Attorney’s Docket Number: 223421
Filing Date: 1/31/2023
Claimed Priority Date: 2/2/2022 (JP 2022-014673)
Inventors: Kasai et al.
Examiner: Marcos D. Pizarro
DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to the amendment filed on 4/20/2026.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for a rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Amendment Status
The amendment filed on 4/20/2026 in reply to the Office action in paper no. 9 has been entered. The present Office action is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered. Accordingly, pending in this Office action are claims 1, 4 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2020/0357971) in view of Tsai (US 2023/0057113) and Tajima (US 2020/0098678).
Regarding claim 1, Lin (see, e.g., fig. 7A) shows most aspects of the instant invention including a joint structure in which an electronic component 104 and a wiring substrate 102 are joined to each other, the structure comprising:
A first layer 1201 between the component and the substrate
A second layer 1202 between the component and the substrate, and
A third layer 116 at a joint interface between the first and second layers
wherein (see, e.g., par. 0039/ll.4-15):
The first layer 1201 is composed of a first metal containing Sn
The second layer 1202 is composed of a second metal
The third layer 116 is composed of an intermetallic compound of the first and second metals
The second metal is metal containing at least Au (see, e.g., par.0039/ll.15-16)
However, Lin does not specify the thickness of the third layer.
Tsai teaches that the thickness of the third layer should be controlled to be approximately 5–10% of the thickness of the joint structure in order to improve joint yield and reliability (see, e.g., Tsai: pars. 0031-0033). Tsai, therefore, teaches that the thickness of the third layer is a result-effective variable and provides guidance for selecting an appropriate thickness to achieve improved performance.
Tajima discloses that the thickness of the third layer formed during bonding is about 1 micron under the disclosed bonding conditions, and further teaches that the thickness of the third layer is dependent on bonding time and temperature (see, e.g., Tajima: par.0036/ll.22-25). Tajima, therefore, teaches that third-layer thickness is a controllable variable. Tajima does not teach that 1 micron is critical or that thinner layers are undesirable. In view of Tsai’s teaching that controlling the thickness of the third layer improves joint yield and reliability, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the bonding parameters taught by Tajima to obtain a thinner third layer, including thicknesses within the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the joint structure of Lin to control the thickness of the third layer as taught by Tsai, using the bonding process parameters taught by Tajima, in order to improve joint yield and reliability. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in achieving a desired third-layer thickness by adjusting bonding time and temperature, as taught by Tajima.
Selecting a third-layer thickness within the claimed range of 0.1–0.5 microns would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization, as Tsai teaches that third-layer thickness should be controlled relative to joint thickness to obtain improved performance, and Tajima teaches how to control that thickness during bonding. The claimed thickness range therefore represents an obvious optimization of a known result-effective variable. Absent persuasive evidence that the claimed range exhibits unexpected properties commensurate in scope with the claim, optimization of such a result-effective variable would have been within the ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Tsai teaches the third layer IMC2 containing AuSn4 (see, e.g., par.0057/l.18).
Regarding claim 5, Lin shows that the component 104 is a LED (see, e.g., par.0039/ll.26-27).
Response to Arguments
The applicants argue:
The examiner applies Lin as teaching that the second metal contains at least Au. However, the combination of this limitation with the claimed thickness range of 0.1-0.5 µm for the third layer provides unexpected results. Here, the claimed range of thickness provides a superior breakage strength. This is demonstrated in fig. 5 of the pending application. For instance, just below the claimed range, inferior results are achieved. Similarly, just above the claimed range, inferior results are achieved. Meanwhile, superior results are demonstrated throughout the entirety of the claimed range. Accordingly, it would not have been obvious to modify the asserted references to arrive at the claimed joint structure.
The examiner replies:
Although the applicants rely on Examples 1-3 as evidence of unexpected results, the evidence is not commensurate in scope with the claimed range of 0.1-0.5 μm. Specifically, ¶0046 of the specification states that Example 1 (0.1 μm) exhibited low breakage strength when compared to Examples 2 and 3 (0.3 μm and 0.5 μm). Thus, applicant’s own specification indicates that the lower endpoint of the claimed range does not provide the same level of performance as other claimed embodiments. Accordingly, the evidence does not establish that the asserted unexpected improvement extends across the entire claimed range.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, this action is made final. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Marcos D. Pizarro/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814
MDP/mdp
July 2, 2026