DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Signorini et al. (US 2020/0312781).
Regarding claim 1, Signorini discloses an electronics package for use in a module of an electronic device comprising:
a die (120, fig. 1A and paragraph 0027 and 220A, figs. 2A-J);
a plurality of interconnect members disposed under the die (143, figs. 1A, C and paragraph 0031 and 243, figs. 2E-J);
a seal ring that extends along an outer boundary of the die (139, figs. 1A-C and paragraphs 0031, 0037 and 239, figs. 2E-J), an exposed sawn peripheral boundary of the seal ring having been sawn during dicing to separate the electronics package from a wafer (239, fig. 2G and paragraph 0048); and
a metal shield disposed over the die, the metal shield in contact with the exposed sawn peripheral boundary of the die and connected to ground via the seal ring and the plurality of interconnect members, the metal shield configured to shield the die from stray power and electromagnetic radiation (130, figs. 1A-C and paragraphs 0027-0037 and 230, fig. 2J and paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 2, Signorini further discloses a substrate interposed between the die and the interconnect members, the substrate including one or more redistribution layers (region between die 120 and interconnect members 143, fig. 1A and paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 3, Signorini further discloses wherein the metal shield (130, figs. 1A-C and 230, fig. 2J) extends over the exposed sawn peripheral boundary of the die (120, figs. 1A-C and 220, fig. 2J) and a peripheral boundary of the substrate (region between die 120 and interconnect members 143, figs. 1A-C and 2J).
Regarding claim 4, Signorini further discloses wherein the die (120) extends along an area that substantially coincides with an area of the substrate (figs. 1A-C).
Regarding claim 5, Signorini further discloses wherein the seal ring extends along an outer boundary of the substrate, the seal ring connected to ground via foundry metal in the substrate and the interconnect members (139, fig. 1C and paragraphs 0031, 0037).
Regarding claim 6, Signorini further discloses wherein the metal shield (130) is in contact with a top surface of the die (120, fig. 1A-B).
Regarding claim 7, Signorini discloses a module for an electronic device (fig. 5 and paragraphs 0063-0067) comprising:
a package substrate (502, fig. 5 and paragraph 0063);
an electronics package mounted on the package substrate (504 or 506, fig. 5 and paragraphs 0066-0067), the electronics package including a die (120, fig. 1A and paragraph 0027);
a plurality of interconnect members disposed under the die (143, figs. 1A, C and paragraph 0031);
a seal ring that extends along an outer boundary of the die (139, figs. 1A-C and paragraphs 0031, 0037), an exposed sawn peripheral boundary of the seal ring having been sawn during dicing to separate the electronics package from a wafer (239, fig. 2G and paragraph 0048); and
a metal shield disposed over the die, the metal shield in contact with the exposed sawn peripheral boundary of the die and connected to ground via the seal ring and the plurality of interconnect members, the metal shield configured to shield the die from stray power and electromagnetic radiation (130, figs. 1A-C and paragraphs 0027-0037 and 230, fig. 2J) the electronics package mounted to the package substrate via the interconnect members and additional circuitry, the electronics package and the additional circuitry disposed on the package substrate (fig. 5 and paragraphs 0063-0067).
Regarding claim 8, Signorini further discloses a substrate interposed between the die and the interconnect members, the substrate including one or more redistribution layers (region between die 120 and interconnect members 143, fig. 1A and paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 9, Signorini further discloses wherein the metal shield (130, figs. 1A-C) extends over the exposed sawn peripheral boundary of the die (120, figs. 1A-C and 220, fig. 2J) and a peripheral boundary of the substrate (region between die 120 and interconnect members 143, figs. 1A-C).
Regarding claim 10, Signorini further discloses wherein the die (120) extends along an area that substantially coincides with an area of the substrate (figs. 1A-C).
Regarding claim 11, Signorini further discloses wherein the seal ring extends along an outer boundary of the substrate, the seal ring connected to ground via foundry metal in the substrate and the interconnect members (139, fig. 1C and paragraphs 0031, 0037).
Regarding claim 12, Signorini further discloses wherein the metal shield (130) is in contact with a top surface of the die (120, fig. 1A-B).
Regarding claim 13, Signorini discloses a wireless electronic device (fig. 5 and paragraphs 0063-0067) comprising:
an antenna (ANTENNA, fig. 5); and
a front end module including one or more electronics packages (502, fig. 5 and paragraphs 0063-0067), each electronics package including
a die (120, fig. 1A and paragraph 0027);
a plurality of interconnect members disposed under the die (143, figs. 1A, C and paragraph 0031);
a seal ring that extends along an outer boundary of the die (139, figs. 1A-C and paragraphs 0031, 0037), an exposed sawn peripheral boundary of the seal ring having been sawn during dicing to separate the electronics package from a wafer (239, fig. 2G and paragraph 0048); and
a metal shield disposed over the die, the metal shield in contact with the exposed sawn peripheral boundary of the die and connected to ground via the seal ring and the plurality of interconnect members, the metal shield configured to shield the die from stray power and electromagnetic radiation (130, figs. 1A-C and paragraphs 0027-0037 and 230, fig. 2J).
Regarding claim 14, Signorini further discloses a substrate interposed between the die and the interconnect members, the substrate including one or more redistribution layers (region between die 120 and interconnect members 143, fig. 1A and paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 15, Signorini further discloses wherein the metal shield (130, figs. 1A-C) extends over the exposed sawn peripheral boundary of the die (120, figs. 1A-C and 220, fig. 2J) and a peripheral boundary of the substrate (region between die 120 and interconnect members 143, figs. 1A-C).
Regarding claim 16, Signorini further discloses wherein the die (120) extends along an area that substantially coincides with an area of the substrate (figs. 1A-C).
Regarding claim 17, Signorini further discloses wherein the seal ring extends along an outer boundary of the substrate, the seal ring connected to ground via foundry metal in the substrate and the interconnect members (139, fig. 1C and paragraphs 0031, 0037).
Regarding claim 18, Signorini further discloses wherein the metal shield (130) is in contact with a top surface of the die (120, fig. 1A-B).
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS M MENZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 3/6/26