Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibuya et al. (US 2019/0206768, hereinafter Shibuya) in view of Somma et al. (US 2019/0287880, hereinafter Somma).
With respect to claim 1, Shibuya discloses an apparatus (Fig. 22), comprising: a metal leadframe (Para 0004; 0031; 0038; ; 0054 – leadframe strip 1800) comprising: a die pad (1804) in a central portion of the metal leadframe (1804 is in the central portion of the leadframe) and having a thickness that is the same as a full thickness of the metal leadframe (Fig. 22); leads (1806) spaced from the die pad (1806’s are spaced apart from 1804), the leads comprising: an interior end (see below) spaced from the die pad by an opening (interior end is spaced apart from 1804) in the metal leadframe and having the full thickness (see below); a central portion connected to the interior end (see below) and extending away from the die pad having a partial thickness that is less than the full thickness (see below – central portion extends away from 1804 and has a partial thickness less that the full thickness); and an exterior end (see below) having the full thickness extending from the central portion and away from the die pad (see below – exterior end has the full thickness and extends from the central portion away from 1804), the exterior end having a board side surface (Para 0031; 0033; 0052);
and a side surface orthogonal to the board side surface (Para 0031 – leadframe mounted to a PCB – it’s obvious that the side surface of the exterior end is perpendicular to PCB side surface/lower side of the exterior end);
a semiconductor die (2200) mounted to the die pad (see above) by die attach material (Para 0056 -1900 of Fig. 19); wire bonds (2202) coupling to the semiconductor die to the interior ends of leads of the metal leadframe (Fig. 22 – 2202 couples the die to the interior ends of 1806’s ); and mold compound (Para 0005; 0057 – 2204 of Fig. 22) covering the semiconductor die, the die pad, the wire bonds, the interior ends of the leads, the central portion of the leads, and portions of the exterior ends of the leads to form a semiconductor device package (Para 0026; 0033 & Fig. 22), and the board side surface of the exterior ends and the side surface visible from the mold compound (Fig. 22 – lower surface and side surface of the exterior end is visible from the mold compound 2204), the side surface of the exterior ends and a side surface of the apparatus formed by the mold compound being coplanar (Fig. 22- the side surface of 2204 & exterior end is coplanar - Para 0026).
Shibuya does not explicitly disclose having bond pads on a device side surface facing away from the die pad; the wire bonds couple to the semiconductor devices via coupling bond pads; and forming terminals for the semiconductor device package.
In an analogous art, Somma discloses having bond pads on a device side surface facing away from the die pad (Para 0036; 0061 bond pads); the wire bonds couple to the semiconductor devices via coupling bond pads (Para 0036 and 0050; 0061); and forming terminals for the semiconductor device package (Para 0007 -0008; terminals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibuya’s apparatus by having Somma’s disclosure in order to provide connection points for electrical signals, power and ground between a die and other components.
With respect to claim 2, Shibuya discloses wherein the interior ends of the leads have a board side surface exposed from the mold compound (Para 0026-0028 and 0032-0033).
With respect to claim 3, Shibuya discloses wherein the central portion of the leads have the partial thickness that is one-half the full thickness of the metal leadframe (Para 0042 – recess in leadframe can be half the thickness of the leadframe).
With respect to claim 4, Shibuya discloses wherein the central portion of the leads have the partial thickness that is less than one-half of the full thickness of the metal leadframe (Para 0042 – recess in leadframe can be less than half the thickness of the leadframe).
With respect to claim 5, Shibuya discloses wherein the semiconductor device package is a leaded semiconductor device package and the leads extend beyond the semiconductor device package (Para 0002; and 0055-0056).
With respect to claim 6, Shibuya discloses wherein the die pad has a board side surface exposed from the mold compound (Para 0028; and 0036-0037).
With respect to claim 7, Shibuya discloses wherein the apparatus is a quad flat no-lead (QFN) semiconductor device package (Para 0002; and 0031; QFN).
With respect to claim 12, Shibuya discloses wherein the metal leadframe is a copper leadframe (Para 0004; 0031; 0038; 0054 – copper leadframe).
With respect to claim 13, Shibuya discloses wherein the metal leadframe is a copper leadframe, an Alloy 42 leadframe, a steel leadframe or a stainless steel leadframe (Para 0004; 0031; 0038; 0054 – copper leadframe).
Claims 8-11, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibuya/Somma in view of Chien-Hung et al. (US 2003/0006055, hereinafter Chien).
With respect to claim 8, Shibuya/Somma does not explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus is a small outline no-lead (SON) semiconductor device package.
In an analogous art, Chien discloses wherein the apparatus is a small outline no-lead (SON) semiconductor device package (Para 0001).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibuya/Somma’s apparatus by having Chien’s disclosure in order to miniaturize the size of a semiconductor device to provide a thin profile of the device.
With respect to claim 9, Shibuya/Somma does not explicitly disclose wherein the full thickness of the metal leadframe is between 0.2-0.5 millimeters.
In an analogous art, Chien discloses wherein the full thickness of the metal leadframe is between 0.2-0.5 millimeters (Para 0024; 0.2mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibuya/Somma’s apparatus by having Chien’s disclosure in order to miniaturize the size of a semiconductor device to provide a thin profile of the device.
With respect to claim 10, Shibuya/Somma does not explicitly disclose wherein
the central portion of the leads has a curved surface.
In an analogous art, Chien discloses wherein the central portion of the leads has a curved surface (central portion of 240 of Fig. 4 is curved).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibuya/Somma’s apparatus by having Chien’s disclosure in order to accommodate different components of a semiconductor device to minimize the size of the device.
With respect to claim 11, Shibuya/Somma does not explicitly disclose
wherein the leads are partially etched or stamped.
In an analogous art, Chien discloses wherein the leads are partially etched or stamped (Para 0024 – partially etched).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibuya/Somma’s apparatus by having Chien’s disclosure in order to accommodate different components of a semiconductor device to minimize the size of the device.
With respect to claim 14, Shibuya/Somma does not explicitly disclose wherein the wire bonds are formed from bond wires of gold, aluminum, silver, copper, or palladium coated copper.
In an analogous art, Chien discloses wherein the wire bonds are formed from bond wires of gold, aluminum, silver, copper, or palladium coated copper (Para 0021; gold wire). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibuya/Somma’s apparatus by having Chien’s disclosure in order to improve electrical conductivity and reliability of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 20, Shibuya discloses an apparatus (Fig. 22), comprising: a leadframe (Para 0004; 0031; 0038; ; 0054 – leadframe strip 1800) having a die pad (1804) in a central portion (1804 is in the central portion of the leadframe), and having leads (1806) spaced from the die pad (1806’s are spaced apart from 1804), the leadframe having a full thickness (see below) and a partial thickness that is less than the full thickness (see below), the lead comprising:
interior end having the full thickness spaced from the die pad (see below);
a central portion having the partial thickness connected to the interior end and extending away from the die pad (see below); and an exterior end connected to the central portion and position away from the die pad (see below);
die attach material (Para 0056 -1900 of Fig. 19) over the die pad; a semiconductor die (2200) mounted to the die pad using the die attach material (see above), the semiconductor die having bond pads on a device side surface facing away from the die pad; wire bonds (2202) coupling to the semiconductor die to interior ends of the leads of the copper leadframe (Fig. 22 – 2202 couples the die to the interior ends of 1806’s); and mold compound (Para 0005; 0057 – 2204 of Fig. 22) covering the semiconductor die, the wire bonds, portions of the interior ends of the leads, and portions of the exterior ends of the leads to form a semiconductor device package (Para 0026; 0033 & Fig. 22), and a board side surface and a side surface orthogonal to the board side surface (Para 0031; 0033; 0052 – leadframe mounted to a PCB – it’s obvious that the side surface of the exterior end is perpendicular to PCB side surface/lower side of the exterior end) of the exterior ends of the leads visible from the mold compound (Para 0026).
Shibuya does not explicitly disclose having bond pads on a device side surface facing away from the die pad; the wire bonds couple to the semiconductor devices via coupling bond pads; and forming surface mount terminals of the semiconductor device package due to the visible exterior ends of the leads.
In an analogous art, Somma discloses having bond pads on a device side surface facing away from the die pad (Para 0036; 0061 bond pads); the wire bonds couple to the semiconductor devices via coupling bond pads (Para 0036 and 0050; 0061); and forming surface mount terminals of the semiconductor device package due to the visible exterior ends of the leads (Para 0007 -0008; terminals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibuya’s apparatus by having Somma’s disclosure in order to provide connection points for electrical signals, power and ground between a die and other components.
Shibuya/Somma does not explicitly disclose that the wire bonds comprising bond wires of gold, silver, aluminum, copper, or palladium coated copper.
In an analogous art, Chien discloses that the wire bonds comprising bond wires of gold, silver, aluminum, copper, or palladium coated copper (Para 0021; gold wire).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shibuya/Somma’s apparatus by having Chien’s disclosure in order to improve electrical conductivity and reliability of a semiconductor device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/25/2026 have been considered, however they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that prior art does not explicitly disclose the amended limitations of claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees because Shibuya discloses
an exterior end (see below) having the full thickness extending from the central portion and away from the die pad (see below – exterior end has the full thickness and extends from the central portion away from 1804), the exterior end having a board side surface (Para 0031; 0033; 0052);
and a side surface orthogonal to the board side surface (Para 0031 – leadframe mounted to a PCB – it’s obvious that the side surface of the exterior end is perpendicular to PCB side surface/lower side of the exterior end);
a semiconductor die (2200) mounted to the die pad (see above) by die attach material (Para 0056 -1900 of Fig. 19); wire bonds (2202) coupling to the semiconductor die to the interior ends of leads of the metal leadframe (Fig. 22 – 2202 couples the die to the interior ends of 1806’s ); and mold compound (Para 0005; 0057 – 2204 of Fig. 22) covering the semiconductor die, the die pad, the wire bonds, the interior ends of the leads, the central portion of the leads, and portions of the exterior ends of the leads to form a semiconductor device package (Para 0026; 0033 & Fig. 22), and the board side surface of the exterior ends and the side surface visible from the mold compound (Fig. 22 – lower surface and side surface of the exterior end is visible from the mold compound 2204), the side surface of the exterior ends and a side surface of the apparatus formed by the mold compound being coplanar (Fig. 22- the side surface of 2204 & exterior end is coplanar - Para 0026).
Applicant further argues that prior art does not explicitly disclose the amended limitations of claim 20. Examiner respectfully disagrees because Shibuya discloses an apparatus (Fig. 22), comprising: a leadframe (Para 0004; 0031; 0038; ; 0054 – leadframe strip 1800) having a die pad (1804) in a central portion (1804 is in the central portion of the leadframe), and having leads (1806) spaced from the die pad (1806’s are spaced apart from 1804), the leadframe having a full thickness (see below) and a partial thickness that is less than the full thickness (see below), the lead comprising:
interior end having the full thickness spaced from the die pad (see below);
a central portion having the partial thickness connected to the interior end and extending away from the die pad (see below); and an exterior end connected to the central portion and position away from the die pad (see below);
and mold compound (Para 0005; 0057 – 2204 of Fig. 22) covering the semiconductor die, the wire bonds, portions of the interior ends of the leads, and portions of the exterior ends of the leads to form a semiconductor device package (Para 0026; 0033 & Fig. 22), and a board side surface and a side surface orthogonal to the board side surface (Para 0031; 0033; 0052 – leadframe mounted to a PCB – it’s obvious that the side surface of the exterior end is perpendicular to PCB side surface/lower side of the exterior end) of the exterior ends of the leads visible from the mold compound (Para 0026).
Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899