DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sano et al. (US 2011/0147782).
Regarding claim 1, Sano discloses an imaging device (figs. 1, 2A, 4 and Abstract and paragraph 0003), comprising:
a first substrate (4, figs.2A, 4, 6A-C and paragraph 0047); and
a second substrate (1, figs. 2A, 4, 6A-C and paragraph 0047) adjacent to the first substrate,
wherein a first side wall of the second substrate (right side of 1, figs. 2A, 4) comprises a blade diced portion (figs. 2A, 4, 6B and paragraph 0088) and a second side wall of the second substrate (left side of 1, figs. 2A, 4) comprises a stealth diced portion (figs. 2A, 4, 6B-C and paragraphs 0089-0090), wherein the first and second walls are different side walls of the second substrate (right side and left side of 1, figs. 2A, 4).
Regarding claim 2, Sano further discloses wherein the first substrate (4, fig. 4) is disposed between a transparent layer (lens on top of 4, fig. 4) and the second substrate (1, fig. 4 and paragraphs 0067-0071).
Regarding claim 10, Sano further discloses a solder resist disposed on a bottom surface of the second substrate (15, figs. 2A, 5G, 6C and paragraph 0083).
Response to Arguments
First, Examiner thanks Applicant for amending the withdrawn claims in the same fashion as the pending rejected claims. Such practice will help facilitate a quick rejoinder should allowable subject matter be found.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended the independent claim to include the limitations that a first side wall of the second substrate comprises a blade diced portion and a second side wall of the second substrate comprises a stealth diced portion, wherein the first and second side walls are different side walls of the second substrate, and argues that Sano does not disclose such features. Examiner disagrees, such broad claim language amendment is still anticipated by Sano, as mentioned in the above rejection. To further clarify, the right side wall and the left side wall clearly read on the limitation of first and second side walls that are different side walls of the second substrate. Sano discloses in figures 6A-C and paragraphs 0085-0090 a dicing process which results in each side wall of substrate 1 having both a blade diced portion and a stealth diced portion. However, Applicant’s amendment states, “a first side wall of the second substrate comprises a blade diced portion” and “a second side wall of the second substrate comprises a stealth diced portion”. Such language does not exclude each side from having the other diced portion in addition. Applicant is advised to amend the independent claim to more precisely disclose Applicant’s invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS M MENZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 4/16/26