DETAILED ACTION
RCE, received 12/17/2025, has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0281666 A1), hereafter referred to as Chen.
As to claim 1, Chen discloses an optical filter array (fig 15, 500), comprising
a first-type optical filter array (fig 15, 556/554-2; [0071], [0036]) and a second-type optical filter array (fig 15, 554-1; [0036]), wherein the first-type optical filter array comprises spectral information of a first band range, the second-type optical filter array comprises spectral information of a second band range, and the spectral information of the second band range is different from the spectral information of the first band range, or the spectral information of the second band range and the spectral information of the first band range overlap within a preset band range (first-type array 556 comprises R-G-B while second type array 554-1 includes ROYGCB), and wherein the first-type optical filter array (556/554-2) comprises a first sub-type optical filter array (two adjacent columns of 556 are considered to be the first sub-type array) and a second sub-type optical filter array (two adjacent columns 554-2 are considered to be the second sub-type array), the first sub-type optical filter array and the second sub-type optical filter array have the same quantity of channels (each column has the same quantity of channels), spectral information of band range of the first sub-type optical filter array is different from spectral information of band range of the second sub-type optical filter array (554-2 with ROYGCB is different from 556 with RGB), and each of the first sub-type optical filter array and the second sub-type optical filter array comprises at least three distinct channels (554-2 has distinct channels ROYGCB and 556 has distinct channels RGB).
As to claim 2, Chen discloses the optical filter array according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the first-type optical filter array comprises three channels, and each of the three channels represents one type of spectral information within the first band range (fig 15, first type array 556 includes RGB channels; [0036]; [0071]).
As to claim 3, Chen discloses the optical filter array according to claim 2 (paragraphs above),
wherein the three channels are any three channels in a red channel R, a green channel G, a blue channel B, a yellow channel Y, and a near-infrared channel IR (fig 15, first type array 556 comprises RGB channels; [0036]).
As to claim 4, Chen discloses the optical filter array according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein a quantity of channels comprised in the second-type optical filter array is a positive integer greater than 3 (fig 15, second type array 544-1 includes ROYGCB), and one channel comprised in the second-type optical filter array represents one type of spectral information within the second band range ([0036]).
As to claim 5, Chen discloses the optical filter array according to claim 3 (paragraphs above),
wherein the three channels are any one channel in an RGB channel, an RYB channel, or an RBGIR channel (fig 15, first type array 556 includes RGB channels; [0036]).
As to claim 6, Chen discloses the optical filter array according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein a quantity of channels of the second-type optical filter array is a positive integer greater than or equal to 4, and wherein the first-type optical filter array comprises four channels, or the first-type optical filter array comprises an optical filter array comprising three channels and an optical filter array comprising four channels (fig 15, first type array 556 comprises R, B and two G).
As to claim 7, Chen discloses the optical filter array according to claim 6 (paragraphs above),
wherein the four channels are any four channels in a red channel R, a green channel G, a blue channel B, a yellow channel Y, and a near-infrared channel IR (fig 15, first type array 556 comprises R, B and two G).
As to claim 8, Chen discloses the optical filter array according to claim 6 (paragraphs above),
wherein a quantity of channels of the second-type optical filter array is not greater than 25, and one channel comprised in the second-type optical filter array represents one type of spectral information within the second band range (fig 15, second type array 544-2 includes ROYGCB).
As to claim 9, Chen discloses the optical filter array according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the first-type optical filter array and the second-type optical filter array each comprises a matrix structure (fig 15, matrix of channels in each of 556 and 544-2 shown in detail in fig 1, 56 and 54).
As to claim 10, Chen discloses the optical filter array according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the optical filter array comprises a plurality of groups of first-type optical filter arrays and a plurality of groups of second-type optical filter arrays, and the plurality of groups of first-type optical filter arrays surround the plurality of groups of second-type optical filter arrays (see annotated figure 18 below that shows a plurality of Bayer pattern arrays that are defined in regions separated by multi-band filter arrays).
As to claim 11, Chen discloses the optical filter array according to claim 10 (paragraphs above).
wherein a shorter distance to a center of the optical filter array leads to higher distribution density of the second-type optical filter array and lower distribution density of the first-type optical filter array (fig 18, second type optical filter located in center of the optical filter array with the first-type around the optical filter array results in a shorter distance to a center of the optical filter array).
As to claim 12, Chen discloses the optical filter array according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the optical filter array comprises a plurality of groups of first-type optical filter arrays and a plurality of groups of second-type optical filter arrays, and the plurality of groups of second-type optical filter arrays surround the plurality of groups of first-type optical filter arrays (see annotated figure 18 above that shows a plurality of Bayer pattern arrays that are defined in regions separated by multi-band filter arrays).
As to claim 13, Chen discloses the optical filter array according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the optical filter array comprises a plurality of groups of first-type optical filter arrays and a plurality of groups of second-type optical filter arrays, and the plurality of groups of first-type optical filter arrays and the plurality of groups of second-type optical filter arrays are disposed in parallel (see annotated figure 18 above that shows a plurality of Bayer pattern arrays that are defined in regions separated by multi-band filter arrays).
As to claim 14, Chen discloses the optical filter array according to claim 10 (paragraphs above),
wherein in the optical filter array, the second-type optical filter array is periodically distributed or a periodically distributed (see annotated figure 18 above that shows a plurality of Bayer pattern arrays that are defined in regions separated by multi-band filter arrays).
As to claim 15, Chen discloses the optical filter array according to claim 10 (paragraphs above),
wherein a total area of the plurality of groups of first-type optical filter arrays is greater than a total area of the plurality of groups of second-type optical filter arrays (see annotated figure 18 above that shows a plurality of Bayer pattern arrays that are defined in regions separated by multi-band filter arrays).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Numata et al. (US Pub. No 2015/0029366 A1), hereafter referred to as Numata.
As to claim 16, Chen discloses the optical filter array according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
Chen does not disclose wherein the first-type optical filter array comprises a color filter, a microlens, and a photoelectric conversion circuit, the photoelectric conversion circuit is configured to convert an optical signal into an electrical signal, the color filter is located between the microlens and the photoelectric conversion circuit, and for one first-type optical filter array, one microlens corresponds to one color filter and corresponds to one photoelectric conversion circuit, or one microlens corresponds to one color filter and corresponds to a plurality of photoelectric conversion circuits, or one color filter corresponds to a plurality of microlenses and corresponds to a plurality of photoelectric conversion circuits.
Nonetheless, Numata discloses wherein a first-type optical filter array comprises a color filter, a microlens, and a photoelectric conversion circuit, the photoelectric conversion circuit is configured to convert an optical signal into an electrical signal, the color filter is located between the microlens and the photoelectric conversion circuit, and for one first-type optical filter array, one microlens corresponds to one color filter and corresponds to one photoelectric conversion circuit, or one microlens corresponds to one color filter and corresponds to a plurality of photoelectric conversion circuits, or one color filter corresponds to a plurality of microlenses and corresponds to a plurality of photoelectric conversion circuits (fig 2, [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include the component elements of Numata with the optical filter array of Chen since this will provide improved operation in a solid-stated image sensing device.
As to claim 17, Chen discloses the optical filter array according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
Chen does not disclose wherein the second-type optical filter array comprises a color filter, a microlens, and a photoelectric conversion circuit, the photoelectric conversion circuit is configured to convert an optical signal into an electrical signal, the color filter is located between the microlens and the photoelectric conversion circuit, and for one second-type optical filter array, one microlens corresponds to one color filter and corresponds to one photoelectric conversion circuit, or one microlens corresponds to one color filter and corresponds to a plurality of photoelectric conversion circuits, or one color filter corresponds to a plurality of microlenses and corresponds to a plurality of photoelectric conversion circuits.
Nonetheless, Numata discloses wherein a second-type optical filter array comprises a color filter, a microlens, and a photoelectric conversion circuit, the photoelectric conversion circuit is configured to convert an optical signal into an electrical signal, the color filter is located between the microlens and the photoelectric conversion circuit, and for one second-type optical filter array, one microlens corresponds to one color filter and corresponds to one photoelectric conversion circuit, or one microlens corresponds to one color filter and corresponds to a plurality of photoelectric conversion circuits, or one color filter corresponds to a plurality of microlenses and corresponds to a plurality of photoelectric conversion circuits (fig 2, [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include the component elements of Numata with the optical filter array of Chen since this will provide improved operation in a solid-stated image sensing device.
As to claim 18, Chen discloses a camera module ([0026]),
wherein the camera module (fig 13) comprises an optical filter array ([0068]), and the optical filter array comprises a first-type optical filter array (fig 15, 556/554-2; [0071], [0036]) and a second-type optical filter array (fig 15, 544-1; [0036]), wherein the first-type optical filter array comprises spectral information of a first band range, the second-type optical filter array comprises spectral information of a second band range, and the spectral information of the second band range is different from the spectral information of the first band range, or the spectral information of the second band range and the spectral information of the first band range overlap within a preset band range (first-type array 556 comprises R-G-B while second type array 544-1 includes ROYGCB), and wherein the first-type optical filter array (556/544-2) comprises a first sub-type optical filter array (556) and a second sub-type optical filter array (544-2), the first sub-type optical filter array and the second sub-type optical filter array have the same quantity of channels (each column has the same quantity of channels), and spectral information of band range of the first sub-type optical filter array is different from spectral information of band range of the second sub-type optical filter array (554-2 with ROYGCB is different from 556 with RGB), and each of the first sub-type optical filter array and the second sub-type optical filter array comprises at least three distinct channels (554-2 has distinct channels ROYGCB and 556 has distinct channels RGB).
Chen does not disclose wherein the camera module comprises a base and the optical filter array is mounted on the base.
Nonetheless, Numata discloses wherein a camera module comprises a base and an optical filter array is mounted on the base (fig 2B, base 113 and optical filter array 120/121).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include the component elements of Numata with the optical filter array of Chen since this will provide improved operation and support in a solid-stated image sensing device.
As to claim 19, Chen discloses an electronic device (fig 13),
wherein the electronic device comprises a lens, and an optical filter array (fig, 13, [0068]), and the optical filter array comprises a first-type optical filter array (fig 15, 556/544-2; [0071]; [0036]) and a second-type optical filter array (fig 15, 544-1; [0036]), wherein the first-type optical filter array comprises spectral information of a first band range, the second-type optical filter array comprises spectral information of a second band range, and the spectral information of the second band range is different from the spectral information of the first band range, or the spectral information of the second band range and the spectral information of the first band range overlap within a preset band range (first-type array 556 comprises R-G-B while second type array 544-1 includes ROYGCB), and wherein the first-type optical filter array (556/544-2) comprises a first sub-type optical filter array (556) and a second sub-type optical filter array (544-2), the first sub-type optical filter array and the second sub-type optical filter array have the same quantity of channels (each column has the same quantity of channels), and spectral information of band range of the first sub-type optical filter array is different from spectral information of band range of the second sub-type optical filter array (554-2 with ROYGCB is different from 556 with RGB), and each of the first sub-type optical filter array and the second sub-type optical filter array comprises at least three distinct channels (554-2 has distinct channels ROYGCB and 556 has distinct channels RGB).
Chen does not disclose wherein a lens is mounted on the lens mount, the lens mount is disposed between the optical filter array and the lens.
Nonetheless, Numata discloses wherein an electronic device comprises a lens mounted on a lens mount, the lens mount is disposed between an optical filter array and the lens (fig 2B, micro-lens 112 on mount between lens and optical filter array 120/121).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include the component elements of Numata with the optical filter array of Chen since this will provide improved operation and support in a solid-stated image sensing device.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Numata and further in view of Wang et al. (CN111386549-A, published 7/7/2020), hereafter referred to as Wang.
As to claim 20, Chen in view of Numata disclose the electronic device according to claim 19 (paragraphs above).
Chen further discloses wherein the electronic device further comprises:
at least one processor (fig 2, [0039]-[0040]); and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor ([0046]-[0047]) to:
perform illumination intensity estimation, white balance processing, and demosaicing processing on an image obtained by a first-type optical filter array to obtain a first image ([0040]);
perform illumination intensity estimation, white balance processing, and demosaicing processing on an image obtained by a second-type optical filter array to obtain a second image ([0040]).
Chen does not disclose perform fusion processing on the first image and the second image to obtain a high-resolution hyperspectral image.
Nonetheless, Wang discloses a processor to perform fusion processing on the first image and the second image to obtain a high-resolution hyperspectral image (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed for the electronic device of Chen in view of Numata to process a first and second image to perform fusion processing on the first image and the second image to obtain a high-resolution hyperspectral image as taught by Wang since this will improve time domain resolution and spatial resolution.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Chen’s filter array 56 comprising first sub-filter array RG and second sub-filter array GB do not have at least three distinct channels. Thus the Chen reference does not anticipate the amended claim limitations.
Examiner disagrees because Chen does anticipate the amended claim limitations as detailed in the office action, above. Specifically, instead of considering element 56 as a first array including a first and second sub-arrays, the embodiment shown in figure 15 shows a first array including 556/544-2 that includes first sub-array 556 and second sub-array 544-2 wherein each include at least three distinct channels.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US2015/0268392A1; and US 2014/0320611 A1.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 2/23/2026