Attorney’s Docket Number: 223421
Filing Date: 1/31/2023
Claimed Priority Date: 2/2/2022 (JP 2022-014673)
Inventors: Kasai et al.
Examiner: Marcos D. Pizarro
DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to the amendment filed on 8/22/2025
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for a rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after the notice of allowance in paper no. 4, mailed on 5/29/2025. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, prosecution in this application has been reopened pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 8/22/2025 has been entered.
Amendment Status
The amendment filed on 8/22/2025 as an RCE submission in reply to the Office action in paper no. 4 has been entered. The present Office action is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered. Accordingly, pending in this Office action are claims 1-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2020/0357971) in view of Tsai (US 2023/0057113) and Tajima (US 2020/0098678).
Regarding claim 1, Lin (see, e.g., fig. 7A) shows most aspects of the instant invention including a joint structure in which an electronic component 104 and a wiring substrate 102 are joined to each other, the structure comprising:
A first layer 1201 between the component and the substrate
A second layer 1202 between the component and the substrate, and
A third layer 116 at a joint interface between the first and second layers
wherein (see, e.g., par. 0039/ll.4-15):
The first layer 1201 is composed of a first metal containing Sn
The second layer 1202 is composed of a second metal
The third layer 116 is composed of an intermetallic compound of the first and second metals
However, Lin does not specify the thickness of the third layer.
Tsai teaches that the thickness of the third layer should be controlled to be approximately 5–10% of the thickness of the joint structure in order to improve joint yield and reliability (see, e.g., Tsai: pars. 0031-0033). Tsai, therefore, teaches that the thickness of the third layer is a result-effective variable and provides guidance for selecting an appropriate thickness to achieve improved performance.
Tajima discloses that the thickness of the third layer formed during bonding is about 1 micron under the disclosed bonding conditions, and further teaches that the thickness of the third layer is dependent on bonding time and temperature (see, e.g., Tajima: par.0036/ll.22-25). Tajima, therefore, teaches that third-layer thickness is a controllable variable. Tajima does not teach that 1 micron is critical or that thinner layers are undesirable. In view of Tsai’s teaching that controlling the thickness of the third layer improves joint yield and reliability, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the bonding parameters taught by Tajima to obtain a thinner third layer, including thicknesses within the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the joint structure of Lin to control the thickness of the third layer as taught by Tsai, using the bonding process parameters taught by Tajima, in order to improve joint yield and reliability. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in achieving a desired third-layer thickness by adjusting bonding time and temperature, as taught by Tajima.
Selecting a third-layer thickness within the claimed range of 0.1–0.5 microns would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization, as Tsai teaches that third-layer thickness should be controlled relative to joint thickness to obtain improved performance, and Tajima teaches how to control that thickness during bonding. The claimed thickness range therefore represents an obvious optimization of a known result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 2, Lin teaches that the second metal 1202 is any metal of Au, Cu, Ni, Ag and Pd or an alloy of at least two selected from Au, Cu, Ni, Ag, and Pd (see, e.g., par.0039/ll.15-16).
Regarding claim 3, Lin teaches that the second metal 1202 is a metal containing at least Au (see, e.g., par.0039/ll.15-16).
Regarding claim 5, Lin shows that the component 104 is a LED (see, e.g., par.0039/ll.26-27).
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Tajima.
Regarding claim 1, Tsai (see, e.g., fig. 8A and 24) shows most aspects of the instant invention including a joint structure in which an electronic component 106 and a wiring substrate 402 are joined to each other, the structure comprising:
A first layer 122 between the component and the substrate
A second layer 120 between the component and the substrate, and
A third layer IMC2 at a joint interface between the first and second layers
wherein:
The first layer 122 is composed of a first metal containing Sn (see, e.g., par.0028/l.9)
The second layer 120 is composed of a second metal
The third layer IMC2 is composed of an intermetallic compound of the first and second metals (see, e.g., par.0030/ll.10-12)
However, Tsai does not specify the thickness of the third layer.
Regarding claim 1, see also the comments stated above in paragraphs 9 and 10, which are considered to be repeated here.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to control the thickness of the third layer of Tsai, using the bonding process parameters taught by Tajima, in order to improve joint yield and reliability. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in achieving a desired third-layer thickness by adjusting bonding time and temperature, as taught by Tajima.
Selecting a third-layer thickness within the claimed range of 0.1–0.5 microns would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization, as Tsai teaches that third-layer thickness should be controlled relative to joint thickness to obtain improved performance, and Tajima teaches how to control that thickness during bonding. The claimed thickness range therefore represents an obvious optimization of a known result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 4, Tsai teaches that the third layer IMC2 containing AuSn4 (see, e.g., par.0057/l.18).
Conclusion
/Marcos D. Pizarro/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814
MDP/mdp
January 16, 2026