DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hideaki et al. (JP 06-318558) in view of Chen (CN 11-3390031).
Regarding claim 1, Hideaki et al. (figure 1) discloses an adjustable reflector assembly, comprising: a plurality of elements comprising at least one stationary element (8) and at least one rotating element (9), wherein a first surface of each of the plurality of elements is a reflective surface; and at least one actuation mechanism (9a) configured to actuate the at least one rotating element relative to the at least one stationary element (see at least paragraphs 0008 and 0017).
Hideaki et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Hideaki et al. is silent regarding wherein a reflective coating surrounds an outer surface of the at least one actuation mechanism. Chen (figures 1-2) teaches wherein a reflective coating surrounds an outer surface of the at least one actuation mechanism (23-24; see at least page 2, the last two paragraphs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the reflective coating as taught by Chen in order to dynamically connect the back end of the turning shaft with the energy supply motor and achieve a light-proof protection type stage lamp.
Regarding claim 2, Hideaki et al. (figure 1) discloses wherein the adjustable reflector assembly is an edge reflector assembly configured to reflect heat to an outer edge of a substrate (see at least paragraphs 0015-0020).
Regarding claim 3, Hideaki et al. as modified by Chen (figures 1-2) teaches wherein the outer surface of the at least one actuation mechanism is exposed and further comprises the reflective coating, wherein the first surface of each of the plurality of elements comprises the reflective coating.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 4, Hideaki et al. (figure 1) discloses wherein the at least one actuation mechanism is embedded in the plurality of elements.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 6, Hideaki et al. (figure 1) discloses wherein the at least one rotating element is configured for linear or rotational displacement about a lamp, the lamp comprising a polygon lamp (7).
Regarding claim 7, Hideaki et al. (figure 1) discloses wherein the at least one rotating element comprises two rotating elements rotatably coupled to the at least one stationary element along parallel axes on opposing edges of the at least one stationary element (9).
Regarding claim 8, Hideaki et al. (figure 1) discloses a substrate processing chamber, comprising:
a chamber body (1, 2, 4) comprising a lid, a floor, and a processing volume disposed between the lid and the floor;
an upper window disposed between the lid and the processing volume;
a lower window disposed between the floor and the processing volume (figure 1);
a substrate support assembly (3) disposed in the processing volume;
a lamp head (6) positioned either below the lower window or above the upper window;
at least one lamp disposed within the lamp head; and
a reflector assembly disposed on one side of the at least one lamp, the reflector assembly comprising a plurality of elements, wherein at least one of the plurality of elements is a stationary element and at least one of the plurality of elements is a rotating element (8-9; see at least paragraphs 0008 and 0017).
Hideaki et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 8 above. However, Hideaki et al. is silent regarding wherein the rotating element is configured to be actuated relative to the stationary element by an actuation mechanism (23-24 and 11) and a reflective coating surrounds an outer surface of the actuation mechanism (23-24; see at least page 2, the last two paragraphs). Chen (figures 1-2) teaches wherein a reflective coating surrounds an outer surface of the at least one actuation mechanism (23-24; see at least page 2, the last two paragraphs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the reflective coating as taught by Chen in order to dynamically connect the back end of the turning shaft with the energy supply motor and achieve a light-proof protection type stage lamp.
Regarding claim 9, Hideaki et al. (figure 1) discloses wherein the plurality of elements further comprise a plurality of rotating elements coupled to the stationary element, wherein each of the plurality of elements comprises a reflective coating on a surface thereof (8-9; see at least paragraphs 0008 and 0017).
Regarding claim 11, Hideaki et al. (figure 1) discloses wherein the actuation mechanism is a rotational motor (9a).
Regarding claim 12, Hideaki et al. (figure 1) discloses wherein an outer surface of the actuation mechanism is exposed and further comprises the reflective coating.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 13, Hideaki et al. (figure 1) discloses wherein the actuation mechanism is embedded in the plurality of elements.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hideaki et al. in view of Chen; further in view of Komatsu et al. (KR 2012-0054636).
Regarding claim 5, Hideaki et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Hideaki et al. is silent regarding wherein the plurality of elements further comprises at least one aperture extending through each of the plurality of elements to form a cooling channel through the adjustable reflector assembly. Komatsu et al. (figure 1) teaches wherein the plurality of elements further comprises at least one aperture extending through each of the plurality of elements to form a cooling channel (68) through the adjustable reflector assembly (41-43; see at least paragraphs 0015, 0019, 0022). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cooling channel as taught by Komatsu et al. in order to efficiently cool the devices.
Regarding claim 14, Hideaki et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 8 above. However, Hideaki et al. is silent regarding wherein the plurality of elements further comprises at least one aperture extending through each of the plurality of elements. Komatsu et al. (figure 1) teaches wherein the plurality of elements further comprises at least one aperture extending through each of the plurality of elements (41-43; see at least paragraphs 0015, 0019, 0022). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cooling channel as taught by Komatsu et al. in order to efficiently cool the devices.
Regarding claim 15, Hideaki et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 8 above. However, Hideaki et al. is silent regarding wherein the plurality of elements further comprises at least one aperture extending through each of the plurality of elements. Komatsu et al. (figure 1) teaches wherein the at least one aperture of each of the plurality of elements forms a cooling channel (68) through the reflector assembly (41-43; see at least paragraphs 0015, 0019, 0022). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cooling channel as taught by Komatsu et al. in order to efficiently cool the devices.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871