Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response filed on 12/29/2025 has been entered. Claim 1, 2, 7, 14 – 15, 19 are amended. Claims 20, 22 – 24 are canceled. Claims 1 – 19, 21 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi ( Pat. No. US 10580866 B1 ), hereinafter Takeuchi.
Regarding Independent (Currently Amended) Claim 1, Takeuchi teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 101; column 11, line 29, substrate 101 ) extending in a first direction;
a first blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 1, 25, 50; FIG. 5, 125; FIG. 6, 225s; FIG. 17, 425’; column 4, line 41, superlattice 25 ) on the lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 101; column 11, line 29, substrate 101 ) and comprising at least one first blocking film, the first blocking film comprising an oxygen-doped crystalline silicon film ( Takeuchi, FIG. 1, 50; FIG. 5, 125; FIG. 6, 225s; FIG. 17, 425’; column 6, line 57, Each energy band-modifying layer 50 may comprise a non-semiconductor selected from the group consisting of oxygen; column 11, line 23, In the semiconductor device 100 shown in FIG. 5 (a FET), a dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 125 (such as those described above in FIGS. 1-4C) is used to advantageously increase surface dopant concentration to allow a higher ND during in-situ doped epitaxial processing by preventing diffusion into a channel region 130 of the device; column 12, line 12, source diffusion blocking superlattice 225s; column 15, line 7, body contact dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 425 );
a source/drain pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 105, 107; column 11, line 35; upper source region 105, upper drain region 107 ) on the first blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 1, 25, 50; FIG. 5, 125; FIG. 6, 225s; FIG. 17, 425; column 4, line 41, superlattice 25 ); and
a gate structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 108; column 12, line 2, gate 108 ) extending in a second direction on the lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 101; column 11, line 29, substrate 101 ) and comprising a gate electrode ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 108; column 12, line 4, gate electrode 110 ) and a gate insulating film ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 108; column 12, line 3, gate insulating layer 109 ), wherein the first blocking structure connects the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern in a third direction.
the third direction ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, perpendicular to upper surface of 101 ) is perpendicular to an upper surface of the lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 101 ).
Takeuchi does not directly teach:
wherein the first blocking structure connects the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern in a third direction.
the first blocking structure is disposed between the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern along the third direction,
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create “ wherein the first blocking structure connects the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern in a third direction, the first blocking structure is disposed between the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern along the third direction ” by combining the 125’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 7C, 125’; column 12, line 41, superlattice 125′ ) with the 425’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 17, 425’; column 15, line 7, body contact dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 425 ) to be the first blocking structure, which could connect the lower pattern 101’ and the source/drain pattern 104’/106’ in a third direction, by adjusting the range of superlattice 125’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 7C ) to extend and align with the bottom edge of source/drain pattern 104’/106’, and adjusting the range of superlattice 425’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 17 ) to extend and align with the bottom edge of source/drain pattern 402’/403’, since this is within the skill level of one in the art.
Regarding (Currently Amended) Claim 2, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
wherein the first blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 1, 25, 50; FIG. 5, 125; column 4, line 41, superlattice 25 ) extends in the first direction along the upper surface of the lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 101; column 11, line 29, substrate 101 ), and
the first blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 1, 25, 50; FIG. 5, 125; column 4, line 41, superlattice 25 ) overlaps the gate structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 108; column 12, line 2, gate 108 ) in the third direction that is different from the first and second directions.
Regarding (Original) Claim 3, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 2, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
wherein a thickness of the first blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 7C, 125’; FIG. 17, 425’ ) at a portion thereof overlapping the gate structure in the third direction, a height from the upper surface of the lower pattern to a lowermost part of the source/drain pattern.
Takeuchi does not directly teach:
wherein a thickness of the first blocking structure at a portion thereof overlapping the gate structure in the third direction is greater than a height from the upper surface of the lower pattern to a lowermost part of the source/drain pattern. However, it would be within the skill level of one in the art to create the thickness of the blocking structure at a portion overlapping the gate structure based on the teachings of Takeuchi.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create “ a thickness of the first blocking structure at a portion thereof overlapping the gate structure in the third direction is greater than a height from the upper surface of the lower pattern to a lowermost part of the source/drain pattern ” by combining the 125’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 7C, 125’; column 12, line 41, superlattice 125′ ) with the 425’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 17, 425’; column 15, line 7, body contact dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 425 ) to be the first blocking structure, since this is within the skill level of one in the art.
Regarding (Previously Presented) Claim 4, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
wherein the lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 16, 401; column 14, line 67, substrate 401 ) comprises a blocking structure recess ( Takeuchi, FIG. 16, 420; column 15, line 5, body contact 420),
the first blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 16, 425; column 15, line 7, body contact dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 425 ) is in the blocking structure recess ( Takeuchi, FIG. 16, 420; column 15, line 5, body contact 420), and
the first blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 16, 425; column 15, line 7, body contact dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 425 ) does not overlap the gate electrode ( Takeuchi, FIG. 16, 410; column 15, line 4, gate electrode 410 ) in the third direction that is different from the first and second directions.
Regarding (Original) Claim 5, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 4, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
wherein the at least one first blocking film ( Takeuchi, FIG. 16, 425; column 15, line 7, body contact dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 425 ) comprises opposing surfaces ( FIG. 1, 50; column 6, line 57, Each energy band-modifying layer 50 may comprise a non-semiconductor selected from the group consisting of oxygen ) that are substantially planar in a cross-sectional view.
Regarding (Original) Claim 6, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 4, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
wherein the at least one first blocking film ( Takeuchi, FIG. 16, 425; column 15, line 7, body contact dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 425 ) has a curved surface shape ( FIG. 15, where O is placed; column 4, line 1, FIG. 15 is a series of schematic atomic level diagrams illustrating approaches by which non-semiconductor insertion layers from the MST films shown in FIGS. 1-4C may be used to provide the metal-semiconductor contacts with proximate dopants for reduced Schottky barrier heights in the embodiments of FIGS. 5-14 ) that protrudes toward a bottom of the blocking structure recess ( Takeuchi, FIG. 16, 420; column 15, line 5, body contact 420) in a cross-sectional view.
Regarding (Currently Amended) Claim 7, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 4, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
wherein the oxygen-doped crystalline silicon film is a first oxygen-doped crystalline silicon film ( Takeuchi, FIG. 16, 425; column 15, line 7, body contact dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 425 ), and further comprising:
a second blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 7C, 125’; column 12, line 41, superlattice 125′ ) that is on the upper surface of the lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 7C, 101’; ) and overlaps the gate structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 7C, 110’; column 12, line 4, gate electrode 110 ) in the third direction,
wherein the second blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 7C, 125’; column 12, line 41, superlattice 125′ ) comprises at least one second blocking film, and
the second blocking film comprises a second oxygen-doped crystalline silicon film ( Takeuchi, FIG. 7C, 125’; column 12, line 41, However, the superlattice 125′ advantageously provides desired non-semiconductor (e.g., oxygen) dose control for Fermi-level de-pinning and tunneling resistance ).
Regarding (Original) Claim 8, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
wherein the at least one first blocking film ( FIG. 1, 50; column 6, line 55, Each energy band-modifying layer 50 may comprise a non-semiconductor selected from the group consisting of oxygen ) comprises a plurality of first blocking films ( FIG. 1, 50; column 6, line 55, Each energy band-modifying layer 50 may comprise a non-semiconductor selected from the group consisting of oxygen ),
wherein the first blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 1, 25; column 4, line 41, superlattice 25 ) comprises a plurality of the first blocking films ( FIG. 1, 50; column 6, line 55, Each energy band-modifying layer 50 may comprise a non-semiconductor selected from the group consisting of oxygen ) and one or more first insertion semiconductor films ( Takeuchi, column 5, line 46, a plurality of stacked base semiconductor monolayers 46 ),
the one or more first insertion semiconductors films ( Takeuchi, column 5, line 46, a plurality of stacked base semiconductor monolayers 46 ) comprise a crystalline silicon film ( Takeuchi, column 6, line 47, Each base semiconductor portion 46a-46n may comprise a base semiconductor selected from the group consisting of Group IV semiconductors, Group III-V semiconductors, and Group II-VI semiconductors … the base semiconductor may comprise at least one of silicon and germanium ) having a lower oxygen concentration than the first blocking films ( FIG. 1, 50; column 6, line 55, Each energy band-modifying layer 50 may comprise a non-semiconductor selected from the group consisting of oxygen ), and
the first blocking films ( FIG. 1, 50; column 6, line 55, Each energy band-modifying layer 50 may comprise a non-semiconductor selected from the group consisting of oxygen ) and the first insertion semiconductor films ( Takeuchi, column 5, line 46, a plurality of stacked base semiconductor monolayers 46 ) are alternately stacked ( Takeuchi, column 5, line 44, Each group of layers 45a-45n of the superlattice 25 illustratively includes a plurality of stacked base semiconductor monolayers 46 defining a respective base semiconductor portion 46a-46n and an energy band-modifying layer 50 thereon ).
Regarding (Previously Presented) Claim 9, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 8, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
wherein the first blocking films ( FIG. 1, 50; column 6, line 55, Each energy band-modifying layer 50 may comprise a non-semiconductor selected from the group consisting of oxygen ) comprise a first sub-blocking film and a second sub- blocking film that are spaced apart in the third direction that is different from the first and second directions, and
a thickness of the first sub-blocking film is different ( Takeuchi, column 1, line 51, Each barrier region consists of alternate layers of SiO2/Si with a thickness generally in a range of two to six monolayers; column 1, line 66, The silicon growth beyond the adsorbed monolayer of oxygen is described as epitaxial with a fairly low defect density. One SAS structure included a 1.1 nm thick silicon portion that is about eight atomic layers of silicon, and another structure had twice this thickness of silicon ) from a thickness of the second sub- blocking film.
Regarding (Previously Presented) Claim 10, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 8, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
wherein the first blocking films ( FIG. 1, 50; column 6, line 55, Each energy band-modifying layer 50 may comprise a non-semiconductor selected from the group consisting of oxygen ) comprise a first sub-blocking film and a second sub- blocking film that are spaced apart in the third direction that is different from the first and second directions, and
a concentration of oxygen in the first sub-blocking film is different ( Takeuchi, column 6, line 55, Each energy band-modifying layer 50 may comprise a non-semiconductor selected from the group consisting of oxygen, nitrogen, fluorine, carbon and carbon-oxygen ) from a concentration of oxygen in the second sub-blocking film.
Regarding (Previously Presented) Claim 11, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
a plurality of sheet patterns ( FIG. 10, 300, 351; column 13, line 47, An example FINFET 300; column 13, line 50, semiconductor fins 351 extending vertically upward from the substrate through the insulating layer ) spaced apart from the lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 10, 301, 350; column 13, line 47, An example FINFET 300 illustratively includes a semiconductor layer or substrate 301 (e.g., silicon), an insulating layer 350 on the substrate (e.g., SiO2) ) in the third direction that is different from the first and second directions,
wherein the gate structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 10, 308; column 14, line 5, The FINFET 300 also illustratively includes a gate 308 overlying the channel regions 330 of the fins 351. The gate 308 illustratively includes a gate insulator 309 and a gate electrode 310 on the gate insulator ) comprises an inner gate structure ( Takeuchi, column 14, line 5, The gate 308 illustratively includes a gate insulator 309 and a gate electrode 310 on the gate insulator ) between the lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 10, 301, 350; column 13, line 47, An example FINFET 300 illustratively includes a semiconductor layer or substrate 301 (e.g., silicon), an insulating layer 350 on the substrate (e.g., SiO2) ) and the sheet patterns ( FIG. 10, 300, 351; column 13, line 47, An example FINFET 300; column 13, line 50, semiconductor fins 351 extending vertically upward from the substrate through the insulating layer ) and between ones of the sheet patterns, and the inner gate structure comprises the gate electrode ( Takeuchi, column 14, line 5, gate electrode 310 ) and the gate insulating film ( Takeuchi, column 14, line 5, gate insulator 309 ).
Regarding (Original) Claim 12, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 11, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
wherein the source/drain pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 10, 305; column 13, line 57, upper source region 305 ) contacts the gate insulating film ( Takeuchi, column 14, line 5, gate insulator 309 ) of the inner gate structure ( Takeuchi, column 14, line 5, The gate 308 illustratively includes a gate insulator 309 and a gate electrode 310 on the gate insulator ).
Regarding (Original) Claim 13, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 11, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
wherein the gate structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 10, 308; column 14, line 5, The FINFET 300 also illustratively includes a gate 308 overlying the channel regions 330 of the fins 351. The gate 308 illustratively includes a gate insulator 309 and a gate electrode 310 on the gate insulator ) further comprises an inner spacer ( FIG. 16, 411; column 15, line 1, sidewall spacers 411 ) between the inner gate structure ( Takeuchi, column 14, line 5, The gate 308 illustratively includes a gate insulator 309 and a gate electrode 310 on the gate insulator ) and the source/drain pattern ( FIG. 16, 404, 405; column 14, line 65, lightly doped source/drain extensions 404, 405 ).
Regarding Independent (Currently Amended) Claim 14, Takeuchi teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 101; column 11, line 29, substrate 101 ) extending in a first direction;
a blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 1, 25, 50; FIG. 5, 125; FIG. 6, 225s; FIG. 17, 425’; column 4, line 41, superlattice 25 ) on the lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 101; column 11, line 29, substrate 101 ) and comprising at least one blocking film, the at least one blocking film comprising an oxygen-doped crystalline silicon film ( Takeuchi, FIG. 1, 50; FIG. 5, 125; FIG. 6, 225s; FIG. 17, 425’; column 6, line 57, Each energy band-modifying layer 50 may comprise a non-semiconductor selected from the group consisting of oxygen; column 11, line 23, In the semiconductor device 100 shown in FIG. 5 (a FET), a dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 125 (such as those described above in FIGS. 1-4C) is used to advantageously increase surface dopant concentration to allow a higher ND during in-situ doped epitaxial processing by preventing diffusion into a channel region 130 of the device; column 12, line 12, source diffusion blocking superlattice 225s; column 15, line 7, body contact dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 425 );
a plurality of sheet patterns ( FIG. 10, 300, 351; column 13, line 47, An example FINFET 300; column 13, line 50, semiconductor fins 351 extending vertically upward from the substrate through the insulating layer ) on the blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 1, 25, 50; FIG. 5, 125; FIG. 6, 225s; FIG. 17, 425’; column 4, line 41, superlattice 25 ) and arranged in a second direction;
a gate structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 108; column 12, line 2, gate 108 ) extending in a third direction on the lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 101; column 11, line 29, substrate 101 ) and comprising a gate electrode ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 108; column 12, line 4, gate electrode 110 ) and a gate insulating film ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 108; column 12, line 3, gate insulating layer 109 ), the gate electrode overlapping the blocking structure in the second direction; and
a source/drain pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 105, 107; column 11, line 35; upper source region 105, upper drain region 107; FIG. 10, 305; column 13, line 57, upper source region 305 ) that overlaps the blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 1, 25, 50; FIG. 5, 125; FIG. 6, 225s; FIG. 17, 425’; column 4, line 41, superlattice 25 ) in the second direction and is connected to the sheet pattern ( FIG. 10, 300, 351; column 13, line 47, An example FINFET 300; column 13, line 50, semiconductor fins 351 extending vertically upward from the substrate through the insulating layer ),
wherein the blocking structure connects the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern in the second direction.
the second direction ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, perpendicular to upper surface of 101 ) is perpendicular to an upper surface of the lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 101 ).
Takeuchi does not directly teach:
wherein the blocking structure connects the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern in the second direction.
the first blocking structure is disposed between the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern along the second direction,
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create “ wherein the blocking structure connects the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern in the second direction, the first blocking structure is disposed between the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern along the second direction ” by combining the 125 ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 125 ) with the 425’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 17, 425’; column 15, line 7, body contact dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 425 ) to be the first blocking structure, which could connect the lower pattern 101 and the source/drain pattern 104/106 in the second direction, by adjusting the range of superlattice 125 ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5 ) to extend and align with the bottom edge of source/drain pattern 104/106, and adjusting the range of superlattice 425’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 17 ) to extend and align with the bottom edge of source/drain pattern 402’/403’, since this is within the skill level of one in the art.
Regarding (Currently Amended) Claim 15, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 14, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
wherein the at least one blocking film comprises a first sub-blocking film ( Takeuchi, FIG. 1, 25, 50; FIG. 5, 125; FIG. 17, 425’; column 4, line 41, superlattice 25 ) extending along the upper surface of the lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 101; column 11, line 29, substrate 101 ), and
the first sub-blocking film ( Takeuchi, FIG. 1, 25, 50; FIG. 5, 125; FIG. 17, 425’; column 4, line 41, superlattice 25 ) overlaps the source/drain pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 105, 107; column 11, line 35; upper source region 105, upper drain region 107; FIG. 10, 305; column 13, line 57, upper source region 305 ) and the gate structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 108; column 12, line 2, gate 108 ) in the second direction.
Regarding (Original) Claim 16, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 15, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
wherein the at least one blocking film further comprises a second sub-blocking film (Takeuchi, FIG. 7C, 125’; column 12, line 41, superlattice 125′) on the first sub-blocking film ( Takeuchi, FIG. 1, 25, 50; FIG. 5, 125; FIG. 17, 425’; column 4, line 41, superlattice 25 ), and
Takeuchi does not directly teach:
a height from the upper surface of the lower pattern to the second sub-blocking film is greater than a height from the upper surface of the lower pattern to a lowermost part of the source/drain pattern. However, it would be within the skill level of one in the art to create a height from the upper surface of the lower pattern to the second sub-blocking film which is greater than a height from the upper surface of the lower pattern to a lowermost part of the source/drain pattern based on the teachings of Takeuchi.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create “ a height from the upper surface of the lower pattern to the second sub-blocking film is greater than a height from the upper surface of the lower pattern to a lowermost part of the source/drain pattern ” by combining the 125’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 7C, 125’; column 12, line 41, superlattice 125′ ) with the 425’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 17, 425’; column 15, line 7, body contact dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 425 ) to be the second sub-blocking film, since this is within the skill level of one in the art.
Regarding (Original) Claim 17, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 14, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
wherein the blocking structure comprises a first blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 6, 225s ) and a second blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 125 ),
the first blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 6, 225s ) comprises at least one first blocking film,
the second blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 125 ) comprises at least one second blocking film,
the at least one first blocking film ( Takeuchi, FIG. 6, 225s ) and the at least one second blocking film ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 125 ) comprise a first oxygen-doped crystalline silicon film ( Takeuchi, column 12, line 12, source diffusion blocking superlattice 225s ) and a second oxygen-doped crystalline silicon film, respectively ( Takeuchi, column 12, line 12, source diffusion blocking superlattice 225s ), and
the first blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 6, 225s ) overlaps the source/drain pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 6, 205, 207; column 12, line 18, upper source and drain regions 205, 207 ) in the second direction and does not overlap the gate electrode ( Takeuchi, FIG. 6, 208; column 12, line 22, gate 208 ) in the second direction.
Regarding (Original) Claim 18, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 17, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
wherein the first blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 6, 225s ) is on the second blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 125 ).
Regarding Independent (Currently Amended) Claim 19, Takeuchi teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 101; column 11, line 29, substrate 101 ) that extends in a first direction and comprises a blocking structure recess ( Takeuchi, FIG. 16, 420; column 15, line 5, body contact 420);
a blocking structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 1, 25, 50; FIG. 6, 225s; column 4, line 41, superlattice 25 ) on the lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 101; column 11, line 29, substrate 101 ) and comprising a plurality of blocking films and one or more insertion semiconductor films ( Takeuchi, column 5, line 46, a plurality of stacked base semiconductor monolayers 46 ), the blocking films comprising an oxygen-doped crystalline silicon film ( Takeuchi, FIG. 6, 225s; column 6, line 57, Each energy band-modifying layer 50 may comprise a non-semiconductor selected from the group consisting of oxygen ), and the insertion semiconductor films comprising a crystalline silicon film having a lower oxygen concentration than the blocking films ( Takeuchi, FIG. 6, 225s; column 12, line 12, source diffusion blocking superlattice 225s );
a plurality of sheet patterns ( FIG. 10, 300, 351; column 13, line 47, An example FINFET 300; column 13, line 50, semiconductor fins 351 extending vertically upward from the substrate through the insulating layer ) on the lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 101; column 11, line 29, substrate 101 ) and arranged in a second direction;
a source/drain pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 10, 305; column 13, line 57, upper source region 305 ) connected to the sheet pattern ( FIG. 10, 300, 351; column 13, line 47, An example FINFET 300; column 13, line 50, semiconductor fins 351 extending vertically upward from the substrate through the insulating layer ) on the blocking structure and comprising n-type dopants ( FIG. 11, 305, 307; column 13, line 64, upper source/drain regions 305, 307 ); and
a gate structure ( Takeuchi, FIG. 10, 308; column 14, line 5, The FINFET 300 also illustratively includes a gate 308 overlying the channel regions 330 of the fins 351. The gate 308 illustratively includes a gate insulator 309 and a gate electrode 310 on the gate insulator ) extending in a third direction on the lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 101; column 11, line 29, substrate 101 ) and comprising a gate electrode ( Takeuchi, column 14, line 5, gate electrode 310 ) and a gate insulating film ( Takeuchi, column 14, line 5, gate insulator 309 ),
wherein the blocking structure connects the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern in the second direction.
the second direction ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, perpendicular to upper surface of 101 ) is perpendicular to an upper surface of the lower pattern ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 101 ).
Takeuchi does not directly teach:
wherein the blocking structure connects the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern in the second direction.
the first blocking structure is disposed between the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern along the second direction,
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create “ wherein the blocking structure connects the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern in the second direction, the first blocking structure is disposed between the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern along the second direction ” by combining the 125 ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 125 ) with the 425’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 17, 425’; column 15, line 7, body contact dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 425 ) to be the first blocking structure, which could connect the lower pattern 101 and the source/drain pattern 104/106 in the second direction, by adjusting the range of superlattice 125 ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5 ) to extend and align with the bottom edge of source/drain pattern 104/106, and adjusting the range of superlattice 425’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 17 ) to extend and align with the bottom edge of source/drain pattern 402’/403’, since this is within the skill level of one in the art.
Regarding (Previously Presented) Claim 21, Takeuchi teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 19, on which this claim is dependent, Takeuchi further teaches:
wherein the plurality of blocking films ( Takeuchi, FIG. 1, 25, 50; FIG. 6, 225s; column 4, line 41, superlattice 25 ) do not overlap the gate electrode ( Takeuchi, FIG. 6; 210; column 12, line 23, gate electrode 210 ) in the second direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument for claim 1: page 8, line 10 from bottom, cited “ However, superlattice 125' is not disposed between substrate 101' and source/drain layer 104'/106' in direction perpendicular to the upper surface of the substrate, as described by claim 1. Rather, source/drain layer 104'/106' of Takeuchi is adjacent to superlattice 125' in a direction parallel to the upper surface of the substrate. Moreover, FIG. 17 of Takeuchi does not remedy the deficiencies of FIG. 7C. FIG. 17 of Takeuchi shows that super lattice 425' is disposed below substrate 401', rather than between the source/drain layer 402'/403' and substrate 401' in a direction perpendicular to the upper surface of the substrate 401'. In contrast to Takeuchi, FIG. 2 of the instant application shows and supports blocking structure 110 disposed between lower pattern BPl and source/drain pattern 150 in third direction D3 that is perpendicular to the upper surface BPl_US of lower pattern BPl. Because Takeuchi does not disclose each and every limitation of claim 1, Takeuchi does not render claim 1 obvious. ”.
Examiner’s response: please refer to claim 1 in Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 of this office action, cited “ However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create “ wherein the first blocking structure connects the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern in a third direction, the first blocking structure is disposed between the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern along the third direction ” by combining the 125’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 7C, 125’; column 12, line 41, superlattice 125′ ) with the 425’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 17, 425’; column 15, line 7, body contact dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 425 ) to be the first blocking structure, which could connect the lower pattern 101’ and the source/drain pattern 104’/106’ in a third direction, by adjusting the range of superlattice 125’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 7C ) to extend and align with the bottom edge of source/drain pattern 104’/106’, and adjusting the range of superlattice 425’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 17 ) to extend and align with the bottom edge of source/drain pattern 402’/403’, since this is within the skill level of one in the art. ”.
Applicant’s argument for claim 14: page 9, line 7, cited “ For reasons that should be clear in view of the response above with respect to claim 1, Takeuchi does not disclose, nor does it render obvious, the above-referenced features, as recited in independent claim 14. Because Takeuchi does not disclose each and every limitation of claim 14. ”.
Examiner’s response: please refer to claim 14 in Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 of this office action, cited “ However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create “ wherein the blocking structure connects the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern in the second direction, the first blocking structure is disposed between the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern along the second direction ” by combining the 125 ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 125 ) with the 425’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 17, 425’; column 15, line 7, body contact dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 425 ) to be the first blocking structure, which could connect the lower pattern 101 and the source/drain pattern 104/106 in the second direction, by adjusting the range of superlattice 125 ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5 ) to extend and align with the bottom edge of source/drain pattern 104/106, and adjusting the range of superlattice 425’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 17 ) to extend and align with the bottom edge of source/drain pattern 402’/403’, since this is within the skill level of one in the art. ”.
Applicant’s argument for claim 19: page 9, line 15, cited “ For reasons that should be clear in view of the response above with respect to claim 1, Takeuchi does not disclose, nor does it render obvious, the above-referenced features, as recited in independent claim 19. ”.
Examiner’s response: please refer to claim 19 in Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 of this office action, cited “ However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create “ wherein the blocking structure connects the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern in the second direction, the first blocking structure is disposed between the lower pattern and the source/drain pattern along the second direction ” by combining the 125 ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5, 125 ) with the 425’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 17, 425’; column 15, line 7, body contact dopant diffusion blocking superlattice 425 ) to be the first blocking structure, which could connect the lower pattern 101 and the source/drain pattern 104/106 in the second direction, by adjusting the range of superlattice 125 ( Takeuchi, FIG. 5 ) to extend and align with the bottom edge of source/drain pattern 104/106, and adjusting the range of superlattice 425’ ( Takeuchi, FIG. 17 ) to extend and align with the bottom edge of source/drain pattern 402’/403’, since this is within the skill level of one in the art. ”.
Conclusion
/DA-WEI LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817