DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
In view of the appeal brief filed on 05/11/2026 PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New ground of rejection of claims as set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/CHRISTIAN CHACE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665
Claims 1-9, 11 and 17-25 are pending. Claims 1-9, 11 and 17-25 are rejected. This action is non-final. A three-month Shortened Statutory Period for Response has been set.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 11 and 17-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The independent Claim 1, 9 and 18, respectively, include the following limitations:
“first boundary locations of a boundary associated with the intersection”
“determine, based at least on the image data, first locations of boundaries of the intersection”
“first location of a boundary of an intersection”
It is unclear where a “first boundary location” is positioned relative an intersection reference point. And, in the case of multiple first boundary locations, how one first boundary location related to each additional first boundary locations.
The same issue arises for the “second boundary locations” (Claim 1), “second locations of boundaries” (Claim 9) and “second location of the boundary” (Claim 18). It is also unclear where the second boundary locations came from. Are they locations on the map that were there before this methodology was initiated? Are they boundary locations added to the initial map by third vehicles approach the intersection from a different direction than the second vehicles?
Additionally, the relationship between a first-boundary-location(s) and a second-boundary-location(s) seems to be completely arbitrary. For example, where are each located, say, relative to a reference position of the intersection (e.g., the center of the intersection)? Are the first and second boundary locations, for example, along the same cross-walk portion of the intersection? Are they on opposite sides of the intersection? Are they on adjacent sides of the outer perimeter of the intersection? Is a “final boundary location” just capturing the crosswalk area or the entire outer perimeter of the intersection?
Using Claim 1 as representative of the independent claims, regarding the limitation:
“projecting, based at least on locations associated with the one or more second vehicles when obtaining the image data, the first boundary locations from the images to second boundary locations of the boundary as represented by the map”.
It is unclear whether the secondary boundary locations have been determined from the sensor/image data (and one might consider them to be newly added to a map) or whether these second boundary locations are already within the map (i.e., determined previously), as up to this point in the method only the generation of first boundary locations is mentioned. Moreover, it is unclear what is meant by “projecting…first boundary locations…to second boundary locations”. Are we just adding boundary location information to a map? Are we connecting first and second boundary locations? Are we making an adjustment to deal with misalignment of the first and second boundaries? In addition, it is not clear what exactly is being referred to as “the boundary”, since we are now involved with both first and second boundary locations, and the only antecedent basis for “the boundary” is “a boundary” associated with the first boundary (i.e., “first boundary locations of a boundary associated with the intersection as represented by the images” – examiner’s emphasis added. If a boundary is already associated with the intersection what is the method determining? Are we deconstructing a known boundaries to create a new boundary?).
Regarding the limitation:
“determining, based at least on a grouping of the second boundary locations on the map as being associated with the boundary, a final boundary location of the boundary on the map;”
What constitutes “a final boundary location”? Why are only the “second boundary locations being grouped? What about the “first boundary locations? It is unclear if we are determining a boundary for the entire intersection (i.e., the intersection perimeter) or single side of the intersection.
Claims 3, 9 and 22 each introduce the idea of generating a “bounding shape”. But, in each case, this is to be constructed of “first boundary locations” and “secondary boundary locations”, which can be located anywhere in the image data, and with an unknown relationship between first and second locations; all of it leading a lack of clarity as to what the shape is and what is actually encompassed inside the shape (i.e., Is it a portion of a cross-walk? A boundary encompassing, for example, all four crosswalks of four-way intersection? For the latter, how is this accomplished based on only first and second boundary locations? Is not a third boundary needed to define a square or rectangular area?).
Dependent Claims 2, 4-9, 11-17, 19-21 and 23-25 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as depending from independent Claims 1, 9 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 9, 11, 17 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As described in MPEP § 2106, the analyses as to whether a claim qualifies as eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101 includes the following determinations:
(1) Whether the claim is to a statutory category, i.e. to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter ("Step 1")- see MPEP §§ 2106, subsection III, and 2106.03.
(2) If the claim is to a statutory category, whether the claim recites any judicial exceptions, including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, or mental processes) ("Step 2A, Prong One") - see MPEP §§ 2106, subsection III, and 2106.04.
(3) If the claim recites a judicial exception, whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application ("Step 2A, Prong Two") - see MPEP §§ 2106, subsection III, and 2106.04.
(4) If the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, whether the claim recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception ("Step 2B") – see MPEP §§ 2106, subsection III, and 2106.05.
Step 1: Claims 9, 11, 17 and 22-25 are a system . Thus, each independent claim, on its face, is directed to one of the four statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. §101 (MPEP 2106.03).
The examiner has determined, the following analysis is applicable to each independent claim. With regard to Claim 9:
a system comprising: one or more processors to:
determine one or more vehicle locations of one or more vehicles within an environment;
receive image data obtained using one or more vehicles, the image data representative of one or more images depicting an intersection within the environment;
determine, based at least on the image data, first locations of boundaries of the intersection as represented by the one or more images;
localize the one or more vehicles with respect to a map based at least on the one or more vehicle locations;
project, using the one or more vehicles as localized with respect to the map, the first locations of the boundaries of the intersection as represented by the one or more images to second locations of the boundaries of the intersection on the map;
generate, by at least connecting the second boundary locations on the map, a bounding shape indicating an intersection location on the map; and
update the map to include the boundary shape indicating the intersection location associated with the intersection.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
Regarding Prong 1 of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitations constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. Specifically, Claim 1 recites the general idea of generating a map (“update the map to include the boundary shape indicating the intersection location associated with the intersection”) with details of intersection (“determine, based at least on the image data, first locations of boundaries of the intersection as represented by the one or more images…project, using the one or more vehicles as localized with respect to the map, the first locations of the boundaries of the intersection as represented by the one or more images to second locations of the boundaries of the intersection on the map; generate, by at least connecting the second boundary locations on the map, a bounding shape indicating an intersection location on the map”) and vehicle locations (“determine one or more vehicle locations of one or more vehicles within an environment” and “localize the one or more vehicles with respect to a map based at least on the one or more vehicle locations”), which could be carried out by a person observing an intersection. Thus, the claim can simply be done mentally, or in combination with pen and paper, if desired. And thus, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recites a mental process.
Step 2A, Prong 2:
Regarding Prong 2 of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer or processor to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
The examiner submits that the foregoing underlined additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application. The examiner contends that the additional limitation of “receive image data obtained using one or more vehicles, the image data representative of one or more images depicting an intersection within the environment” constitute insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception [MPEP 2106.05(g)]. In particular, the former is an information obtaining step recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, as determined by the courts:
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner.
In addition, the limitation of “a system comprising: one or more processors” is recited at such a high level of generality as to be the equivalent to using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea:
Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Thus, the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
In summary, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, Claim 9 recites a mental process; and, thus, fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, or provide additional elements significantly beyond the scope of the judicial exception and amounting to an inventive concept.
Dependent: Claims 11, 17 and 22-25 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Specifically:
Claim 11: Additional “mental processes” aimed at determining bounding shapes.
Claim 17: insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception involving a generic data gathering system (i.e., “a perception system”) [MPEP 2106.05(g)], generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., “for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine”.) [MPEP 2106.05(h)]
Claims 22-23: Additional “mental processes” aimed at determining bounding shapes and locations.
Claim 24: Insignificant post-solution activity related to “mental processes” (i.e., identification of intersection layout) [MPEP 2106.05(g)] .
Claim 25: Additional “mental processes” aimed at determining a final boundary (i.e., connecting boundaries).
Therefore, Claims 9, 11, 17 and 22-25 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 11, 18-22 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Mohammadabadi et al. (US 2024/0101118 A), henceforth Mohammadabadi.
Regarding Claim 9, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: one or more processors {processor and memory, ¶65, and 502, Fig. 5} to: determine one or more vehicle locations {Lidar used for localization and establishing bounding shape location, ¶22-23} of one or more vehicles within an environment {map information determined through the compilation of data from multiple vehicles, ¶191}; receive image data obtained using the one or more vehicles {detecting and classifying intersections aided by vehicle sensors, ¶72 and Fig. 5 }, the image data representative of one or more images depicting an intersection within the environment {¶25 teaches of a multiple image capturing devices, producing a continuous stream of images of an intersection; with respect to Fig. 2A, vehicle sensors capture bounding shape 204 intersection 206, thus providing estimates of the location of all 4 sides of this 4-way intersection; in addition, the aforementioned “multiple vehicles” aspect of data collection (¶191), provides data about the intersection from all road perspectives; see also ¶66}; determine, based at least on the image data, first locations of the boundaries of the intersection {under the broadest reasonable interpretation [MPEP §2111.01(I)], a boundary location can be any location, of any length and modest width, within the image, that is generally outside the interior of an intersection; the examiner interprets “boundary locations” to be either a series of adjacent locations along the same side of a bounding box (i.e., 302 in Fig. 3A and 322 in Fig. 3B) or to correspond to adjacent sides the bounding box} as represented by the one or more images {receiving image data generated by a sensor (B402, Fig. 4), wherein the sensor data includes one or more intersections, ¶66}; localize the one or more vehicles with respect to a map based at least on the one or more vehicle locations {Lidar used for localization and establishing bounding shape location, ¶22-23}; project, using the one or more vehicles as localized with respect to the map, the first locations of the boundaries of the intersection as represented by the one or more images to second locations of the boundaries of the intersection on the map {adding or projecting data onto a map (per the discussion of updating of intersection coverage maps in ¶47), starts with the detection and classification of intersections (¶11, 12, 41) and includes using the bounding box approach which associates box “edges, vertices, and/or other features of the bounding box(es)” with the intersection (¶40), such that adjacent or opposing edges of a box (e.g., 322 in Fig. 3B) are representative of first and second boundaries (e.g., 330 and 336 in Fig. 3B)}; generate {generation of coverage maps, ¶26-28 (e.g., “generate intersection locations, coverage maps”, ¶26)}, by at least connecting the second boundary locations on the map, a bounding shape indicating an intersection location on the map {generation of a bounding box, with a bottom edge 330 in Fig. 3B (and ¶47, 49) clearly involves connecting edge 336 to the sides of the box; one skilled in the art will appreciate that an overall representation of the bounding area of a four-way intersection begins by first combining the boundary of a first intersection side with a second intersection side}; and update the map {updating of intersection coverage maps is described in ¶47, and “multiple vehicles” data to update map, ¶91} to include the boundary shape indicating the intersection location associated with the intersection {determining a final bounding box, ¶85: “determining final bounding box locations of final bounding boxes corresponding to the one or more intersections based at least in part on the first data and the second data.”}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Mohammadabadi before them, to modify the explicit teachings of Mohammadabadi to include the broader understanding, known to one skilled in the art, that a representation of the overall bounding area of the intersection, or the outer perimeter, of a four-way intersection begins by connecting a first intersection side with a second, adjacent intersection side, as noted supra.
Regarding Claim 11, Mohammadabadi discloses the limitations of Claim 9. In addition, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: determining, based at least on the image data, one or more second bounding shapes indicating one or more areas of the one or more images that depict the intersection {¶25 teaches of a multiple image capturing devices that inherently produce a continuous stream of images of an intersection and corresponding data stream of bounding shapes (204) of an intersection (206) as represented in Fig. 2A; thus providing estimates of the location of all 4 sides of this 4-way intersection; based on the “multiple vehicles” aspect of data collection (¶91), estimates of all 4 side of the intersection are gathered for each vehicle approaching the intersection, as will be appreciated by one skilled in the art}; and determining, based at least on the one or more second bounding shapes, the first locations of the boundaries of the intersection {the bounding box 322 in Fig. 3B has captured and identified four intersection locations: entrance, exit, left-turn and right-turn locations, corresponding to the sides of the bounding box: “The sensor data…is trained to identify areas of interests pertaining to intersections (e.g., raised pavement markers, rumble strips, colored lane dividers, sidewalks, cross-walks, turn-offs, etc.) represented by the sensor data… the computed outputs may be used to determine locations of a bounding shape(s) corresponding to an intersection(s)”, ¶25}.
Regarding Claim 18, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: a processor {processor and memory, ¶65, and 502, Fig. 5} comprising: processing circuitry {“a computing process that may be performed using any combination of hardware, firmware, and/or software”, ¶65} to: cause a first vehicle to perform one or more operations {approaching and navigating through an intersection, ¶78 and Fig. 2A} based at least on map data corresponding to a map {generation of coverage maps, ¶27-28}, wherein the map is generated {generation of coverage maps, ¶26-28 (e.g., “generate intersection locations, coverage maps”, ¶26)}, at least, by: determining, based at least on first image data {detecting and classifying intersections aided by vehicle sensors, ¶72 and Fig. 5} obtained using a second vehicle {map information determined through the compilation of data from multiple vehicles, ¶191}, a first location of a boundary {under the broadest reasonable interpretation [MPEP §2111.01(I)], a boundary location can be any location, of any length and modest width, within the image, that is generally outside the interior of an intersection; the examiner interprets “boundary locations” to be either a series of adjacent locations along the same side of a bounding box (i.e., 302 in Fig. 3A and 322 in Fig. 3B) or to correspond to adjacent sides the bounding box} associated with an intersection {“generate an understanding of each intersection”, ¶24} as represented by the first image data {receiving image data generated by a sensor (B402, Fig. 4), wherein the sensor data includes one or more intersections, ¶66}; determining, based at least on the first location of the boundary, a first corresponding location {Lidar used for localization and establishing bounding shape location, ¶22-23, and ¶68 describes associating “location information” with pixel level image data} of the boundary on the map {bottom edge 330, Fig. 3B and ¶49}; determining, based at least on second image data {receiving image data generated by a sensor (B402, Fig. 4), wherein the sensor data includes one or more intersections, ¶66; one skilled in the art will appreciate that “second image data” can be obtained from any vehicle approaching the intersection from any direction} obtained using a third vehicle {compilation of data from multiple vehicles, ¶191}, a second location {Lidar used for localization and establishing bounding shape location, ¶22-23, and ¶68 describes associating “location information” with pixel level image data} of the boundary of the intersection as represented by the second image data {sides adjacent to bottom edge 330 in Fig. 3B, ¶49}; determining, based at least on the second location of the boundary, a second corresponding location of the boundary on the map {this is simply a duplication of “determining…a first corresponding location” above [MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B], as will be appreciated by one skilled in the art}; determining, based at least on the first corresponding location on the map and the second corresponding location on the map, a final location of the boundary of the intersection as represented by the map {box 322 in Fig. 322 is modified to get the reduced sized bounding box with sides 330 and 336, wherein the location of upper corners of the bounding box have been changed (see ¶68 for discussion of location information being determined for all edges and vertices of a bounding box)}; and updating the map {adding data to update a map is described in ¶91} to indicate the final location of the intersection {updating of intersection coverage maps is described in ¶47, and is associated with an exchange of map data between the perception layer of the vehicle’s control system”, ¶78 and ¶95] and external server(s) ¶91}.
Regarding Claim 19, Mohammadabadi discloses the limitations of Claim 18. In addition, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: wherein: the determining the first corresponding location comprises projecting {adding or projecting data onto a map (per the discussion of updating of intersection coverage maps in ¶47), starts with the detection and classification of intersections (¶11, 12, 41) and includes using the bounding box approach which associates box “edges, vertices, and/or other features of the bounding box(es)” with the intersection (¶40), such that adjacent or opposing edges of a box (e.g., 322 in Fig. 3B) are representative of first and second boundaries (e.g., 330 and 336 in Fig. 3B)}, based at least on localizing {Lidar used for localization and establishing bounding shape location, ¶22-23} the second vehicle {servers receive data from multiple vehicles, ¶191-193}, the first location to the first corresponding location of the boundary as represented by the map {bottom edge 330, Fig. 3B and ¶49}; and the determining the second corresponding location comprises projecting {duplication of “projecting” discussed above [MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B], as will be appreciated by one skilled in the art}, based at least on localizing {Lidar used for localization and establishing bounding shape location, ¶22-23} the third vehicle {servers receive data from multiple vehicles, ¶191-193}, the second location to the second corresponding location of the boundary as represented by the map {sides adjacent to bottom edge 330 in Fig. 3B, ¶49}.
Regarding Claim 20, Mohammadabadi discloses the limitations of Claim 18. In addition, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: wherein the process is comprised in at least one of: a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a perception system {perception processing, ¶78} for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine {“the intersection becomes critical to safe and effective autonomous and/or semi-autonomous driving”, ¶3}; a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing digital twin operations; a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for performing collaborative content creation for 3D assets; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system implemented using a robot; a system for performing conversational AI operations; a system for generating synthetic data; a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources.
Regarding Claim 21, Mohammadabadi discloses the limitations of Claim 18. In addition, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: wherein the map is further generated by: determining one or more third boundary locations of one or more second boundaries of the intersection {the examiner interprets this as determining third boundary locations associated with second boundary locations; Lidar used for localization and establishing bounding shape location (¶22-23) and determining bounding box coordinates for edges and vertices (¶40), as such the coordinates for the middle and ends of bottom edge 330 in Fig. 3B are known, and represent three locations along a boundary, as will be appreciated by one skilled in the art}; determining, based at least on connecting the final boundary location with the one or more third boundary locations , a bounding shape associated with the intersection location of the intersection {generation of a bounding box, with a bottom edge 330 in Fig. 3B (and ¶47, 49) clearly involves connecting edge 336 to the sides of the box; one skilled in the art will appreciate that an overall representation of the bounding area of a four-way intersection begins by first combining the boundary of a first intersection side with a second intersection side}, wherein the updating the map to indicate the intersection final location of the intersection comprises updating the map to indicate the boundary shape {updating intersection coverage maps, ¶47-49}.
Regarding Claim 22, Mohammadabadi discloses the limitations of Claim 9. In addition, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: determine, based at least on the second locations of the boundaries of the intersection on the map, final locations of the boundaries of the intersection on the map {final bounding box and intersection coordinates, ¶85, are based on multiple images feed into a neural network, ¶25}, wherein the bounding shape is generated by at least connecting the final locations of the boundaries on the map {generation of a bounding box, with a bottom edge 330 in Fig. 3B (and ¶47, 49) clearly involves connecting edge 336 to the sides of the box; one skilled in the art will appreciate that an overall representation of the bounding area of a four-way intersection begins by first combining the boundary of a first intersection side with a second intersection side}.
Regarding Claim 24, Mohammadabadi discloses the limitations of Claim 9. In addition, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: wherein bounding shape further indicates a layout of the intersection within an environment {322, Fig. 3B}.
Regarding Claim 25, Mohammadabadi discloses the limitations of Claim 9. In addition, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: wherein the connecting the second boundary locations on the map comprises at least: identifying individual second boundary locations of the second boundary locations that are associated with individual boundaries of the boundaries of the intersection {final bounding box and intersection coordinates, ¶85, are based on multiple images feed into a neural network, ¶25, one skilled in the will appreciate that this will lead to a compilation of data for each feature the intersection that is distilled or processed to determine a final boundary}; and connecting the individual boundary locations together {one skilled in the art will appreciate that generating a final bounding box (¶85) is a compilation of individual sides; as previously mentioned, generation of a bounding box, with a bottom edge 330 in Fig. 3B (and ¶47, 49) clearly involves connecting edge 336 to the sides of the box}.
Claims 1-8, 17 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mohammadabadi et al. (US 2024/0101118 A), henceforth Mohammadabadi and Bagwell et al. (US 10,936,902 B1, henceforth Bagwell).
Regarding Claim 1, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: a method comprising: causing a first vehicle to navigate through an intersection {approaching and navigating through an intersection, ¶78 and Fig. 2A} based at least on map data corresponding to a map {intersection coverage maps 110 and 126, Fig. 1}, wherein the map is generated {generation of coverage maps, ¶26-28 (e.g., “generate intersection locations, coverage maps”, ¶26)}, at least, by: receiving image data obtained using one or more sensors {detecting and classifying intersections aided by vehicle sensors, ¶72 and Fig. 5} of one or more second vehicles {map information determined through the compilation of data from multiple vehicles, ¶191}, the image data representative of images depicting one or more portions of the intersection {¶25 teaches of a multiple image capturing devices, producing a continuous stream of images of an intersection; with respect to Fig. 2A, vehicle sensors capture bounding shape 204 intersection 206, thus providing estimates of the location of all 4 sides of this 4-way intersection; in addition, the aforementioned "multiple vehicle” aspect of data collection (¶191), provides data about the intersection from all road perspectives}; determining, based at least on the image data, first boundary locations of a boundary {under the broadest reasonable interpretation [MPEP §2111.01(I)], a boundary location can be any location, of any length and modest width, within the image, that is generally outside the interior of an intersection; the examiner interprets “boundary locations” to be either a series of adjacent locations along the same side of a bounding box (i.e., 302 in Fig. 3A and 322 in Fig. 3B) or to correspond to adjacent sides the bounding box} associated with the intersection {“generate an understanding of each intersection”, ¶24} as represented by the images {receiving image data generated by a sensor (B402, Fig. 4), wherein the sensor data includes one or more intersections, ¶66} an individual first boundary location of the first boundary locations being associated with a respective image of the images {data regarding any side of an intersection obtained continuously from multiple vehicles about all 4 sides of a 4-way intersection (via the bounding box technique) including localization of all sides and corners of the intersection perimeter, thus providing large data sets from each vehicle estimating the location of each side of a 4-way intersection: servers receives a continuous stream of data (i.e., ¶25 teaches of a multiple image capturing devices, producing a continuous stream of images of an intersection) from multiple vehicles (¶191-193), such as bounding box 322 in Fig. 3B, which is processed to yield an updated intersection coverage map 328, ¶49, necessarily capturing all 4 sides of the 4-way intersection (as will appreciated by one skilled in the art), with localization (i.e., location information) of all sides and corners of the intersection boundary identified via the bounding box, per ¶68: “bounding box(es) 118A may include location information corresponding to the edges of the bounding box(es) 118A, vertices of the bounding box(es) 118A, etc.”}; projecting, based at least on locations associated with the one or more second vehicles when obtaining the image data, the first boundary locations from the images to second boundary locations of the boundary as represented by the map {adding or projecting data onto a map (per the discussion of updating of intersection coverage maps in ¶47), starts with the detection and classification of intersections (¶11, 12, 41) and includes using the bounding box approach which associates box “edges, vertices, and/or other features of the bounding box(es)” with the intersection (¶40), such that adjacent or opposing edges of a box (e.g., 322 in Fig. 3B) are representative of first and second boundaries (e.g., 330 and 336 in Fig. 3B)}; determining, based at least on a grouping {the grouping of comparable boundary data is not dealt with here, but rather below by way of an additional piece of prior art} of the second boundary locations as being associated with the boundary {the “multiple vehicles” of intersection data, in ¶191, corresponds to each vehicle providing a “top”, “bottom”, “left-side” or “right-side” of the bounding shape 204, Fig. 2A, thus each side of a four-way intersection is represented by multiple pieces of data, in which one side can represent a first boundary and an adjacent side a second boundary}, a final boundary location of the boundary as represented by the map {the final bounding box (and intersection coordinates) described in ¶85 is based on multiple images feed into a neural network, ¶25, which one skilled in the art will appreciate corresponds to a compilation of data related to the area, location and position of an intersection that will be distilled by the neural network into a single output for each area, location and position of the intersection , ¶85 and outputs 106, Fig. 5}; and updating, based at least on the final boundary location, the map {adding data to update a map is described in ¶91 } to indicate an intersection location associated with the intersection {updating of intersection coverage maps is described in ¶47, and is associated with an exchange of map data between the perception layer of the vehicle’s control system, ¶78 and ¶95 and external server(s) ¶91}.
Mohammadabadi does not appear to explicitly recite the limitations: determining, based at least on a grouping of the second boundary locations as being associated with the boundary, a final boundary location of the boundary as represented by the map .
However, Bagwell explicitly recites the limitation: determining, based at least on a grouping of the second boundary locations as being associated with the boundary, a final boundary location of the boundary as represented by the map {Col. 11, Lns. 49-60 teaches of averaging bounding box representations, corresponding to equivalent box sides being grouped together and then averaged to generate a final determination for the side (i.e., an output bounding box determined by averaging input bounding boxes, Col. 3, Lns. 26-35); updating maps using processed sensor data is also taught in Col. 25, Lns. 15-17 and Fig. 6}.
Mohammadabadi and Bagwell are analogous art because they both use the bounding box approach to aid navigation of an autonomous vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Mohammadabadi and Bagwell before them, to modify the teachings of Mohammadabadi to include the teachings of Bagwell to enable updating maps with sensor data {Col. 25, Lns. 15-17} wherein the data can be processed using the bounding box technique {Col. 3, Lns. 26-35}.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Mohammadabadi and Bagwell discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as discussed supra. In addition, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: wherein the map is further generated by: receiving sensor data obtained using one or more second sensors {102, Fig. 1 and B402, Fig. 4} of the one or more second vehicles {servers receive data from multiple vehicles, ¶191-193}, the sensor data representative of the locations associated with the one or more second vehicles {detection and classification of intersections using sensors including cameras, radar and LIDAR ¶22 & ¶25} when obtaining the image data {localizing different portions of a bounding box: “associating location information corresponding to a location of the bounding shape with at least one pixel within the bounding shape based at least in part on the first data. For example, bounding box(es) 118A may include location information corresponding to the edges of the bounding box(es) 118A, vertices of the bounding box(es) 118A, etc.”, ¶68}; and determining the locations associated with the one or more second vehicles based at least on the sensor data {“the updated…map information 794 may have resulted from new training and/or experiences represented in data received from any number of vehicles in the environment”, ¶91, wherein the data includes intersection coordinates associated with detection and classification of intersections, ¶41}.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Mohammadabadi and Bagwell discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as discussed supra. In addition, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: wherein the determining the first boundary locations of the boundary comprises: determining, based at least on the image data, bounding shapes indicating areas of the images that depict the intersection {see at least ¶47 and Fig. 3B, determining bounding box related to an intersection using vehicle sensor data}; and determining, based at least on the bounding shapes, the first boundary locations of the boundary associated with the intersection {bottom edge 330 of bounding box in Fig. 3B (se also ¶49)}.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Mohammadabadi and Bagwell discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as discussed supra. In addition, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: wherein the map is further generated by: receiving second image data obtained using the one or more sensors of the one or more second vehicles {servers receive data from multiple vehicles, ¶191-193, and “data received from any number of vehicles in the environment”, ¶91}, the second image data representative of one or more second images depicting one or more second portions of the intersection {sides of bounding box, adjacent bottom edge 330 in Fig. 3B, ¶49}; and determining, based at least on the second image data, one or more third boundary locations of a second boundary associated with the intersection {Lidar used for localization and establishing bounding shape location (¶22-23) and determining bounding box coordinates for edges and vertices at the pixel level (¶40), as such the coordinates for the middle and ends of bottom edge 330 in Fig. 3B are known, to one skilled in the art}, wherein the updating the map to indicate the intersection location associated with the intersection is further based at least on the one or more third boundary locations of the second boundary {updating intersection coverage maps, ¶47-48}.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Mohammadabadi and Bagwell discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as discussed supra. In addition, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: wherein the map is further generated by: determining, based at least on the grouping of the second boundary locations, a bounding shape associated with the boundary as represented by the map {generation of coverage maps includes relating bounding shapes, location and bounding boxes: “The labeled bounding boxes and the semantic information may then be used by a ground truth encoder to generate intersection locations, coverage maps, confidence values, attributes, distances, distance coverage maps, and/or other information corresponding to the intersection as determined from the annotations. Locations of intersection bounding shapes may be encoded to generate one or more intersection coverage maps.”, ¶27-28}, wherein the determining the final boundary location of the boundary is based at least on the bounding shape {final bounding box and intersection coordinates (¶85) are based on multiple images feed into a neural network, ¶25; in addition, ¶25 describes determining the location of “bounding shape(s) corresponding to an intersection(s)”}.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Mohammadabadi and Bagwell discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as discussed supra. In addition, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: wherein the map is further generated by: determining a filtered set of boundary locations of the boundary by removing one or more second boundary locations from the grouping of the second boundary locations {Figs. 3A-3B represent the process of creating a bounding box that contains the field-of-view/FOV limited to an intersection, wherein filtering occurs from the initial bounding box estimate of the FOV, i.e., 304/326, to the final bounding box estimate, i.e., 306/328, ¶47}; wherein the determining the final boundary location of the boundary is based at least on the filtered set of boundary locations {328 in Fig. 3B relative to 326 represents image processing (¶47&49), of which filtering data is a well-known technique, as will be appreciated by one skilled in the art}.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Mohammadabadi and Bagwell discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as discussed supra. Mohammadabadi does not appear to explicitly recite the limitation: wherein the determining the final boundary location comprises determining the final boundary location as an average location of the second boundary locations included in the grouping.
However, Bagwell explicitly recites the limitation: wherein the determining the final boundary location comprises determining the final boundary location as an average location of the second boundary locations included in the grouping {Col. 11, Lns. 49-60 teaches of averaging bounding box representations, corresponding to equivalent box sides being grouped together and then averaged to generate a final determination for the side (i.e., an output bounding box determined by averaging input bounding boxes, Col. 3, Lns. 26-35)}.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Mohammadabadi and Bagwell discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as discussed supra. In addition, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: wherein the updating the map {¶91} is further by: receiving sensor data obtained using the one or more second vehicles {servers receive data from multiple vehicles, ¶191-193}, the sensor data representative of the locations of the one or more second vehicles, while the one or more second vehicles obtained the image data {detection and classification of intersections using sensors including cameras radar and LIDAR ¶22 & ¶25}; and localizing, based at least on the sensor data, the one or more second vehicles with respect to the map {localizing different portions of a bounding box: “associating location information corresponding to a location of the bounding shape with at least one pixel within the bounding shape based at least in part on the first data. For example, bounding box(es) 118A may include location information corresponding to the edges of the bounding box(es) 118A, vertices of the bounding box(es) 118A, etc.”, ¶68}, wherein the projecting the first boundary locations is based at least on the localizing {determination of coordinates of intersection features: the detection and classification of intersections in ¶41 includes using the bounding box approach to associate bounding box “edges, vertices, and/or other features of the bounding box(es)” with the intersection (¶40), and, as described in ¶74, the bounding box coordinates are used to determine intersection coordinates}.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Mohammadabadi and Bagwell discloses all the limitations of Claim 8, as discussed supra. In addition, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: wherein the system is comprised in at least one of: a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a perception system {perception processing, ¶78} for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine {“the intersection becomes critical to safe and effective autonomous and/or semi-autonomous driving”, ¶03}; a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing digital twin operations; a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for performing collaborative content creation for 3D assets; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system implemented using a robot; a system for performing conversational AI operations; a system for generating synthetic data; a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources.
Regarding Claim 23, Mohammadabadi discloses the limitations of Claim 22, as discussed supra. In addition, Mohammadabadi explicitly recites the limitations: wherein the determination of the final locations of the boundaries of the intersection comprises: determining sets of the second locations that are associated with individual boundaries of the boundaries of the intersection {data regarding a second side of an intersection obtained continuously from multiple vehicles about all 4 sides of a 4-way intersection including localization of sides and corners of the intersection perimeter: servers receives a continuous stream of data (i.e., ¶25 teaches of a multiple image capturing devices, producing a continuous stream of images of an intersection) from multiple vehicles (¶191-193), such as bounding box 322 in Fig. 3B, which is processed to yield an updated intersection coverage map 328, ¶49, necessarily capturing all 4 sides of the 4-way intersection (as will appreciated by one skilled in the art), with localization (i.e., location information) of all sides and corners of the intersection boundary identified via the bounding box, per ¶68: “bounding box(es) 118A may include location information corresponding to the edges of the bounding box(es) 118A, vertices of the bounding box(es) 118A, etc.”}.
Mohammadabadi does not appear to explicitly recite the limitation: averaging the sets of the second locations to determine the final locations of the boundaries of the intersection.
However, Bagwell explicitly recites the limitation: averaging the sets of the second locations to determine the final locations of the boundaries of the intersection {Col. 11, Lns. 49-60 teaches of averaging bounding box representations, corresponding to equivalent box sides being grouped together and then averaged to generate a final determination for the side (i.e., an output bounding box determined by averaging input bounding boxes, Col. 3, Lns. 26-35)}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 11,010,907 B1 - Techniques for generating a bounding box for use to assist in vehicle control by, for example, tracking an object or generating a trajectory.
/R.E.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665