Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grosberg et al. US 2009/0248333 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Grosberg) in view of DING CN 108839566 A (hereinafter referred to as Ding).
Regarding claim 1, Grosberg discloses a safety status display system for an electric vehicle high-voltage (HV) battery (fig. 1-3, par. [0003], [0010], [0016]), comprising:
a battery management module electrically and communicatively coupled to the HV battery and configured to acquire status information of the HV battery (fig. 1-3, "smart" battery comprises "smart" circuitry (interpreted as the battery management module) for determining the status of the "smart" batter, par. [0016]),
an e-paper display unit comprising an electronic label-type structure that is affixed to the HV battery (fig. 1-3, par. [0017]-[0018]), the e-paper display unit (fig. 1-3, status indicator 25, [0037]) electrically and communicatively coupled to the battery management module to receive the HV battery status information and configured to render a bistable display of the HV battery status information (smart battery assembly comprising a "smart" battery comprising "smart" circuitry for determining the status of the "smart" battery; and an electronic battery label for displaying the status of a "smart" battery, wherein the electronic battery label comprises an e-paper display means for mounting the e-paper display to the "smart" battery; and connection means for electrically connecting the e-paper display to the smart. fig. [0027]-[0032], [0037]), including an indication of a detected faulty battery condition or electrical insulation defect.
wherein, upon disconnection of the HV battery by the battery management module due to a detected faulty battery condition or electrical insulation defect, the e-paper display unit maintains the display of a most current HV battery status information including the indication of the detected faulty battery condition or electrical insulation defect without any additionally supplied power (fig. 1-3, battery label 20 and electronic status indicator 25 are essentially combined into a single electronic label which may be used to display various aspects of battery status, e.g., experienced duty cycles, current battery capacity, current battery capacity as a percentage of rated capacity, diagnostic information [includes detected faulty battery condition], remaining 'lifetime' on the battery”, par. [0041], “ the new electronic label, power is only required for a second or so while the display is updated, e.g., with cycle count, and thereafter the display is permanently on, the electronic label of the smart battery assembly does not "erase itself" if it should be without power. par. [0042]).
Grosberg does not disclose and to disconnect the HV battery in the event of a detected faulty battery condition or a detected electrical insulation defect;
an insulation monitoring module installed between the HV battery and a frame portion of the electric vehicle, the insulation monitoring module electrically and communicatively coupled to the battery management module and configured to detect an electrical insulation defect between the HV battery and the frame portion, and to communicate the detected electrical insulation defect to the battery management module.
DING discloses the battery management module further configured to disconnect the HV battery in the event of a detected faulty battery condition or a detected electrical insulation defect (stp. S41-S43, par. [0071-[0073]); an insulation monitoring module installed between the HV battery and a frame portion of the electric vehicle (par. [0053]), the insulation monitoring module electrically and communicatively coupled to the battery management module and configured to detect an electrical insulation defect between the HV battery and the frame portion, and to communicate the detected electrical insulation defect to the battery management module (stp. S41-S43, par. [0071-[0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a vehicle insulation fault processing method, detecting an insulated resistance of vehicle, generating the fault control signal according to the fault control signal controlling vehicle operating conditions if the vehicle insulation resistance value meets the preset failure threshold as taught in DING in modifying the apparatus of Grosberg. The motivation would be different vehicle insulation resistance values are realized to control different vehicle operating states and improve safety performance.
Regarding claim 2, Grosberg and Ding discloses the electric vehicle HV battery safety status display system of claim 1, Grosberg discloses wherein the e-paper display unit maintains the display of the most current HV battery status information and the indication of a detected faulty battery condition or electrical insulation defect, until the HV battery is reconnected (new electronic ink display technology used to form the electronic label only draws power when it has its display "set", which typically only takes about a second or so, and thereafter the display is permanently "on", par. [0042]).
Regarding claim 5, Grosberg and Ding discloses the electric vehicle HV battery safety status display system of claim 1, Ding discloses further comprising: the battery management module (Battery Management System (BMS), par. [0050]) being electrically and communicatively coupled to a voltage control unit (electronic control unit (ECU), par. [0050]), the voltage control unit configured to control the connectivity of the HV battery (vehicle battery pack, par. [0051) by communicating with at least one power contactor unit connected to conductors of the HV battery that are operative to switch between open and closed states; wherein, in the event of a detected faulty battery condition or electrical insulation defect, the battery management module communicates a disconnect command signal to the voltage control unit and the voltage control unit correspondingly transmits a signal to the at least one power contactor unit to switch to an open state to interrupt HV battery connectivity (fig. 4, Step S43;· disconnecting the vehicle from the battery pack according to the disconnection signal. Specifically, the third sub-fault threshold is 0 ohms/volt-100 ohms/volt; and when the vehicle insulation resistance value is within the range of 0 ohm/ volt-100 ohm/volt, a disconnection signal is generated, and the BMS disconnects the battery, par. [0072]-[0073]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Grosberg and Ding discloses the electric vehicle HV battery safety status display system of claim 1, Grosberg discloses wherein the HV battery status information acquired by the battery management module comprises state-of-charge, state-of- health, state-of-function, battery temperature, battery capacity, and/or number of charge duty cycles (display various aspects of battery status, e.g., experienced duty cycles, current battery capacity, current battery capacity as a percentage of rated capacity, diagnostic information, remaining "lifetime" on the battery, etc., par. [0041]).
Regarding claim 8, Grosberg and Ding discloses the electric vehicle HV battery safety status display system of claim 1, Ding discloses wherein the insulation monitoring module determines the existence of an electrical insulation defect if a detected resistance to battery output voltage ratio value is below 100 Q/V (when the vehicle insulation resistance value is within the range of 0 ohm/volt-100 ohm/volt, a disconnection signal is generated, and the BMS disconnects the battery, par. [0073]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Ding discloses an electric vehicle comprising: an electric motor; a high-voltage (HV) battery configured to supply power to the electric motor (par. [0004]); and Grosberg and Ding discloses the electric vehicle HV battery safety status display system of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Grosberg and Ding discloses the electric vehicle of claim 10, Ding discloses wherein the electric vehicle comprises an electric kart (par. [0004]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grosberg in view of DING as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of YOON KR20100074765A (hereinafter referred to as Yoon).
Regarding claim 3, Grosberg and Ding discloses the electric vehicle HV battery safety status display system of claim 1, Grosberg discloses wherein the e-paper display unit display of a detected faulty battery condition or electrical insulation defect is differentiated (par. [0042]).
Grosberg and Ding do not disclose the display of HV battery status information by being conspicuously displayed in different contrast colors, different background colors, different message text colors, and/or warning identifiers.
YOON disclose the display of HV battery status information by being conspicuously displayed in different contrast colors, different background colors, different message text colors, and/or warning identifiers (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a display unit electronic paper and a controller to control the color of text , color contrast and a background to be displayed through the display unit, as taught in Yoon in modifying the apparatus of Grosberg and Ding. The motivation would be to enhance the clarity of text displayed on an electronic paper.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grosberg in view of DING as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cheng et al. CN 209232379 U (hereinafter referred to as Cheng).
Regarding claim 4, Grosberg and Ding discloses the electric vehicle HV battery safety status display system of claim 1, Grosberg and Ding do not disclose the e-paper display unit is electrically and communicatively coupled to the battery management module via a serial peripheral interface to receive display instructions.
Cheng discloses the e-paper display unit (fig. 1, electronic paper display panel 130) is electrically and communicatively coupled to the battery management module via a serial peripheral interface (fig. 1 Serial Peripheral Interface, SPI) to receive display instructions (data)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide serial peripheral interface for transmit picture data of the to-be-displayed electronic paper display panel, as taught in Cheng in modifying the apparatus of Grosberg and Ding. The motivation would be improved the speed of data transmission.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grosberg in view of DING as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of TAKECHI JP 2021141720 A (hereinafter referred to as Tekechi).
Regarding claim 6, Grosberg and Ding discloses the electric vehicle HV battery safety status display system of claim 1, Grosberg discloses forwards the acquired status information to the e-paper display unit.
Grosberg and Ding do not disclose wherein the battery management module is configurable to operate in active mode to function and respond in real-time and in dormant mode to conserve battery power by being active only at specified intervals, wherein, during the dormant mode specified intervals, the battery management module performs the HV battery status information acquisition .
Tekechi discloses the HV battery safety status display system of claim 1, wherein the battery management module (fig. 1, battery detection unit 130, par. [0057]) is configurable to operate in active mode to function and respond in real-time and in dormant mode to conserve battery power by being active only at specified intervals, wherein, during the dormant mode specified intervals, the battery management module performs the HV battery status information acquisition (par. [0066], [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a battery detection unit with a first mode in which the battery information is detected from a battery, and a second mode in which the power consumption is smaller than the first mode, as taught in Tekechi in modifying the apparatus of Grosberg and Ding. The motivation would be battery management system can be started at arbitrary timings, reducing power consumption during sleep mode.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grosberg in view of DING as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morimoto US 2012/0280697 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Grosberg and Ding discloses the electric vehicle HV battery safety status display system of claim 1, Ding discloses wherein the HV battery voltage output is nominally in a range of 300-400 VDC (output voltage of the vehicle power supply is generally 60 volts-1500 volts, par. [0004]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Grosberg and Ding do not disclose the insulation monitoring module determines an electrical insulation defect if a resistance is detected in a range of 30-40 kΩ or less.
Morimoto discloses and the insulation monitoring module (insulation resistance detection unit 23, par. [0060]) determines an electrical insulation defect if a resistance is detected in a range of 30-40 kΩ or less (resistance value r falls below a predetermined determination value, for example, 40 kΩ, par. [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an insulation resistance detection circuit that measures insulation resistance between the high-voltage circuit and the vehicle body the vehicle body provides an alarm when resistance drop below a predetermine level, as taught in Morimoto in modifying the apparatus of Grosberg and Ding. The motivation would be to prevents a user from getting electric shocks when the user touches the vehicle body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 6 of applicant remarks “ … Grosberg handheld electrical device smart battery assembly 5 with an e-paper battery status display 25 of handheld electrical devices is completely unrelated to electric vehicle HV batteries and the e-paper display of the operational status of such HV batteries. As such, Applicant submits that primary reference Grosberg is incapable of teaching or suggesting an "e-paper display unit comprising an electronic label-type structure that is affixed to the HV battery, the e-paper display unit electrically and communicatively coupled to the battery management module to receive the HV battery status information and configured to render a bistable display of the HV battery status information including an indication of a detected faulty battery condition or electrical insulation defect, "...” the examiner respectfully disagrees, the purpose the e-paper display unit is to display information, the only requirement is that it electrically and communicatively coupled (different communication interfaces) of the battery device. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Further on page 6 applicant recites “… secondary reference is directed to a vehicle insulation fault processing method (Ding: ¶[0007]) that disconnects an electric vehicle HV battery in the event of faulty battery condition or detected electrical insulation defect and communicates the same to a battery management system (Ding: ¶¶[0053], [0071]-[0074]). The detected electrical insulation fault is then displayed on the vehicle dashboard (Ding: ¶[0059]). However, there is nothing in Ding that suggests the use of an "e-paper display unit electrically and communicatively coupled to the battery management module to receive the HV battery status information including an indication of a detected faulty battery condition or electrical insulation defect,"…” the examiner respectfully disagrees, the detecting an insulation fault of an electric vehicle and providing the result to a display unit. The combination of Grossberg and Bing provides the structure and method of the independent claim 1. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Claim 1 remains rejected.
Claims 2-11 remains rejected since remarks on pages are primarily directed to reference Grosberg which has already been discussed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858