) 2-3, 14 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US6453680B1), Thor (US-20190331298-A1) and in view of Rekstad et al. (US2012/0055920A1).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches the support [not shown].
Modified Allen does not explicitly teach the support at least partially surrounds the first inner vessel.
However, Rekstad teaches an independent tank system for storing liquid gas in a vessel and the support [4; fig. 2] at least partially surrounds the first inner vessel [fig. 2; 0046].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Allen to have the support at least partially surrounds the first inner vessel in view of the teachings of Rekstad where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a tank system for storing a cryogenic liquid where the support at least partially surrounds the first inner vessel which minimizes local stress [Rekstad; 0044].
Regarding Claim 3, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 2 and
Rekstad teaches the support extends radially from the first inner vessel towards the outer jacket [fig. 5b; 0046; wherein the instant case the first inner vessel is the tank device and the hull is the outer jacket].
Regarding Claim 14, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches the support [not shown] and
Rekstad teaches wherein the support includes a first radially-extending portion connected to the first inner vessel [Fig. 5b where 2 is the same as the first inner vessel], a second radially-extending portion connected to the first outer jacket [fig. 5b where 50 is the same as the outer jacket] and a joining portion extending perpendicular between [fig. 5b] and connected to the first radially-extending portion and second radially-extending portion [fig. 5b; 0056].
Regarding Claim 22, modified Allen teaches the method of claim 16 Allen further teaches the support [not shown].
Modified Allen does not explicitly teach the support comprises a first radially-extending portion connected to the first inner vessel, a second radially-extending portion connected to the first outer jacket, and a joining portion extending perpendicular between and connected to the first radially-extending portion and the second radially-extending portion.
However, Rekstad teaches wherein the support [4 corresponding to the support of Allen] comprises a first radially-extending portion connected to the first inner vessel [Fig. 5b where 2 is the same as the first inner vessel], a second radially-extending portion connected to the first outer jacket [fig. 5b where 50 is the same as the outer jacket] and a joining portion extending perpendicular between [fig. 5b] and connected to the first radially-extending portion and second radially-extending portion [fig. 5b; 0056].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Method of the modified Allen teaching with Rekstad by combining the support comprises a first radially-extending portion connected to the first inner vessel, a second radially-extending portion connected to the first outer jacket, and a joining portion extending perpendicular between and connected to the first radially-extending portion and the second radially-extending portion where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a tank system for storing a cryogenic liquid where the support comprises a first radially-extending portion connected to the first inner vessel, a second radially-extending portion connected to the first outer jacket, and a joining portion extending perpendicular between and connected to the first radially-extending portion and the second radially-extending portion which minimizes local stress [Rekstad; 0044].
Claim(s) 5, 13, 17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US6453680B1), Thor (US-20190331298-A1) and in view of Dinulescu et al. (US4292062A).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches the outer jacket [12] and the first inner vessel [14] and the second inner vessel [15].
Modified Allen does not explicitly teach wherein the outer first jacket surrounds the first inner vessel and the second inner vessel.
However, Dinulescu teaches cryogenic fuel tank [col. 1; lines 33-34] and wherein the first outer jacket surrounds the first inner vessel and the second inner vessel [fig. 3; col. 3; lines 15-16].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Allen to have wherein the outer first jacket surrounds the first inner vessel and the second inner vessel in view of the teachings of Dinulescu where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a tank system for storing a cryogenic liquid where the first outer jacket surrounds the first inner vessel and the second inner vessel creating a more tank system which allows heat flow from the two vessels [Dinulescu; abstract].
Regarding Claim 13, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 12 and Dinulescu teaches wherein the cryogenic liquid fuel is liquid natural gas or liquid hydrogen [col. 2; lines 63-67].
Regarding Claim 17, modified Allen teaches the method of claim 16 and Allen further teaches the cryogenic liquid.
Modified Allen does not explicitly teach wherein the cryogenic liquid is a fuel including liquid natural gas or liquid hydrogen.
However, Dinulescu teaches cryogenic fuel tank [col. 1; lines 33-34] and teaches wherein the cryogenic liquid is a fuel including liquid natural gas or liquid hydrogen [col. 2; lines 63-67].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Allen to have wherein the cryogenic liquid fuel is liquid natural gas or liquid hydrogen in view of the teachings of Dinulescu where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a method of storing a cryogenic liquid where the cryogenic liquid fuel is liquid natural gas or liquid hydrogen which allows the end user to select an appropriate cryogen for their intended use.
Regarding Claim 21, modified Allen teaches the method of claim 16, and Allen teaches the first inner vessel [14] and the second inner vessel [15].
Modified Allen does not explicitly teach wherein the first inner vessel and the second inner vessel are stored within the first outer jacket.
However, Dinulescu teaches wherein the first inner vessel [10 corresponding to 14 of Allen] and the second inner vessel [12 corresponding to 15 of Allen] are stored within the first outer jacket [8 corresponding to 12 of Allen].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the modified Allen teaching with Dinulescu by combining the first inner vessel and the second inner vessel are stored within the first outer jacket where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a tank system for storing a cryogenic liquid where the first inner vessel and the second inner vessel are stored within the first outer jacket creating a tank system which allows heat flow from the two vessels [Dinulescu; abstract]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/17/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 16 on pgs. 10-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ADAM DORREL MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763