DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7, 12-14, 19-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The terms “die-level substrate”, “die-level interconnect member”, “die-level metal shield”, “die-level electronic package” in claims 1, 7, 12-14, 19-32 introduce new matter in the Application because they have not supported by Specification or claims as originally filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 14, 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huesgen (US 2022/0285286) in view of Feng (US 2023/0091182), Meyer (US 2018/0315737), and Chang (US 2021/0302050).
Regarding claim 1, Huesgen discloses an electronics package for use in a module of an electronic device comprising: a die (Fig.2, numeral 204); a die-level substrate (202) disposed under and attached to the die (204), the die-level substrate including one or more redistribution layers (221); a plurality of die-level interconnect members (230) disposed under and attached to the die-level substrate (202), the plurality of die-level interconnect members (230) electrically connected to the die (204) via one or more the redistribution layers (221) in the die-level substrate (202) ([0028]); a conductive seal ring that extends along an outer boundary of the die; and a die-level metal shield (210) ([0034]) disposed over the die (204), the die-level metal shield (210) in contact with a peripheral boundary of the substrate (202) and connected to ground via the plurality of interconnect members (230) ([0101]; [0034]), the die-level metal shield (210) configured to shield the die from stray power and electromagnetic radiation to provide individual shielding of the die ([0034]; note: shield (210) shields dies (204), (208), (206)).
Huesgen does not explicitly disclose (1) that the metal shield connected to ground via the plurality of interconnect members; (2) a plurality of die-level interconnect members is configured for connection of the die to a printed circuit board; (3) a conductive seal ring that extends along an outer boundary of the die.
Regarding element (1), Feng however discloses that that the metal shield (Fig.2, numeral 142) connected to ground via the plurality of interconnect members (Fig.2, numeral 144) ([0029]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to modify Huesgen with Feng to connect metal shield to ground via the plurality of interconnect members for the purpose grounding the metal shield layer.
Regarding element (2), Meyer discloses a plurality of die-level interconnect members (Fig.1, numeral 128) is configured for connection of the die to a printed circuit board (116).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Feng with Meyer to have a plurality of die-level interconnect members configured for connection of the die to a printed circuit board for the purpose fabrication an integrated circuit (Meyer, [0022]).
Regarding element (3), Chang discloses a conductive seal ring that extends along an outer boundary of the die ([0027]- [[0028]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Feng with Change to have a conductive seal ring that extends along an outer boundary of the die for the purpose of protection an interconnect structure from physical damage (Chang, [0027]).
Regarding claim 14, Huesgen discloses a wireless electronic device comprising an antenna ([0037]); and a front end module ([0027]) including one or more die-level electronic packages, each electronic package (200) of the one or more die-level electronic packages including a die (Fig.2, numeral 204), a die-level substrate disposed (202) under and attached to the die (204), the die-level substrate (202) including one or more redistribution layers (221), a plurality of die-level interconnect members (230) disposed under and attached to the die-level substrate (202), the die-level interconnect members (230) electrically connected to the die via (204) the redistribution layers (221) in the die-level substrate (202) ([0028]) , and a die-level metal shield (210) disposed over the die (204), the die-level metal shield (210) in contact with a peripheral boundary of the substrate (202) and connected to ground ([0031]), the die-level metal shield configured to shield the die from stray power and electromagnetic radiation to provide individual shield of the die ([0031]; [0034]; note: shield (210) shields dies (204), (208), (206 ).
Huesgen does not disclose that (1) the metal shield connected to ground via the plurality of interconnect members; (2) a plurality of die-level interconnect members is configured for connection of the die to a printed circuit board; (3) a conductive seal ring that extends along an outer boundary of the die.
Regarding element (1), Feng however discloses that that the metal shield (Fig.2, numeral 142) connected to ground via the plurality of interconnect members (Fig.2, numeral 144) ([0029]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to modify Huesgen with Feng to connect metal shield to ground via the plurality of interconnect members for the purpose grounding the metal shield layer.
Regarding element (2), Meyer discloses a plurality of die-level interconnect members (Fig.1, numeral 128) is configured for connection of the die to a printed circuit board (116).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Feng with Meyer to have a plurality of die-level interconnect members configured for connection of the die to a printed circuit board for the purpose fabrication an integrated circuit (Meyer, [0022]).
Regarding element (3), Chang discloses a conductive seal ring that extends along an outer boundary of the die ([0027]- [[0028]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Feng with Change to have a conductive seal ring that extends along an outer boundary of the die for the purpose of protection an interconnect structure from physical damage (Chang, [0027]).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Huesgen discloses wherein the die (Fig. 2, numeral 204) is covered by a mold (209) disposed between the die (204) and the die-level metal shield (210), at least a portion of the mold (209) extending between the diel-level substrate (202) and the die-level metal shield (210).
Regarding claim 20, Huesgen discloses wherein the mold (209) is completely enclosed between the die-metal shield (210) and the die-level substrate (202).
Regarding claim 29 and 21, Huesgen discloses wherein the die-level metal shield (Fig.2, numeral 210) extends over the peripheral boundary of the die (204) and the peripheral boundary of the die-level substrate (202).
Regarding claim 22 and 30, Huesgen discloses wherein the die (204) extends along an area that substantially coincides with an area of the die-level substrate (202).
Regarding claim 23 and 31, Chang discloses wherein the conductive seal ring extends along an outer boundary of the die-level substrate ([0027]), the conductive seal ring connected to ground via foundry metal in the die-level substrate and the plurality of die-level interconnect members ([0057]).
Regarding claims 24 and 32, Huesgen discloses wherein the die-level metal shield (210) is in contact with a top surface of the die (204) (Fig.2).
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huesgen in view of Feng, Chang, and Patten (US 2020/0098698).
Regarding claim 7, Huesgen discloses a module for an electronic device comprising:; a die-level electronics package (200) mounted on the package substrate, the die-level electronics package including a die (Fig.2, numeral 204), a die-level substrate disposed (202) under and attached to the die (204), the die-level substrate (202) including one or more redistribution layers (221), a plurality of die-level interconnect members (230) disposed under and attached to the substrate (202), the die-level interconnect members (230) electrically connected to the die via (204) the redistribution layers (221) in the die-level substrate (202) ([0028]) , and a die-level metal shield (210) disposed over the die (204), the die-level metal shield (210) in contact with a peripheral boundary of the die-level substrate (202) and connected to ground ([0031]), the die-level metal shield configured to shield the die from stray power and electromagnetic radiation ([0031]).
Huesgen does not disclose (1) a package substrate and the die-level electronics package mounted to the package substrate via the die-level interconnect members; and additional circuitry, the di-level electronics package and the additional circuitry disposed on the package substrate; (2) that the die-level metal shield connected to ground via the plurality of die-level interconnect member; (3) a conductive seal ring that extends along an outer boundary of the die.
Regarding elements (1), Patten discloses package substrate (Fig. 7, numeral 702) and the die-level electronics package (712) mounted to the package substrate via the die-level interconnect members (726); and additional circuitry (714), the die-level electronics package (712) and the additional circuitry (714) disposed on the package substrate (702).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Huesgen with Patten to have a package substrate and the die-level electronics package mounted to the package substrate via the die-level interconnect members; and additional circuitry, the die-level electronics package and the additional circuitry disposed on the package substrate for the purpose of fabrication wafer level chip scale packages (Patten, Abstract).
Regarding elements (2), Feng however discloses that that the die-level metal shield (Fig.2, numeral 142) connected to ground via the plurality of die-level interconnect members (Fig.2, numeral 144) ([0029]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to modify Huesgen with Feng to connect die-level metal shield to ground via the plurality of die-level interconnect members for the purpose grounding the die-level metal shield layer.
Regarding element (3), Chang discloses a conductive seal ring that extends along an outer boundary of the die ([0027]- [[0028]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Feng with Change to have a conductive seal ring that extends along an outer boundary of the die for the purpose of protection an interconnect structure from physical damage (Chang, [0027]).
Regarding claim 12, Huesgen discloses wherein the die (Fig.2, numeral 204) is covered by a mold (209) disposed between the die (204) and the di-level metal shield (210), at least a portion of the mold (209) extending between the die-level substrate (202) and the die-level metal shield (210).
Regarding claim 13, Huesgen discloses wherein the mold (209) is completely enclosed between the die-level metal shield (210) and the die-level substrate (202).
Regarding claim 25, Huesgen discloses wherein the die-level metal shield (Fig.2, numeral 210) extends over the peripheral boundary of the die (204) and the peripheral boundary of the die-level substrate (202).
Regarding claim 26, Huesgen discloses wherein the die (204) extends along an area that substantially coincides with an area of the die-level substrate (202).
Regarding claim 27, Chang discloses wherein the conductive seal ring extends along an outer boundary of the die-level substrate ([0027]), the conductive seal ring connected to ground via foundry metal in the die-level substrate and the plurality of die-level interconnect members ([0057]).
Regarding claim 28, Huesgen discloses wherein the die-level metal shield (210) is in contact with a top surface of the die (204) (Fig.2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 12-14, 19-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIA SLUTSKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891