DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 08/25/2025.
Claims 1-6, 8-18 and 20 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Further recognition:
The objections to the specification have been reconsidered and the restated objections have not been found persuasive. Any specification objection not listed below has been found persuasive and is withdrawn in in light of the amendments.
The rejections pursuant to 112(b) with respect to claims 5-6 are withdrawn in light of the
amendments.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In at least paragraph 0015 the specification recites, “… a first inner vessel 12.” Later in the specification “the inner vessel 12” in paragraph 0016 and “The first inner vessel 12” in paragraph 0017. Please amend specification to recite - - the first inner vessel 12- - for clarity. This is throughout the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6, 8-18 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claims 1 and 16, the recitation of “first vessel” and “second vessel” in at least claim 1. The claim should be amended to recite - - first inner vessel - - and -- second inner vessel -- for clarity. This is throughout the claims. Due in light of the specification in 0015 “having a first inner vessel”.
Claims 2-6, 8-15, 17-18 and 20 are objected to because of dependency from an objected to claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8-12, 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US6453680B1) and in view of Thor (US-20190331298-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Allen teaches a tank system for storing a cryogenic liquid [abstract; 10] comprising: a first tank including [18; fig. 3]:
a first inner vessel [14; fig. 3] configured to store the cryogenic liquid [col. 4; lines 18-22; a first outer jacket [12; fig. 3] surrounding the first inner vessel [fig. 3; col. 4; lines 18-22]; a support (not shown; low heat leak) securing the first inner vessel within the first outer jacket and spacing the outer jacket from the first inner vessel [col. 5; lines 34-39];
a support cooling channel [24; fig. 4] contacting the support [col. 6 lines 55-col. 7 line2]; and
a second inner vessel [15; fig. 3] configured to store and supply a cooling fluid to the support cooling channel [col. 6; lines 9-14].
Allen does not explicitly teach a headspace of the first inner vessel positioned above the cryogenic liquid, a fuel line in fluid communication with a liquid side of the first inner vessel; and a recondenser positioned within a second headspace of the second inner vessel, said recondenser having an inlet configured to receive vapor from the headspace of the first inner vessel so that evaporated cooling fluid in the headspace of the second inner vessel is condensed and a pressure within the second inner vessel is reduced: an exit line configured to receive warmed vapor from an outlet of the recondenser and to direct received vapor to the fuel line.
However, Thor teaches a headspace [0027 “headspace”] of the first inner vessel [10 corresponding to 14 of Allen] positioned above the cryogenic liquid [fig.1], a fuel line [36] in fluid communication [0027 “in fluid communication”] with a liquid side [12] of the first inner vessel [10]; and
a recondenser [22a/b] positioned within a headspace [0027 “headspace”] of the second inner vessel [24a/b corresponding to 15 of Allen], said recondenser [22a/] having an inlet [fig. 1] configured to receive vapor from the first headspace of the first inner vessel [0040 “vapor from the headspace of tank 10”] so that evaporated cooling fluid in the second headspace is condensed [0037 “in the headspace of tank 24a is condensed” see also 0040 where they fluid would be vapor traveling through the coil] and a pressure within the second inner vessel is reduced [0037 “pressure head collapsed”]:
an exit line [fig. 1 the line between 22a and 28] configured to receive warmed vapor [0040 “warmed”] from an outlet of the recondenser [0027 “outlet of the coil”] and to direct received vapor to the fuel line [fig. 1 clearly showing the vapor flowing to the fuel line].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Allen to have a headspace of the first inner vessel positioned above the cryogenic liquid, a fuel line in fluid communication with a liquid side of the first inner vessel; and a recondenser positioned within a second headspace of the second inner vessel, said recondenser having an inlet configured to receive vapor from the headspace of the first inner vessel so that evaporated cooling fluid in the headspace of the second inner vessel is condensed and a pressure within the second inner vessel is reduced: an exit line configured to receive warmed vapor from an outlet of the recondenser and to direct received vapor to the fuel line in view of the teachings of Thor where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a tank system for storing a cryogenic liquid where vapor from the head space of the first inner vessel flows to a recondenser within the headspace of the second inner vessel to a fuel line which removes more heat from the system [0004].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches comprising a second outer jacket [13 fig. 3] surrounding the second inner vessel [15; col. 4; lines 47-52].
Regarding Claim 6, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches wherein the support cooling channel [24; fig. 4] is located midway between the first inner vessel and the first outer jacket [fig. 3 which shows thermal shield 21 midway between the inner vessel 14 and the outer vessel 12; col. 6; lines 11-22].
Regarding Claim 8, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches comprising a cooling line [25; fig. 4] in fluid communication with the second inner vessel and wherein the support cooling channel is in fluid communication with the cooling line [col. 6; lines 11-19].
Regarding Claim 9, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 8 and Allen further teaches wherein the cooling line [25] includes a cooling line valve [30; fig. 4].
Regarding Claim 10, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches wherein the support cooling channel includes a vent [29; fig. 4; col. 7; lines 12-15].
Regarding Claim 11, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches comprising vacuum insulation in between the first inner vessel and the first outer jacket [col. 4; lines 18-21].
Regarding Claim 12, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches wherein the first inner vessel is configured to store a cryogenic liquid fuel [col. 5; lines 27-34].
Regarding Claim 15, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches wherein the cooling fluid is liquid nitrogen [col. 2; lines 9-12].
Regarding Claim 16, Allen teaches method of storing a cryogenic liquid [abstract] comprising the steps of: storing a cryogenic liquid [col. 4; lines 4-8] in a first inner vessel [14; fig. 3] of a first tank [18; fig. 3], said first tank also including a first outer jacket [12; fig. 3] and a support securing the first inner vessel within the first outer jacket and spacing the outer jacket from the first inner vessel [col. 5; lines 34-39], storing the cooling fluid in a second inner vessel [15; col. 6; lines 9-14];
cooling the support with a cooling fluid from the second inner vessel [col. 6 lines 55-col. 7 line 10].
Allen does not explicitly teach said first inner vessel including a headspace of the first inner vessel positioned above the cryogenic liquid, storing the cooling fluid in a second inner vessel having a headspace of the second inner vessel with a recondenser positioned within the headspace of the second inner vessel and directing vapor from the headspace of the first inner vessel to the recondenser so that evaporated cooling fluid in the headspace of the second inner vessel is condensed, vapor from the headspace of the first inner vessel is warmed and a pressure within the second vessel is reduced withdrawing cryogenic liquid from the first inner vessel using a fuel line; and directing warmed vapor from the recondenser to the fuel line.
However, Thor teaches said first inner vessel including a headspace [0027 “headspace”] of the first inner vessel [10 corresponding to 14 of Allen] positioned above the cryogenic liquid [fig.1];
storing the cooling fluid [carbon dioxide corresponding to the nitrogen of Allen] in a second inner vessel [24a/b corresponding to 15 of Allen] having a headspace [0027 “headspace”] of the second inner vessel [24a/b] with a recondenser [22a/b] positioned within a headspace [0027 “headspace”] of the second inner vessel [24a/b corresponding to 15 of Allen]; and
directing vapor from the headspace of the first inner vessel [0040 “vapor from the headspace of tank 10”] so that evaporated cooling fluid in the second headspace is condensed [0037 “in the headspace of tank 24a is condensed” see also 0040 where they fluid would be vapor traveling through the coil], vapor from the headspace of the first inner vessel is warmed [0040 “headspace of tank 10” and “warmed”] and a pressure within the second vessel is reduced [0037 “pressure head collapsed”];
withdrawing cryogenic liquid from the first inner vessel using a fuel line [36; 0027 “in fluid communication” see also 0040 where the pump is replaced by a compressor ]; and
directing warmed vapor from the recondenser to the fuel line [fig. 1 clearly showing the warmed vapor from the recondenser flowing to the fuel line].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Method of Allen to have a headspace of the first inner vessel positioned above the cryogenic liquid, a fuel line in fluid communication with a liquid side of the first inner vessel; and a recondenser positioned within a second headspace of the second inner vessel, said recondenser having an inlet configured to receive vapor from the headspace of the first inner vessel so that evaporated cooling fluid in the headspace of the second inner vessel is condensed and a pressure within the second inner vessel is reduced: an exit line configured to receive warmed vapor from an outlet of the recondenser and to direct received vapor to the fuel line in view of the teachings of Thor where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a method of storing a cryogenic liquid where vapor from the head space of the first inner vessel flows to a recondenser within the headspace of the second inner vessel to a fuel line which removes more heat from the system [0004].
Regarding Claim 18, modified Allen teaches the method of claim 16 and Allen further teaches wherein the cooling fluid is liquid nitrogen [col. 2; lines 9-12].
Regarding Claim 20, modified Allen teaches the method of claim 16 and Allen teaches further comprising the step of venting evaporated cooling fluid during cooling of the support [col. 7; lines 12-19 “venting the nitrogen vapor” and “the trace lines 24”].
Claim(s) 2-3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US6453680B1), Thor (US-20190331298-A1) and in view of Rekstad et al. (US2012/0055920A1).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches the support [not shown].
Modified Allen does not explicitly teach the support at least partially surrounds the first inner vessel.
However, Rekstad teaches an independent tank system for storing liquid gas in a vessel and the support [4; fig. 2] at least partially surrounds the first inner vessel [fig. 2; 0046] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. secures a tank system for storing a cryogenic liquid where the support at least partially surrounds the first inner vessel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Allen to have the support at least partially surrounds the first inner vessel in view of the teachings of Rekstad where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. secures a tank system for storing a cryogenic liquid where the support at least partially surrounds the first inner vessel which minimizes local stress [0044].
Regarding Claim 3, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 2 and
Rekstad teaches the support extends radially from the first inner vessel towards the outer jacket [fig. 5b; 0046; wherein the instant case the first inner vessel is the tank device and the hull is the outer jacket].
Regarding Claim 14, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches the support [not shown] and
Rekstad teaches wherein the support includes a first radially-extending portion connected to the first inner vessel [Fig. 5b where 2 is the same as the first inner vessel], a second radially-extending portion connected to the first outer jacket [fig. 5b where 50 is the same as the outer jacket] and a joining portion extending perpendicular between [fig. 5b] and connected to the first and second radially-extending portion [fig. 5b 0056].
Claim(s) 5, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US6453680B1), Thor (US-20190331298-A1) and in view of Dinulescu et al. (US4292062A).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 1 and Allen further teaches the outer jacket [12] and the first inner vessel [14] and the second inner vessel [15].
Modified Allen does not explicitly teach wherein the outer first jacket surrounds the first inner vessel and the second inner vessel.
However, Dinulescu teaches cryogenic fuel tank [col. 1; lines 33-34] and wherein the first outer jacket surrounds the first inner vessel and the second inner vessel [fig. 3; col. 3; lines 15-16] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. secures a tank system for storing a cryogenic liquid where the first outer jacket surrounds the first inner vessel and the second inner vessel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Allen to have wherein the outer first jacket surrounds the first inner vessel and the second inner vessel in view of the teachings of Dinulescu where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. secures a tank system for storing a cryogenic liquid where the first outer jacket surrounds the first inner vessel and the second inner vessel creating a more tank system which allows heat flow from the two vessels [abstract]
Regarding Claim 13, modified Allen teaches the invention of claim 12 and Allen further teaches the cryogenic liquid and
Dinulescu teaches wherein the cryogenic liquid fuel is liquid natural gas or liquid hydrogen [col. 2; lines 63-67].
Regarding Claim 17, modified Allen teaches the method of claim 16 and Allen further teaches the cryogenic liquid.
Modified Allen does not explicitly teach wherein the cryogenic liquid is a fuel including liquid natural gas or liquid hydrogen.
However, Dinulescu teaches cryogenic fuel tank [col. 1; lines 33-34] and teach wherein the cryogenic liquid is a fuel including liquid natural gas or liquid hydrogen [col. 2; lines 63-67] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. secures a method of storing a cryogenic liquid where the cryogenic liquid fuel is liquid natural gas or liquid hydrogen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Allen to have wherein the cryogenic liquid fuel is liquid natural gas or liquid hydrogen in view of the teachings of Dinulescu where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. secures a method of storing a cryogenic liquid where the cryogenic liquid fuel is liquid natural gas or liquid hydrogen which allows the end user to select an appropriate cryogen for their intended use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM DORREL MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763