DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
RE: the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 102 or 35 USC 103, Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments have been fully considered but are moot as further search and consideration have prompted the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20170352656A1 (“Huang”) in view of US20190067429A1 (“Lee”).
RE: Claim 1, Huang discloses A semiconductor device (device in FIG. 2F, [0005]-[0006]), comprising:
a substrate (102);
an insulating structure (combination of dielectric structures 114, 134a, 134b, [0020], [0038]) on the substrate;
a first conductive structure (138a) in the insulating structure, the first conductive structure including a first conductive layer (138a); and
a second conductive structure (138b) in the insulating structure, the second conductive structure including a first conductive layer (138b) of the second conductive structure,
wherein a width of the first conductive structure is larger than a width of the second conductive structure (the first trench 130 a has a first top width W1, and the second trench 130 b has a second top width W2. The first top width W1 is greater than the second top width W2, [0051]; the first gate structure 132 a and the second gate structure 132 b are formed in the first trench 130 a and the second trench 130 b, respectively, as shown in FIG. 2F, [0053]; see FIGs. 2E-2F; Further, FIG. 2F shows the top width of gate electrode 138a is larger than the top width of gate electrode 138b),
the width of the first conductive structure decreases as a first vertical level decreases, the first vertical level is defined as a distance from the substrate, the width of the second conductive structure decreases as a second vertical level decreases, and the second vertical level is defined as a distance from the substrate (first trench 130a and second trench 130b have trapezoidal shaped structures, [0052]; The first trench 130 a has a third bottom width W3, and the second trench 130 b has a fourth bottom width W4. In some embodiments, the third bottom width W3 is equal to the fourth bottom width W4. In some embodiments, the first top width W1 is greater than the third bottom width W3, and the second top width W2 is greater than the fourth bottom width W4, [0052], see FIG. 2E; The first angle θ1 and the second angle θ2 are acute angles, [0057], see FIG. 2F; FIG. 2F shows each width of 138a, 138b decreases as respective vertical levels decrease, wherein respective vertical levels are defined as respective distances from substrate 102).
Huang does not explicitly disclose:
the first conductive structure further includes a second conductive layer, wherein the second conductive layer is in the first conductive layer;
the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure include a same nonmetal element,
a concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure,
the concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure,
at least a portion of a top surface of the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is spaced apart from the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lee discloses a semiconductor device 100 in FIG. 4, and an enlarged view thereof in FIG. 6, comprising:
a first conductive structure (gate electrode 131 in rightmost column of 130 in FIG. 4, [0034]; 130 is a plurality of gate electrodes, [0030]) in an insulating structure (120, [0030]), the first conductive structure including a first conductive layer (130A in 131 in rightmost 130, [0030]) and a second conductive layer (130B in 131 in rightmost 130), wherein the second conductive layer is in the first conductive layer (130B is in 130A in FIG. 4);
a second conductive structure (gate electrode 132 in rightmost column of 130 in FIG. 4) in the insulating structure, the second conductive structure including a first conductive layer (130A in 132 in rightmost 130 in FIG. 4) of the second conductive structure,
the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure include a same nonmetal element (130A and 130B include impurities, [0039]; The impurities are non-metallic elements, [0039]; 130A and 130B include the impurity fluorine, [0039], [0040]; 130A and 130B are in each of the gate electrodes 131, 132),
a concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (130B includes a higher concentration of impurities than the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]),
the concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (130B includes a higher concentration of impurities than the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]),
at least a portion of a surface of the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is spaced apart from the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (FIGS. 5 to 7 are enlarged views of the area A of FIG. 4, [0048]; first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B may be understood as being the same as the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B described above with reference to FIGS. 3 and 4, [0050]; Referring to FIG. 6, a gate electrode 133 b may include a third conductive layer 133C in addition to the first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B and the barrier layer 160, [0055]; In FIG. 6, 133B is spaced apart from 133A by third conductive layer 133C, [0055]; first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B may be understood as being the same as the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B described above with reference to FIGS. 3 and 4, [0050]; Accordingly, all surfaces of conductive layer 130B are spaced apart from the conductive layer 130A within a gate electrode 131 or gate electrode 132).
Lee further teaches a surface of the barrier layer 160 may be coplanar with surfaces of the first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B, [0052].
Lee further teaches a semiconductor device having improved reliability can be obtained by forming gate electrodes including a plurality of conductive layers having different characteristics (e.g., properties), [0104].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gate electrode 138a and the gate electrode 138b to include a plurality of conductive layers (i.e., a first conductive layer 130A/133A, a second conductive layer 130B/133B, third conductive layer 133C, and a barrier layer 160) as taught by Lee in order to improve reliability of the device. As a result, at least a portion of a top surface of the second conductive layer of the gate electrode 138a would be spaced apart from the first conductive layer of the gate electrode 138a as the first and second conductive layers would be spaced apart by a third conductive layer in the gate electrode 138a.
RE: Claim 2, Huang in view of Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the nonmetal element is one of F, Cl, Br, O, H, or C (As discussed above, Lee teaches the impurity in 130A, 130B is fluorine (F)), [0039], [0040]; As modified, each of Huang’s 138a, 138b include Lee’s first conductive layer 130A and Lee’s second conductive layer 130B).
RE: Claim 3, Huang in view of Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure and the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure comprise a same conductive material (Lee teaches 130A includes tungsten, [0036]; As modified, each of Huang’s 138a, 138b include Lee’s first conductive layer 130A and Lee’s second conductive layer 130B), and
the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure comprises a conductive material different from the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure and the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (Lee teaches The first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B include different metallic materials and/or have different physical properties from each other, [0036]).
RE: Claim 4, Huang in view of Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure comprise a same conductive material (Lee teaches the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B may include the same metallic material (e.g., tungsten (W), cobalt (Co), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), and nickel (Ni)), [0036]; As modified, each of Huang’s 138a, 138b include Lee’s first conductive layer 130A and Lee’s second conductive layer 130B).
RE: Claim 6, Huang in view of Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure is equal to a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (Lee discloses 130B includes at least one of F, Cl, and C at a first concentration in a range of about 5×1019/cm3 to about 5×1021/cm3-, [0040]; The total impurity concentration of the first conductive layer 130A may be less than 5% of the total impurity concentration of the second conductive layer 130B, [0040]. As modified, each of Huang’s 138a, 138b include Lee’s first conductive layer 130A and Lee’s second conductive layer 130B.
Accordingly, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention there was a need to select an impurity concentration for Lee’s 130A.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make an impurity concentration of Lee’s 130A in Huang’s gate electrodes 138a, 138b equal to an amount less than 5% such as 4% of the impurity concentration of Lee’s 130B in Huang’s gate electrodes 138a, 138b as this would have been obvious to try since this is one solution for the impurity concentration of Lee’s 130A and this would have had a reasonable expectation of success, see MPEP 2143. As a result, the fluorine concentration in Lee’s 130A in Huang’s 138a would be equal to the fluorine concentration in 130A in Huang’s 138b).
RE: Claim 7, Huang in view of Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a mean size of grains in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is larger than a mean size of grains in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (Lee teaches average grain size of a material forming the first conductive layer 130A may be smaller than that of a material forming the second conductive layer 130B, [0041]; As modified, each of Huang’s 138a, 138b include Lee’s first conductive layer 130A and Lee’s second conductive layer 130B), and
the mean size of grains in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is larger than a mean size of grains in the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (Lee teaches average grain size of a material forming the first conductive layer 130A may be smaller than that of a material forming the second conductive layer 130B, [0041]).
RE: Claim 9, Huang in view of Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first conductive structure further comprises a third conductive layer (Lee’s 133C in FIG. 6, [0055]; As modified, Lee’s 133C is in Huang’s 138a) in contact with side and bottom surfaces of the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (Lee teaches first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B may be understood as being the same as the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B described above with reference to FIGS. 3 and 4, [0050]; In Lee FIG. 6, 133C is in contact with side and bottom surfaces of 133A; Accordingly as modified, Lee’s 133C would be in contact with side and bottom surfaces of Lee’s 130A in Huang’s 138a; Further, in Lee FIG. 6, 133C is in contact with all internal surfaces of 133A; Accordingly as modified, Lee’s 133C would be in contact with all internal surfaces of 133A which would include side and bottom surfaces of 133A in Huang’s 138a),
the second conductive structure further comprises a second conductive layer (Lee’s 130B/133B in Huang’s 138b; As modified, Huang’s 138b includes Lee’s 130B/133B) of the second conductive structure, and the second conductive layer of the second conductive structure is in contact with side and bottom surfaces of the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (In Lee FIG. 6, 130B is in indirect e.g., thermal contact with side and bottom surfaces of 130A; Accordingly as modified, Lee’s 130B/133B would be indirect contact with side and bottom surfaces of Lee’s 130A in Huang’s 138b; Further, in Lee FIG. 6, 133B is indirect contact with all internal surfaces of 133A; Accordingly as modified, Lee’s 133B would be indirect contact with all internal surfaces of 133A which would include side and bottom surfaces of 133A in Huang’s 138b),
the third conductive layer of the first conductive structure and the second conductive layer of the second conductive structure include the nonmetal element (Lee teaches The impurities are non-metallic elements, [0039]; impurities includes at least fluorine, [0039]; 130B includes a concentration of impurities, [0039]; The third conductive layer 133C may include a higher impurity concentration than the first conductive layer 133A, and a lower impurity concentration than the second conductive layer 133B, [0057]; Accordingly, the third conductive layer 133C and the second conductive layer 130B include the impurity fluorine; As modified, Lee’s 133C is in Huang’s 138a and Lee’s 130B/133B is in Huang’s 138b),
a concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the third conductive layer of the first conductive structure (Lee teaches The third conductive layer 133C may include a lower impurity concentration than the second conductive layer 133B, [0057]; Accordingly, as modified, Lee’s 130B in Huang’s 138a would have a higher concentration of the impurity fluorine than the concentration of the impurity fluorine in 133C in Huang’s 138a; As modified, Lee’s 130B/133B and 133C are in Huang’s 138a), and
the concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the second conductive structure (Lee further discloses 130B includes at least one of F, Cl, and C at a first concentration in a range of about 5×1019/cm3 to about 5×1021/cm3-, [0040].
Accordingly, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, there was a need to select an impurity concentration for 130B in Huang’s gate electrode 138a and an impurity concentration for 130B in Huang’s gate electrode 138b.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a fluorine impurity concentration of 5×1021/cm3- for 130B in Huang’s gate electrode 138a as this would have been obvious to try since this is one solution for the fluorine impurity concentration in a layer 130B and this would have had a reasonable expectation of success, see MPEP 2143.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a fluorine impurity concentration of 5×1019/cm3 for 130B in Huang’s gate electrode 138b as this would have been obvious to try since this is one solution for the fluorine impurity concentration in a layer 130B identified by Lee and this would have had a reasonable expectation of success, see MPEP 2143. As a result, the fluorine impurity concentration in 130B in gate electrode 138a would be higher than that of 130B in the gate electrode 138b).
RE: Claim 11, Huang in view of Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a top surface of the first conductive structure is coplanar with a top surface of the second conductive structure (Huang FIG. 2F shows top surface of 138a is coplanar with top surface of 138b).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Lee as applied to claim 9, further in view of US 20210242239 A1 (“Lin”).
RE: Claim 10, Huang in view of Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein the second conductive layer of the second conductive structure includes a first metal element (Lee discloses the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B may include the same metallic material (e.g., tungsten (W), cobalt (Co), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), and nickel (Ni), [0036]; As modified, Huang’s 138a and 138b include Lee’s 130B; Accordingly, the second conductive layer 130B in Huang’s 138b would include the first metal element molybdenum),
the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure and the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure each include a second metal element, and the first metal element is different from the second metal element (Lee discloses the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B may include the same metallic material (e.g., tungsten (W), cobalt (Co), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), and nickel (Ni)), [0036]; As modified, Huang’s 138a and 138b include Lee’s 130A; Accordingly, 130A in Huang’s 138a and 130A in Huang’s 138b would include the second metal element tungsten which is different from molybdenum).
Huang in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose:
the third conductive layer of the first conductive structure includes a first metal element.
However, Lee discloses The third conductive layer 133C may be formed of a material having good gap-filling properties, [0056].
In the same field of endeavor, Lin discloses the metal gate electrode can include a gap-filling metal layer, [0029], The gap-filling metal layer can include conductive material such as Al, Cu, AlCu, Mo or W, but is not limited to the above-mentioned materials, [0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use molybdenum (Mo) as the gap filling material in Lee’s third conductive layer 133C in Huang’s 138a as taught by Lin in order to ensure gaps between layer 130A and 130B are well filled.
Claim(s) 12-13, 15-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Lee.
RE: Claim 12, Huang discloses A semiconductor device (device in FIG. 2F, [0005]-[0006]), comprising:
an insulating structure (combination of 114, 134a, 134b, [0020], [0038]) having a substantially planar shape extending in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to one another (FIGs. 1K, 2F show 134a, 134b each have a bottom surface having a substantially planar shape extending in a first horizontal direction and a second horizontal direction perpendicular to one another; FIGs. 1K, 2F show 114 having a top surface having a substantially planar shape extending in a first horizontal direction and a second horizontal direction perpendicular to one another);
a first conductive structure (138a) in the insulating structure, the first conductive structure including a first conductive layer (138a); and
a second conductive structure (138b) in the insulating structure, the second conductive structure including a first conductive layer (138b) of the second conductive structure,
wherein a width of the first conductive structure is larger than a width of the second conductive structure (the first trench 130 a has a first top width W1, and the second trench 130 b has a second top width W2. The first top width W1 is greater than the second top width W2. [0051]; the first gate structure 132 a and the second gate structure 132 b are formed in the first trench 130 a and the second trench 130 b, respectively, as shown in FIG. 2F, [0053]; see FIGs. 2E-2F; Further, FIG. 2F shows the top width of gate electrode 138a is larger than the top width of gate electrode 138b).
a vertical level of a top surface of the first conductive structure, a vertical level of a top surface of the first conductive structure, and a vertical level of a top surface of the insulating structure are the same, wherein the vertical level is a level in a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions (FIG. 2F shows vertical levels of top surfaces of 138a, 138b, and 134a, 134b are the same wherein the vertical level is a level in a third vertical direction perpendicular to the first and second horizontal directions).
Huang does not explicitly disclose:
the first conductive structure further includes a second conductive layer, wherein the second conductive layer is in the first conductive layer;
a mean size of grains in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is larger than a mean size of grains in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure,
the mean size of grains in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is larger than a mean size of grains in the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure;
a vertical level of a top surface of the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, a vertical level of a top surface of the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and a vertical level of a top surface of the insulating structure are the same, wherein the vertical level is a level in a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lee discloses a semiconductor device 100 in FIG. 4, comprising:
a first conductive structure (gate electrode 131 in rightmost column of 130 in FIG. 4, [0034]; 130 is a plurality of gate electrodes, [0030]) in an insulating structure (120, [0030]), the first conductive structure including a first conductive layer (130A in 131 in rightmost 130, [0030]) and a second conductive layer (130B in 131 in rightmost 130), wherein the second conductive layer is in the first conductive layer (130B is in 130A in FIG. 4); and
a second conductive structure (gate electrode 132 in rightmost column of 130 in FIG. 4) in the insulating structure, the second conductive structure including a first conductive layer (130A in 132 in rightmost 130 in FIG. 4) of the second conductive structure,
a mean size of grains in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is larger than a mean size of grains in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (Lee teaches average grain size of a material forming the first conductive layer 130A may be smaller than that of a material forming the second conductive layer 130B, [0041]; 130A, 130B is in each of the gate electrodes 131, 132),
the mean size of grains in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is larger than a mean size of grains in the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (Lee teaches average grain size of a material forming the first conductive layer 130A may be smaller than that of a material forming the second conductive layer 130B, [0041]; 130A, 130B is in each of the gate electrodes 131, 132);
a level of a surface of the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, a level of a surface of the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and a level of a surface of the insulating structure are the same (FIGS. 5 to 7 are enlarged views of the area A of FIG. 4, [0048]; first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B may be understood as being the same as the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B described above with reference to FIGS. 3 and 4, [0050]; surface of the barrier layer 160 may be coplanar with surfaces of the first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B, [0052]; FIGs. 4, 6 show conductive layers 133A, 133B coplanar with gate dielectric 144 and positioned within the opening defined by gate dielectric 144, [0053]).
Lee further teaches a semiconductor device having improved reliability can be obtained by forming gate electrodes including a plurality of conductive layers having different characteristics (e.g., properties), [0104].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gate electrode 138a and the gate electrode 138b to include a plurality of conductive layers (i.e., a first conductive layer 130A/133A, a second conductive layer 130B/133B) as taught by Lee in order to improve reliability of the device. As a result, Lee’s 130A/133A and Lee’s 130B/133B would be positioned within the opening defined by Huang’s gate dielectric 134a, Lee’s 130A/133A and Lee’s 130B/133B would be positioned within the opening defined by Huang’s gate dielectric 134b, and vertical levels of top surfaces of Lee’s 130A/133A and Lee’s 130B/133B in Huang’s 134a, 134b would be the same as the vertical level of Huang’s gate dielectrics 134a, 134b, wherein the vertical level is a level in a third vertical direction perpendicular to the first and second horizontal directions.
RE: Claim 13, Huang in view of Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure include a same nonmetal element (Lee discloses 130A and 130B include impurities, [0039]; The impurities are non-metallic elements, [0039]; 130A and 130B include the impurity fluorine, [0039], [0040]; As modified, 130A and 130B are in each of Huang’s gate electrodes 138a, 138b),
a concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (Lee discloses 130B includes a higher concentration of impurities than the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; As modified, 130A and 130B are in each of Huang’s gate electrodes 138a, 138b), and
the concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (Lee discloses 130B includes a higher concentration of impurities than the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; As modified, 130A and 130B are in each of Huang’s gate electrodes 138a, 138b).
RE: Claim 15, Huang in view of Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure include tungsten (W) and fluorine (F) (Lee discloses 130A, 130B include tungsten and fluorine, [0036], [0039]-[0040]; As modified, 130A, 130B are in each of Huang’s gate electrodes 138a, 138b).
RE: Claim 16, Huang in view of Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 15, wherein a concentration of the fluorine in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the fluorine in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (Lee discloses the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; impurities include fluorine, [0039]; The second conductive layer 130B may include a higher concentration of impurities than the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; As modified, 130A, 130B are in each of Huang’s gate electrodes 138a, 138b), and
the concentration of the fluorine in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the fluorine in the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (Lee discloses the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; impurities include fluorine, [0039]; The second conductive layer 130B may include a higher concentration of impurities than the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; As modified, 130A, 130B are in each of Huang’s gate electrodes 138a, 138b).
RE: Claim 18, Huang in view of Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein a concentration of nitrogen in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of nitrogen in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (Lee discloses A nitrogen concentration of the second conductive layer 130B may be higher than a nitrogen concentration of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; As modified, 130A and 130B are in each of Huang’s gate electrodes 138a, 138b), and
the concentration of nitrogen in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of nitrogen in the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (Lee discloses A nitrogen concentration of the second conductive layer 130B may be higher than a nitrogen concentration of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; As modified, 130A and 130B are in each of Huang’s gate electrodes 138a, 138b).
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Lee as applied to claim 16, further in view of Lin.
RE: Claim 17, Huang in view of Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 16, wherein the first conductive structure further comprises a third conductive layer (Lee’s 133C in FIG. 6, [0055]; The third conductive layer 133C may be formed of a material having good gap-filling properties, [0056]; It would have been obvious to further modify Huang’s gate electrode 138a to include a third conductive layer 133C as taught by Lee in in order to improve reliability of Huang’s gate electrode 138a and/or to fill gaps between Lee’s 130A and 130B) in contact with side and bottom surfaces of the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (Lee teaches first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B may be understood as being the same as the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B described above with reference to FIGS. 3 and 4, [0050]; In Lee FIG. 6, 133C is in contact with side and bottom surfaces of 133A; Accordingly as modified, Lee’s 133C would be in contact with side and bottom surfaces of Lee’s 130A in Huang’s 138a; Further, in Lee FIG. 6, 133C is in contact with all internal surfaces of 133A; Accordingly as modified, Lee’s 133C would be in contact with all internal surfaces of 133A which would include side and bottom surfaces of 133A in Huang’s 138a),
the second conductive structure further comprises a second conductive layer (Lee’s 130B/133B in Huang’s 138b; As modified, Huang’s 138b includes Lee’s 130B/133B) of the second conductive structure, and the second conductive layer of the second conductive structure is in contact with side and bottom surfaces of the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (In Lee FIGs. 4-5, 130B/133B is in contact with side and bottom surfaces of 130A/133A; Accordingly as modified, Lee’s 130B/133B would be in contact with side and bottom surfaces of Lee’s 130A/133A in Huang’s 138b; Further, in Lee FIGs. 4-5, 130B/133B is in contact with all internal surfaces of 130A/133A; Accordingly as modified, Lee’s 130B/133B would be in contact with all internal surfaces of 130A/133A which would include side and bottom surfaces of 130A/ 133A in Huang’s 138b), and
the second conductive layer of the second conductive structure include molybdenum (Mo) (the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B may include the same metallic material (e.g., tungsten (W), cobalt (Co), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), and nickel (Ni), [0036]; As modified, 130A, 130B are in each of Huang’s gate electrodes 138a, 138b).
Huang in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose:
the third conductive layer of the first conductive structure includes molybdenum (Mo).
However, Lee discloses The third conductive layer 133C may be formed of a material having good gap-filling properties, [0056].
In the same field of endeavor, Lin discloses the metal gate electrode can include a gap-filling metal layer, [0029], The gap-filling metal layer can include conductive material such as Al, Cu, AlCu, Mo or W, but is not limited to the above-mentioned materials, [0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use molybdenum (Mo) as the gap filling material in the third conductive layer 133C of Huang’s gate electrode 138a as taught by Lin in order to ensure gaps between layer 130A and 130B are well filled.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Lee.
RE: Claim 19, Huang discloses A semiconductor device (device in FIG. 2F, [0005]-[0006]), comprising:
a substrate (102);
an insulating structure (combination of dielectric structures 114, 134a, 134b, [0020], [0038]) on the substrate;
a first conductive structure (138a) in the insulating structure, the first conductive structure including a first conductive layer (138a); and
a second conductive structure (138b) in the insulating structure, the second conductive structure including a conductive layer (138b),
wherein a width of the first conductive structure is larger than a width of the second conductive structure (the first trench 130 a has a first top width W1, and the second trench 130 b has a second top width W2. The first top width W1 is greater than the second top width W2. [0051]; the first gate structure 132 a and the second gate structure 132 b are formed in the first trench 130 a and the second trench 130 b, respectively, as shown in FIG. 2F, [0053]; see FIGs. 2E-2F; Further, FIG. 2F shows the top width of gate electrode 138a is larger than the top width of gate electrode 138b),
the first conductive structure is at a same level as the second conductive structure (FIG. 2F shows 138a is at a same level as 138b),
the width of the first conductive structure decreases as a first vertical level decreases, the first vertical level is defined as a distance from the substrate, the width of the second conductive structure decreases as a second vertical level decreases, and the second vertical level is defined as a distance from the substrate (first trench 130a and second trench 130b have trapezoidal shaped structures, [0052]; The first trench 130 a has a third bottom width W3, and the second trench 130 b has a fourth bottom width W4. In some embodiments, the third bottom width W3 is equal to the fourth bottom width W4. In some embodiments, the first top width W1 is greater than the third bottom width W3, and the second top width W2 is greater than the fourth bottom width W4, [0052], see FIG. 2E; The first angle θ1 and the second angle θ2 are acute angles, [0057], see FIG. 2F; FIG. 2F shows each width of 138a, 138b decreases as respective vertical levels decrease, wherein respective vertical levels are defined as respective distances from substrate 102).
Huang does not explicitly disclose:
the first conductive structure further includes a second conductive layer, wherein the second conductive layer is in the first conductive layer;
the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and the conductive layer of the second conductive structure include a same nonmetal element,
a concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure,
the concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the conductive layer of the second conductive structure, the nonmetal element is one of F, Cl, Br, C, O, or H.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee discloses a semiconductor device 100 in FIG. 4, and an enlarged view thereof in FIG. 5, comprising:
a first conductive structure (gate electrode 131 in rightmost column of 130 in FIG. 4, [0034]; 130 is a plurality of gate electrodes, [0030]) in an insulating structure (120, [0030]), the first conductive structure including a first conductive layer (130A in 131 in rightmost 130, [0030]) and a second conductive layer (130B in 131 in rightmost 130), wherein the second conductive layer is in the first conductive layer (130B is in 130A in FIG. 4); and
a second conductive structure (gate electrode 132 in rightmost column of 130 in FIG. 4) in the insulating structure, the second conductive structure including a conductive layer (130A in 132 in rightmost 130 in FIG. 4),
the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and the conductive layer of the second conductive structure include a same nonmetal element (130A and 130B include impurities, [0039]; The impurities are non-metallic elements, [0039]; 130A and 130B include the impurity fluorine, [0039], [0040]; 130A and 130B are in each of the gate electrodes 131, 132),
a concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (130B includes a higher concentration of impurities than the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]),
the concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the conductive layer of the second conductive structure, the nonmetal element is one of F, Cl, Br, C, O, or H (130B includes a higher concentration of impurities than the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]).
Lee further teaches a semiconductor device having improved reliability can be obtained by forming gate electrodes including a plurality of conductive layers having different characteristics (e.g., properties), [0104].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gate electrode 138a and the gate electrode 138b to include a plurality of conductive layers (i.e., a first conductive layer 130A/133A, a second conductive layer 130B/133B) as taught by Lee in order to improve reliability of the device.
RE: Claim 20, Huang in view of Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 19, wherein the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and the conductive layer of the second conductive structure further include at least one of W, Al, Cu, Mo, Co, TiN, TaN, WN, WCN, or TiSiN (Lee discloses the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B may include the same metallic material (e.g., tungsten (W), [0036]; As modified, 130A and 130B are in each of Huang’s gate electrodes 138a, 138b).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL ANGUIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899