DETAILED ACTION
2. This Non-Final office action is in response to application 18/161,586, application filed on 01/30/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilic (US PG Pub No. 2017/0349055) in view of Zhou et al. (US PG Pub No. 2023/0373323).
6. With respect to independent claim 1, Kilic teaches:
An electric charging system (electrically connecting a charging station to the charging socket of a vehicle, Abstract; automatic connection between vehicle and charging station, para 7; see charging system, para 7) comprising:
an automatic connection device disposed outside a chargeable device (see charging station automatic connection device/positioning device 12 for automatically connecting charging head to socket of EV 5, para 33-38, Fig 2), the automatic connection device being configured to be electrically coupled to an electrical energy source (see Fig 2, para 36, describing a automatic connection by a charging station 1, where device controls the automatic connection of a charging head 21 to electrically couple to a charging socket of an electric vehicle, para 35-38, Fig 2; see voltage source 30, Fig 2, para 35-38) and comprising:
a plug head configured to electrically and mechanically connect to the chargeable device (see plug head 21 of Fig 4a, which is to be both mechanically and electrically coupled to socket of EV, as shown in Figs 2-4a, and described in para 33-38), the plug head comprising:
a plug head connector comprising a first plurality of electrically conductive pins and/or sockets configured to receive pins (see plug head 21 of Fig 6, showing conductive pins/contacts 21-a through 21-c as shown in Fig 6, and described in para 54); and
a first mechanism configured to position the plug head at an inlet (see positioning system for positioning the plug to be initially and roughly adjusted to the position of the charging socket, para 21, Figs 2-3); and
the inlet comprising:
a second plurality of electrically conductive sockets and/or pins configured to be complementary to the first plurality of electrically conductive pins and/or sockets of the plug head connector (see pins/contacts 51-a though 51-c, which are complementary to the pins/contacts 21-a through 21-c of the charging plug head 21 as illustrated in Fig 6);
a second mechanism configured to mechanically and electrically couple the first plurality of electrically conductive pins and/or sockets and the second plurality of electrically conductive sockets and/or pins (see fine adjustment/compensation element of the contact heads of the charging head 21 to align with the charging socket 51, mechanically and electrically coupling pins/contacts of charging head and charging socket, para 8-12, 14-16), the inlet configured to be:
disposed in an outer surface of the chargeable device (see charging inlet 51 in/on the electric vehicle 5 of Fig 2); and
electrically connected to at least one energy storage device in the chargeable device (see battery 50 of EV 5 connected to charging inlet components, para 37, Fig 2),
wherein the first mechanism is configured to produce a first maximum force and to move with a first translational and rotational precision and the second mechanism is configured to produce a second maximum force and to move with a second translational and rotational precision (see force that exceeds limit value to move compensation element to align contacts of head and socket, para 44; see external force of desired position of charging head, but needing additional actuation/force for fine alignment of contacts/pins of charging head and charging socket, para 40-45),
wherein the second maximum force is greater than the first maximum force, and wherein the first translational and rotational precision is higher than the second translational and rotational precision (see one force is greater than predetermined limit to actuate fine alignment of contacts/pins of charging head and charging socket, para 43).
Kilic appears to be silent regarding:
a plug head lock comprising a first shape; and
a plug head coupler comprising
a second shape that is complementary to the first shape of the plug head lock and configured to mechanically couple with the plug head by securely grasping the plug head lock.
However, Zhou teaches:
a plug head lock comprising a first shape (see charging connector plug head 119 of Fig 19, showing a lock/latch 138 with a shape like an L or tab/tip, para 63); and
a plug head coupler (see coupler locking pin 13 on charging port 351 to engage with lock/latch 138 from the charging connector plug head 119, para 63, Fig 19) comprising
a second shape that is complementary to the first shape of the plug head lock and configured to mechanically couple with the plug head by securely grasping the plug head lock (see shape of locking pin 13 on the charging socket 351, which is shaped like and designed to accept the latch/lock 138 of the charging connector head 119).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated Zhou’s mating locking mechanisms into the invention of Kilic for at least the following reason(s): as described in Zhou in para 67, the locking mechanism enables a locked position of the charging head to the charging socket, which enables proper alignment to achieve plug-in, which provides more reliable connection and reduces the risk of damage to the charging head and charging socket.
21. With respect to independent claim 16, Kilic teaches:
A method for charging a chargeable device using an electric charging system (electrically connecting a charging station to the charging socket of a vehicle, Abstract; automatic connection between vehicle and charging station, para 7; see charging system, para 7), the chargeable device comprising:
at least one energy storage device (see battery 50 of electric vehicle 5, para 37, Fig 2);
the electric charging system comprising:
an automatic connection device disposed outside a chargeable device, the automatic connection device being configured to be electrically coupled to an electrical energy source (see charging station automatic connection device/positioning device 12 for automatically connecting charging head to socket of EV 5, para 33-38, Fig 2; see Fig 2, para 36, describing a automatic connection by a charging station 1, where device controls the automatic connection of a charging head 21 to electrically couple to a charging socket of an electric vehicle, para 35-38, Fig 2; see voltage source 30, Fig 2, para 35-38) and comprising:
a plug head configured to electrically and mechanically connect to the chargeable device (see plug head 21 of Fig 4a, which is to be both mechanically and electrically coupled to socket of EV, as shown in Figs 2-4a, and described in para 33-38),
the plug head comprising:
a plug head connector comprising a first plurality of electrically conductive pins and/or sockets configured to receive pins (see plug head 21 of Fig 6, showing conductive pins/contacts 21-a through 21-c as shown in Fig 6, and described in para 54); and
a first mechanism configured to position the plug head at an inlet (see positioning system for positioning the plug to be initially and roughly adjusted to the position of the charging socket, para 21, Figs 2-3);
the inlet comprising:
a second plurality of electrically conductive sockets and/or pins configured to be complementary to the first plurality of electrically conductive pins and/or sockets of the plug head connector (see pins/contacts 51-a though 51-c, which are complementary to the pins/contacts 21-a through 21-c of the charging plug head 21 as illustrated in Fig 6);
a second mechanism configured to mechanically and electrically couple the first plurality of electrically conductive pins and/or sockets and the second plurality of electrically conductive sockets and/or pins (see fine adjustment/compensation element of the contact heads of the charging head 21 to align with the charging socket 51, mechanically and electrically coupling pins/contacts of charging head and charging socket, para 8-12, 14-16), the inlet configured to be:
disposed in an outer surface of the chargeable device (see charging inlet 51 in/on the electric vehicle 5 of Fig 2); and
electrically connected to the at least one energy storage device in the chargeable device (see battery 50 of EV 5 connected to charging inlet components, para 37, Fig 2);
the method comprising:
moving, using the first mechanism, the plug head to the inlet (contact charging head adjusted to the position of the charging socket, para 21; see force that exceeds limit value to move compensation element to align contacts of head and socket, para 44; see external force of desired position of charging head, but needing additional actuation/force for fine alignment of contacts/pins of charging head and charging socket, para 40-45);
inserting, using a second mechanism, a plug connector in the inlet (contact head is inserted into charging socket, Abstract); and
charging, using the electric charging system the chargeable device (vehicle to be charged, Abstract),
wherein the first mechanism is configured to produce a first maximum force and to move with a first translational and rotational precision and the second mechanism is configured to produce a second maximum force and to move with a second translational and rotational precision (adjustment element includes rotation device, para 14; see force that exceeds limit value to move compensation element to align contacts of head and socket, para 44; see external force of desired position of charging head, but needing additional actuation/force for fine alignment of contacts/pins of charging head and charging socket, para 40-45),
wherein the second maximum force is greater than the first maximum force (see one force is greater than predetermined limit to actuate fine alignment of contacts/pins of charging head and charging socket, para 43), and
wherein the first translational and rotational precision is higher than the second translational and rotational precision (first force/movement is a rough positioning, and second force/movement is a fine adjustment to properly align pins/contacts of charging plug to pins/contacts of charging socket, para 8-12).
Kilic appears to be silent regarding:
a plug head lock comprising a first shape; and
a plug head coupler comprising a second shape that is complementary to the first shape of the plug head lock and configured to mechanically couple with the plug head by securely grasping the plug head lock; and
locking, using the inlet, the plug head in correct orientation at the inlet.
However, Zhou teaches:
a plug head lock comprising a first shape (see charging connector plug head 119 of Fig 19, showing a lock/latch 138 with a shape like an L or tab/tip, para 63); and
a plug head coupler comprising a second shape that is complementary to the first shape of the plug head lock and configured to mechanically couple with the plug head by securely grasping the plug head lock (see shape of locking pin 13 on the charging socket 351, which is shaped like and designed to accept the latch/lock 138 of the charging connector head 119); and
locking, using the inlet, the plug head in correct orientation at the inlet (see aligning orientation of charging port and plug connector, para 51; see aligning lock/tip of connector plug with locking slog of connector socket, para 63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated Zhou’s mating locking mechanisms into the invention of Kilic for at least the following reason(s): as described in Zhou in para 67, the locking mechanism enables a locked position of the charging head to the charging socket, which enables proper alignment to achieve plug-in, which provides more reliable connection and reduces the risk of damage to the charging head and charging socket.
7. With respect to claim 2, Kilic teaches:
The electric charging system of claim 1, wherein the chargeable device is an electric vehicle and the inlet is a vehicle inlet (see connecting to an electric vehicle socket/inlet, Abstract).
8. With respect to claims 3 and 19, while Kilic appears to be silent regarding the recited claim features below, Zhou teaches:
wherein the second mechanism is further configured to disengage the plug head connector from the inlet (see Zhou: linear actuator to pull the plug 119 out of the charging receptacle 351, para 68, Fig 19).
(For motivation to combine references, see rejection of claim 1 above).
9. With respect to claim 4, while Kilic appears to be silent regarding the recited claim features below, Zhou teaches:
The electric charging system of claim 1, wherein the inlet further comprises a third mechanism configured to disengage the plug head connector from the inlet (see Zhou: linear actuator to pull the plug 119 out of the charging receptacle 351, para 68, Fig 19).
(For motivation to combine references, see rejection of claim 1 above).
10. With respect to claims 5 and 20, Kilic teaches:
wherein the second mechanism is further configured to actively retain the plug head connector in the inlet (see fine adjustment of charging contact head takes place automatically during insertion of the contact head into the charging socket of the vehicle, para 8).
Kilic appears to be silent regarding:
wherein disengaging the plug head connector from the inlet is performed with the second mechanism in a passive mode.
However, Zhou teaches:
wherein disengaging the plug head connector from the inlet is performed with the second mechanism in a passive mode (see Zhou: linear actuator to pull the plug 119 out of the charging receptacle 351, para 68, Fig 19).
(For motivation to combine references, see rejection of claim 1 above).
11. With respect to claim 6, Kilic teaches:
The electric charging system of claim 1, wherein the at least one energy storage device comprises at least one of a battery, a capacitor, a supercapacitor, a flywheel, and a thermal battery (see battery 50 of EV 5 connected to charging inlet components, para 37, Fig 2).
12. With respect to claim 7, Kilic teaches:
The electric charging system of claim 1, wherein the automatic connection device further comprises a processor configured to use positional information to determine a path to position the plug head at the inlet (see positional information for initial position alignment and adjustment to positional information for fine alignment of contact head with charging socket, para 20-22).
13. With respect to claim 8, Kilic teaches:
The electric charging system of claim 7, wherein the positional information comprises a relative position and orientation of the plug head with respect to the inlet and/or the position and orientation of the plug head and the position and orientation of the inlet (see positional information and precise orientation for aligning contact head with charging socket, para 9-12).
14. With respect to claim 9, Kilic teaches:
The electric charging system of claim 7, wherein the automatic connection device further comprises a localization system that provides the positional information to the processor (see localized information of position of the charging socket, para 37).
15. With respect to claim 10, while Kilic appears to be silent regarding the recited claim features below, Zhou teaches:
The electric charging system of claim 1, wherein the automatic connection device further comprises a base (see base 211 of an automatic connection device, para 54).
(For motivation to combine references, see rejection of claim 1 above).
16. With respect to claim 11, while Kilic appears to be silent regarding the recited claim features below, Zhou teaches:
The electric charging system of claim 10, wherein the first mechanism comprises an arm configured to articulate, the arm comprising a first end disposed on the base and a second end connected to the plug head (see latch arm, one terminating end at base, and other terminating end connected to charging plug head, Abstract, Fig 7).
(For motivation to combine references, see rejection of claim 1 above).
17. With respect to claim 12, Kilic teaches:
The electric charging system of claim 2, wherein the vehicle inlet is disposed on a side or back outer surface of the electric vehicle (see charging socket 51, which appears to be at the rear/front of the vehicle 5, para 34).
18. With respect to claim 13, Kilic teaches:
The electric charging system of claim 2, wherein the vehicle inlet is disposed on an underbody outer surface of the electric vehicle (see charging socket 51, charging socket locations on vehicle, para 34).
19. With respect to claim 14, Kilic teaches:
The electric charging system of claim 1, wherein the inlet is further configured to be communicatively coupled to the automatic connection device (see fine adjustment/compensation element of the contact heads of the charging head 21 to align with the charging socket 51, mechanically and electrically coupling pins/contacts of charging head and charging socket, para 8-12, 14-16).
20. With respect to claim 15, Kilic teaches:
The electric charging system of claim 1, wherein mechanically and electrically coupling the first plurality of electrically conductive pins and/or sockets and the second plurality of electrically conductive sockets and/or pins includes communicatively coupling the automatic connection device and the chargeable device (see fine adjustment/compensation element of the contact heads of the charging head 21 to align with the charging socket 51, mechanically and electrically coupling pins/contacts of charging head and charging socket, para 8-12, 14-16).
22. With respect to claim 17, Kilic teaches:
The method of claim 16, further comprising:
identifying, using a localization system, the inlet disposed on an outer surface of the chargeable device (see charging socket 51, which appears to be at the rear/front of the vehicle 5, para 34); and
determining, using the automatic connection device, a path for a plug head to the inlet (see path for plug to socket/inlet, Figs 4a-4b).
22. With respect to claim 18, while Kilic appears to be silent regarding the recited claim features below, Zhou teaches:
The method of claim 16, further comprising:
ejecting the plug head from the inlet (see Zhou: linear actuator to pull the plug 119 out of the charging receptacle 351, para 68, Fig 19); and
returning the automatic connection device to a stored state (see returning plug to initial state, para 70-75).
(For motivation to combine references, see rejection of claim 1 above).
Conclusion
/SUCHIN PARIHAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851