DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14, 22-24, 31-34, and 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Signorini (US 2020/0312781),
Regarding claim 1, Signorini discloses chip scale electronics package comprising: a die substrate (Fig.1A, numerals 137; 131; Fig. 2A, numeral 235) disposed under and attached directly to the die (120) ; (220), the substrate including one or more redistribution layers ([0028]; [0039]), sidewalls of the substrate aligned with sidewalls of the die (Fig.2A), and a length of the die substantially matching a length of the substrate (Fig.2A); a plurality of interconnect members (Fig. 1A, numeral 143; Fig. 3, numeral 343) disposed under and attached to the substrate (Fig.3, numeral 320) configured for connection of the chip scale electronics package to a printed circuit board (396) of a multi-die package (Fig.2J), the plurality of interconnect members (243) electrically connected to the die via (262) the one or more redistribution layers (235) in the substrate; a conductive seal ring (Fig.1C, numeral 139) that extends along an outer boundary of the die (137); and a metal shield (Fig.3, numeral 330) disposed on and extending over a top surface of the die (320), the sidewalls of the die (330) and the sidewalls of the substrate (3310; (337) and connected to ground via at least the conductive seal ring ([0031]; [0059]); the metal shield configured to provide individual shielding of the die without also shielding other dies of the multi-die package (Fig.2J).
Regarding claim 14, Signorini discloses a wireless electronic device comprising: an antenna ([0064]); and a front end module including one or more chip scale electronics packages (Fig.2J), each chip scale electronics package of the one or more chip scale electronics packages including a die (220), a substrate (235) disposed under and attached to the die (220), the substrate including one or more redistribution layers (235) ([0039]), sidewalls of the substrate aligned with sidewalls of the die, and a length of the die substantially matching a length of the substrate (Fig.2A), a plurality of interconnect members (Fig.3, numeral 343) disposed under and attached to the substrate (332); (337), the plurality of interconnect members electrically connected to the die via the one or more redistribution layers in the substrate ([0039]), a conductive seal ring (Fig. 1C, numeral 139), and a metal shield (130); (230); (330) disposed on and extending over a top surface of the die (220) (320), the metal shield in contact with a peripheral boundary of the sidewalls of the die (220; (320), and the sidewalls of the substrate and connected to ground via at least the conductive seal ring and the plurality of interconnect members ([0059]; [0031]), the metal shield configured to shield the die from stray power and electromagnetic radiation to provide individual shielding of the die without also shielding other dies of the front end module (Fig.2J).
Regarding claim 22 and 30, Signorini discloses wherein the die (22) extends along an area that substantially coincides with an area of the substrate (235).
Regarding claim 23 and 31, Signorini discloses wherein the conductive seal ring (Fig.1C, numeral 139) extends along an outer boundary of the substrate (137), the conductive seal ring connected to ground via foundry metal in the substrate and the plurality of interconnect members ([0031]).
Regarding claims 24 and 32, Signorini discloses wherein the metal shield (130) is in contact with a top surface of the die (120) (Fig.1B).
Regarding claims 33 and 39, Signorini discloses wherein the conductive seal ring (239) has a sawn peripheral boundary (Fig. 2G) having been sawn during dicing to separate the chip scale electronics package from a wafer (note; “having been sawn during dicing to separate the chip scale electronics package from a wafer” is a product-by-process limitation.).
Regarding claims 34 and 40, Signorini discloses wherein the metal shield extends over the sawn peripheral boundary (Fig.3, numeral 330).
Regarding claims 35 and 41, Signorini discloses wherein the conductive seal ring (Fig. 1C, numeral 139) extends inward from the metal shield (130).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 27, 28, 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Signorini in view of Patten (US 2020/0098698).
Regarding claim 7, Signorini discloses s module for an electronic device comprising: a package substrate (Fig.3, numerals 337, 331; 330); a chip scale electronics package mounted on the package substrate (396), the chip scale electronics package including a die (320), a substrate (337); (331) disposed under and attached to the die (320), the substrate including one or more redistribution layers (235) (Fig.2E), sidewalls of the substrate aligned with sidewalls of the die, and a length of the die substantially matching a length of the substrate (Fig.2E), a plurality of interconnect members (343) disposed under and attached to the substrate, the plurality of interconnect members electrically connected to the die via the one or more redistribution layers in the substrate (331), a conductive seal ring (Fig.1C, numeral 139( and metal shield (130)disposed on and extending over a top surface of the die the sidewalls of the die, and the sidewalls of the substrate and connected to ground via at least the conductive seal ring([0031]; [0059]) the metal shield configured to provide individual shielding of the die without also shielding any other die mounted on the package substrate (Fig.2J)
Signorini does not disclose the chip scale electronics package mounted to the package substrate via the plurality of interconnect members; and additional circuitry, the chip scale electronics package and the additional circuitry disposed on the package substrate.
Patten discloses package substrate (Fig. 7, numeral 702) and the die-level electronics package (712) mounted to the package substrate via the interconnect members (726); and additional circuitry (714), the die-level electronics package (712) and the additional circuitry (714) disposed on the package substrate (702).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Signorini with Patten to have a package substrate and the die-level electronics package mounted to the package substrate via the die-level interconnect members; and additional circuitry, the die-level electronics package and the additional circuitry disposed on the package substrate for the purpose of fabrication wafer level chip scale packages (Patten, Abstract).
Regarding claim 27, Signorini discloses wherein the die (22) extends along an area that substantially coincides with an area of the substrate (235).
Regarding claims 28, Signorini discloses wherein the metal shield (130) is in contact with a top surface of the die (120) (Fig.1B).
Regarding claims 36, Signorini discloses wherein the conductive seal ring (239) has a sawn peripheral boundary (Fig. 2G) having been sawn during dicing to separate the chip scale electronics package from a wafer (note; “having been sawn during dicing to separate the chip scale electronics package from a wafer” is a product-by-process limitation.).
Regarding claim 37, Signorini discloses wherein the metal shield extends over the sawn peripheral boundary (Fig.3, numeral 330).
Regarding claims 38, Signorini discloses wherein the conductive seal ring (Fig. 1C, numeral 139) extends inward from the metal shield (130).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7, 14, 22-24, 27-28, and 30-41 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891