DETAILED ACTION
RCE filed 1/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 and 14-17 have been amended.
Claims 23-24 are newly added.
Claims 1-24 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujisawa (US20210103868A1) in view of Hodge et al. (US20200349666A1; “Hodge”), Chu et al. (US20180197418A1; “Chu”), and Hodge et al. (US20200349345A1; “Hodge2”).
Regarding claims 1, 23, and 24,
Fujisawa discloses a mobility service providing method (Fig. 6) for providing a service (Title: Distributing Automobile and Automobile Distribution System) for causing at least one edge-equipped vehicle (Fig. 1, vehicles 12a-c), which is a vehicle equipped with an edge device that communicates with a server device (Fig. 2, communication interface 206 of vehicle; Fig. 5, communication interface 506 of server; paragraph 72), to execute a request application, which is an application registered in the server device (Fig. 6, S601-S609 at t1-7; paragraphs 92-96; application is downloaded by user terminal, registered/stored in the server, vehicles status is reported/acquired and start automotive distribution guidance is requested).
Fujisawa further shows determining, by the server device, as a distribution target vehicle, the at least one edge-equipped vehicle that satisfies a distribution requirement set in association with the request application (Fig. 6, S610-S617 at t7-t11; paragraph 97-103; server searches for vehicles that can be distributed according to the parameters of the request until the user terminal requests automotive distribution from the displayed search results) and distributing, by the server device, the request application to the edge device mounted on the distribution target vehicle (Fig. S618; paragraph 104; server transmits the automotive distribution command to the selected/requested vehicle).
Fujisawa then shows executing, by the edge device, the request application distributed from the server device using a resource provided in the at least one edge-equipped vehicle (Fig. 6, S619 at t12; paragraph 105; display of automotive distribution command at the vehicle) and transmitting, by the edge device, resource information related to an usage status of the resource for the executing of the request application to the server device (Fig. 6, S620 at t13; paragraph 105-106; accept/non-accept of automotive distribution of the vehicle to the server).
Fujisawa further shows generating, by the server device, first compensation information for charging to an user who requests a processing of the request application (Fig. 6, S621-623 at t13-15; paragraph 21, 93, 95, 98, 107-108, 114, 117-119, 127, 139; server notifies user of accepted automotive distribution of the particular vehicle accepting the command including usage price and user payment info).
Fujisawa fails to expressly disclose second compensation information for paying to an owner of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle who provides the resource according to the resource information transmitted from the edge device.
Hodge discloses analogous art of an Enhanced Vehicle Sharing System (Title) including a cloud server (Fig. 7, 1103) establishing a network of ridesharing vehicle-mounted client devices (Fig. 7, 101a-d; paragraphs 84-89) and further including compensation information for paying to an owner of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle who provides the resource according to the resource information transmitted from the edge device (paragraphs 6-11, 23, 90, 111, 121; owner of the vehicle/rideshare account receives payment for various use of vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa by providing compensation information for paying to an owner of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle who provides the resource according to the resource information transmitted from the edge device, as shown by Hodge, thereby third-party ridesharing service using privately-owned vehicles and a billing/payment system to accommodate a variety of automobile distribution services.
Fujisawa and Hodge do not expressly disclose resource information includes at least two of avg/maximum CPU usage rate or avg/maximum memory usage rate of the resource executing the application.
Chu discloses analogous art (Title: Systems/Methods for Managing Assets in a Geographical Location; paragraph 144, 164; ridesharing including pricing based on user demand) including resource information includes at least two of average/maximum CPU usage rate or average/maximum memory usage rate of the resource executing the application (paragraph 112-114; reporting real-time events including average CPU and memory usage of the resources executing the applications).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa and Hodge by providing resource information that includes at least one of average/maximum CPU and memory usage rate of the resource executing the application, as shown by Chu, thereby allowing users to more easily and efficiently select assets to transport the user to a particular geographical location.
The combination of Fujisawa (paragraph 151, Fig. 8, step 806), Hodge (paragraph 83), and Chu suggests but do not expressly disclose the distribution requirement set in association with the request application includes at least two of: shift lever of the vehicle in a parked position, voltage of the battery exceeds a predetermined threshold, or an advanced driving system of the vehicle is not activated.
Hodge2 discloses analogous art (Title: Camera Enhanced Ride Sharing) including distribution requirement set in association with the request application includes at least two of: shift lever of the vehicle in a parked position, voltage of the battery exceeds a predetermined threshold, or an advanced driving system of the vehicle is not activated (paragraphs 5-16, 70-71; Table 1 detailing operational mode based on inputs including the vehicle in a parked position and battery threshold level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa, Hodge, and Chu by providing the distribution requirement set in association with the request application to include at least two of: shift lever of the vehicle in a parked position, voltage of the battery exceeds a predetermined threshold, or an advanced driving system of the vehicle is not activated, as shown by Hodge2, thereby providing various operational modes based on the inputs/status of the edge-equipped vehicle.
Regarding claim 14,
Fujisawa discloses a mobility service providing system (Title) comprising a server device (Fig. 1, server 11) and an edge device mounted on an edge-equipped vehicle (Fig. 1, vehicles 12a-c) and communicating with the server device (Fig. 2, communication interface 206 of vehicle; Fig. 5, communication interface 506 of server; paragraph 72).
Fujisawa further discloses the edge device includes a first processor and memory (Fig. 2, 4, 5 shows processor/CPU and memory) configured to implement an application execution unit configured to execute a request application distributed from the server device using a resource provided in the edge-equipped vehicle (Fig. 6, S619 at t12; paragraph 105; display of automotive distribution command at the vehicle) and a status notification unit configured to grasp resource information related to an usage status of the resource for executing the request application, and to transmit the resource information to the server device (Fig. 6, S620 at t13; paragraph 105-106; accept/non-accept of automotive distribution of the vehicle to the server).
Fujisawa also shows the server device includes an application distribution unit configured to determine the edge-equipped vehicle that satisfies a distribution requirement set in association with the request application as a distribution target vehicle (Fig. 6, S610-S617 at t7-t11; paragraph 97-103; server searches for vehicles that can be distributed according to the parameters of the request until the user terminal requests automotive distribution from the displayed search results), to distribute the request application to the edge device mounted on the distribution target vehicle (Fig. S618; paragraph 104; server transmits the automotive distribution command to the selected/requested vehicle) and an application billing unit configured to generate first compensation information for charging to an user who requests a processing of the request application (Fig. 6, S621-623 at t13-15; paragraph 21, 93, 95, 98, 107-108, 114, 117-119, 127, 139; server notifies user of accepted automotive distribution of the particular vehicle accepting the command including usage price and user payment info).
Fujisawa fails to expressly disclose second compensation information for paying to an owner of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle who provides the resource according to the resource information transmitted from the edge device.
Hodge discloses analogous art of an Enhanced Vehicle Sharing System (Title) including a cloud server (Fig. 7, 1103) establishing a network of ridesharing vehicle-mounted client devices (Fig. 7, 101a-d; paragraphs 84-89) and further including compensation information for paying to an owner of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle who provides the resource according to the resource information transmitted from the edge device (paragraphs 6-11, 23, 90, 111, 121; owner of the vehicle/rideshare account receives payment for various use of vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa by providing compensation information for paying to an owner of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle who provides the resource according to the resource information transmitted from the edge device, as shown by Hodge, thereby third-party ridesharing service using privately-owned vehicles and a billing/payment system to accommodate a variety of automobile distribution services.
Fujisawa and Hodge do not expressly disclose resource information includes at least one of avg/maximum CPU usage rate or avg/maximum memory usage rate.
Chu discloses analogous art (Title: Systems/Methods for Managing Assets in a Geographical Location; paragraph 144, 164; ridesharing including pricing based on user demand) including resource information includes at least one of average/maximum CPU usage rate or average/maximum memory usage rate (paragraph 112-114; reporting real-time events including average CPU usage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa and Hodge by providing resource information that includes at least one of average/maximum CPU usage rate or average/maximum memory usage rate, as shown by Chu, thereby allowing users to more easily and efficiently select assets to transport the user to a particular geographical location.
The combination of Fujisawa (paragraph 151, Fig. 8, step 806), Hodge (paragraph 83), and Chu suggests but do not expressly disclose the distribution requirement set in association with the request application includes at least two of: shift lever of the vehicle in a parked position, voltage of the battery exceeds a predetermined threshold, or an advanced driving system of the vehicle is not activated.
Hodge2 discloses analogous art (Title: Camera Enhanced Ride Sharing) including distribution requirement set in association with the request application includes at least two of: shift lever of the vehicle in a parked position, voltage of the battery exceeds a predetermined threshold, or an advanced driving system of the vehicle is not activated (paragraphs 5-16, 70-71; Table 1 detailing operational mode based on inputs including the vehicle in a parked position and battery threshold level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa, Hodge, and Chu by providing the distribution requirement set in association with the request application to include at least two of: shift lever of the vehicle in a parked position, voltage of the battery exceeds a predetermined threshold, or an advanced driving system of the vehicle is not activated, as shown by Hodge2, thereby providing various operational modes based on the inputs/status of the edge-equipped vehicle.
Regarding claim 15,
Fujisawa discloses a server device (Fig. 1, server 11) providing a mobility service providing system (Title) together with an edge device that is mounted on a vehicle which is defined as an edge-equipped vehicle (Fig. 1, vehicles 12a-c) that executes a request application distributed from the server device using a resource provided in the vehicle (Fig. 6, S619 at t12; paragraph 105; display of automotive distribution command at the vehicle) and transmits resource information related to an usage status of the resource for executing the request application to the server device (Fig. 6, S620 at t13; paragraph 105-106; accept/non-accept of automotive distribution of the vehicle to the server), the server device includes a second processor and memory (Fig. 2, 4, 5 shows processor/CPU and memory) configured to implement an application distribution unit configured to determine the edge-equipped vehicle that satisfies a distribution requirement set in association with the request application as a distribution target vehicle (Fig. 6, S610-S617 at t7-t11; paragraph 97-103; server searches for vehicles that can be distributed according to the parameters of the request until the user terminal requests automotive distribution from the displayed search results), to distribute the request application to the edge device mounted on the distribution target vehicle (Fig. S618; paragraph 104; server transmits the automotive distribution command to the selected/requested vehicle), and an application billing unit configured to generate first compensation information for charging to an user who requests a processing of the request application (Fig. 6, S621-623 at t13-15; paragraph 21, 93, 95, 98, 107-108, 114, 117-119, 127, 139; server notifies user of accepted automotive distribution of the particular vehicle accepting the command including usage price and user payment info).
Fujisawa fails to expressly disclose second compensation information for paying to an owner of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle who provides the resource according to the resource information transmitted from the edge device.
Hodge discloses analogous art of an Enhanced Vehicle Sharing System (Title) including a cloud server (Fig. 7, 1103) establishing a network of ridesharing vehicle-mounted client devices (Fig. 7, 101a-d; paragraphs 84-89) and further including compensation information for paying to an owner of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle who provides the resource according to the resource information transmitted from the edge device (paragraphs 6-11, 23, 90, 111, 121; owner of the vehicle/rideshare account receives payment for various use of vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa by providing compensation information for paying to an owner of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle who provides the resource according to the resource information transmitted from the edge device, as shown by Hodge, thereby third-party ridesharing service using privately-owned vehicles and a billing/payment system to accommodate a variety of automobile distribution services.
Fujisawa and Hodge do not expressly disclose resource information includes at least one of avg/maximum CPU usage rate or avg/maximum memory usage rate.
Chu discloses analogous art (Title: Systems/Methods for Managing Assets in a Geographical Location; paragraph 144, 164; ridesharing including pricing based on user demand) including resource information includes at least one of average/maximum CPU usage rate or average/maximum memory usage rate (paragraph 112-114; reporting real-time events including average CPU usage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa and Hodge by providing resource information that includes at least one of average/maximum CPU usage rate or average/maximum memory usage rate, as shown by Chu, thereby allowing users to more easily and efficiently select assets to transport the user to a particular geographical location.
The combination of Fujisawa (paragraph 151, Fig. 8, step 806), Hodge (paragraph 83), and Chu suggests but do not expressly disclose the distribution requirement set in association with the request application includes at least two of: shift lever of the vehicle in a parked position, voltage of the battery exceeds a predetermined threshold, or an advanced driving system of the vehicle is not activated.
Hodge2 discloses analogous art (Title: Camera Enhanced Ride Sharing) including distribution requirement set in association with the request application includes at least two of: shift lever of the vehicle in a parked position, voltage of the battery exceeds a predetermined threshold, or an advanced driving system of the vehicle is not activated (paragraphs 5-16, 70-71; Table 1 detailing operational mode based on inputs including the vehicle in a parked position and battery threshold level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa, Hodge, and Chu by providing the distribution requirement set in association with the request application to include at least two of: shift lever of the vehicle in a parked position, voltage of the battery exceeds a predetermined threshold, or an advanced driving system of the vehicle is not activated, as shown by Hodge2, thereby providing various operational modes based on the inputs/status of the edge-equipped vehicle.
Regarding claim 16,
Fujisawa discloses an edge device mounted on a vehicle which is defined as an edge-equipped vehicle (Fig. 1, vehicles 12a-c) and providing a mobility service providing system (Title) together with a server device (Fig. 1, server 11) that determines the edge-equipped vehicle, which satisfies a distribution requirement set in association with a request application, as a distribution target vehicle (Fig. 6, S610-S617 at t7-t11; paragraph 97-103; server searches for vehicles that can be distributed according to the parameters of the request until the user terminal requests automotive distribution from the displayed search results), distributes the request application to the edge device mounted on the distribution target vehicle (Fig. S618; paragraph 104; server transmits the automotive distribution command to the selected/requested vehicle), and generates first compensation information for charging to an user who requests a processing of the request application (Fig. 6, S621-623 at t13-15; paragraph 21, 93, 95, 98, 107-108, 114, 117-119, 127, 139; server notifies user of accepted automotive distribution of the particular vehicle accepting the command including usage price and user payment info) and the edge device comprising a processor and memory (Fig. 2, 4, 5 shows processor/CPU and memory) configured to implement an application execution unit configured to execute the request application distributed from the server device, using the resource provided in the edge-equipped vehicle (Fig. 6, S619 at t12; paragraph 105; display of automotive distribution command at the vehicle) and a status notification unit configured to grasp the resource information relating to an usage status of the resource for executing the request application and notify the server device of the resource information (Fig. 6, S620 at t13; paragraph 105-106; accept/non-accept of automotive distribution of the vehicle to the server).
Fujisawa fails to expressly disclose second compensation information for paying to an owner of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle who provides the resource according to the resource information transmitted from the edge device.
Hodge discloses analogous art of an Enhanced Vehicle Sharing System (Title) including a cloud server (Fig. 7, 1103) establishing a network of ridesharing vehicle-mounted client devices (Fig. 7, 101a-d; paragraphs 84-89) and further including compensation information for paying to an owner of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle who provides the resource according to the resource information transmitted from the edge device (paragraphs 6-11, 23, 90, 111, 121; owner of the vehicle/rideshare account receives payment for various use of vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa by providing compensation information for paying to an owner of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle who provides the resource according to the resource information transmitted from the edge device, as shown by Hodge, thereby third-party ridesharing service using privately-owned vehicles and a billing/payment system to accommodate a variety of automobile distribution services.
Fujisawa and Hodge do not expressly disclose resource information includes at least one of avg/maximum CPU usage rate or avg/maximum memory usage rate.
Chu discloses analogous art (Title: Systems/Methods for Managing Assets in a Geographical Location; paragraph 144, 164; ridesharing including pricing based on user demand) including resource information includes at least one of average/maximum CPU usage rate or average/maximum memory usage rate (paragraph 112-114; reporting real-time events including average CPU usage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa and Hodge by providing resource information that includes at least one of average/maximum CPU usage rate or average/maximum memory usage rate, as shown by Chu, thereby allowing users to more easily and efficiently select assets to transport the user to a particular geographical location.
The combination of Fujisawa (paragraph 151, Fig. 8, step 806), Hodge (paragraph 83), and Chu suggests but do not expressly disclose the distribution requirement set in association with the request application includes at least two of: shift lever of the vehicle in a parked position, voltage of the battery exceeds a predetermined threshold, or an advanced driving system of the vehicle is not activated.
Hodge2 discloses analogous art (Title: Camera Enhanced Ride Sharing) including distribution requirement set in association with the request application includes at least two of: shift lever of the vehicle in a parked position, voltage of the battery exceeds a predetermined threshold, or an advanced driving system of the vehicle is not activated (paragraphs 5-16, 70-71; Table 1 detailing operational mode based on inputs including the vehicle in a parked position and battery threshold level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa, Hodge, and Chu by providing the distribution requirement set in association with the request application to include at least two of: shift lever of the vehicle in a parked position, voltage of the battery exceeds a predetermined threshold, or an advanced driving system of the vehicle is not activated, as shown by Hodge2, thereby providing various operational modes based on the inputs/status of the edge-equipped vehicle.
Regarding claim 17,
Fujisawa discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions being executed by a computer having a processor (Fig. 2, 4, 5; paragraph 153), the instructions including a method (Fig. 6) for causing the computer equipped in a server device (Fig. 1, server 11) providing a mobility service providing system (Title) together with an edge device mounted on a vehicle defined as an edge-equipped vehicle (Fig. 1, vehicles 12a-c) that executes a request application distributed from the server device using a resource provided in the vehicle (Fig. 6, S619 at t12; paragraph 105; display of automotive distribution command at the vehicle) and transmits resource information related to an usage status of the resource for executing the request application to the server device (Fig. 6, S620 at t13; paragraph 105-106; accept/non-accept of automotive distribution of the vehicle to the server) configuring the processor to function as an application distribution unit configured to determine the edge-equipped vehicle that satisfies a distribution requirement set in association with the request application as a distribution target vehicle (Fig. 6, S610-S617 at t7-t11; paragraph 97-103; server searches for vehicles that can be distributed according to the parameters of the request until the user terminal requests automotive distribution from the displayed search results) to distribute the request application to the edge device mounted on the distribution target vehicle (Fig. S618; paragraph 104; server transmits the automotive distribution command to the selected/requested vehicle), and an application billing unit configured to generate first compensation information for charging to an user who requests a processing of the request application (Fig. 6, S621-623 at t13-15; paragraph 21, 93, 95, 98, 107-108, 114, 117-119, 127, 139; server notifies user of accepted automotive distribution of the particular vehicle accepting the command including usage price and user payment info).
Fujisawa fails to expressly disclose second compensation information for paying to an owner of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle who provides the resource according to the resource information transmitted from the edge device.
Hodge discloses analogous art of an Enhanced Vehicle Sharing System (Title) including a cloud server (Fig. 7, 1103) establishing a network of ridesharing vehicle-mounted client devices (Fig. 7, 101a-d; paragraphs 84-89) and further including compensation information for paying to an owner of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle who provides the resource according to the resource information transmitted from the edge device (paragraphs 6-11, 23, 90, 111, 121; owner of the vehicle/rideshare account receives payment for various use of vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa by providing compensation information for paying to an owner of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle who provides the resource according to the resource information transmitted from the edge device, as shown by Hodge, thereby third-party ridesharing service using privately-owned vehicles and a billing/payment system to accommodate a variety of automobile distribution services.
Fujisawa and Hodge do not expressly disclose resource information includes at least one of avg/maximum CPU usage rate or avg/maximum memory usage rate.
Chu discloses analogous art (Title: Systems/Methods for Managing Assets in a Geographical Location; paragraph 144, 164; ridesharing including pricing based on user demand) including resource information includes at least one of average/maximum CPU usage rate or average/maximum memory usage rate (paragraph 112-114; reporting real-time events including average CPU usage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa and Hodge by providing resource information that includes at least one of average/maximum CPU usage rate or average/maximum memory usage rate, as shown by Chu, thereby allowing users to more easily and efficiently select assets to transport the user to a particular geographical location.
The combination of Fujisawa (paragraph 151, Fig. 8, step 806), Hodge (paragraph 83), and Chu suggests but do not expressly disclose the distribution requirement set in association with the request application includes at least two of: shift lever of the vehicle in a parked position, voltage of the battery exceeds a predetermined threshold, or an advanced driving system of the vehicle is not activated.
Hodge2 discloses analogous art (Title: Camera Enhanced Ride Sharing) including distribution requirement set in association with the request application includes at least two of: shift lever of the vehicle in a parked position, voltage of the battery exceeds a predetermined threshold, or an advanced driving system of the vehicle is not activated (paragraphs 5-16, 70-71; Table 1 detailing operational mode based on inputs including the vehicle in a parked position and battery threshold level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa, Hodge, and Chu by providing the distribution requirement set in association with the request application to include at least two of: shift lever of the vehicle in a parked position, voltage of the battery exceeds a predetermined threshold, or an advanced driving system of the vehicle is not activated, as shown by Hodge2, thereby providing various operational modes based on the inputs/status of the edge-equipped vehicle.
Regarding claim 2,
The combination of Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 discloses the at least one edge-equipped vehicle includes a plurality of edge-equipped vehicles (Fig. 1, 12a-c; paragraph 27, 96-99), the determining of the distribution target vehicle by the server device includes accumulating vehicle information repeatedly transmitted from each of the plurality of edge-equipped vehicles in association with each of the plurality of edge-equipped vehicles (Fig. 6, S606-608 at t4-6; paragraph 96; periodic vehicle information update), and determining whether each of the plurality of edge-equipped vehicles satisfies the distribution requirement, by referring to an accumulated vehicle information (Fig. 6, S610; paragraph 98; search for vehicle(s) that qualify to be distributed based on current position/attribute information of the user and each of the plurality of vehicles).
Regarding claim 3,
The combination of Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 discloses the distribution requirement includes at least one of unchanging/static information of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle (i.e. company, model; paragraph 98), changing/dynamic information of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle (i.e. number of passengers who can board, position, etc.), static information of the edge device (i.e. Fig. 2, communication interface 206), and dynamic information of the edge device (i.e. position, wait time, display options, etc.; paragraph 98-102).
Regarding claim 4,
The combination of Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 discloses the dynamic information of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle includes at least one of vehicle interior environment information (i.e. model; paragraph 98), vehicle exterior environment information (i.e. company), vehicle state information (paragraph 113-123), device usage information (i.e. usage price, capacity), function usage information (paragraph 74), occupant information (paragraph 5), and time-series data information (i.e. minimum waiting time; paragraph 99).
Regarding claim 5,
The combination of Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 discloses the request application includes at least one of a vehicle-related job is meaningful to be executed in the at least one edge-equipped vehicle (Fujisawa: vehicle distribution) and a non-vehicle-related job is other than the vehicle-related job (Hodge: paragraph 159-170; targeted advertisement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa by providing vehicle-related jobs and non-vehicle-related jobs, as shown by Hodge, thereby providing a captive audience for advertisement/marketing during time spent in the vehicle to destination.
Regarding claim 6,
The combination of Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 discloses the request application includes at least one of resident type request application for repeatedly executing a routine job (Fig. 6, S606-608 at t4-t6; paragraph 96; vehicle information update at regular intervals) and a complete type request application for executing a non-routine job whose process ends when an operation result is output (i.e. Fig. 7, S706; Fig. 8, S810-811; Fig. 9, 940; Fig. 10, 1040; Fig. 11; cancellation processing).
Regarding claim 8,
The combination of Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 discloses grasping, by the server device, the usage status of the resource for all the edge-equipped vehicles capable of receiving the distributing of the request application (Fujisawa: paragraph 74, 95, 98; search based on position and service status of each vehicle) and changing, by the server device, the first compensation information according to overall margin of the resource (Hodge: paragraphs 7, 16, 38, 41; fractional type ownership/cost sharing, “surge demand”/cleaning fees, advertised items w/ cost). See motivation above.
Regarding claim 9,
The combination of Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 discloses the distribution requirement includes whether a processing capacity provided by the resource of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle has a processing capacity necessary for executing the request application (paragraph 74, 95; search for vehicle to be distributed performed based in part on service status of the vehicles).
Regarding claim 10,
The combination of Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 discloses the distribution requirement includes whether the resource of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle includes an external device necessary for executing the request application (Fujisawa: Fig. 2, display 204; Hodge: Fig. 8, 11-13; paragraph 62-73, 88-96).
Regarding claim 11,
The combination of Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 discloses the distribution requirement includes whether the resource of the edge device of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle is disposed in a low load state (out of service; paragraph 74, 95).
Regarding claim 12,
The combination of Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 discloses the edge device has at least a lending allowed state when both the at least one edge-equipped vehicle and the edge device are normal (service status empty and in-service) and a lending not allowed state when at least one of the at least one edge-equipped vehicle and the edge device is in an anomaly state (service status of carrying a passenger/out-of-service/chartered, etc.) as a lending base status and executing of the request application distributed from the server device by the edge device is performed when the lending base status is in the lending allowed state (paragraphs 74, 95).
Regarding claims 18-22,
The combination of Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 discloses the server device deletes the request application distribution to the edge device when a predetermined state occurs including at least one of: a case where a process of the request application ends normally (Fig. 7, S706-707; paragraph 113); a case where an interruption request of the request application is received from an external device (Fig. 8, S810; paragraph 128); or a case where the at least one edge-equipped vehicle or edge device is in an anomaly state.
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Roy (USP 11763410B1).
Regarding claim 7,
The combination of Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 does not expressly disclose setting a priority and allocating, by the edge device, the resource according to the priority, and changing, by the server device, first compensation information according to the priority.
Roy discloses analogous prior art (Title: Mobile Payment System for Traffic Prioritization in Self-Driving Vehicles) including setting a priority and allocating, by the edge device, the resource according to the priority, and changing, by the server device, the first compensation information according to the priority (Fig. 5, 9-12; Col. 26, lines 34-40; prioritization/priority given to particular requests and vehicles based on offer/bid processing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 by setting a priority and allocating, by the edge device, the resource according to the priority, and changing, by the server device, the first compensation information according to the priority, as shown by Roy, thereby enabling dynamic pricing and prioritization for rideshare vehicles and users.
Regarding claim 13,
The combination of Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 discloses receiving, by the server device, information for using a specific resource from a plurality of users (Fujisawa: paragraph 104), determining, by the server device, an authorized user who is one of the plurality of users and permitted to use the specific resource, based on the information (Fujisawa: Fig. 6, S620 at t13; paragraph 105; command acceptance), and determining, by the server device, the first compensation information for charging to the authorized user (Fujisawa: Fig. 6, S621-623 at t13-15; paragraph 21, 93, 95, 98, 107-108, 114, 117-119, 127, 139; server notifies user of accepted automotive distribution of the particular vehicle accepting the command including usage price and user payment info) and the second compensation information for paying to the owner as a provider who provides the specific resource (Hodge: paragraphs 6-11, 23, 90, 111, 121; owner of the vehicle/rideshare account receives payment for various use of vehicle), but the combination of Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 does not expressly disclose determining the first and second compensation information based on bid information.
Roy discloses analogous prior art (Title: Mobile Payment System for Traffic Prioritization in Self-Driving Vehicles) including determining compensation based on bid information (Fig. 12; bid-ask pricing for different prioritization levels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Fujisawa, Hodge, Chu, and Hodge2 by determining compensation based on bid information, as shown by Roy, thereby enabling dynamic pricing and prioritization for rideshare vehicles and users.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims, as amended, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on the newly-cited Hodge2 reference for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477