DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Claims 1-6 in the reply filed on August 05, 2025 is acknowledged. Thus, Claims 7-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 05, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As to claim 1, the limitation “the bottom of the narrow region” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Thus, the limitation renders the claims indefinite and clarification is required. As to claim 2, the limitation “the shield area…the bottom of the wide area” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Thus, the limitation renders the claims indefinite and clarification is required. As to claim 3, the limitation “the wide-width trench” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Thus, the limitation renders the claim indefinite and clarification is required. As to claim 5, the limitation “a thickness of the shield region is set equal to a depth at which the body region is formed” appears to direct to an intermediate product rather than the final device. As clearly seen in FIG. 6 (f), the depth of the body region 30 is shallower than the shield region 150 and appears to be thicker than the shield region 150. The limitation appears to read on the intermediate product in FIG. 6 (e). It is not clear what the limitation is directed to and thus renders the claim indefinite and clarification is required. As to claim 6, the limitation “the source metal layer” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Thus, the limitation renders the claim indefinite and clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0365709 A1 to Ohashi et al. (“Ohashi”). As to claim 1, Ohashi discloses a silicon carbide power semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate (22) of a first conductivity type (N) made of silicon carbide; a drift layer (24) of the first conductivity type (N) formed on an upper surface of the substrate (22) with a relatively low impurity concentration compared to that of the substrate (22); a body region (26, 32) of a second conductivity type (P) formed in an upper region of the drift layer (24); a different-widths gate trench (under 20 filled by 18), being etched to extend into the drift layer (24) deeper than the body region (26, 32), wherein an upper region (at 20) of the different-widths gate trench (under 20 filled by 18) is formed to be a wide-width region (at 20) with a relatively wider width and a lower region (at 24) of the different-widths gate trench (under 20 filled by 18) is formed to be a narrow-width region (at 24) with a relatively narrower width, wherein the wide-width region (at 20) and the narrow-width region (at 24) share a vertical center line so that the different-widths gate trench (under 20 filled by 18) is formed in a boundary shape bent to have a stepped edge; a different-widths poly gate electrode (18) filled in the different-widths gate trench (under 20 filled by 18) so as to be insulated by a different-widths gate oxide (16) and formed in a shape corresponding to the shape of the different-widths gate trench (under 20 filled by 18); and a source region (28) of the first conductivity type (N) formed in an upper region of the body region (26, 32) in contact with sidewalls of the different-widths gate trench (under 20 filled by 18), wherein the different-widths gate oxide (16) formed on the bottom of the narrow region of the different-widths gate trench (under 20 filled by 18) is formed to be twice or more thicker than a thickness of the different-widths gate oxide (16) formed on the sidewall of the wide-width region (at 20), wherein a shield region (26 in contact with 16) of the second conductivity type (P) is formed at both corner regions of the different-widths gate trench (under 20 filled by 18) where the bottom of the wide-width region (at 20) and sidewalls of the narrow-width region (at 24) cross (See Fig. 1, Fig. 23, Fig. 25, ¶ 0040, ¶ 0045, ¶ 0048, ¶ 0051, ¶ 0055, ¶ 0058, ¶ 0059, ¶ 0061, ¶ 0062, ¶ 0064, ¶ 0069, ¶ 0075, ¶ 0076, ¶ 0165, ¶ 0168, ¶ 0178, ¶ 0180). As to claim 3, Ohashi further discloses wherein the body region (26, 32) and the shield region (26 in contact with 16) are formed together as an extension region of the second conductivity type (P) in a state of being connected to each other at a same process and then separated from each other in an etching process in which the drift layer (24) is etched to form the wide-width trench (at 20) for forming the wide-width region (at 20) (See Fig. 25). Furthermore, the limitation “are formed together as an extension region of the second conductivity type in a state of being connected to each other at a same process and then separated from each other in an etching process in which the drift layer is etched to form the wide-width trench for forming the wide-width region” is a product-by-process limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. It has been held it has been held that “The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature” than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983). The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product. See, e.g., In re Garnero, 412 F.2d 276, 279, 162 USPQ 221, 223 (CCPA 1979). As to claim 4, Ohashi further discloses wherein the body region (26, 32) and the shield region (26 in contact with 16) are formed with the same impurity concentration (26 concentration) (See Fig. 25). As to claim 6, Ohashi discloses wherein further comprising a contact region (26 side) of the second conductivity type (P) formed in the upper region of the body region (26, 32) to contact the source region (28), wherein the contact region (26 side) is bonded to the source metal layer with a recess-etched contact structure (See Fig. 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0157959 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0150038 A1 to Hsieh et al. (“Hsieh”). As to claim 1, although Kim discloses a silicon carbide power semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate (110) of a first conductivity type (N) made of silicon carbide; a drift layer (120) of the first conductivity type (N) formed on an upper surface of the substrate (110) with a relatively low impurity concentration compared to that of the substrate (110); a body region (170) of a second conductivity type (P) formed in an upper region of the drift layer (120); a different-widths gate trench (580), being etched to extend into the drift layer (120) deeper than the body region (170), wherein an upper region of the different-widths gate trench (580) is formed to be a wide-width region (581) with a relatively wider width and a lower region (582) of the different-widths gate trench (580) is formed to be a narrow-width region (582) with a relatively narrower width, wherein the wide-width region (581) and the narrow-width region (582) share a vertical center line so that the different-widths gate trench (580) is formed in a boundary shape bent to have a stepped edge; a different-widths poly gate electrode (584) filled in the different-widths gate trench (580) so as to be insulated by a different-widths gate oxide (586) and formed in a shape corresponding to the shape of the different-widths gate trench (580); and a source region (160) of the first conductivity type (N) formed in an upper region of the body region (170) in contact with sidewalls of the different-widths gate trench (580), wherein a shield region (540) of the second conductivity type (P) is formed at both corner regions of the different-widths gate trench (580) where the bottom of the wide-width region (581) and sidewalls of the narrow-width region (582) cross (See Fig. 2, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, ¶ 0070-¶ 0073, ¶ 0075, ¶ 0078-¶ 0080, ¶ 0099, ¶ 0105, ¶ 0112-¶ 0121), Kim does not further disclose wherein the different-widths gate oxide formed on the bottom of the narrow region of the different-widths gate trench is formed to be twice or more thicker than a thickness of the different-widths gate oxide formed on the sidewall of the wide-width region. However, Hsieh does disclose wherein the different-widths gate oxide (210t) formed on the bottom of the narrow region of the different-widths gate trench (206) is formed to be twice or more thicker than a thickness of the different-widths gate oxide (210t) formed on the sidewall of the wide-width region (See Fig. 2, Fig. 3, ¶ 0007, ¶ 0018, ¶ 0019, ¶ 0038, ¶ 0042). In view of the teaching of Hsieh, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kim to have wherein the different-widths gate oxide formed on the bottom of the narrow region of the different-widths gate trench is formed to be twice or more thicker than a thickness of the different-widths gate oxide formed on the sidewall of the wide-width region because the thicker gate oxide still maintains the gate function while reducing the gate charges and avoiding high interface state charges (See ¶ 0042). As to claim 2, Kim further discloses wherein the shield area is formed to extend in a downward direction in contact with the bottom of the wide area as a whole, wherein the shield area is in contact with sidewall of the narrow-width region (582) to a same depth as a bottom of the different-widths poly gate electrode (584) located in the narrow-width region (582) in the different-widths gate trench (580) (See Fig. 5, ¶ 0116). As to claim 3, Kim further discloses wherein the body region (170) and the shield region (540) are formed together as an extension region of the second conductivity type (P) in a state of being connected to each other at a same process and then separated from each other in an etching process in which the drift layer (120) is etched to form the wide-width trench for forming the wide-width region (581) (See Fig. 5). Furthermore, the limitation “are formed together as an extension region of the second conductivity type in a state of being connected to each other at a same process and then separated from each other in an etching process in which the drift layer is etched to form the wide-width trench for forming the wide-width region” is a product-by-process limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. It has been held it has been held that “The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature” than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983). The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product. See, e.g., In re Garnero, 412 F.2d 276, 279, 162 USPQ 221, 223 (CCPA 1979). As to claim 4, Kim further discloses wherein the body region (170) and the shield region (540) are formed with the same impurity concentration (See Fig. 4, ¶ 0105).
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815