DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sano et al. (US 2011/0147782).
Regarding claim 1, Sano discloses an imaging device (figs. 1, 2A, 4 and Abstract and paragraph 0003), comprising:
a first substrate (4, figs.2A, 4, 6A-C and paragraph 0047); and
a second substrate (1, figs. 2A, 4, 6A-C and paragraph 0047) adjacent to the first substrate,
wherein a first side wall of the second substrate (right side of 1, figs. 2A, 4) comprises a blade diced portion and is devoid of any stealth diced portion (top right side of 1 has only blade diced portion, figs. 2A, 4, 6B and paragraph 0088) and a second side wall of the second substrate (left side of 1, figs. 2A, 4) comprises a stealth diced portion and is devoid of any blade diced portion (bottom left side of 1 has only stealth diced portion, figs. 2A, 4, 6B-C and paragraphs 0089-0090), wherein the first and second walls are different side walls of the second substrate (right side and left side of 1, figs. 2A, 4).
Regarding claim 2, Sano further discloses wherein the first substrate (4, fig. 4) is disposed between a transparent layer (lens on top of 4, fig. 4) and the second substrate (1, fig. 4 and paragraphs 0067-0071).
Regarding claim 10, Sano further discloses a solder resist disposed on a bottom surface of the second substrate (15, figs. 2A, 5G, 6C and paragraph 0083).
Response to Arguments
First, Examiner thanks Applicant for amending the withdrawn claims in the same fashion as the pending rejected claims. Such practice will help facilitate a quick rejoinder should allowable subject matter be found.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended the independent claim to include the limitations that a first side wall of the second substrate comprises a blade diced portion and is devoid of any stealth diced portion and a second side wall of the second substrate comprises a stealth diced portion and is devoid of any blade diced portion, and argues that Sano does not disclose such features. Examiner disagrees, as mentioned in the above rejection, Sano discloses a blade diced portion of substrate 1 (fig. 6A) and a stealth diced portion of substrate 1 (fig. 6B), the blade diced portion affects only the top side wall of substrate 1, and the stealth diced portion affects only the bottom side wall of substrate 1, meaning the top side wall of substrate 1 is devoid of any stealth diced portion and the bottom side wall of substrate 1 is devoid of any blade diced portion. This is analogous to Applicant’s fig. 23 and paragraph 0266 mentioned in the arguments.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS M MENZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 8/8/26