DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment and Status of Application
This notice is in response to the amendments filed 08 April 2026. Claims 1-4, 7-10, and 14-15 are pending in the instant application where claims 1, 7, and 10 have been amended and claims 5-6 and 11-13 have been cancelled. Applicant’s cancellation of claim 12 has rendered moot the interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and overcome the subsequent rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 05 February 2026. These are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments (remarks page 2 paragraphs 1-2) that none of the cited references disclose at least the limitation “the first holding frame does not protrude between the third guide bar and the first housing” and “the second holding frame does not protrude between the first guide bar and the second housing”, these newly added limitations are addressed via a revised interpretation of the prior art of record.
Regarding applicant’s arguments (remarks page 3 paragraph 2 – page 4 paragraph 1) that Fujiwara’s guide shaft being arranged at different distances from the optical axis and are partially overlapped in the optical axis direction with regards to the claim limitation “the first guide bar is disposed outside the fourth guide bar and the third guide bar is disposed outside the second guide bar” does not teach or suggest the claim, based on a revised interpretation of Fujiwara below this argument is not persuasive. See suggested amendment in the rejection of claims 1 and 10 to more particularly point out what is meant by “outside”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-10, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0223496 A1 by Futoshi Iinuma et al. (herein after “Iinuma”) in view of JP 2019066801 A by Hironari Fujiwara et al. (herein after “Fujiwara”), and further in view of US 2023/0232087 A1 by Hiroyuki Kuroki (herein after “Kuroki”). Examiner notes the reference Iinuma was cited in the IDS filed 27 January 2023 and 11 July 2023, and as JP 2020-134889 A in the IDS filed 27 January 2023.
Regarding claim 1, Iinuma discloses an optical filter apparatus comprising:
a first optical filter unit (Iinuma [0051] and fig. 6 disclose a neutral density filter 501 [first optical filter unit], termed a first optical filter);
a first holding frame that holds the first optical filter unit (Iinuma [0052] and fig. 6 disclose a holding frame 502 [first holding frame], shown to hold the first optical filter);
a first guide bar and a second guide bar that movably support the first holding frame (Iinuma [0052] and fig. 6 disclose two supports 503 which slidably support the first holding frame [two supports 503 are the first and second guide bar]);
a second optical filter unit disposed parallel to the first optical filter unit (Iinuma fig.[0051] and fig. 5 disclose a neutral density filter 511 [second optical filter unit], termed a second optical filter; fig. 8 shows a top-down view of the filters 501 and 511, where they are shown parallel to one another; also, [0065] states that the two supports 503 [first and second guide bar] and two supports 513 [third and fourth guide bar for second holding frame, not yet mapped] are configured in parallel);
a second holding frame that holds the second optical filter unit (Iinuma [0055] and fig. 5 disclose a holding frame 512 [second holding frame], shown to hold the second optical filter 511);
a third guide bar and a fourth guide bar that movably support the second holding frame (Iinuma [0055] and fig. 5 disclose two supports 513 which slidably support the second holding frame [two supports 513 are the third and fourth guide bars]),
wherein the first holding frame is supported so as to cover an entire circumference of the first guide bar (Iinuma fig. 8 shows the first guide bar 503 (on the right side when the reference numbers are viewed right-side up) being entirely encapsulated by the first holding frame 502 (unlabeled in the fig. 8, but seen in fig. 6 as the structure surrounding the first filter unit); therefore, the first guide bar is supported so as to cover an entire circumference of the first guide bar), and
wherein the second holding frame is supported so as to cover an entire circumference of the third guide bar (Iinuma fig. 8 shows the third guide bar 513 (on the left side when the reference numbers are viewed right-side up being encapsulated by the second holding frame; while there appears a gap between the guide bar’s 4 o’clock through its 11 o’clock, the structure of the second holding frame still surrounds the entirety of the third guide bar – even assuming arguendo that the structure opposite the gap is not the second holding frame, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the second holding frame to be supported such that it covers an entire circumference of the second guide bar, for an advantage of mitigating detachment of the filter unit, mitigating slippage in the guide bar direction, and otherwise producing a more secure holding frame for the filter units).
Iinuma is silent to
a first housing that covers the first holding frame; and
a second housing that covers the second holding frame,
wherein the first holding frame is slidably supported by being sandwiched between the first housing and one of the first guide bar and the second guide bar,
wherein the second holding frame is slidably supported by being sandwiched between the second housing and one of the third guide bar and fourth guide bar,
wherein the first guide bar is disposed outside the fourth guide bar with respect to the first holding frame and the third guide bar is disposed outside the second guide bar with respect to the second holding frame;
wherein the first holding frame is supported so as to cover an entire circumference of the first guide bar and does not protrude between the third guide bar and the first housing; and
wherein the second holding frame is supported so as to cover an entire circumference of the third guide bar and does not protrude between the first guide bar and the second housing.
However, Fujiwara does address these limitations. Iinuma and Fujiwara are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are optical filter devices for use in imaging systems.
Fujiwara discloses “a first housing that covers the first holding frame” (Fujiwara fig. 12 and [0104] discloses a second holding plate 531 [first housing] which covers a first optical filter unit 540 (first optical filter unit 540 disclosed in [0017]-[0018] and fig. 2 exploded view); figs 11(a)-11(c) and [0033] disclose first optical filter holding member 541 [first holding frame] as part of first optical filter unit 540 [first housing covers the first holding frame, when parts are not “exploded” as in fig. 2]; the second holding plate 531 serves as a housing for the second drive unit 530, shown and labeled in fig. 2); and
“a second housing that covers the second holding frame” (Fujiwara [0020] and figs. 2-3 and 12 discloses a first holding plate 521 [second housing], serving as housing for first drive unit 520; figs. 11(a)-11(c) and [0096] disclose the second optical filter unit 550 which comprises optical filter holding member 551 [second holding frame]; when components are not “exploded”, the first holding plate 521 covers the optical filter holding member 551 [second housing covers the second holding frame]);
“wherein the first holding frame is slidably supported by being sandwiched between the first housing and one of the first guide bar and the second guide bar” (Fujiwara fig. 2 shows first optical filter unit 540 with guide bars [in the same form as that of Iinuma]; figs 11(a)-11(c) and 12 disclose the nestling of the first optical filter holding member 541 [first holding frame] and the optical filter holding member 551 [second holding frame]; first optical filter holding member 541 is supported by first guide bar 545a and second guide bar 545b; when the components of fig. 11 are sandwiched between the first and second housings 531 and 521 respectively of fig. 12, the first optical filter holding member 541 [first holding frame] is slidably supported (i.e. by guide bars) by being sandwiched between first housing 531 and first guide bar 545a, since entire circumference of guide bar 545a is surrounded by first optical filter holding member 541);
“wherein the second holding frame is slidably supported by being sandwiched between the second housing and one of the third guide bar and fourth guide bar” (Fujiwara figs. 11(a)-11(c) and 12; following the same logic from the previous limitation on the opposing end of the first and second holding frames to that shown in fig. 11(c), the optical filter holding member 551 is supported by third guide bar 555a and fourth guide bar 555b; when components of fig. 11 are sandwiched between the first and second housings 531 and 521 respectively of fig. 12, the optical filter holding member 551 [second holding frame] is slidably supported (i.e. by guide bars) by being sandwiched between the second housing 521 and the third guide bar 555a, since the entire circumference of the guide bar 555a is surrounded by the optical filter holding member 551);
“wherein the first guide bar is disposed outside the fourth guide bar with respect to the first holding frame” (Fujiwara fig. 11b shows the first (545a), second (545b), third (555a) and fourth (555b) guide bars in a top-down view on the equivalent (with respect to Iinuma) of first and second optical filter holding units 541 and 551 respectively; since the claim does not specify a direction against which a comparison should be made as to whether the first guide bar is outside of the fourth guide bar and only recites “relative to the first holding frame 541”, a reference frame exists where the first guide bar is outside of the fourth guide bar relative to the first holding frame; examiner suggests an amendment to say “outside in a direction of the optical axis” or “outside in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis” to better qualify what is meant by “outside”) “and wherein the third guide bar is disposed outside the second guide bar with respect to the second holding frame” (Fujiwara fig. 11b shows the first (545a), second (545b), third (555a) and fourth (555b) guide bars in a top-down view on the equivalent (with respect to Iinuma) of first and second optical filter holding units 541 and 551 respectively; as with the preceding limitation, there exists a frame of reference where the third guide bar is outside of the second guide bar relative to the second holding frame; examiner suggests the same amendment of “outside in a direction of the optical axis” or “outside in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis” to better qualify what is meant by “outside”);
“wherein the first holding frame is supported so as to cover an entire circumference of the first guide bar” (Fujiwara fig. 11c shows a zoomed view of the right side of fig. 11b (i.e. on the right of the line R) and shows the entire circumference of the first guide shaft 545a being covered by the first optical filter holding member 541 [first holding frame]) “and does not protrude between the third guide bar and the first housing” (Fujiwara figs. 11(a)-11(c) and 12 show that when assembled, the first holding frame 541 does not protrude between the third guide bar 555a and the first housing 531 in the direction of the center line R; for the protrusion to occur, the portion of 541 covering the entire circumference of the first guide bar 545a would need to extend past the boundary of the third guide bar 555a’s circumference in the direction of the center line R; examiner notes also that the claim does not specify a direction for the protrusion to occur relative to (i.e. in an optical axis direction, perpendicular to the optical axis direction, etc.)); and
“wherein the second holding frame is supported so as to cover an entire circumference of the third guide bar” (Fujiwara fig. 11b to the left of the line R shows third guide bar 555a being encapsulated by the corresponding a (second) holding member 551, where like the first guide bar, the third guide bar’s entire circumference is covered) “and does not protrude between the first guide bar and the second housing” (Fujiwara figs. 11(a)-11(c) and 12, following the same logic as the preceding limitation, show that when assembled, the second holding frame 551 does not protrude between the first guide bar 545a and the second housing 521; for the protrusion to occur, the portion of 551 covering the entire circumference of the third guide bar 555a would need to extend past the boundary of the first guide bar 545a’s circumference in the direction of the center line R; as with the preceding limitation, the claim does not specify a direction for the protrusion to occur relative to).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iinuma to incorporate a first housing that covers the first holding frame and a second housing that covers the second holding frame, wherein the first holding frame is slidably supported by being sandwiched between the first housing and one of the first guide bar and the second guide bar, wherein the second holding frame is slidably supported by being sandwiched between the second housing and one of the third guide bar and fourth guide bar, wherein the first guide bar is disposed outside the fourth guide bar with respect to the first holding frame and the third guide bar is disposed outside the second guide bar with respect to the second holding frame, wherein the first holding frame is supported so as to cover an entire circumference of the first guide bar and does not protrude between the third guide bar and the first housing; and wherein the second holding frame is supported so as to cover an entire circumference of the third guide bar and does not protrude between the first guide bar and the second housing as suggested by Fujiwara for the advantage of reducing the thickness of the optical member switching device by overlapping the first and third guide bars and therefore partially overlapping the first and second holding members (Fujiwara [0102]).
Iinuma when modified by Fujiwara is silent to wherein the first guide bar, the second guide bar, the third guide bar, and the fourth guide bar are disposed at positions that coincide with each other in an optical axis direction.
However, Kuroki does address this limitation. Iinuma, Fujiwara, and Kuroki are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they relate to optical filter support devices for use in imaging systems.
Kuroki discloses “wherein the first guide bar, the second guide bar, the third guide bar, and the fourth guide bar are disposed at positions that coincide with each other in an optical axis direction” (Kuroki fig. 6 and [0034]-[0035] discloses a design for filter units for use in an imaging system, where first and second filter units 16 and 18 are shown, comprising first upper 32, first lower 34, second upper 36, and second lower 38 guide bars [first, second, third, and fourth guide bars] supporting optical filters; fig. 6 shows an exploded view, but it is clear the guide bars are all coincident with one another in the optical axis LA direction (see non-exploded view of figs. 3-4 where the guide bars are all coincident with one another in the optical axis direction); while the guide bars within the optical filer apparatus of Kuroki appear to be arranged differently than Iinuma and Fujiwara, a user need only rotate the entirety of Kuroki by 90 degrees about the optical axis to derive the same arrangement of Iinuma in view of Fujiwara – this does not rise to a “substantial reconstruction or redesign” of the primary reference as there is no required redesign of inner components).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iinuma in view of Fujiwara to incorporate wherein the first guide bar, the second guide bar, the third guide bar, and the fourth guide bar are disposed at positions that coincide with each other in an optical axis direction as suggested by Kuroki for the advantage of further reducing the size of the imaging apparatus by effectively utilizing the space around the guide rails (Kuroki [0047]) – i.e. the footprint in the optical axis direction can be reduced with the design of Kuroki.
Regarding claim 2, Iinuma when modified by Fujiwara and Kuroki discloses the optical filter apparatus according to claim 1, and Iinuma further teaches the apparatus wherein the first holding frame includes a first end located on a side opposite to the first guide bar with respect to the first optical unit, and is slidably sandwiched between the first housing and the second guide bar at the first end (Iinuma fig. 6 shows the holding frame 502 [first holding frame] which surrounds the optical filter 501; [0052] discloses a first side member 5201 (left side in fig. 6) and a second side member 5202 (right side of fig. 6) on either side of the optical filter 501; the first side member 5201 is the first end of the first holding frame; the two supports [guide bars] are both labeled 503 – the second of the two supports is the guide bar on the first end 5201 (left most guide bar) such that the first end 5201 is on the side opposite to the first guide bar (on the right side); [0052] the supports 503 slidably support first and second side members, so that the first end is slidably between the second guide bar and the first housing, the first housing 531 disclosed in Fujiwara partially overlaps the second guide bar 545b in the center line direction R, when figs. 11(a)-11(c) and 12 are assembled together, and fulfills the claim); and
wherein the second holding frame includes a second end located on a side opposite to the third guide bar with respect to the second optical filter unit, and is slidably sandwiched between the second housing and the fourth guide bar at the second end (as discussed in the preceding limitation, Iinuma fig. 5 shows the holding frame 512 [second holding frame] which surrounds the optical filter 511; [0055] discloses a first side member 5121 (right side of fig. 5) and second side member 5122 (left side of fig. 5); in fig. 5, the two supports [guide bars] are both labeled 513 – the “third” support 513 (third guide bar) is on the right side of fig. 5 with the “first side member 5121” and the “fourth” support 513 (fourth guide bar) is on the left side of fig. 5 with the “second side member 5122”; [0055] the supports 513 slidably support first and second side members 5121 and 5122, so that the second end 5122 slidably sandwiched between the fourth guide bar and the second housing – the second housing 521 disclosed in Fujiwara partially overlaps the fourth guide bar 555b in the center line direction R, when figs. 11(a)-11(c) and 12 are assembled together, and fulfills the claim).
Regarding claim 3, Iinuma when modified by Fujiwara and Kuroki discloses the optical filter apparatus according to claim 2. Iinuma is silent to the optical filter apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the first housing includes a first housing convex portion, wherein the first holding frame includes a first convex portion that slides relative to the first housing convex portion at the first end, wherein the second housing includes a second housing convex portion, and wherein the second holding frame includes a second convex portion that slides relative to the second housing convex portion at the second end.
However, Fujiwara does address this these limitations.
Fujiwara discloses the optical filter apparatus according to claim 2, “wherein the first housing includes a first housing convex portion” (Fujiwara fig. 3(a) and 4, and [0022] discloses a worm B0 as part of the first holding plate 521 [second housing]; the worm A0 is shown in fig. 4 to have a convex portion, and thus worm B0 also has a convex portion; while figs 3(a) and 4 are directed to the second housing, [0104] discloses that the second drive unit 530 which comprises the second holding plate 531 [first housing] is constructed from same parts as first drive unit 520, and therefore also comprises the worm B with convex portion);
“wherein the first holding frame includes a first convex portion that slides relative to the first housing convex portion at the first end” (Fujiwara fig. 11(b) left side shows a convex portion of the first holding frame 541 which receives the circular protrusion of the second holding frame and the third guide bar 555a; as the holding frames move along the guide bars, they move relative to the worm which rotates only about its rotational axis [first holding frame includes first convex portion that slides relative to first housing convex portion]; first end is considered that on the left side of fig. 11(b) with second and third guide bars [first end opposite to the first guide bar 545a]);
“wherein the second housing includes a second housing convex portion” (Fujiwara fig. 3(a) and 4, and [0022] discloses a worm A0 as part of the first holding plate 521 [second housing]; the worm A0 is shown in fig. 4 to have a convex portion) and
“wherein the second holding frame includes a second convex portion that slides relative to the second housing convex portion at the second end” (Fujiwara fig. 11(c) shows convex portion of the second holding frame 551 which receives the circular protrusion of the first holding frame and the first guide bar 545a); as the holding frames move along the guide bars, they move relative to the worm which rotates only about its rotational axis [second holding frame includes second convex portion that slides relative to second housing convex portion]; second end is considered that on the right side of fig. 11(b) and shown in 11(c) with first and fourth guide bars [second end opposite to the third guide bar 555a]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iinuma to incorporate wherein the first housing includes a first housing convex portion, wherein the first holding frame includes a first convex portion that slides relative to the first housing convex portion at the first end, wherein the second housing includes a second housing convex portion, and wherein the second holding frame includes a second convex portion that slides relative to the second housing convex portion at the second end as suggested by Fujiwara for the advantage of reducing the thickness of the optical member switching device by overlapping the first and third guide bars and therefore partially overlapping the first and second holding members (Fujiwara [0102]).
Regarding claim 3, Iinuma when modified by Fujiwara and Kuroki discloses the optical filter apparatus according to claim 2. Iinuma is silent to the optical filter apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the first holding frame includes a third convex portion on the first end facing the second guide bar, and wherein the second holding frame includes a fourth convex portion on the second end facing the fourth guide bar.
However Fujiwara does address these limitations.
Fujiwara discloses the optical filter apparatus according to claim 2, “wherein the first holding frame includes a third convex portion on the first end facing the second guide bar” (Fujiwara fig. 11(b) left side shows a portion on the first end (see claim 3 above for “first end” correspondence of Fujiwara) with a convex portion that receives the second guide bar 545b [convex portion on the first end facing the second guide bar], “facing” the second guide bar as it at least partially envelops the second guide bar; examiner notes that since claim 4 does not depend from claim 3 (where the first and second convex portions have been introduced), the engagement portion need not be a “third” convex portion, and the third is read as “any first” convex portion), and
“wherein the second holding frame includes a fourth convex portion on the second end facing the fourth guide bar” (Fujiwara fig. 11(b) and 11(c) shows a convex portion on the second end (see claim 3 above for “second end” correspondence for Fujiwara) with a convex shape that receives the fourth guide bar 555b [convex portion on the second end facing the fourth guide bar], “facing” the fourth guide bar as it at least partially envelops the fourth guide bar; as with previous limitation, first and second convex portion have not been introduced for this claim’s dependence and a fourth convex portion is interpreted as “any second” convex portion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iinuma to incorporate wherein the first holding frame includes a third convex portion on the first end facing the second guide bar, and wherein the second holding frame includes a fourth convex portion on the second end facing the fourth guide bar as suggested by Fujiwara for the advantage of reducing the thickness of the optical member switching device by overlapping the first and third guide bars and therefore partially overlapping the first and second holding members (Fujiwara [0102]).
Regarding claim 7, Iinuma when modified by Fujiwara and Kuroki discloses the optical filter apparatus according to claim 1. Iinuma is silent to the optical filter apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a portion of the first holding frame that covers the entire circumference of the first guide bar, and a portion of the second holding frame that covers the entire circumference of the third guide bar are located on opposite sides with respect to an optical axis of the optical filter apparatus.
However, Fujiwara does address this limitation.
Fujiwara discloses the optical filter apparatus according to claim 1, “wherein a portion of the first holding frame that covers the entire circumference of the first guide bar, and a portion of the second holding frame that covers the entire circumference of the third guide bar are located on opposite sides with respect to an optical axis of the optical filter apparatus” (Fujiwara fig. 11(b) shows the portion of the holding frame that cover the entire circumference of the first guide bar 545a is on the opposite side from that of the portion of the second holding frame that covers the entire circumference of the third guide bar with respect to the optical axis R).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iinuma to incorporate a portion of the first holding frame that covers the entire circumference of the first guide bar, and a portion of the second holding frame that covers the entire circumference of the third guide bar are located on opposite sides with respect to an optical axis of the optical filter apparatus as suggested by Fujiwara for the advantage of reducing the thickness of the optical member switching device by overlapping the first and third guide bars and therefore partially overlapping the first and second holding members (Fujiwara [0102]).
Regarding claim 8, Iinuma when modified by Fujiwara and Kuroki discloses the optical filter apparatus according to claim 1. Iinuma is silent to the optical filter apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first housing includes a first housing convex portion facing the second guide bar, and wherein the second housing includes a second housing convex portion facing the fourth guide bar.
However, Fujiwara does address this limitation.
Fujiwara discloses the optical filter apparatus according to claim 1, “wherein the first housing includes a first housing convex portion facing the second guide bar” (Fujiwara fig. 3(a) and 4, and [0022] discloses a worm B0 as part of the first holding plate 521 [second housing]; the worm A0 is shown in fig. 4 to have a convex portion, and thus worm B0 also has a convex portion; while figs 3(a) and 4 are directed to the second housing, [0104] discloses that the second drive unit 530 which comprises the second holding plate 531 [first housing] is constructed from same parts as first drive unit 520, and therefore also comprises the worm B with convex portion [first housing convex portion]; fig. 10(b) shows a side view of the worms (they are unlabeled, but are connected to gear A1/B1, also unlabeled, and further connected to A2/B2; the guide bars penetrate through both the optical filter frame portions 541a/543a, and therefore, running parallel to the worms, the worms [comprising first housing convex portion] faces the all guide bars, including the second guide bar), “and wherein the second housing includes a second housing convex portion facing the fourth guide bar” (Fujiwara fig. 3(a) and 4, and [0022] discloses a worm A0 as part of the first holding plate 521 [second housing]; the worm A0 is shown in fig. 4 to have a convex portion [second housing convex portion]; following same logic as above with fig. 10(b) and the worms parallel to the guide bars, the worm A0 faces all guide bars, including the fourth guide bar [second housing convex portion faces fourth guide bar]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iinuma to incorporate wherein the first housing includes a first housing convex portion facing the second guide bar, and wherein the second housing includes a second housing convex portion facing the fourth guide bar as suggested by Fujiwara for the advantage of reducing the thickness of the optical member switching device by overlapping the first and third guide bars and therefore partially overlapping the first and second holding members (Fujiwara [0102]).
Regarding claim 9, Iinuma when modified by Fujiwara and Kuroki discloses the optical filter apparatus according to claim 1. Iinuma is silent to the optical filter apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first optical filter unit includes a first optical filter and a second optical filter, and wherein the second optical filter unit includes a third optical filter and a fourth optical filter.
However, Fujiwara does address this limitation.
Fujiwara discloses the optical filter apparatus according to claim 1, “wherein the first optical filter unit includes a first optical filter and a second optical filter” (Fujiwara figs. 2 and 6 and [0033] disclose the first optical filter unit 540 comprising two optical filters 542 and 544); “and
wherein the second optical filter unit includes a third optical filter and a fourth optical filter (Fujiwara fig. 2 and [0096]-[0097] disclose the second optical filter unit 550 comprising two additional optical filters 552 and 554).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iinuma to incorporate wherein the first optical filter unit includes a first optical filter and a second optical filter, and wherein the second optical filter unit includes a third optical filter and a fourth optical filter as suggested by Fujiwara for the advantage of increasing the number of optical filters available for use while also increasing the thinness of the device as well (Fujiwara [0006]), and therefore reducing the need to carry cumbersome equipment.
Regarding claim 10, Iinuma discloses an image pickup apparatus comprising:
an optical filter apparatus (Iinuma [0044] discloses an optical filtering apparatus 500 seen in fig. 3); and
an image sensor that receives light that has passed through the imaging optical system and the optical filter apparatus (Iinuma [0044] discloses an image sensor 120 and a lens mount 800, where [0048] a lens [imaging optical system] may be attached; [0046] the image sensor 120 receives light passing through the optical filtering apparatus 500, and will have already passed through the detachable lens);
wherein the optical filter apparatus includes:
(1) a first optical filter unit (Iinuma [0051] and fig. 6 disclose a neutral density filter 501 [first optical filter unit], termed a first optical filter);
(2) a first holding frame that holds the first optical filter unit (Iinuma [0052] and fig. 6 disclose a holding frame 502 [first holding frame], shown to hold the first optical filter);
(3) a first guide bar and a second guide bar that movably support the first holding frame (Iinuma [0052] and fig. 6 disclose two supports 503 which slidably support the first holding frame [two supports 503 are the first and second guide bar]);
(4) a second optical filter unit disposed parallel to the first optical filter unit (Iinuma fig.[0051] and fig. 5 disclose a neutral density filter 511 [second optical filter unit], termed a second optical filter; fig. 8 shows a top-down view of the filters 501 and 511, where they are shown parallel to one another; also, [0065] states that the two supports 503 [first and second guide bar] and two supports 513 [third and fourth guide bar for second holding frame, not yet mapped] are configured in parallel);
(5) a second holding frame that holds the second optical filter unit (Iinuma [0055] and fig. 5 disclose a holding frame 512 [second holding frame], shown to hold the second optical filter 511); and
(6) a third guide bar and a fourth guide bar that movably support the second holding frame (Iinuma [0055] and fig. 5 disclose two supports 513 which slidably support the second holding frame [two supports 513 are the third and fourth guide bars]).
Iinuma is silent to (7) a first housing that covers the first holding frame; and
(8) a second housing that covers the second holding frame,
wherein the first holding frame is slidably supported by being sandwiched between the first housing and one of the first guide bar and the second guide bar,
wherein the second holding frame is slidably supported by being sandwiched between the second housing and one of the third guide bar and fourth guide bar,
wherein the first guide bar is disposed outside the fourth guide bar with respect to the first holding frame and the third guide bar is disposed outside the second guide bar with respect to the second holding frame;
wherein the first holding frame is supported so as to cover an entire circumference of the first guide bar and does not protrude between the third guide bar and the first housing; and
wherein the second holding frame is supported so as to cover an entire circumference of the third guide bar and does not protrude between the first guide bar and the second housing.
However, Fujiwara does address these limitations. Iinuma and Fujiwara are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are optical filter devices for use in imaging systems.
Fujiwara discloses “(7) a first housing that covers the first holding frame” (Fujiwara fig. 12 and [0104] discloses a second holding plate 531 [first housing] which covers a first optical filter unit 540 (first optical filter unit 540 disclosed in [0017]-[0018] and fig. 2 exploded view); figs 11(a)-11(c) and [0033] disclose first optical filter holding member 541 [first holding frame] as part of first optical filter unit 540 [first housing covers the first holding frame, when parts are not “exploded” as in fig. 2]; the second holding plate 531 serves as a housing for the second drive unit 530, shown and labeled in fig. 2); and
“(8) a second housing the covers the second holding frame” (Fujiwara [0020] and figs. 2-3 and 12 discloses a first holding plate 521 [second housing], serving as housing for first drive unit 520; figs. 11(a)-11(c) and [0096] disclose the second optical filter unit 550 which comprises optical filter holding member 551 [second holding frame]; when components are not “exploded”, the first holding plate 521 covers the optical filter holding member 551 [second housing covers the second holding frame])
“wherein the first holding frame is slidably supported by being sandwiched between the first housing and one of the first guide bar and the second guide bar” (Fujiwara fig. 2 shows first optical filter unit 540 with guide bars [in the same form as that of Iinuma]; figs 11(a)-11(c) and 12 disclose the nestling of the first optical filter holding member 541 [first holding frame] and the optical filter holding member 551 [second holding frame]; first optical filter holding member 541 is supported by first guide bar 545a and second guide bar 545b; when the components of fig. 11 are sandwiched between the first and second housings 531 and 521 respectively of fig. 12, the first optical filter holding member 541 [first holding frame] is slidably supported (i.e. by guide bars) by being sandwiched between first housing 531 and first guide bar 545a, since entire circumference of guide bar 545a is surrounded by first optical filter holding member 541);
“wherein the second holding frame is slidably supported by being sandwiched between the second housing and one of the third guide bar and fourth guide bar” (Fujiwara figs. 11(a)-11(c) and 12; following the same logic from the previous limitation on the opposing end of the first and second holding frames to that shown in fig. 11(c), the optical filter holding member 551 is supported by third guide bar 555a and fourth guide bar 555b; when components of fig. 11 are sandwiched between the first and second housings 531 and 521 respectively of fig. 12, the optical filter holding member 551 [second holding frame] is slidably supported (i.e. by guide bars) by being sandwiched between the second housing 521 and the third guide bar 555a, since the entire circumference of the guide bar 555a is surrounded by the optical filter holding member 551);
“wherein the first guide bar is disposed outside the fourth guide bar with respect to the first holding frame” (Fujiwara fig. 11b shows the first (545a), second (545b), third (555a) and fourth (555b) guide bars in a top-down view on the equivalent (with respect to Iinuma) of first and second optical filter holding units 541 and 551 respectively; since the claim does not specify a direction against which a comparison should be made as to whether the first guide bar is outside of the fourth guide bar and only recites “relative to the first holding frame 541”, a reference frame exists where the first guide bar is outside of the fourth guide bar relative to the first holding frame; examiner suggests an amendment to say “outside in a direction of the optical axis” or “outside in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis” to better qualify what is meant by “outside”) “and wherein the third guide bar is disposed outside the second guide bar with respect to the second holding frame” (Fujiwara fig. 11b shows the first (545a), second (545b), third (555a) and fourth (555b) guide bars in a top-down view on the equivalent (with respect to Iinuma) of first and second optical filter holding units 541 and 551 respectively; as with the preceding limitation, there exists a frame of reference where the third guide bar is outside of the second guide bar relative to the second holding frame; examiner suggests the same amendment of “outside in a direction of the optical axis” or “outside in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis” to better qualify what is meant by “outside”);
“wherein the first holding frame is supported so as to cover an entire circumference of the first guide bar” (Fujiwara fig. 11c shows a zoomed view of the right side of fig. 11b (i.e. on the right of the line R) and shows the entire circumference of the first guide shaft 545a being covered by the first optical filter holding member 541 [first holding frame]) “and does not protrude between the third guide bar and the first housing” (Fujiwara figs. 11(a)-11(c) and 12 show that when assembled, the first holding frame 541 does not protrude between the third guide bar 555a and the first housing 531 in the direction of the center line R; for the protrusion to occur, the portion of 541 covering the entire circumference of the first guide bar 545a would need to extend past the boundary of the third guide bar 555a’s circumference in the direction of the center line R; examiner notes also that the claim does not specify a direction for the protrusion to occur relative to (i.e. in an optical axis direction, perpendicular to the optical axis direction, etc.)); and
“wherein the second holding frame is supported so as to cover an entire circumference of the third guide bar” (Fujiwara fig. 11b to the left of the line R shows third guide bar 555a being encapsulated by the corresponding a (second) holding member 551, where like the first guide bar, the third guide bar’s entire circumference is covered) “and does not protrude between the first guide bar and the second housing” (Fujiwara figs. 11(a)-11(c) and 12, following the same logic as the preceding limitation, show that when assembled, the second holding frame 551 does not protrude between the first guide bar 545a and the second housing 521; for the protrusion to occur, the portion of 551 covering the entire circumference of the third guide bar 555a would need to extend past the boundary of the first guide bar 545a’s circumference in the direction of the center line R; as with the preceding limitation, the claim does not specify a direction for the protrusion to occur relative to).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iinuma to incorporate a first housing that covers the first holding frame and a second housing that covers the second holding frame, wherein the first holding frame is slidably supported by being sandwiched between the first housing and one of the first guide bar and the second guide bar, wherein the second holding frame is slidably supported by being sandwiched between the second housing and one of the third guide bar and fourth guide bar, wherein the first guide bar is disposed outside the fourth guide bar with respect to the first holding frame and the third guide bar is disposed outside the second guide bar with respect to the second holding frame, wherein the first holding frame is supported so as to cover an entire circumference of the first guide bar and does not protrude between the third guide bar and the first housing; and wherein the second holding frame is supported so as to cover an entire circumference of the third guide bar and does not protrude between the first guide bar and the second housing as suggested by Fujiwara for the advantage of reducing the thickness of the optical member switching device by overlapping the first and third guide bars and therefore partially overlapping the first and second holding members (Fujiwara [0102]).
Iinuma when modified by Fujiwara is silent to wherein the first guide bar, the second guide bar, the third guide bar, and the fourth guide bar are disposed at positions that coincide with each other in an optical axis direction.
However, Kuroki does address this limitation. Iinuma, Fujiwara, and Kuroki are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they relate to optical filter support devices for use in imaging systems.
Kuroki discloses “wherein the first guide bar, the second guide bar, the third guide bar, and the fourth guide bar are disposed at positions that coincide with each other in an optical axis direction” (Kuroki fig. 6 and [0034]-[0035] discloses a design for filter units for use in an imaging system, where first and second filter units 16 and 18 are shown, comprising first upper 32, first lower 34, second upper 36, and second lower 38 guide bars [first, second, third, and fourth guide bars] supporting optical filters; fig. 6 shows an exploded view, but it is clear the guide bars are all coincident with one another in the optical axis LA direction (see non-exploded view of figs. 3-4 where the guide bars are all coincident with one another in the optical axis direction); while the guide bars within the optical filer apparatus of Kuroki appear to be arranged differently than Iinuma and Fujiwara, a user need only rotate the entirety of Kuroki by 90 degrees about the optical axis to derive the same arrangement of Iinuma in view of Fujiwara – this does not rise to a “substantial reconstruction or redesign” of the primary reference as there is no required redesign of inner components)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iinuma in view of Fujiwara to incorporate wherein the first guide bar, the second guide bar, the third guide bar, and the fourth guide bar are disposed at positions that coincide with each other in an optical axis direction as suggested by Kuroki for the advantage of further reducing the size of the imaging apparatus by effectively utilizing the space around the guide rails (Kuroki [0047]) – i.e. the footprint in the optical axis direction can be reduced with the design of Kuroki.
Regarding claim 14, Iinuma when modified Fujiwara and Kuroki discloses the optical filter apparatus according to claim 1. Iinuma is silent to the optical filter apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first guide bar, the second guide bar, the third guide bar, and the fourth guide bar are supported by the first housing and the second housing.
However, Fujiwara does address this limitation.
Fujiwara discloses the optical filter apparatus according to claim 1, “wherein first guide bar, the second guide bar, the third guide bar, and the fourth guide bar are supported by the first housing and the second housing” (Fujiwara fig. 12 shows the second holding plate 531 and first holding plate 521 [first housing and second housing respectively], and fig. 15(b) shows the entire optical filter apparatus assembled, where the guide bars are assembled within the first and second housing [i.e. the guide bars are ultimately supported by the first and second housing]; additionally, the first and second holding plates support the driving units which move the optical filters along the guide bars, therefore, they also must support the guide bars for that reason).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iinuma to incorporate wherein first guide bar, the second guide bar, the third guide bar, and the fourth guide bar are supported by the first housing and the second housing as suggested by Fujiwara for the advantage of reducing the thickness of the optical member switching device by overlapping the first and third guide bars and therefore partially overlapping the first and second holding members (Fujiwara [0102]).
Regarding claim 15, Iinuma when modified Fujiwara and Kuroki discloses the optical filter apparatus according to claim 1. Iinuma is silent to the optical filter apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first holding frame does not exist between the second holding frame and one of the first guide bar and the second guide bar, and wherein the second holding frame does not exist between the first holding frame and one of the third guide bar and the fourth guide bar.
However, Fujiwara does address this limitation.
Fujiwara discloses the optical filter apparatus according to claim 1, “the first holding frame does not exist between the second holding frame and one of the first guide bar and the second guide bar, and wherein the second holding frame does not exist between the first holding frame and one of the third guide bar and the fourth guide bar” (Fujiwara fig. 2 shows the exploded image of the first optical filter unit 540 which supports first optical filter holding member [first holding frame] and the second optical filter unit 550 which supports the optical filter holding member 551 [second holding frame]; in the exploded view of the device 500, the first holding frame is supported by the first and second guide bars, and the second holding frame is supported by the third and fourth guide bars; therefore, the first holding frame is separate from the third and fourth guide bars, and the second holding frame is separate from the first and second guide bars; therefore, the first holding frame does not exist between the second holding frame and the first/second guide bar and the second holding frame does not exist between the first holding frame and the third/fourth guide bar, with reference to an axis perpendicular to the optical axis of the device (i.e. in the plane of the units 540 and 550)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iinuma to incorporate the first holding frame does not exist between the second holding frame and one of the first guide bar and the second guide bar, and wherein the second holding frame does not exist between the first holding frame and one of the third guide bar and the fourth guide bar as suggested by Fujiwara for the advantage of reducing the thickness of the optical member switching device by overlapping the first and third guide bars and therefore partially overlapping the first and second holding members (Fujiwara [0102]).
Conclusion
55. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA M CARLSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877