Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al, CN 114188486 and further in view of CN 101236988 A, Shinji, Takeoka, .
Fang teaches:
A method of encapsulation, the method comprising: providing a first film comprising a perovskite (figure 20); and depositing, via atomic film deposition (abstract), a first oxide or a first nitride on a surface of the first film to form on the surface of the first film a second film comprising the first oxide or the first nitride. (figure 20)
Fang fails to teach:
wherein the second film has a thickness of about 3 nm to about 10 nm.
CN 101236988 A Teaches:
Here, the bottom insulating film 108 is formed by the stacking temperature is 400 degrees centigrade. centigrade for using atomic layer deposition method to form the film thickness of silicon nitride film 3 nm is formed and in the silicon nitride film is desired that the ratio of nitrogen to silicon is more than 1.2, and the film thickness is more than 0.3 nm and less than 10 nm. (machine translation)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘988 with the primary reference of Fang, because the thickness of the layer can be adjusted by adjusting the ratio of nitrogen to silicon (machine translation)
Fang further teaches:
2. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the perovskite is a 3D perovskite or a 2D perovskite.
3. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the perovskite is of formula (I) or formula (II):
ABX3 formula (I); A2BXa, formula (II); wherein A is an organic cation, wherein B is a metal ion, and wherein X is a halide. (para 11)
5. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 4, wherein A is a methyl ammonium cation. (para 63)
6. (Original) The method of claim 3, wherein B is Pb2+ or Sn2+. (para 82)
7. (Original) The method of claim 3, wherein X is selected from the group consisting of I, Br, and CI. (para 10)
8. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the oxide is selected from the group consisting of AI2O3, SnOz, TiO2, and ZnO; and wherein the nitride is selected from the group consisting of Sis3N4 and TiN. (figure 20)
11. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein (i) before, (ii) after, or (111) before and after the depositing of the oxide or the nitride, the film comprising the perovskite is not thermally annealed. (para 24 and 28)
12. (Currently Amended) A method of encapsulation, the method comprising: providing a first film comprising a perovskite (para 20); and
depositing, via atomic film deposition (abstract), a first oxide or a first nitride on a surface of the first film to form on the surface of the first film a second film comprising the first oxide or the first nitride; (figure 20)
wherein the perovskite is of formula (I) or formula (II)- ABX3 formula (1), A2BXa, formula (II); wherein A is an alkyl ammonium cation, wherein B is a metal ion selected from the group consisting of Pb2+ and Sn2+, and wherein X is a halide. (para 11, 82)
In regards to claim 12;
Fang fails to teach:
wherein the second film has a thickness of about 3 nm to about 10 nm.
CN 101236988 A Teaches:
Here, the bottom insulating film 108 is formed by the stacking temperature is 400 degrees centigrade. centigrade for using atomic layer deposition method to form the film thickness of silicon nitride film 3 nm is formed and in the silicon nitride film is desired that the ratio of nitrogen to silicon is more than 1.2, and the film thickness is more than 0.3 nm and less than 10 nm. (machine translation)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘988 with the primary reference of Fang, because the thickness of the layer can be adjusted by adjusting the ratio of nitrogen to silicon (machine translation)
Claim(s) 4 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al as and Shinji applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhu et al, WO 2017059420 A1.
Fang fails to teach:
4. (Original) The method of claim 3, wherein A is an alkyl ammonium cation.
Zhu teaches:
In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the solid perovskite may include an alkyl ammonium metal halide. (summary of invention)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhu with the primary reference of Fang and Shinji, because alkyl ammonium cations are readily used in the art to form perovskite films.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al and Shinji as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakamura et al, WO 2015137324 A1.
Fang fails to teach:
9. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising contacting the surface of the film comprising the perovskite with a vapor comprising 2-mercaptoethanol prior to the depositing of the oxide or the nitride on the surface of the film comprising the perovskite.
Nakaumara teaches:
The crystal growth controlling agent according to the present invention comprises at least one sulfur-containing compound selected from the group consisting of a compound that generates a thiolate anion…
Specific examples of the thiol compound include thioglycerol, 2-mercaptoethano…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Nakaumura with the primary reference of Fang and Shinji, because compounds that generate thiolate anions by dissociation of protons or cations to control the crystal growth.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang and Shinji.
Fang and Shinji fails to teach:
10. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising disposing a third film on the second film, wherein the third film comprises a second nitride or a second oxide.
In regards to claim 10, the third film is merely a duplication of the second film and the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See in re Harza
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL . LEBENTRITT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2893
/MICHAEL LEBENTRITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893