DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement(s)
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) filed on January 13, 2026 was considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
RE: the objection to claim(s) 9, Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments have resolved the typographical issue in this claim. Accordingly, the objection to claim(s) 9 is withdrawn.
RE: the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102, Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been fully considered but Applicant’s amendments do not overcome the Lee reference. Applicant amended claim 1 to include “at least a portion of a top surface of the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is spaced apart from the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure.” Applicant argues the top surface of Lee's conductive layer 130B (cited for the "second conductive layer") is entirely in contact with Lee's conductive layer 130A (cited for the "first conductive layer"). See, e.g., Lee FIG. 4.
However, Lee discloses FIGS. 5 to 7 are enlarged views of the area A of FIG. 4 according to example embodiments of the present inventive concept, [0048]. In FIG. 6, the top surface of Lee's conductive layer 133B (cited for the "second conductive layer") is spaced apart from Lee's conductive layer 133A (cited for the "first conductive layer"). Lee discloses conductive layers 133A and 133B may be understood as being the same as the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B described above with reference to FIGS. 3 and 4, [0050]. Accordingly, layers 133A and 133B in FIG. 6 are understood as being the same as layers 130A and 130B in FIG. 4.
RE: the rejection of claim 12 under 35 USC 102, Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been fully considered but Applicant’s amendments do not patentably distinguish this claim from the Lee reference as simply changing the orientation of Lee’s device (or equivalently, the orientation of the reviewer’s reference frame) allows Lee’s device to meet the claimed limitations. The Examiner recommends amending the claims so as to differentiate the claimed device from Lee’s device in all orientations.
RE: the rejection of claim 19 under 35 USC 102, Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments have been fully considered but are moot as further search and consideration have prompted the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11-13, 15-16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20190067429A1 (“Lee”).
RE: Claim 1, Lee discloses A semiconductor device (100 in FIG. 4 with the enlarged view of FIG. 6), comprising:
an insulating structure (120, 145, 185, [0030], [0043]);
a first conductive structure (second column of 130 from left in FIG. 4, [0030], [0034], hereinafter “second 130”; 130 is a plurality of gate electrodes, [0030]) in the insulating structure, the first conductive structure including a first conductive layer (130A in 137 in second 130) and a second conductive layer (130B in 137 in second 130), wherein the second conductive layer is in the first conductive layer (130B is in 130A in FIG. 4); and
a second conductive structure (rightmost column of 130 in FIG. 4, hereinafter “rightmost 130”) in the insulating structure, the second conductive structure including a first conductive layer (130A in 132 or 137 in rightmost 130) of the second conductive structure,
wherein a width of the first conductive structure is larger than a width of the second conductive structure (As rightmost surface of rightmost 130 in FIG. 4 does not include 130A, the horizontal width of the second 130 from the left is larger than a horizontal width of the rightmost 130; Alternatively, the horizontal width of the second 130 is larger than a vertical width of the rightmost 130),
the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure include a same nonmetal element (130A and 130B include impurities, [0039]; The impurities are non-metallic elements, [0039]; 130A and 130B include the impurity fluorine, [0039], [0040]; 130A and 130B are in each of second 130 and rightmost 130),
a concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (130B includes a higher concentration of impurities than the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; 130A and 130B are in the second 130),
the concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (130B includes a higher concentration of impurities than the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; 130A and 130B are in each of second 130 and rightmost 130), and
at least a portion of a top surface of the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is spaced apart from the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (FIGS. 5 to 7 are enlarged views of the area A of FIG. 4, [0048]; first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B may be understood as being the same as the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B described above with reference to FIGS. 3 and 4, [0050]; In FIG. 6, 133B is spaced apart from 133A by third conductive layer 133C, [0055]; Accordingly, for the second 130, the top surface of conductive layer 130B is spaced apart from the conductive layer 130A).
RE: Claim 2, Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the nonmetal element is one of F, Cl, Br, O, H, or C (As discussed above, the impurity is fluorine (F)), [0039], [0040]).
RE: Claim 3, Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein
the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure and the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure comprise a same conductive material (130A includes tungsten, [0036]; 130A is in second 130 and rightmost 130), and
the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure comprises a conductive material different from the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure and the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (The first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B include different metallic materials and/or have different physical properties from each other, [0036]; 130A, 130B are in each of second 130 and rightmost 130).
RE: Claim 4, Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure comprise a same conductive material (the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B may include the same metallic material (e.g., tungsten (W), cobalt (Co), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), and nickel (Ni)), [0036]; 130A, 130B are in each of second 130 and rightmost 130).
RE: Claim 5, Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second conductive structures further comprises a barrier layer (barrier layer 160, [0036]; the gate electrodes 130 may further include a diffusion barrier layer, [0036]; gate electrode 133 b may include a third conductive layer 133C in addition to the first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B and the barrier layer 160, [0055]; first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B may be understood as being the same as the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B described above with reference to FIGS. 3 and 4, [0050]),
wherein the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure and the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure are in an opening in the barrier layer of the first conductive structure (The barrier layer 160 may be disposed between the gate dielectric layer 145 and the first conductive layer 133A around the first conductive layer 133A. The barrier layer 160 may be a diffusion barrier layer which may reduce or possibly prevent diffusion of elements of the first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B, [0052]; In FIG. 6, conductive layers 133A, 133B are in an opening of the barrier layer 160; Accordingly, for the second 130, conductive layers 130A, 130B would be in an opening of the barrier layer 160), and
wherein the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure fills an entirety of an opening defined by the barrier layer of the second conductive structure (FIG. 6 shows for the rightmost gate electrode 133b, conductive layer 133A fills an entirety of an opening defined by barrier layer 160; Accordingly, for the rightmost 130, conductive layer 130A would fill an entirety of an opening defined by barrier layer 160).
RE: Claim 7, Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein
a mean size of grains in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is larger than a mean size of grains in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (average grain size of a material forming the first conductive layer 130A may be smaller than that of a material forming the second conductive layer 130B, [0041]), and
the mean size of grains in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is larger than a mean size of grains in the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (average grain size of a material forming the first conductive layer 130A may be smaller than that of a material forming the second conductive layer 130B, [0041]; 130A, 130B are in each of leftmost 130 and second 130).
RE: Claim 11, Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a top surface of the first conductive structure is coplanar with a top surface of the second conductive structure (top surface of second 130 is coplanar with top surface of rightmost 130 in FIG. 4).
RE: Claim 12, Lee discloses A semiconductor device (100 in FIG. 4 with the enlarged view of FIG. 6), comprising:
an insulating structure (120 and 145 including dielectric layer 144, [0030],[0043]-[0044], [0052]-[0053]; FIG. 6 shows dielectric layer 144);
a first conductive structure (gate electrode 137 in rightmost column of 130 in FIG. 4; 130 is a plurality of gate electrodes, [0030], [0034]) in the insulating structure, the first conductive structure including a first conductive layer (130A in 137) and a second conductive layer (130B in 137), wherein the second conductive layer is in the first conductive layer (130B is in 130A in FIG. 4); and
a second conductive structure (gate electrode 132 in rightmost column of 130) in the insulating structure, the second conductive structure including a first conductive layer (130A in 132) of the second conductive structure,
wherein a width of the first conductive structure is larger than a width of the second conductive structure (As no measurement direction is specified, under a broad reasonable interpretation, the horizontal width (i.e., width in the x-direction) of gate electrode 137 is larger than a vertical width (i.e., width in z-direction) of the gate electrode 132),
a mean size of grains in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is larger than a mean size of grains in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (average grain size of a material forming the first conductive layer 130A may be smaller than that of a material forming the second conductive layer 130B, [0041]; 130A and 130B are in each of the gate electrodes 132 and 137),
the mean size of grains in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is larger than a mean size of grains in the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (average grain size of a material forming the first conductive layer 130A may be smaller than that of a material forming the second conductive layer 130B, [0041]; 130A and 130B are in each of the gate electrodes 132 and 137), and
a vertical level of a top surface of the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, a vertical level of a top surface of the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and a vertical level of a top surface of the insulating structure are the same (FIGS. 5 to 7 are enlarged views of the area A of FIG. 4, [0048]; first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B may be understood as being the same as the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B described above with reference to FIGS. 3 and 4, [0050]; FIG. 6 shows the dielectric layer 144, the conductive layer 133A, and the conductive layer 133B are coplanar on the righthand side; FIG. 4 shows the gate electrodes 132 and 137, including their layers 130A, 130B are coplanar on the righthand side; When the device 100 is rotated counterclockwise by 90 degrees, a vertical level of a top surface of conductive layer 130A of gate electrode 137, a vertical level of a top surface of conductive layer 130B of gate electrode 137, and a vertical level of a top surface of the dielectric layer 144 would be the same, i.e., these top surfaces would be coplanar).
RE: Claim 13, Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein
the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure include a same nonmetal element (130A and 130B include impurities, [0039]; The impurities are non-metallic elements, [0039]; 130A and 130B include the impurity fluorine, [0039], [0040]; 130A and 130B are in each of the gate electrodes 137 and 132),
a concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (130B includes a higher concentration of impurities than the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; 130A and 130B are in each of the gate electrodes 137 and 132), and
the concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (130B includes a higher concentration of impurities than the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; 130A and 130B are in each of the gate electrodes 137 and 132).
RE: Claim 15, Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure include tungsten (W) and fluorine (F) (130A, 130B include tungsten and fluorine, [0036], [0039]-[0040]; 130A, 130B are in each of the gate electrodes 137 and 132).
RE: Claim 16, Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 15, wherein a concentration of the fluorine in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the fluorine in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; impurities include fluorine, [0039]; The second conductive layer 130B may include a higher concentration of impurities than the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; 130A and 130B are in each of the gate electrodes 137 and 132), and
the concentration of the fluorine in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the fluorine in the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; impurities include fluorine, [0039]; The second conductive layer 130B may include a higher concentration of impurities than the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; 130A and 130B are in each of the gate electrodes 137 and 132).
RE: Claim 18, Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein
a concentration of nitrogen in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of nitrogen in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (A nitrogen concentration of the second conductive layer 130B may be higher than a nitrogen concentration of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; 130A and 130B are in each of the gate electrodes 137 and 132), and
the concentration of nitrogen in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of nitrogen in the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (A nitrogen concentration of the second conductive layer 130B may be higher than a nitrogen concentration of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; 130A and 130B are in each of the gate electrodes 137 and 132).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
RE: Claim 6, Lee does not explicitly disclose The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure is equal to a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure.
However, Lee discloses 130B includes at least one of F, Cl, and C at a first concentration in a range of about 5×1019/cm3 to about 5×1021/cm3-, [0040]; The total impurity concentration of the first conductive layer 130A may be less than 5% of the total impurity concentration of the second conductive layer 130B, [0040].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make an impurity concentration of 130A for the second 130 and rightmost 130 equal to an amount less than 5% such as 4% of the impurity concentration of 130B as this would have been obvious to try since this is one solution for the impurity concentration of 130A and this would have had a reasonable expectation of success, see MPEP 2143. As a result, the fluorine concentration in 130A for the second 130 would be equal to the fluorine concentration in 130A in the rightmost 130.
RE: Claim 9, Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein
the first conductive structure further comprises a third conductive layer (gate electrode 133 b may include a third conductive layer 133C in addition to the first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B and the barrier layer 160, [0055]; first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B may be understood as being the same as the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B described above with reference to FIGS. 3 and 4, [0050]; Accordingly, the gate electrode 137 in second 130 would include a third conductive layer 133C) in contact with side and bottom surfaces of the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (In FIG. 6, 133C is in contact with side and bottom surfaces of conductive layer 133A; Accordingly, for the second 130, the conductive layer 133C would be in contact with side and bottom surfaces of 130A),
the second conductive structure further comprises a second conductive layer (130B in gate electrode 132 in rightmost 130 in FIG. 4) of the second conductive structure, and the second conductive layer of the second conductive structure is in contact with side and bottom surfaces of the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (FIG. 4 shows for rightmost 130, 130B is in contact with side and bottom surfaces of 130A),
the third conductive layer of the first conductive structure and the second conductive layer of the second conductive structure include the nonmetal element (The impurities are non-metallic elements, [0039]; impurities includes at least fluorine, [0039]; 130B includes a concentration of impurities, [0039]; The third conductive layer 133C may include a higher impurity concentration than the first conductive layer 133A, and a lower impurity concentration than the second conductive layer 133B, [0057]; Accordingly, the third conductive layer 133C and the second conductive layer 130B include the impurity fluorine),
a concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the third conductive layer of the first conductive structure (The third conductive layer 133C may include a lower impurity concentration than the second conductive layer 133B, [0057]; Accordingly, layer 130B would have a higher concentration of the impurity fluorine than the concentration of the impurity fluorine in 133C).
Lee does not explicitly disclose the concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the second conductive structure.
However, Lee discloses the gate electrodes 130 may respectively configure gate electrodes of the ground select transistor GST, the plurality of memory cells MC, and the string select transistors SST1 and SST2 illustrated in FIG. 2, [0034].
Accordingly, the gate electrode 137 in the second 130 would correspond to a gate electrode of a string selection transistor, and the gate electrode 132 in the rightmost 130 would correspond to the gate electrode of a memory cell.
Lee further discloses the gate electrodes 130 of the string select transistors SST1 and SST2 and the ground select transistor GST may be one or more and may have a different structure from the gate electrodes 130 of the memory cells MC, [0035], see FIG. 2.
Lee further discloses 130B includes at least one of F, Cl, and C at a first concentration in a range of about 5×1019/cm3 to about 5×1021/cm3-, [0040]. Accordingly, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, there was a need to select an impurity concentration for 130B in gate electrode 137 in the second 130 and an impurity concentration for 130B in gate electrode 132 in the rightmost 130.
FIG. 4 shows a layer 130B in gate electrode 137 in the second 130, and a layer 130B in gate electrode 136 in the leftmost 130.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a fluorine impurity concentration of 5×1021/cm3- for 130B in gate electrode 137 in the second 130 as this would have been obvious to try since this is one solution for the fluorine impurity concentration in a layer 130B and this would have had a reasonable expectation of success, see MPEP 2143.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a fluorine impurity concentration of 5×1019/cm3 for 130B in gate electrode 132 in the rightmost 130 as this would have been obvious to try since this is one solution for the fluorine impurity concentration in a layer 130B and this would have had a reasonable expectation of success, see MPEP 2143. As a result, the fluorine impurity concentration in 130B in gate electrode 137 in the second 130 would be higher than that of 130B in the gate electrode 132 in the rightmost 130.
Claim(s) 10, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 9 or 16, further in view of US 20210242239 A1 (“Lin”).
RE: Claim 10, Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 9,
wherein the second conductive layer of the second conductive structure includes a first metal element (Lee discloses the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B may include the same metallic material (e.g., tungsten (W), cobalt (Co), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), and nickel (Ni))), [0036]; Accordingly, the second conductive layer 130B for the rightmost 130 would include the first metal element molybdenum),
the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure and the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure each include a second metal element (Lee discloses the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B may include the same metallic material (e.g., tungsten (W), cobalt (Co), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), and nickel (Ni)), [0036]; Accordingly, 130A for the second 130 and 130A for the rightmost 130 would include the second metal element tungsten), and
the first metal element is different from the second metal element (molybdenum is different from tungsten).
Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the third conductive layer of the first conductive structure includes the first metal element.
However, Lee discloses The third conductive layer 133C may be formed of a material having good gap-filling properties, [0056].
In the same field of endeavor, Lin discloses the metal gate electrode can include a gap-filling metal layer, [0029], The gap-filling metal layer can include conductive material such as Al, Cu, AlCu, Mo or W, but is not limited to the above-mentioned materials, [0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use molybdenum (Mo) as the gap filling material in the third conductive layer 133C of the gate electrode 137 in the second 130 as taught by Lin in order to ensure gaps between layer 130A and 130B are well filled.
Lee as modified by Lin discloses:
wherein the third conductive layer of the first conductive structure and the second conductive layer of the second conductive structure each include a first metal element (133C in the second 130 and 130B in rightmost 130 each include the first metal element molybdenum), and the first metal element is different from the second metal element (molybdenum is different from the second metal element tungsten).
RE: Claim 17, Lee discloses The semiconductor device of claim 16, wherein
the first conductive structure further comprises a third conductive layer (gate electrode 133 b may include a third conductive layer 133C in addition to the first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B and the barrier layer 160, [0055]; first and second conductive layers 133A and 133B may be understood as being the same as the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B described above with reference to FIGS. 3 and 4, [0050]; Accordingly, the gate electrode 137 would include a third conductive layer 133C) in contact with side and bottom surfaces of the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (When FIG. 6 is rotated counterclockwise by 90 degrees, 133C would be in contact with side and bottom surfaces of conductive layer 133A Accordingly, for gate electrode 137, the conductive layer 133C would be in contact with side and bottom surfaces of 130A when the device of 100 is rotated counterclockwise by 90 degrees),
the second conductive structure further comprises a second conductive layer (130B in gate electrode 132 in FIG. 4) of the second conductive structure, and the second conductive layer of the second conductive structure is in contact with side and bottom surfaces of the first conductive layer of the second conductive structure (When FIG. 4 is rotated counterclockwise by 90 degrees, for gate electrode 137, 130B would be in contact with side and bottom surfaces of 130A), and
the second conductive layer of the second conductive structure includes molybdenum (Mo) (the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B may include the same metallic material (e.g., tungsten (W), cobalt (Co), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), and nickel (Ni), [0036]; 130A and 130B are in each of the gate electrodes 137 and 132).
Lee does not explicitly disclose:
the third conductive layer of the first conductive structure includes molybdenum (Mo).
In the same field of endeavor, Lin discloses the metal gate electrode can include a gap-filling metal layer, [0029], The gap-filling metal layer can include conductive material such as Al, Cu, AlCu, Mo or W, but is not limited to the above-mentioned materials, [0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use molybdenum (Mo) as the gap filling material in the third conductive layer 133C of the gate electrode 137 as taught by Lin in order to ensure gaps between layer 130A and 130B are well filled.
Claims 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of US20200411543A1 (“Wang”).
RE: Claim 19, Lee discloses A semiconductor device (100 in FIG. 4 with the enlarged view of FIG. 6), comprising:
an insulating structure (120, 145, 185, [0030], [0043]);
a first conductive structure (second column of 130 from left in FIG. 4, [0030], [0034], hereinafter “second 130”; 130 is a plurality of gate electrodes, [0030]) in the insulating structure, the first conductive structure including a first conductive layer (130A in 137 in second 130) and a second conductive layer (130B in 137 in second 130), wherein the second conductive layer is in the first conductive layer (130B is in 130A in FIG. 4); and
a second conductive structure (rightmost column of 130 in FIG. 4, hereinafter “rightmost 130”) in the insulating structure, the second conductive structure including a conductive layer (130A in 132 or 137 in rightmost 130),
wherein a width of the first conductive structure is larger than a width of the second conductive structure (As rightmost surface of rightmost column of 130 in FIG. 4 does not include 130A, the horizontal width of the second 130 from the left is larger than a horizontal width of the rightmost 130),
the first conductive structure is at a same level as the second conductive structure (the second 130 is at a same level as rightmost 130 in FIG. 4),
the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and the conductive layer of the second conductive structure include a same nonmetal element (130A and 130B include impurities, [0039]; The impurities are non-metallic elements, [0039]; 130A and 130B include the impurity fluorine, [0039], [0040]; 130A and 130B are in each of second 130 and rightmost 130),
a concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure (130B includes a higher concentration of impurities than the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; 130A and 130B are in the second 130),
the concentration of the nonmetal element in the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure is higher than a concentration of the nonmetal element in the conductive layer of the second conductive structure (130B includes a higher concentration of impurities than the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; 130A and 130B are in the second 130 and rightmost 130),
the nonmetal element is one of F, Cl, Br, C, O, or H (the second conductive layer 130B may include at least one of F, Cl, and C and a concentration of the at least one of F, Cl, and C may be higher than that of the first conductive layer 130A, [0039]; Accordingly, the nonmetal element is F).
Lee does not explicitly disclose:
the width of the first conductive structure decreases as a first vertical level decreases,
the first vertical level is defined as a distance from a bottom surface of the first conductive structure,
the width of the second conductive structure decreases as a second vertical level decreases, and
the second vertical level is defined as a distance from a bottom surface of the second conductive structure.
However, Lee discloses that in FIG. 4, The gate electrodes 130 may respectively configure gate electrodes of the ground select transistor GST, the plurality of memory cells MC, and the string select transistors SST1 and SST2 illustrated in FIG. 2, [0034].
Lee further discloses FIG. 2 is a circuit diagram of a memory cell array of a semiconductor device, [0010].
Lee further discloses each of the channels CH may have an inclined side surface such that a width thereof decreases toward the substrate 101, [0033], see FIG. 4.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses FIG. 15 illustrates a cross-sectional view of an exemplary 3D memory device, in which a width of a channel structure decreases as a depth of the channel structure increases, [0020].
Wang further discloses a memory device in FIG. 28, [0028].
In FIG. 28, the width of the channel structure 20 decreases as a depth of the channel structure increases.
FIG. 28 shows that decreasing width of the channel structure results in the width of the conductor layers 121 increasing with increasing depth.
Wang further discloses conductor layers function as the gate electrodes, [0037].
Accordingly, Wang discloses the width of gate electrodes increases with increasing depth as a result of the width of the channel structure decreasing with increasing depth.
Wang further discloses the thicknesses of the conductor layers increase as the width of the channel structure increases and the thicknesses of the conductor layers decrease as the width of the channel structure decreases. For example, the thickness of a conductor layer can be proportional to or nominally proportional to the width of the channel structure at the same depth. The variation of the thicknesses of the conductor layers can compensate for the impact caused by the variation of the width of the channel structure and the undesirable topography. The erase state coupling effect of the memory cells can be improved, and the performance of the memory cells have improved uniformity and stability. Also, the threshold voltages of the memory cells have improved uniformity. Meanwhile, the etching process to form channel holes can be less restrictive, improving fabrication stability and process window, [0037].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of the channel structures CH to have a width that decreases with increasing depth resulting in the width of the gate electrodes having a width the increases with increasing depth as taught by Wang in order to improve the erase state coupling effect, and to improve the uniformity of the threshold voltages of the memory cells as further taught by Wang.
As a result, Lee as modified by Wang discloses:
the width of the first conductive structure decreases as a first vertical level decreases, the first vertical level is defined as a distance from a bottom surface of the first conductive structure (When Lee’s device 100 is flipped upside down, the width of the second 130 would decrease as the first vertical level decreases, where the first vertical level is defined as a distance from a bottom surface of the second 130 when the device 100 is flipped upside down),
the width of the second conductive structure decreases as a second vertical level decreases, and the second vertical level is defined as a distance from a bottom surface of the second conductive structure (When Lee’s device 100 is flipped upside down, the width of the rightmost 130 would decrease as the second vertical level decreases, where the second vertical level is defined as a distance from a bottom surface of the rightmost 130 when the device 100 is flipped upside down).
RE: Claim 20, Lee in view of Wang discloses The semiconductor device of claim 19, wherein the first conductive layer of the first conductive structure, the second conductive layer of the first conductive structure, and the conductive layer of the second conductive structure further include at least one of W, Al, Cu, Mo, Co, TiN, TaN, WN, WCN, or TiSiN (Lee discloses the first and second conductive layers 130A and 130B may include the same metallic material (e.g., tungsten (W)) [0036]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL ANGUIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899