DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-4, 6, 8, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pendse et al. (US PG Pub 2007/0273043, hereinafter Pendse).
Regarding claim 1, figures 1-3B of Pendse disclose a semiconductor package, comprising:
a semiconductor die (14) having a top surface;
a bond pad (22) formed on the top surface;
a bond wire (26) having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is attached to the bond pad; and
a contact pad (32), wherein the second end of the bond wire is attached to the contact pad by a stitch bond (¶ 39), the stitch bond having a plateau region formed between a cut end and a ramped portion, wherein a bottom surface of the plateau region forms an attachment to the contact pad, a bottom surface of the cut end physically contacting the contract pad.
Regarding claim 2, figures 1-3B of Pendse disclose the plateau region has a uniform thickness.
Regarding claim 3, figures 1-3B of Pendse disclose the plateau region has a top surface that is generally parallel to the bottom surface.
Regarding claim 4, as per the claim limitation “the plateau region has a thickness that is determined by a height of a boss portion of a capillary tool”, which is drawn to process steps of a product-by-process claim, such method step(s) are not considered to render an old apparatus patentable where the prior art teaches a product that appears to be the same as, or an obvious variant of, the product set forth in a product-by-process claim although produced by a different process. In the regard, both the claimed product and the prior art product would be the same or substantially the same. That is even though product-by-process claims are limited and defined by the process, the determination of patentability of the claims is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 6, figures 1-3B of Pendse disclose discloses the ramped portion provides a transition between a plateau region thickness and a thickness of the bond wire (26).
Regarding claim 8, figures 1-3B of Pendse disclose discloses the first end of the bond wire (26) is attached to the bond pad (22) by a ball bond (24).
Regarding claim 18, figures 1-3B of Pendse disclose discloses a wire bond in a semiconductor package, comprising:
a bond pad (22) formed on the top surface of a semiconductor die (14);
a conductive wire (26) having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is attached to the bond pad; and
a contact pad (32), wherein the second end of the conductive wire is attached to the contact pad by a stitch bond (¶ 39), the stitch bond having a plateau region formed between a cut end and a ramped portion, wherein a bottom surface of the plateau region forms an attachment to the contact pad., and wherein a vertical thickness of the conductive wire at a top point of the cut end surface and a vertical thickness of the conductive wire at the plateau region are uniform, and a bottom surface of the cut end physically contacting the contact pad.
Regarding claim 19, figures 1-3B of Pendse disclose the plateau region has a uniform thickness, the plateau region having a top surface that is generally parallel to the bottom surface, the plateau region thickness determined by a height of a boss portion of a capillary tool; and
wherein the ramped portion provides a transition between a plateau region thickness and a thickness of the conductive wire.
As per the claim limitation “the plateau region has a thickness that is determined by a height of a boss portion of a capillary tool”, which is drawn to process steps of a product-by-process claim, such method step(s) are not considered to render an old apparatus patentable where the prior art teaches a product that appears to be the same as, or an obvious variant of, the product set forth in a product-by-process claim although produced by a different process. In the regard, both the claimed product and the prior art product would be the same or substantially the same. That is even though product-by-process claims are limited and defined by the process, the determination of patentability of the claims is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. See MPEP 2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5, 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Pendse in view of Ano (US Pat 7,192,861)
Regarding claim 5, Pendse does not explicitly disclose the plateau region has a thickness that is between 20 and 30 percent of a diameter of the bond wire.
However, it would have been obvious to form the plateau region with a thickness within the claimed range, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Regarding claim 7, Pendse does not explicitly disclose the plateau region has a width that is between 50 and 100 percent wider than a width of the bond wire.
However, it would have been obvious to form the plateau region with a width within the claimed range, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Regarding claim 20, figures 1-3B of Pendse disclose discloses the first end of the bond wire (26) is attached to the bond pad (22) by a ball bond (24).
Pendse does not explicitly disclose the plateau region has a thickness that is between 20 and 30 percent of a diameter of the bond wire, nor
that the plateau region has a width that is between 50 and 100 percent wider than a width of the bond wire.
However, it would have been obvious to form the plateau region with a thickness/width within the claimed ranges, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 18 have been considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
/YU-HSI D SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817