Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments with respect to claim 11 have been fully considered. The rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7, 10 and 11 have been fully considered, a new ground for rejection has been made in view of amendment. Claims 1, 7, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 (See 103 rejection of claims 1, 7, 10 and 11 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the message to triqqer the re-establishment procedure comprises at least a request for a full configuration, a reason for the re-establishment, and an identifier of the conditional primary secondary cell addition and change configuration”. The specification does not support these limitations. Claim 8 recites similar features, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Claims 2-6, 13-20 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 12 recites “wherein the response further comprises at least one of: a measurement configuration identifier, a list of candidate primary secondary cells, or a secondary cell group configuration, and wherein the request from the target node comprises an indication that the reconfiguration failure is associated with an uplink positioning failure of the user equipment”. The specification does not support these limitations.
Claim 19 recites “wherein the message to trigger the re- establishment procedure further comprises an identifier of the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition configuration that is applied or to be applied”. The specification does not support these limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240073771 A1 (hereinafter Wu), in view of “Introduction of CPA and inter-SN CPC”, R2-2111640, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #116-e, 1st – 12th November, 2021 (hereinafter R2), and “5G; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification”, 3GPP TS 38.331 version 16.6.0 Release 16 (hereinafter 38.331).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches An apparatus comprising (Wu Fig. 1A, UE 102 ):
at least one processor (Wu [0039] the UE 102 is equipped with processing hardware 150 that
can include one or more general-purpose processors such as CPUs.); and
at least one memory including computer program code (Wu [0039] non-transitory computer-
readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the one or more general-purpose processors, and/or special-purpose processing units.);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one
processor, cause the apparatus at least to (Wu [0039] the UE 102 is equipped with processing hardware 150 that can include one or more general-purpose processors such as CPUs and non-transitory computer-readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the one or more general-purpose processors, and/or special-purpose processing units. The processing hardware 150 in an example implementation includes a UE conditional configuration controller 152 configured to manage conditional configuration(s) for one or conditional procedures (e.g., CHO, CPC, and/or CSAC procedures).):
Although Wu teaches receive, from a network node, at least one conditional primary secondary
cell change and addition reconfiguration and at least one execution condition associated with at least one candidate primary secondary cell (Wu [0073] Referring first to FIG. 3A, the base station 104A in a scenario 300A operates as an MN, and the base station 106A operates as an SN.
[0074] Initially, the UE 102 communicates 302A data (e.g., uplink (UL) data PDUs and/or downlink (DL) data PDUs) in DC with the MN 104A and the SN 106A (e.g., via PSCell 125A).
[0075] At a later time, the SN 106A determines that it should generate a C-SN configuration for a CPC procedure so that the UE 102 can communicate with the SN 106A via a C-PSCell (e.g., cell 126A) when a condition is satisfied.
[0076] the SN 106A generates a conditional configuration (e.g., CondReconfigurationAdWfod-r16 or CondReconfigToAdfod-r16 IE) including the C-SN configuration and generates a first RRC reconfiguration message including the conditional configuration. The SN 106A transmits 304A the first RRC reconfiguration message to the MN 104A, which in turn transmits 306A the first RRC reconfiguration message including the conditional configuration to the UE 102. ), Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the reconfiguration comprises at least a new configuration for a master cell group.
R2 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the reconfiguration comprises at least a new configuration for a master cell group (R2 page 22-23, Figure 10.5.1-3: Conditional SN Change – MN initiated, The MN sends to the UE an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration*) including the CPC configuration, (i.e. a list of RRCConnectionReconfiguration messages RRCConnectionReconfiguration**) and associated execution conditions, in which RRCConnectionReconfiguration** contains RRCReconfiguration*** received from the candidate SN. Besides, the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration*) can also include the current MCG updated configuration, e.g., to configure the required conditional measurements.). By modifying Wu’s teachings of receive, from a network node, at least one conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration and at least one execution condition associated with at least one candidate primary secondary cell with R2’s teachings of the reconfiguration comprises at least a new configuration for a master cell group, the modification results in receive, from a network node, at least one conditional primary secondary
cell change and addition reconfiguration and at least one execution condition associated with at least one candidate primary secondary cell, wherein the reconfiguration comprises at least a new configuration for a master cell group.
Wu teaches evaluate the at least one execution condition; determine that an execution condition associated with one of the at least one candidate primary secondary cell is satisfied; select the one of the at least one candidate primary secondary cell as a selected candidate cell (Wu [0083]the UE 102 detects 322A that a condition for connecting to a C-PSCell 126A is satisfied. ); Wu does not explicitly teach transmit information on the selected candidate cell to the network node using a current master cell group configuration.
R2 teaches transmit information on the selected candidate cell to the network node using a current master cell group configuration (R2 page 22-23, Figure 10.5.1-3: Conditional SN Change – MN initiated, The UE starts evaluating the execution conditions, If the execution condition of one candidate PSCell is satisfied, the UE applies RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration**) corresponding to the selected candidate PSCell, and sends an RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message (RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete**), including an NR RRC message (RRCReconfigurationComplete***) for the selected candidate PSCell, and the selected PSCell information to the MN. ). By modifying Wu’s teachings of evaluate the at least one execution condition; determine that an execution condition associated with one of the at least one candidate primary secondary cell is satisfied; select the one of the at least one candidate primary secondary cell as a selected candidate cell with R2’s teachings of transmit information on the selected candidate cell to the network node using a current master cell group configuration, the modification results in evaluate the at least one execution condition; determine that an execution condition associated with one of the at least one candidate primary secondary cell is satisfied; select the one of the at least one candidate primary secondary cell as a selected candidate cell; transmit information on the selected candidate cell to the network node using a current master cell group configuration;
Wu teaches fail to apply the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition associated with the selected candidate cell and detecting a reconfiguration failure (Wu [0072] FIGS. 3A-3F illustrate scenarios that resolve inconsistent configuration usage after CPC reconfiguration failure or CPC execution failure.
[0073] Referring first to FIG. 3A, the base station 104A in a scenario 300A operates as an MN, and the base station 106A operates as an SN.
[0083] The UE 102 determines 324A to apply the C-SN configuration received at event 306A in response to the detection. In response to the determination, the UE 102 in some implementations performs a compliance check on the C-SN configuration, and according to the compliance check, if the UE 102 fails 325A to comply with the C-SN configuration (or at least part of the C-SN configuration).); and
transmit a message to trigger a re-establishment procedure, wherein the message comprises an explicit or implicit indication about the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration failure (Wu [0084] In response to the CPC reconfiguration failure, The UE 102 then transmits 330A an SCG failure information message (e.g., SCGFailureInformationNR message) to the MN 104A to indicate the CPC reconfiguration failure. [0246] the RAN receives, from the UE, an indication that the UE has failed to perform the conditional procedure. The indication can be a failure message (e.g., SCG failure information), or a request message (e.g., RRC reestablishment request message) to reestablish a radio connection between the UE and a base station operating in the RAN. ).
Although Wu teaches wherein the at least one execution condition comprises at least a reference signal received power threshold of the candidate primary secondary cell (Wu [0054] the condition associated with CSAC or CPC can be signal strength/quality, which the UE 102 detects on the C-PSCell 126A of the SN 106A or on a C-PSCell 126B of C-SN 106B, exceeding a certain threshold or otherwise corresponding to an acceptable measurement. For example, when the one or more measurement results the UE 102 obtains on the C-PSCell 126A are above a threshold configured by the MN 104A or the SN 106A, above a pre-determined or pre-configured threshold or better than a measurement result the UE 102 obtains on the PSCell 125A by at least some threshold value (e.g., at least an offset), the UE 102 determines that the condition is satisfied.), Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one execution condition comprises at least a configured measurement identifier.
38.331 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one execution condition comprises at least a configured measurement identifier (38.331, page 273
RRCReconfiguration-v1610-IEs ::= SEQUENCE {
…
conditionalReconfiguration-r16 ConditionalReconfiguration-r16
…}
page 275 conditionalReconfiguration
Configuration of candidate target SpCell(s) and execution condition(s) for conditional handover or conditional PSCell change.
Page 389-390
ConditionalReconfiguration-r16 ::= SEQUENCE {
...
condReconfigToAddModList-r16 CondReconfigToAddModList-r16
...}
CondReconfigToAddModList-r16 ::= SEQUENCE (SIZE (1.. maxNrofCondCells-r16)) OF CondReconfigToAddMod-r16
CondReconfigToAddMod-r16 ::= SEQUENCE {
condReconfigId-r16 CondReconfigId-r16,
condExecutionCond-r16 SEQUENCE (SIZE (1..2)) OF MeasId
...}
Note: RRCReconfiguration => conditionalReconfiguration => condReconfigToAddModList => condReconfigToAddMod => condExecutionCond => MeasId ).
By modifying Wu’s teachings of wherein the at least one execution condition comprises at least a reference signal received power threshold of the candidate primary secondary cell with 38.331’s teachings of wherein the at least one execution condition comprises at least a configured measurement identifier, the modification results in wherein the at least one execution condition comprises at least a configured measurement identifier and a reference signal received power threshold of the candidate primary secondary cell,
Note: New matter. See 112 rejection above).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu with R2’s above teachings. The motivation is support of CPA and CPC (R2 page 1). Known work in one field of endeavor (R2 prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Wu prior art) based on design incentives (support of CPA and CPC) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu as modified by R2 with 38.331’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting conditional PScell change (38.331 page 275). Known work in one field of endeavor (38.331 prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Wu and R2 prior art) based on design incentives (supporting conditional PScell change) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Wu teaches A network node, comprising (Wu FIG. 1A, base station 104A):
at least one processor (Wu [0037] The base station 104A is equipped with processing hardware
130 that can include one or more general-purpose processors such as CPUs); and
at least one memory including computer program code (Wu [0037] non-transitory computer-
readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the one or more general-purpose processors, and/or special-purpose processing units.);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one
processor, cause the network node at least to (Wu [0037] The base station 104A is equipped with processing hardware 130 that can include one or more general-purpose processors such as CPUs and non-transitory computer-readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the one or more general-purpose processors, and/or special-purpose processing units. The processing hardware 130 in an example implementation includes a conditional configuration controller 132 configured to manage conditional configuration(s) for one or more conditional procedures (e.g., CHO, CPC, and/or CSAC procedures), when the base station 104A operates as an MN.):
Although Wu teaches transmit, to a user equipment, at least one conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration and at least one execution condition associated with at least one candidate primary secondary cell (Wu [0073] Referring first to FIG. 3A, the base station 104A in a scenario 300A operates as an MN, and the base station 106A operates as an SN.
[0074] Initially, the UE 102 communicates 302A data (e.g., uplink (UL) data PDUs and/or downlink (DL) data PDUs) in DC with the MN 104A and the SN 106A (e.g., via PSCell 125A).
[0075] At a later time, the SN 106A determines that it should generate a C-SN configuration for a CPC procedure so that the UE 102 can communicate with the SN 106A via a C-PSCell (e.g., cell 126A) when a condition is satisfied.
[0076] the SN 106A generates a conditional configuration (e.g., CondReconfigurationAdWfod-r16 or CondReconfigToAdfod-r16 IE) including the C-SN configuration and generates a first RRC reconfiguration message including the conditional configuration. The SN 106A transmits 304A the first RRC reconfiguration message to the MN 104A, which in turn transmits 306A the first RRC reconfiguration message including the conditional configuration to the UE 102.), Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the reconfiguration comprises at least a new configuration for a master cell group.
R2 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the reconfiguration comprises at least a new configuration for a master cell group (R2 page 22-23, Figure 10.5.1-3: Conditional SN Change – MN initiated, The MN sends to the UE an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration*) including the CPC configuration, (i.e. a list of RRCConnectionReconfiguration messages RRCConnectionReconfiguration**) and associated execution conditions, in which RRCConnectionReconfiguration** contains RRCReconfiguration*** received from the candidate SN. Besides, the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration*) can also include the current MCG updated configuration, e.g., to configure the required conditional measurements.). By modifying Wu’s teachings of transmit, to a user equipment, at least one conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration and at least one execution condition associated with at least one candidate primary secondary cell with R2’s teachings of the reconfiguration comprises at least a new configuration for a master cell group, the modification results in transmit, to a user equipment, at least one conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration and at least one execution condition associated with at least one candidate primary secondary cell, wherein the reconfiguration comprises at least a new configuration for a master cell group.
Wu does not explicitly teach receive, from the user equipment, information on a selected candidate cell which satisfies an execution condition; switch configuration from a current master cell group configuration to the new configuration for the master cell group that is associated with the selected candidate cell.
R2 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches receive, from the user equipment, information on a selected candidate cell which satisfies an execution condition (R2 page 22-23,
Figure 10.5.1-3: Conditional SN Change – MN initiated, If the execution condition of one candidate PSCell is satisfied, the UE applies RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration**) corresponding to the selected candidate PSCell, and sends an RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message (RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete**), including an NR RRC message (RRCReconfigurationComplete***) for the selected candidate PSCell, and the selected PSCell information to the MN.);
switch configuration from a current master cell group configuration to the new configuration for the master cell group that is associated with the selected candidate cell (R2 page 22-23, If the RRC connection reconfiguration procedure was successful, the MN informs the selected target SN via SgNBReconfigurationComplete message, including the RRCReconfigurationComplete*** message for the target SN. The MN cancels CPC in the other target candidate SNs, if configured.
page 3, If SRB1 is used for the transmission, in CPA and Inter-SN CPC, upon execution of CPAC, the UE shall reply the RRCReconfigurationComplete/RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message to the MN including an embedded RRC complete message to the SN, and then the MN informs the target SN. This assumes the scenario where the MCG configuration is/can be changed upon triggering the CPA and/or inter-SN CPC.);
Wu teaches receive, from the user equipment, a message to trigger a re-establishment procedure, wherein the message comprises an explicit or implicit indication about the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration failure (Wu [0084] In response to the CPC reconfiguration failure, The UE 102 then transmits 330A an SCG failure information message (e.g., SCGFailureInformationNR message) to the MN 104A to indicate the CPC reconfiguration failure. [0246] the RAN receives, from the UE, an indication that the UE has failed to perform the conditional procedure. The indication can be a failure message (e.g., SCG failure information), or a request message (e.g., RRC reestablishment request message) to reestablish a radio connection between the UE and a base station operating in the RAN.).
Although Wu teaches wherein the execution condition transmitted to the user equipment comprises at least a reference signal received power threshold (Wu [0054] the condition associated with CSAC or CPC can be signal strength/quality, which the UE 102 detects on the C-PSCell 126A of the SN 106A or on a C-PSCell 126B of C-SN 106B, exceeding a certain threshold or otherwise corresponding to an acceptable measurement. For example, when the one or more measurement results the UE 102 obtains on the C-PSCell 126A are above a threshold configured by the MN 104A or the SN 106A, above a pre-determined or pre-configured threshold or better than a measurement result the UE 102 obtains on the PSCell 125A by at least some threshold value (e.g., at least an offset), the UE 102 determines that the condition is satisfied.), Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the execution condition transmitted to the user equipment comprises at least a configured measurement identifier.
38.331 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the execution condition transmitted to the user equipment comprises at least a configured measurement identifier (38.331, page 273
RRCReconfiguration-v1610-IEs ::= SEQUENCE {
…
conditionalReconfiguration-r16 ConditionalReconfiguration-r16
…}
page 275 conditionalReconfiguration
Configuration of candidate target SpCell(s) and execution condition(s) for conditional handover or conditional PSCell change.
Page 389-390
ConditionalReconfiguration-r16 ::= SEQUENCE {
...
condReconfigToAddModList-r16 CondReconfigToAddModList-r16
...}
CondReconfigToAddModList-r16 ::= SEQUENCE (SIZE (1.. maxNrofCondCells-r16)) OF CondReconfigToAddMod-r16
CondReconfigToAddMod-r16 ::= SEQUENCE {
condReconfigId-r16 CondReconfigId-r16,
condExecutionCond-r16 SEQUENCE (SIZE (1..2)) OF MeasId
...}
Note: RRCReconfiguration => conditionalReconfiguration => condReconfigToAddModList => condReconfigToAddMod => condExecutionCond => MeasId).
By modifying Wu’s teachings of wherein the execution condition transmitted to the user equipment comprises at least a reference signal received power threshold with 38.331’s teachings of wherein the execution condition transmitted to the user equipment comprises at least a configured measurement identifier, the modification results in wherein the execution condition transmitted to the user equipment comprises at least a configured measurement identifier and a reference signal received power threshold, and
R2 teaches wherein the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration transmitted to the user equipment comprises at least a new master cell group configuration, a secondary cell group configuration, and a list of candidate primary secondary cells (R2 page 22-23, Figure 10.5.1-3: Conditional SN Change – MN initiated, The MN sends to the UE an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration*) including the CPC configuration, (i.e. a list of RRCConnectionReconfiguration messages RRCConnectionReconfiguration**) and associated execution conditions, in which RRCConnectionReconfiguration** contains RRCReconfiguration*** received from the candidate SN. Besides, the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration*) can also include the current MCG updated configuration, e.g., to configure the required conditional measurements. page 2, Reuse the RRCReconfiguration/RRCConnectionReconfiguration procedure to signal CPAC configuration to UE following Rel-16 signalling. Multiple candidate PSCells can be sent in either one or multiple RRC messages. As part of the CPAC configuration to be sent to the UE, the RRC container is used to carry candidate PSCell configuration.).
38.331 teaches wherein the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration transmitted to the user equipment comprises at least a measurement configuration identifier (38.331, page 273
RRCReconfiguration-v1610-IEs ::= SEQUENCE {
…
conditionalReconfiguration-r16 ConditionalReconfiguration-r16
…}
page 275 conditionalReconfiguration
Configuration of candidate target SpCell(s) and execution condition(s) for conditional handover or conditional PSCell change.
Page 389-390
ConditionalReconfiguration-r16 ::= SEQUENCE {
...
condReconfigToAddModList-r16 CondReconfigToAddModList-r16
...}
CondReconfigToAddModList-r16 ::= SEQUENCE (SIZE (1.. maxNrofCondCells-r16)) OF CondReconfigToAddMod-r16
CondReconfigToAddMod-r16 ::= SEQUENCE {
condReconfigId-r16 CondReconfigId-r16,
condExecutionCond-r16 SEQUENCE (SIZE (1..2)) OF MeasId
...}
Note: RRCReconfiguration => conditionalReconfiguration => condReconfigToAddModList => condReconfigToAddMod => condExecutionCond => MeasId ).
By modifying R2’s teachings of wherein the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration transmitted to the user equipment comprises at least a new master cell group configuration, a secondary cell group configuration, and a list of candidate primary secondary cells with 38.331’s teachings of wherein the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration transmitted to the user equipment comprises at least a measurement configuration identifier, the modification results in wherein the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration transmitted to the user equipment comprises at least a new master cell group configuration, a secondary cell group configuration, a measurement configuration identifier, and a list of candidate primary secondary cells.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu with R2’s above teachings. The motivation is support of CPA and CPC (R2 page 1). Known work in one field of endeavor (R2 prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Wu prior art) based on design incentives (support of CPA and CPC) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu as modified by R2 with 38.331’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting conditional PScell change (38.331 page 275). Known work in one field of endeavor (38.331 prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Wu and R2 prior art) based on design incentives (supporting conditional PScell change) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Wu in view of R2 and 38.331 (hereinafter combination) teaches The
apparatus of claim 1.
Wu teaches wherein the indication comprises a request for a full configuration (Wu [0084] In
response to the CPC reconfiguration failure, The UE 102 then transmits 330A an SCG failure information message (e.g., SCGFailureInformationNR message) to the MN 104A to indicate the CPC reconfiguration failure.
[0085] After the MN 104A receives 330A the SCG failure information message, the MN 104A can initiate 396A an SCG failure recovery procedure with the SN 106A and UE 102 to recover from the CPC reconfiguration failure, by sending 332A an SN Request message (e.g., SN Modification Request message) to the SN 106A. In response, the SN 106A generates a third RRC reconfiguration message including a third SN configuration. The SN 106A sends 334A to the MN 104A an SN Request Acknowledge message (e.g., SN Modification Request Acknowledge message) including the third RRC reconfiguration message. In turn, the MN 104A transmits 336A the third RRC reconfiguration message to the UE 102, similar to event 314A.
[0086] the third SN configuration is a complete and self-contained configuration (i.e., a full configuration).).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 1.
Wu teaches wherein the indication comprises a reason for the re-establishment, wherein the
reason is the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration failure or the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition procedure (Wu [0084] In response to the CPC reconfiguration failure, The UE 102 then transmits 330A an SCG failure information message (e.g., SCGFailureInformationNR message) to the MN 104A to indicate the CPC reconfiguration failure. [0246] the RAN receives, from the UE, an indication that the UE has failed to perform the conditional procedure. The indication can be a failure message (e.g., SCG failure information) to reestablish a radio connection between the UE and a base station operating in the RAN. ).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 1.
Wu teaches wherein the at least one processor and the computer program code are configured
to cause the apparatus to:
in response to detecting the reconfiguration failure, use the current master cell group configuration for transmitting the message to trigger the re-establishment procedure (Wu [0029] FIG. 9 is a flow diagram of an example method that includes reverting back to using a configuration configured at the UE prior to a reconfiguration procedure to communicate with the UE after the UE fails to perform a conditional procedure subsequently to the reconfiguration procedure, which can be implemented in the RAN of FIG. 1A or FIG. 1B;
[0231] At block 912, based on the RRC message, if the RAN determines that the UE either failed to comply with the conditional configuration or failed to complete the conditional procedure, the RAN at block 914 releases the second configuration. Instead of communicating with the UE using the second configuration, the RAN communicates with the UE using the first configuration.
Fig. 5C, 528C continue using the first MN configuration in response to detecting the failure. [0172] the UE 102 of FIG. 5C continues 528C using the first MN configuration, e.g., in accordance with section 5.3.5.8.2 in 3GPP TS 38.331 v16.3.0. Subsequently, the UE 102 transmits 532C an RRC reestablishment request message to the MN 104A to indicate the failure, and to notify the MN 104A of the UE 102 reverting back to the first MN configuration. Note: the first configuration is the current MN configuration which includes the current MCG configuration, the second configuration is the new MN configuration.
).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 1.
Wu teaches wherein the at least one processor and the computer program code are configured
to cause the apparatus to:
determine that the reconfiguration failure is caused by conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration (Wu Fig. 5A, 525A Fail to comply with (part of) C-MN configuration. Note: the conditional HO procedure here in Fig. 5A is a conditional primary cell change. The reconfiguration failure (C-MN) is caused by the conditional primary and secondary cell change and addition. ); and
use the new configuration for the master cell group that is associated with the selected candidate cell for transmitting the message to trigger the re-establishment procedure (Wu Fig. 5A, 529A continue using the second MN configuration in response to or after detecting the failure. [0163] the UE 102 continues 529A using the second MN configuration received during the RRC reconfiguration procedure 592A instead of, in accordance with section 5.3.5.8.2 in 3GPP TS 38.331 v16.3.0, the first MN configuration. The UE 102 subsequently initiates an RRC connection establishment procedure 596A with the MN 104A. Note: the first MN configuration is the current MN configuration. The second MN configuration is the new MN configuration which includes new MCG configuration. C-MN is the candidate MN. ).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 1.
Wu teaches wherein the selected candidate cell is a different cell than a current serving cell (Wu
[0074] Initially, the UE 102 communicates 302A data (e.g., uplink (UL) data PDUs and/or downlink (DL) data PDUs) in DC with the MN 104A and the SN 106A (e.g., via PSCell 125A).
[0075] At a later time, the SN 106A determines that it should generate a C-SN configuration
for a CPC procedure so that the UE 102 can communicate with the SN 106A via a C-PSCell (e.g., cell 126A) when a condition is satisfied. Note: cell 125A is the serving cell and 126A is the candidate cell.).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches The network node of claim 7.
Wu teaches wherein the indication comprises a reason for the re-establishment, wherein the reason is the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration failure or the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition procedure (Wu [0084] In response to the CPC reconfiguration failure, The UE 102 then transmits 330A an SCG failure information message (e.g., SCGFailureInformationNR message) to the MN 104A to indicate the CPC reconfiguration failure. [0246] the RAN receives, from the UE, an indication that the UE has failed to perform the conditional procedure. The indication can be a failure message (e.g., SCG failure information) to reestablish a radio connection between the UE and a base station operating in the RAN.) and
wherein the message received from the user equipment further comprises a parameter or flag indicating that a full configuration is preferred (Wu [0144] In response to receiving 430D the SCG failure information message from the UE 102, the MN 104A triggers the SN 106A to generate a third SN configuration. In some implementations, based on the SCG failure information message indicative of the UE 102 having detected conditional failure, the MN 104A instructs the SN 106A to generate the third SN configuration as a full configuration during an SCG failure recovery procedure 486D with the SN 106A and UE 102.).
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 1
Wu teaches wherein the message further comprises a parameter or flag indicating that a full configuration is preferred (Wu [0144] In response to receiving 430D the SCG failure information message from the UE 102, the MN 104A triggers the SN 106A to generate a third SN configuration. In some implementations, based on the SCG failure information message indicative of the UE 102 having detected conditional failure, the MN 104A instructs the SN 106A to generate the third SN configuration as a full configuration during an SCG failure recovery procedure 486D with the SN 106A and UE 102.).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 1.
Wu teaches wherein the reconfiguration failure is caused by a secondary cell group reconfiguration associated with the selected candidate primary secondary cell (Wu [0073] Referring first to FIG. 3A, the base station 104A in a scenario 300A operates as an MN, and the base station 106A operates as an SN.
[0074] Initially, the UE 102 communicates 302A data (e.g., uplink (UL) data PDUs and/or downlink (DL) data PDUs) in DC with the MN 104A and the SN 106A (e.g., via PSCell 125A)
[0083] the UE 102 detects 322A that a condition for connecting to a C-PSCell 126A is satisfied. The UE 102 determines 324A to apply the C-SN configuration received at event 306A in response to the detection. In response to the determination, the UE 102 in some implementations performs a compliance check on the C-SN configuration, and according to the compliance check, if the UE 102 fails 325A to comply with the C-SN configuration (or at least part of the C-SN configuration), the UE 102 fails 327A a CPC execution procedure, i.e., CPC execution failure.).
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 1.
Wu teaches wherein upon detecting the reconfiguration failure the apparatus is configured to revert to a current master cell group configuration for transmitting the message to trigger the re-establishment procedure (Wu Fig. 5C, 528C continue using the first MN configuration in response to detecting the failure. [0172] the UE 102 of FIG. 5C continues 528C using the first MN configuration, e.g., in accordance with section 5.3.5.8.2 in 3GPP TS 38.331 v16.3.0. Subsequently, the UE 102 transmits 532C an RRC reestablishment request message to the MN 104A to indicate the failure, and to notify the MN 104A of the UE 102 reverting back to the first MN configuration.).
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 1.
Wu teaches wherein, when the reconfiguration failure is determined to be caused by the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration, the apparatus is configured to maintain the new master cell group configuration for transmitting the message to trigger the re-establishment procedure (Wu Fig. 5A, 529A Continue using the second MN configuration in response to or after detecting the failure. [0163] In response to the CHO reconfiguration failure or CHO execution failure, the UE 102 continues 529A using the second MN configuration received during the RRC reconfiguration procedure 592A instead of, in accordance with section 5.3.5.8.2 in 3GPP TS 38.331 v16.3.0, the first MN configuration. The UE 102 subsequently initiates an RRC connection establishment procedure 596A with the MN 104A to recover from the CHO reconfiguration failure or the CHO execution failure.).
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 1.
Wu teaches wherein the selected candidate primary secondary cell comprises a different cell than the serving primary cell (Wu [0073] Referring first to FIG. 3A, the base station 104A in a scenario 300A operates as an MN, and the base station 106A operates as an SN.
[0052] the UE 102 is in DC with the MN 104A (via the PCell 124) and SN 106A (via the PSCell 125A). The SN 106A can perform a CPC procedure to configure a candidate PSCell (C-PSCell) 126A for the UE 102.
[0083] the UE 102 detects 322A that a condition for connecting to a C-PSCell 126A is satisfied. The UE 102 determines 324A to apply the C-SN configuration received at event 306A in response to the detection.).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 1.
R2 teaches wherein the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration comprises at least a new master cell group configuration, a secondary cell group configuration, and a list of candidate primary secondary cells (R2 page 22-23, Figure 10.5.1-3: Conditional SN Change – MN initiated, The MN sends to the UE an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration*) including the CPC configuration, (i.e. a list of RRCConnectionReconfiguration messages RRCConnectionReconfiguration**) and associated execution conditions, in which RRCConnectionReconfiguration** contains RRCReconfiguration*** received from the candidate SN. Besides, the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration*) can also include the current MCG updated configuration, e.g., to configure the required conditional measurements. page 2, Reuse the RRCReconfiguration/RRCConnectionReconfiguration procedure to signal CPAC configuration to UE following Rel-16 signalling. Multiple candidate PSCells can be sent in either one or multiple RRC messages. As part of the CPAC configuration to be sent to the UE, the RRC container is used to carry candidate PSCell configuration.).
38.331 teaches wherein the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration comprises at least a measurement configuration identifier (38.331, page 273
RRCReconfiguration-v1610-IEs ::= SEQUENCE {
…
conditionalReconfiguration-r16 ConditionalReconfiguration-r16
…}
page 275 conditionalReconfiguration
Configuration of candidate target SpCell(s) and execution condition(s) for conditional handover or conditional PSCell change.
Page 389-390
ConditionalReconfiguration-r16 ::= SEQUENCE {
...
condReconfigToAddModList-r16 CondReconfigToAddModList-r16
...}
CondReconfigToAddModList-r16 ::= SEQUENCE (SIZE (1.. maxNrofCondCells-r16)) OF CondReconfigToAddMod-r16
CondReconfigToAddMod-r16 ::= SEQUENCE {
condReconfigId-r16 CondReconfigId-r16,
condExecutionCond-r16 SEQUENCE (SIZE (1..2)) OF MeasId
...}
Note: RRCReconfiguration => conditionalReconfiguration => condReconfigToAddModList => condReconfigToAddMod => condExecutionCond => MeasId).
By modifying R2’s teachings of wherein the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration comprises at least a new master cell group configuration, a secondary cell group configuration, and a list of candidate primary secondary cells with 38.331’s teachings of wherein the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration comprises at least a measurement configuration identifier, the modification results in wherein the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration comprises at least a new master cell group configuration, a secondary cell group configuration, a measurement configuration identifier, and a list of candidate primary secondary cells.
The motivation for modification set forth above (R2) regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 18.
The motivation for modification set forth above (38.331) regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 18.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of R2.
Regarding claim 10, Wu teaches A network node, comprising (Wu FIG. 1A, base station 104A ):
at least one processor (Wu [0037] The base station 104A is equipped with processing hardware
130 that can include one or more general-purpose processors such as CPUs ); and
at least one memory including computer program code (Wu [0037] non-transitory computer-
readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the one or more general-purpose processors, and/or special-purpose processing units.);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one
processor, cause the network node at least to (Wu [0037] The base station 104A is equipped with processing hardware 130 that can include one or more general-purpose processors such as CPUs and non-transitory computer-readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the one or more general-purpose processors, and/or special-purpose processing units. The processing hardware 130 in an example implementation includes a conditional configuration controller 132 configured to manage conditional configuration(s) for one or more conditional procedures (e.g., CHO, CPC, and/or CSAC procedures), when the base station 104A operates as an MN):
Although Wu teaches transmit, to a user equipment, at least one conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration and at least one execution condition associated with at least one candidate primary secondary cell (Wu [0073] Referring first to FIG. 3A, the base station 104A in a scenario 300A operates as an MN, and the base station 106A operates as an SN.
[0074] Initially, the UE 102 communicates 302A data (e.g., uplink (UL) data PDUs and/or downlink (DL) data PDUs) in DC with the MN 104A and the SN 106A (e.g., via PSCell 125A).
[0075] At a later time, the SN 106A determines that it should generate a C-SN configuration for a CPC procedure so that the UE 102 can communicate with the SN 106A via a C-PSCell (e.g., cell 126A) when a condition is satisfied.
[0076] the SN 106A generates a conditional configuration (e.g., CondReconfigurationAdWfod-r16 or CondReconfigToAdfod-r16 IE) including the C-SN configuration and generates a first RRC reconfiguration message including the conditional configuration. The SN 106A transmits 304A the first RRC reconfiguration message to the MN 104A, which in turn transmits 306A the first RRC reconfiguration message including the conditional configuration to the UE 102), Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the reconfiguration comprises at least a new configuration for a master cell group.
R2 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the reconfiguration comprises at least a new configuration for a master cell group (R2 page 22-23, Figure 10.5.1-3: Conditional SN Change – MN initiated, The MN sends to the UE an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration*) including the CPC configuration, (i.e. a list of RRCConnectionReconfiguration messages RRCConnectionReconfiguration**) and associated execution conditions, in which RRCConnectionReconfiguration** contains RRCReconfiguration*** received from the candidate SN. Besides, the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration*) can also include the current MCG updated configuration, e.g., to configure the required conditional measurements.). By modifying Wu’s teachings of transmit, to a user equipment, at least one conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration and at least one execution condition associated with at least one candidate primary secondary cell with R2’s teachings of the reconfiguration comprises at least a new configuration for a master cell group, the modification results in transmit, to a user equipment, at least one conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration and at least one execution condition associated with at least one candidate primary secondary cell, wherein the reconfiguration comprises at least a new configuration for a master cell group.
Wu does not explicitly teach receive, from the user equipment, information on a selected candidate cell which satisfies an execution condition; switch configuration from a current master cell group configuration to the new configuration for the master cell group that is associated with the selected candidate cell.
R2 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches receive, from the user equipment, information on a selected candidate cell which satisfies an execution condition (R2 page 22-23,
Figure 10.5.1-3: Conditional SN Change – MN initiated, If the execution condition of one candidate PSCell is satisfied, the UE applies RRCConnectionReconfiguration message (RRCConnectionReconfiguration**) corresponding to the selected candidate PSCell, and sends an RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message (RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete**), including an NR RRC message (RRCReconfigurationComplete***) for the selected candidate PSCell, and the selected PSCell information to the MN.);
switch configuration from a current master cell group configuration to the new configuration for the master cell group that is associated with the selected candidate cell (R2 page 22-23, If the RRC connection reconfiguration procedure was successful, the MN informs the selected target SN via SgNBReconfigurationComplete message, including the RRCReconfigurationComplete*** message for the target SN. The MN cancels CPC in the other target candidate SNs, if configured.
page 3, If SRB1 is used for the transmission, in CPA and Inter-SN CPC, upon execution of CPAC, the UE shall reply the RRCReconfigurationComplete/RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message to the MN including an embedded RRC complete message to the SN, and then the MN informs the target SN. This assumes the scenario where the MCG configuration is/can be changed upon triggering the CPA and/or inter-SN CPC); and
Wu teaches preserve the current master cell group configuration for a re-establishment procedure, wherein the preserved current master cell group configuration is used fora re- establishment procedure when a reconfiguration failure is detected by the user equipment (Wu [0029] FIG. 9 is a flow diagram of an example method that includes reverting back to using a configuration configured at the UE prior to a reconfiguration procedure to communicate with the UE after the UE fails to perform a conditional procedure subsequently to the reconfiguration procedure, which can be implemented in the RAN of FIG. 1A or FIG. 1B;
[0231] At block 912, based on the RRC message, if the RAN determines that the UE either failed to comply with the conditional configuration or failed to complete the conditional procedure, the RAN at block 914 releases the second configuration. Instead of communicating with the UE using the second configuration, the RAN communicates with the UE using the first configuration.
Note: the first configuration is the current MN configuration which includes the current MCG configuration, the second configuration is the new MN configuration. To revert back from the second configuration to the first configuration, this implies the first configuration is preserved.
Fig. 5C, 528C continue using the first MN configuration in response to detecting the failure. [0172] the UE 102 of FIG. 5C continues 528C using the first MN configuration, e.g., in accordance with section 5.3.5.8.2 in 3GPP TS 38.331 v16.3.0. Subsequently, the UE 102 transmits 532C an RRC reestablishment request message to the MN 104A to indicate the failure, and to notify the MN 104A of the UE 102 reverting back to the first MN configuration.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu with R2’s above teachings. The motivation is support of CPA and CPC (R2 page 1). Known work in one field of endeavor (R2 prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Wu prior art) based on design incentives (support of CPA and CPC) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of “5G; NG-RAN; Xn Application Protocol (XnAP)”, 3GPP TS 38.423 version 16.8.0 Release 16 (hereinafter XnAP).
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches A network node, comprising (Wu FIG. 1A, base station 104A):
at least one processor (Wu [0037] The base station 104A is equipped with processing hardware
130 that can include one or more general-purpose processors such as CPUs); and
at least one memory including computer program code (Wu [0037] non-transitory computer-
readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the one or more general-purpose processors, and/or special-purpose processing units.);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one
processor, cause the network node at least to (Wu [0037] The base station 104A is equipped with processing hardware 130 that can include one or more general-purpose processors such as CPUs and non-transitory computer-readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the one or more general-purpose processors, and/or special-purpose processing units. The processing hardware 130 in an example implementation includes a conditional configuration controller 132 configured to manage conditional configuration(s) for one or more conditional procedures (e.g., CHO, CPC, and/or CSAC procedures), when the base station 104A operates as an MN. ):
receive a request from a target node to provide context of the user equipment which has triggered re-establishment procedure (Wu [0183] the UE 102 can initiate 598E the RRC connection establishment procedure with the T-MN 106A by sending 532E an RRC reestablishment request message to the T-MN 106A. In response, the T-MN 106A sends 550E a Retrieve UE Context Request message to the MN 104A); and
transmit a response to the target node, the response comprising context of the user equipment corresponding to a current master cell group configuration (Wu [0183] the MN 104A, which in turn sends 553E a Retrieve UE Context Response message including the first MN configuration used by the UE 102 at event 528E to the T-MN 106A. Note: the first MN configuration is the current MN configuration which includes a current MCG configuration.).
Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the request from the target node comprises an indication
of a reconfiguration failure.
XnAP in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the request from the target node comprises a RRC resume cause (XnAP page 92, 9.1.1.8 RETRIEVE UE CONTEXT REQUEST
This message is sent by the new NG-RAN node to request the old NG-RAN node to transfer the UE Context to the new NG-RAN. Page 94, This message contains RRC resume cause element.
Page 255, 9.2.3.61 RRC Resume Cause
The purpose of the RRC Resume Cause IE is to indicate to the old NG-RAN node the reason for the RRC Connection Resume.).
Wu teaches a RRC connection establishment cause contains a reconfiguration failure (Wu [0084]
In response to the CPC reconfiguration failure, The UE 102 then transmits 330A an SCG failure information message (e.g., SCGFailureInformationNR message) to the MN 104A to indicate the CPC reconfiguration failure. [0246] the RAN receives, from the UE, an indication that the UE has failed to perform the conditional procedure. The indication can be a failure message (e.g., SCG failure information) to reestablish a radio connection between the UE and a base station operating in the RAN.).
By modifying Wu with XnAP’s teachings of wherein the request from the target node comprises a RRC resume cause and Wu’s teachings of a RRC connection establishment cause contains a reconfiguration failure, the modification results in wherein the request from the target node comprises an indication of a reconfiguration failure.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu with XnAP’s above teachings. The motivation is enabling RRC connection establishment at the new RAN node (XnAP page 28). Known work in one field of endeavor (XnAP prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Wu prior art) based on design incentives (enabling RRC connection establishment at the new RAN node) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of R2 and 38.331 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 2023066481 A1 (hereinafter Stanczak).
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches The apparatus of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein prior to executing the conditional primary
secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration, the apparatus is configured to transmit a message notifying that the execution condition has been fulfilled.
Stanczak in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein prior to executing the conditional primary secondary cell change and addition reconfiguration, the apparatus is configured to transmit a message notifying that the execution condition has been fulfilled (Stanczak claim 59, UE ... receive, from the MN, a fourth message including a PSCell change execution condition for one or more candidate target PSCells; evaluate the PSCell change execution condition of the one or more candidate target PSCells; if the PSCell change execution condition is met for a PSCell of the one or more candidate target PSCells, sending, to the MN, a sixth message indicating the change execution condition is met for a PSCell.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Stanczak’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting coordination between nodes for measurement configuration in conditional PSCell change (CPC) procedure (Stanczak [0001]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Stanczak prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Wu, R2 and 38.331 prior art) based on design incentives (supporting coordination between nodes for measurement configuration in conditional PSCell change (CPC) procedure) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476