DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 1, 2, 4-9, 12-19, and 42 in the RCE filed on 12/26/2025. Claims 22-41, and 43 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-21 and 42 are elected without traverse.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21 and 42 filed on 12/26/2025 have been considered but they are deemed to be moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Further, applicant argued neither Hartmann nor Cui teaches “automatically combining the set of information items into a data collection representative of the plurality of measurement system components of the measurement system and generating reference summary data which represents the data collection.”
In response to applicant’s argument, Cui discloses, in [0004], the data collection component collects a set of voltage measurement from one or more assets, the artificial intelligence component performs learning associated with the set of voltage measurements and generates a set of digital signatures that includes a set of patterns regarding the set of voltage measurements. The collection of a set of voltage measurement from one or more assets corresponds to reference summary data which represents the data collection. Therefore, Cui teaches “automatically combining the set of information items into a data collection representative of the plurality of measurement system components of the measurement system and generating reference summary data which represents the data collection”.
Applicant further argued Cui does not discuss the generation of a reference file.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., generation of a reference file) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 9, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, line 3, “a local storage devices” should read “a local storage device”;
Claim 9, line 3, “a local storage devices” should read “a local storage device”;
Claim 17, lines 2-3, “the at least one characteristic of the plurality of measurement system components” should read “the at least one characteristic of the one or more characteristics of the plurality of measurement system components”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, claim limitation recites “arranging in a housing at least one from the subset of measurement system components with one from the at least one local storage device” in lines 2-3, which renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear what “one” is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-17, 19-21, and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartmann et al. (US 2021/0207982 A1), hereinafter Hartmann, in view of Patten et al. (US 8,184,811 B1), hereinafter Patten, and further in view of Cui et al. (US 2020/0125470 A1), hereinafter Cui.
Regarding claim 1, Hartmann discloses
A method of protecting a measurement system from unauthorized changes ([0025]: each of the gateway systems are configured to transmit information pertaining to the unique identity, the validated calibration status, and environmental parameter(s) from each sensor unit connected to said gateway system), the method comprising:
automatically reading out a set of information items from the measurement system, wherein the measurement system comprises a plurality of measurement system components and at least one local storage device (FIG. 4: sensor unit and remote unit 6; & [0090]: the measured parameter data is stored in another unit, such as a gateway),
the set of information items comprises a plurality of subsets of information items, each respective subset of the plurality of subsets of information items being associated with a respective measurement system component from the plurality of measurement system components ([0123]: the sensor units are placed on a rack 7, which is electrically connected to an external source, e.g., by a multiplexer, such that the electronic information associated with the calibration, such as the calibration values and the validation, are stored on each of the sensor units), and
the plurality of information items include an identity (unique identity) of the plurality of measurement system components and one or more characteristics (multiple environmental parameters/electronic information associated with the validated calibration status) of the plurality of measurement system components ([0047]: multiple sensor units configured for measuring different parameters may be used to monitor multiple environmental parameters; & [0083]: sensor unit is configured for storing electronic information 3 associated with the validated calibration status, exemplified as a calibration certificate, and where the sensor unit in addition further comprises a unique identity, exemplified as a unique identity visible for human interaction, such as a GS1 datamatrix 4);
creating a signature based on the reference summary data ([0059]: a hashing function is then used to generate a fingerprint of the calibration data, or the data that the calibration certificate consists of; this means that the fingerprint is unique to the data, e.g. the data that the calibration certificate consists of; the fingerprint is then encrypted using a private key, which means a key only known by the authorized calibrator); and
storing the reference summary data and the signature in the at least one local storage device of the measurement system ([0061]: the calibration data/certificate is subsequently stored on the sensor unit memory together with the encrypted fingerprint).
Hartmann does not explicitly disclose
at least one characteristic of the one or more characteristics of the plurality of measurement system components corresponding to a characteristic that is to remain unchanged in order for the measurement system to be in a valid state.
However, Patten discloses
at least one characteristic of the one or more characteristics of the plurality of measurement system components corresponding to a characteristic that is to remain unchanged in order for the measurement system to be in a valid state (Col. 7, lines 7-10: determine whether the mobile device is running a valid (e.g., up-to-date, unmodified, and/or uncorrupted) version of the software).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Patten to Hartmann because Hartmann discloses measuring data and storing data and a unique identity of the sensor units (abstract) and Patten further suggests determine device is running a valid/unmodified version of the software (Col. 7, lines 7-10).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teaching of Patten in the Hartmann system in order to provide secure system by running valid/unmodified version of software.
Hartmann and Patten do not explicitly disclose
automatically combining the set of information items into a data collection representative of the plurality of measurement system components of the measurement system and generating a summary data which represents the data collection.
However, Cui discloses
automatically combining the set of information items into a data collection representative of the plurality of measurement system components of the measurement system and generating a summary data which represents the data collection ([0004]: the data collection component collects a set of voltage measurement from one or more assets; the artificial intelligence component performs learning associated with the set of voltage measurements and generates a set of digital signatures that includes a set of patterns regarding the set of voltage measurements; the collection of a set of voltage measurement from one or more assets corresponds to reference summary data which represents the data collection);
creating a signature for the measurement system based on the summary data ([0004]: the data collection component collects a set of voltage measurement from one or more assets; the artificial intelligence component performs learning associated with the set of voltage measurements and generates a set of digital signatures that includes a set of patterns regarding the set of voltage measurements).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Cui to Hartmann and Patten because Hartmann and Patten disclose measuring data and storing data and a unique identity of the sensor units (Hartmann: abstract) and Cui further suggests collect a set of measurements and generate a set of digital signatures regarding the set of measurements (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teaching of Cui in the Hartmann and Patten system in order to identify issues easier and more accurate as suggested by Cui ([0020]).
Regarding claim 2, Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose the method as described in claim 1. Hartmann further discloses
signing the reference summary data with a private key ([0059]: the fingerprint is then encrypted using a private key, which means a key only known by the authorized calibrator).
Regarding claim 3, Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose the method as described in claim 2. Hartmann further discloses
the private key is a confidential private key ([0059]: the fingerprint is then encrypted using a private key, which means a key only known by the authorized calibrator).
Regarding claim 11, Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose the method as described in claim 1. Hartmann further discloses
the at least one local storage device comprises at least one from a USB storage device, a network attached storage device ([0008]: cloud-based server), a wired-LAN storage device, a wireless-LAN storage device, or an RFID tag.
Regarding claim 12, Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose the method as described in claim 1. Hartmann further discloses
a subset of measurement system components represents one or more measurement system components of the plurality of measurement system components that do not have a built-in functionality to report the information items to identify the one or more measurement system components of the plurality of measurement system components, wherein the subset of measurement system components comprises one or more measurement devices ([0047]: an environmental parameter is measured by use of a sensor; a sensor may be configured for measuring one or more parameters, e.g. by human physical interaction with the device through a button; multiple sensor units configured for measuring different parameters may be used to monitor multiple environmental parameters).
Regarding claim 13, Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose the method as described in claim 1. Hartmann further discloses
a subset of measurement system components represents one or more measurement system components of the plurality of measurement system components that do not have a built-in functionality to report the information items to identify the one or more measurement system components, wherein the subset of measurement system components comprises one or more passive measurement system components ([0047]: an environmental parameter is measured by use of a sensor; a sensor may be configured for measuring one or more parameters, e.g. by human physical interaction with the device through a button; multiple sensor units configured for measuring different parameters may be used to monitor multiple environmental parameters).
Regarding claim 14, Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose the method as described in claim 1. Hartmann further discloses
a subset of measurement system components represents one or more measurement system components of the plurality of measurement system components that do not have a built-in functionality to report the information items to identify the one or more measurement system components, wherein the subset of measurement system components comprises at least one from a signal path component, a coupling component ([0014]: coupling sensors with their calibration information), a coupler, an adapter, or a cable.
Regarding claim 15, Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose the method as described in claim 1. Hartmann further discloses
a subset of measurement system components represents one or more measurement system components of the plurality of measurement system components that do not have a built-in functionality to report the information items to identify the one or more measurement system components, wherein the subset of measurement system components comprises at least one from a thermodynamic component, a fixed power supply component, an antenna, a shielding housing component ([0047]: an environmental parameter is measured by use of a sensor; a sensor may be configured for measuring one or more parameters, e.g. by human physical interaction with the device through a button; multiple sensor units configured for measuring different parameters may be used to monitor multiple environmental parameters), or a cooling component.
Regarding claim 16, Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose the method as described in claim 1. Hartmann, Patten, and Cui further disclose
a subset of measurement system components represents one or more measurement system components of the plurality of measurement system components that do not have a built-in functionality to report the information items to identify the one or more measurement system components, and further comprising:
associating the subset of measurement system components with a local storage device of the at least one local storage device (Hartmann: [0087]: the measured parameter data may be stored directly on the sensor itself, and/or the data may be further transmitted, either continuously or periodically, to another unit; & [0090]: the measured parameter data is stored in another unit, such as a gateway; & [0101]: the measured parameter data are stored on the gateway, and optionally further transmitted to a remote unit);
automatically reading out the information items that identify the subset of measurement system components from the local storage device (Hartmann: [0047]: multiple sensor units configured for measuring different parameters may be used to monitor multiple environmental parameters; & [0083]: sensor unit is configured for storing electronic information 3 associated with the validated calibration status, exemplified as a calibration certificate, and where the sensor unit in addition further comprises a unique identity, exemplified as a unique identity visible for human interaction, such as a GS1 datamatrix 4; & Cui: [0004]: the data collection component collects a set of voltage measurement from one or more assets);
automatically including the read out information items that identify the subset of measurement system components from the local storage device into the data collection (Hartmann: [0057]: a process for generating such an encrypted fingerprint may include cryptographic hash function, or “hashing”; & the generated electronic fingerprint stored on the sensor (i.e. the output) is unique for the actual calibration data (i.e. the input data), and this secures the authenticity and/or authorship of the calibration data (i.e. the input); hashed data corresponds to summary data; & Cui: [0004]: the data collection component collects a set of voltage measurement from one or more assets).
Regarding claim 17, Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose the method as described in claim 1. Hartmann further discloses
the at least one characteristic of the plurality of measurement system components comprises a wear out condition of at least one of the plurality of measurement system components ([0139]: the sensor unit becomes broken or unstable, the sensor unit must be recalibrated or replaced).
Regarding claim 19, Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose the method as described in claim 17. Hartmann further discloses
performing a self-estimation by a respective measurement system component of the plurality of measurement system components to determine the wear out condition of the respective measurement system component ([0139]: after a predetermined time of operation, the calibration of the sensor unit will no longer be validated; a validated calibration is defined with an expiration date; thus, when the calibration is no longer validated, or the sensor unit becomes broken or unstable, the sensor unit must be recalibrated or replaced).
Regarding claim 20, Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose the method as described in claim 1. Hartmann further discloses
obtaining information on allowable operating environmental conditions for the measurement system ([0046]: examples of environmental parameters relevant to be monitored includes: temperature, pressure, pH, humidity, CO2, O2, acceleration, sound, light, GPS, and particulate matter); and
storing the information on the allowable operating environmental conditions in the at least one local storage device of the measurement system ([0090]: the measured parameter data is stored in another unit, such as a gateway; & [0101]: the measured parameter data are stored on the gateway, and optionally further transmitted to a remote unit).
Regarding claim 21, Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose the method as described in claim 20. Hartmann further discloses
the information on allowable operating environmental conditions comprises information on at least one from a humidity, a temperature ([0046]: examples of environmental parameters relevant to be monitored includes: temperature, pressure, pH, humidity, CO2, O2, acceleration, sound, light, GPS, and particulate matter), or an electromagnetic interference.
Regarding claim 42, the limitations of claim 42 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartmann in view of Patten, in view of Cui, and further in view of Carro (US 2004/0054906 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose the method as described in claim 1. Hartmann, Patten, and Cui do not explicitly disclose
the storing includes at least one of:
storing the reference summary data and the signature in separate files, or
storing the reference summary data and the signature in same file.
However, Carro discloses
the storing includes at least one of:
storing the reference summary data and the signature in separate files ([0014]: maintaining signatures and data in separate files), or
storing the reference summary data and the signature in same file.
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Carro to Hartmann, Patten, and Cui because Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose storing data and a unique identity of the sensor unit (Hartmann: abstract) and Carro further suggests storing signatures and data in separate files ([0014]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teaching of Carro in the Hartmann, Patten, and Cui system in order to support file authentication at any time in a simple and well understood way as suggested by Carro ([0014]).
Claim(s) 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartmann in view of Patten, in view of Cui, and further in view of Poornachandran et al. (US 2016/0085995 A1), hereinafter Poornachandran.
Regarding claim 5, Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose the method as described in claim 1. Hartmann, Patten, and Cui do not explicitly disclose
a subset of measurement system components represents one or more measurement system components of the plurality of measurement system components that do not have a built-in functionality to report the information items to identify the one or more measurement system components, and further comprising:
associating the subset of measurement system components with one or more of the at least one local storage device to enable automatically reading out the information items that identify the subset of measurement system components.
However, Poornachandran discloses
a subset of measurement system components represents one or more measurement system components of the plurality of measurement system components that do not have a built-in functionality to report the information items to identify the one or more measurement system components,, and further comprising:
associating the subset of measurement system components with one or more of the at least one local storage device to enable automatically reading out the information items that identify the subset of measurement system components ([0021]: a dual-headed identification device (DHID) is secured to one or more of the components of the computing device; it should be appreciated that a DHID may be secured to a particular component with glue, welds, solder, electrical connections, tape, integral formation, mechanical coupling, and/or by virtue of another suitable mechanism).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Poornachandran to Hartmann, Patten, and Cui because Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose sensor unit is connectable to a gateway (Hartmann: abstract) and Poornachandran further suggests DHID secured to components of computing device ([0021]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teaching of Poornachandran in the Hartmann, Patten, and Cui system in order to ensure a component is attached to a device securely ([0021]).
Regarding claim 6, Hartmann, Patten, Cui, and Poornachandran disclose the method as described in claim 5. Hartmann, Patten, Cui, and Poornachandran further disclose
associating the subset of measurement system components with one or more of the at least one local storage device prior to automatically reading out the set of information items (Poornachandran: [0021]: a dual-headed identification device (DHID) is secured to one or more of the components of the computing device; it should be appreciated that a DHID may be secured to a particular component with glue, welds, solder, electrical connections, tape, integral formation, mechanical coupling, and/or by virtue of another suitable mechanism). Therefore, the limitations of claim 6 are rejected in the analysis of claim 5 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 7, Hartmann, Patten, Cui, and Poornachandran disclose the method as described in claim 5. Hartmann, Patten, Cui, and Poornachandran further disclose
inseparably associating the subset of measurement system components with a storage device of the at least one local storage device (Poornachandran: [0021]: a dual-headed identification device (DHID) is secured to one or more of the components of the computing device; it should be appreciated that a DHID may be secured to a particular component with glue, welds, solder, electrical connections, tape, integral formation, mechanical coupling, and/or by virtue of another suitable mechanism). Therefore, the limitations of claim 7 are rejected in the analysis of claim 5 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 8, Hartmann, Patten, Cui, and Poornachandran disclose the method as described in claim 5. Hartmann, Cui, and Poornachandran further disclose
performing the associating in a manner to prevent a disassociation of the subset of measurement system components from a local storage devices of the at least one local storage device by requiring at least one of a tool, a destructive action, or a break of a seal for the disassociation (Poornachandran: [0021]: a dual-headed identification device (DHID) is secured to one or more of the components of the computing device; it should be appreciated that a DHID may be secured to a particular component with glue, welds, solder, electrical connections, tape, integral formation, mechanical coupling, and/or by virtue of another suitable mechanism). Therefore, the limitations of claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of claim 5 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 9, Hartmann, Patten, Cui, and Poornachandran disclose the method as described in claim 5. Hartmann, Patten, Cui, and Poornachandran further disclose
gluing at least one measurement component from the subset of the measurement system components to a local storage devices of the at least one local storage device (Poornachandran: [0021]: a dual-headed identification device (DHID) is secured to one or more of the components of the computing device; it should be appreciated that a DHID may be secured to a particular component with glue, welds, solder, electrical connections, tape, integral formation, mechanical coupling, and/or by virtue of another suitable mechanism). Therefore, the limitations of claim 9 are rejected in the analysis of claim 5 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 10, Hartmann, Patten, Cui, and Poornachandran disclose the method as described in claim 5. Hartmann, Patten, Cui, and Poornachandran further disclose
arranging in a housing at least one from the subset of measurement system components with one from the at least one local storage device (Poornachandran: [0014]: one or more components of the computing device may include a dual-headed identification device (DHID)). Therefore, the limitations of claim 10 are rejected in the analysis of claim 5 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartmann in view of Patten, in view of Cui, and further in view of Telfort et al. (US 2009/0093687 A1), hereinafter Telfort.
Regarding claim 18, Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose the method as described in claim 17. Hartmann, Patten, and Cui do not explicitly disclose
the wear out condition comprises a value of a counter which is arranged in a respective measurement system component of the plurality of measurement system components, and wherein the counter is incremented upon each use of the respective measurement system component.
However, Telfort discloses
the wear out condition comprises a value of a counter which is arranged in a respective measurement system component of the plurality of measurement system components, and wherein the counter is incremented upon each use of the respective measurement system component ([0037]: the amount of time the sensor is in use).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Telfort to Hartmann, Patten, and Cui because Hartmann, Patten, and Cui disclose validating sensor unit (Hartmann: [0139]) and Telfort further suggests the amount of time the sensor is in use ([0037]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teaching of Telfort in the Hartmann, Patten, and Cui system in order to allow different ways to validate calibration of sensor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Croy et al. (US 2007/0006250 A1). A system contains a plurality of portable measurement devices configured to collect audience measurement data from media devices, a plurality of data collection servers configured to collect audience measurement data from the plurality of portable measurement devices, and a central data processing server.
Morin et al. (US 2018/0023115 A1). Aggregating the set of sensor measurements recorded over time; the term “current impedance signature” refers to a collection of current measurements and/or patterns identified within a detected event.
Siddiqui (US 10,476,906 B1). Some of the metadata along with additional information (sensor ID), which forms part of the (aggregated) metadata, may be stored in the metadata data store; obtains the sensor ID that identifies sensor submitted the metadata.
Bandy et al. (US 2005/0088299 A1). Create a characteristic electronic signature; the sensor data table stores a sensor element identification number, a preferred read time, spacing interval between reads, and/or sensor element specific data for all or a subset of sensor elements.
Serret-Avila (US 2005/0235154 A1). Storing a digital signature and a plurality of hash values related to the data file ([0019]).
Kennamer (US 8,600,693 B1). A temperature measuring device is often permanently located in association with a storage device.
Kaylee Huang
01/15/2026
/KAYLEE J HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447