Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a second region that includes a central portion of the irradiated area” in lines 12-13, “a first region that includes an outer peripheral portion of the irradiated area and excludes at least the central portion” in lines 14-15, and “an irradiation range of the laser beam” in line 15. It is not clear if these recitations refer to “a region including a central portion of the irradiated area” in lines 10-11, “a region including an outer peripheral portion of the irradiated area” in lines 9-10, and “an irradiation range of the laser beam” in line 9, respectively. Clarification is required.
Claim 4 recites “a first stage”, “a second stage”, “a third stage” and “a fourth stage”. It is unclear any or all of these elements refer to “a region including an outer peripheral portion of the irradiated area” and/or “a region including a central portion of the irradiated area” recited earlier in the claim.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “annular region” in claims 4, 10-11 and 14-17 is used by the claim to mean “a rectangular frame,” while the accepted meaning is “of, relating to, or forming a ring.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claim 10 recites “the annular regions”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim.
Claims dependent thereon inherit the deficiencies of the respective base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4-9, 11-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (US 2017/0301560).
Regarding claim 4, Yoon discloses a laser reflow method (paragraph 28) comprising:
a preparation step (paragraph 24) of preparing a workpiece (Figure 1A, 10 through 30) including a board (20) and semiconductor chips (10 and paragraph 35 describes multiple semiconductor chips) that each have bumps (11) formed on one surface thereof (lower surface of semiconductor chips 10 in figure 1A) and are placed on the board with the bumps interposed therebetween (Figure 1A); and
a laser beam irradiation step (paragraph 29) of irradiating the semiconductor chips with a laser beam (via laser beam source 110) from a side of another surface opposite to the one surface (Figure 1A shows the laser beam hits the semiconductor 10 on the upper side, opposite the side with the bumps), thereby reflowing bumps formed within an irradiated area of the workpiece (paragraph 28),
wherein, in the laser beam irradiation step, the irradiation with the laser beam is carried out while an irradiation range of the laser beam is changed in stages (paragraph 42) from a region including an outer peripheral portion of the irradiated area (Figure 1C, 132c) toward a region including a central portion of the irradiated area (Figure 1C, 132a), and
wherein the stages include:
a first stage (See 112 section above, for purposes of examination the numbered stages are assumed to overlap or include the regions described above. Figure 1C, 132c) in which the irradiated region comprises a first annular region (See 112 section above, for purposes of examination “annular region” is assumed to mean a frame. Figure 1C shows 132c is a frame),
a second stage (Figure 1C, 132b) in which the irradiated region comprises a second annular region (Figure 1C shows 132b is a frame), wherein the second annular region is formed within an inner portion of the first annular region (Figure 1C shows 132b is inward of 132c),
a third stage (paragraph 42 describes that while the figure shows 3 stages, any number of stages may be present) in which the irradiated region comprises a third annular region (Figure 1C shows the stages are formed as a central stage with multiple frames extending outward and encapsulating the next interior stage, so the third interior stage would be a frame as well), wherein the third annular region is formed within an inner portion of the second annular region (Figure 1C shows the stages are formed as a central stage with multiple frames extending outward and encapsulating the next interior stage, so the third stage would be formed within the second stage), and
a fourth stage (Figure 1C, 132a) in which the irradiated region comprises a region surrounded by the third annular region (Figure 1C shows 132a is inward of all the other regions).
Regarding claim 5, Yoon discloses wherein, in the laser beam irradiation step, a power density of the laser beam is changed in association with the change of the irradiation range (paragraph 42 describes each stage has a different filtering pattern, which adjusts the transmittance of the laser beam, changing the irradiation level and the power density of the laser beam that flows through the filter).
Regarding claim 6, Yoon discloses wherein, in the laser beam irradiation step, the power density is set such that, with the irradiation range changed in stages (paragraph 49 describes the irradiation occurring sequentially in different stages), the power density of the laser beam applied to a predetermined irradiation range (paragraph 42 describes having specific predetermined ranges) is equal to or smaller than the power density of the laser beam applied to another irradiation range that is closer to the outer peripheral portion than the predetermined irradiation range (paragraph 45 describes the filtering pattern with a high intensity irradiation in the peripheral region and lower intensity irradiation in the center of the semiconductor).
Regarding claim 11, Yoon discloses wherein:
the first annular region is shaped as a first rectangular frame (Figure 1C shows 132c is a rectangular frame),
the second first annular region is shaped as a second rectangular frame (Figure 1C shows 132b is a rectangular frame), and
the third annular region is shaped as a third rectangular frame (Figure 2B shows each of the regions are rectangular in 230b and Figure 1C shows the stages are formed as a central stage with multiple rectangular frames extending outward and encapsulating the next interior stage, so the third interior stage would be a rectangular frame as well).
a first stage (See 112 section above, for purposes of examination the numbered stages are assumed to overlap or include the regions described above. Figure 1C, 132c) in which the irradiated region comprises a first annular region (See 112 section above, for purposes of examination “annular region” is assumed to mean a frame. Figure 1C shows 132c is a frame),
a second stage (Figure 1C, 132b) in which the irradiated region comprises a second annular region (Figure 1C shows 132b is a frame), wherein the second annular region is formed within an inner portion of the first annular region (Figure 1C shows 132b is inward of 132c),
a third stage (paragraph 42 describes that while the figure shows 3 stages, any number of stages may be present) in which the irradiated region comprises a third annular region (Figure 1C shows the stages are formed as a central stage with multiple frames extending outward and encapsulating the next interior stage, so the third interior stage would be a frame as well), wherein the third annular region is formed within an inner portion of the second annular region (Figure 1C shows the stages are formed as a central stage with multiple frames extending outward and encapsulating the next interior stage, so the third stage would be formed within the second stage), and
a fourth stage (Figure 1C, 132a) in which the irradiated region comprises a region surrounded by the third annular region (Figure 1C shows 132a is inward of all the other regions).
Regarding claim 12, Yoon discloses wherein the region surrounded by the third rectangular frame is shaped as a rectangle (Figure 1C shows the exterior shape of the semiconductor is a rectangle, thus the third rectangular frame is surrounded by a rectangle).
Regarding claim 14, Yoon discloses wherein:
the first annular region includes a first set of bumps (Figure 1A shows bumps across all the regions, so the bumps that fall within 132c is the first set of bumps), and
the second annular region includes a second set of bumps (Figure 1A shows bumps across all the regions, so the bumps that fall within 132b is the second set of bumps).
Regarding claim 15, Yoon discloses wherein the third annular region includes a third set of bumps (Figure 1A shows bumps across all the regions, so the bumps that fall within the third region is the third set of bumps).
Regarding claim 16, Yoon discloses wherein the region surrounded by the third annular region includes a fourth set of bumps (Figure 1A shows bumps across all the regions, so the bumps that fall within 132a is the fourth set of bumps).
Regarding claim 7, Yoon discloses a laser reflow method (paragraph 28) comprising:
a preparation step (paragraph 24) of preparing a workpiece (Figure 1A, 10 through 30) including a board (20) and semiconductor chips (10 and paragraph 35 describes multiple semiconductor chips) that each have bumps (11) formed on one surface thereof (lower surface of semiconductor chips 10 in figure 1A) and are placed on the board with the bumps interposed therebetween (Figure 1A); and
a laser beam irradiation step (paragraph 29) of irradiating the semiconductor chips with a laser beam (via laser beam source 110) from a side of another surface opposite to the one surface (Figure 1A shows the laser beam hits the semiconductor 10 on the upper side, opposite the side with the bumps), thereby reflowing bumps formed within an irradiated area of the workpiece (paragraph 28),
wherein, in the laser beam irradiation step, the irradiation with the laser beam is carried out while an irradiation range of the laser beam is changed in stages (paragraph 42) from a region including an outer peripheral portion of the irradiated area (Figure 1C, 132c) toward a region including a central portion of the irradiated area (Figure 1C, 132a), wherein the region including the outer peripheral portion includes a first set of bumps (Figure 1A shows bumps across all the regions, so the bumps that fall within 132c is the first set of bumps) and the region including the central portion includes a second set of bumps (Figure 1A shows bumps across all the regions, so the bumps that fall within 132b is the second set of bumps).
Regarding claim 8, Yoon discloses wherein, in the laser beam irradiation step, a power density of the laser beam is changed in association with the change of the irradiation range (paragraph 42 describes each stage has a different filtering pattern, which adjusts the transmittance of the laser beam, changing the irradiation level and the power density of the laser beam that flows through the filter).
Regarding claim 9, Yoon discloses wherein, in the laser beam irradiation step, the power density is set such that, with the irradiation range changed in stages (paragraph 49 describes the irradiation occurring sequentially in different stages), the power density of the laser beam applied to a predetermined irradiation range (paragraph 42 describes having specific predetermined ranges) is equal to or smaller than the power density of the laser beam applied to another irradiation range that is closer to the outer peripheral portion than the predetermined irradiation range (paragraph 45 describes the filtering pattern with a high intensity irradiation in the peripheral region and lower intensity irradiation in the center of the semiconductor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2017/0301560) in view of Mori et al. (US 2022/0044935).
Regarding claim 1, Yoon discloses a laser reflow method (paragraph 28) comprising:
a preparation step (paragraph 24) of preparing a workpiece (Figure 1A, 10 through 30) including a board (20) and semiconductor chips (10 and paragraph 35 describes multiple semiconductor chips) that each have bumps (11) formed on one surface thereof (lower surface of semiconductor chips 10 in figure 1A) and are placed on the board with the bumps interposed therebetween (Figure 1A); and
a laser beam irradiation step (paragraph 29) of irradiating the semiconductor chips with a laser beam (via laser beam source 110) from a side of another surface opposite to the one surface (Figure 1A shows the laser beam hits the semiconductor 10 on the upper side, opposite the side with the bumps), thereby reflowing bumps formed within an irradiated area of the workpiece (paragraph 28),
wherein, in the laser beam irradiation step, the irradiation with the laser beam is carried out while an irradiation range of the laser beam is changed in stages (paragraph 42) from a region including an outer peripheral portion of the irradiated area (Figure 1C, 132c) toward a region including a central portion of the irradiated area (Figure 1C, 132a), and
wherein, in the laser irradiation step, the laser beam is applied to a second region that includes a central portion of the irradiated area (See 112 section above, for purposes of examination, each recitation in this clause is assumed to refer to the similarly named recitation in the clause above. Figure 1C, 132a), the laser beam is applied to a first region that includes an outer peripheral portion of the irradiated area and excludes at least the central portion (Figure 1C, 132c), and an irradiation range of the laser beam is changed in stages from the first region toward the second region (paragraph 45 describes using a higher intensity irradiation in a peripheral region of the semiconductor, i.e. the first region, and a lower intensity irradiation in a central region of the semiconductor, i.e. the second region).
While Yoon describes the different laser intensities may be used sequentially for a single semiconductor chip, Yoon is silent on wherein, in the laser irradiation step, before the laser beam is applied to a second region that includes a central portion of the irradiated area, the laser beam is first applied to a first region that includes an outer peripheral portion of the irradiated area and excludes at least the central portion.
Mori teaches wherein, in the laser irradiation step, before the laser beam is applied to a second region that includes a central portion of the irradiated area, the laser beam is first applied to a first region that includes an outer peripheral portion of the irradiated area and excludes at least the central portion (Figure 19 shows the laser beam L3 is first applied to the outer peripheral portion of the irradiated area and then proceeds to the central portion of the semiconductor W).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yoon’s invention to include wherein, in the laser irradiation step, before the laser beam is applied to a second region that includes a central portion of the irradiated area, the laser beam is first applied to a first region that includes an outer peripheral portion of the irradiated area and excludes at least the central portion in order to save space and simplify the apparatus, thus reducing cost as suggested and taught by Mori in paragraph 117.
Regarding claim 2, Yoon in view of Mori teaches the invention as claimed and described above. Yoon further teaches wherein, in the laser beam irradiation step, a power density of the laser beam is changed in association with the change of the irradiation range (paragraph 42 describes each stage has a different filtering pattern, which adjusts the transmittance of the laser beam, changing the irradiation level and the power density of the laser beam that flows through the filter).
Regarding claim 3, Yoon in view of Mori teaches the invention as claimed and described above. Yoon further teaches wherein, in the laser beam irradiation step, the power density is set such that, with the irradiation range changed in stages (paragraph 49 describes the irradiation occurring sequentially in different stages), the power density of the laser beam applied to a predetermined irradiation range (paragraph 42 describes having specific predetermined ranges) is equal to or smaller than the power density of the laser beam applied to another irradiation range that is closer to the outer peripheral portion than the predetermined irradiation range (paragraph 45 describes the filtering pattern with a high intensity irradiation in the peripheral region and lower intensity irradiation in the center of the semiconductor).
Regarding claim 10, Yoon in view of Mori teaches the invention as claimed and described above. Yoon further teaches wherein the annular regions are each shaped as a rectangular frame (See the 112 section above, for purposes of examination this limitation is assumed to mean that at least one of the regions is a rectangular frame. Figure 1C shows 132c is a rectangular frame).
Regarding claim 13, Yoon in view of Mori teaches the invention as claimed and described above. Yoon further teaches wherein the region including the outer peripheral portion includes a first set of bumps (Figure 1A shows bumps across all the regions, so the bumps that fall within 132c is the first set of bumps) and the region including the central portion includes a second set of bumps (Figure 1A shows bumps across all the regions, so the bumps that fall within 132b is the second set of bumps).
Regarding claim 17, Yoon in view of Mori teaches the invention as claimed and described above. Yoon further teaches wherein the irradiated areas of at least two of the stages comprise annular regions (See 112 section above, for purposes of examination this is assumed to mean that at least two of the stages form a frame. Figure 1C shows both 132c and 132b are formed as frames).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERYN A MALATEK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741