DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/16/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arnett et al. (US20210180169A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 6 and 10, Arnett teaches heat treatment assembly for a workpiece comprising:
First and second thermal applicators in thermal communication and which apply respective heat treatment of different temperatures to different regions in a workpiece (See claims 13 and 18) where the thermal applicators include heating elements of induction heating coils (See Claim 4); where the heating of the workpiece is configured to heat first and second ends (112 and 116) of the workpiece 102 (See Figure 3); where the thermal heat treatment is done simultaneously (in a single step process) [0027]; while the workpiece being acted upon is not taught to be a bar specifically, the exemplary workpiece of a turbomachine part as shown in figure 3 is similar to that of a bar in that under normal operation of the heat assembly, the heat assembly of the prior art is considered to be configured to operate on a bar.
The language “wherein the first and second temperatures and a rate which they are reached are determined by a model based on desired microstructure changes in the metal bar” is not considered to impart patentable weight to the apparatus claims as the apparatus under normal operation is configured to heat to first and second temperatures at given heating rates, regardless if the rates and temperatures were determined by a model (which may be a mental step separate from the structure of the apparatus).
Regarding Claim 3, the language “to achieve specific microstructure and mechanical properties” is considered intended use and does not impart patentable weight as any resulting microstructure and mechanical properties of the portions would read on the claim.
Regarding Claim 4, the limitation of a hybrid modeling-test approach is used to achieve location specific microstructures and mechanical properties, since this approach is considered a mental step, it is not considered to carry patentable weight as the prior art method and system teach a product with specific microstructures and properties.
Regarding Claim 5, the amperage is considered to be controlled which yields different temperatures in the different regions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnett et al. (US20210180169A1).
Regarding Claim 2, the thermal applicators operate independently from each other [0005]; however the prior art is silent regarding if a power supply for each coil is shared or separate; however, as the applicators are taught to be independent, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use separate power supplies for the purpose of efficiently controlling the heating zone of each thermal applicator.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnett et al. (US20210180169A1) in view of Franchet et al. (US20180371563A1).
Regarding Claims 8-9, Arnett is silent regarding the limitaitons of claim 8-9, however Franchet teaches a heater system may be used to form a mechanical part with one region heated below the solvus temperature and the other region heated above the solvus temperature (abstract) for the purpose of forming a part with a gradated microstructure (abstract) and that the part may be a Nickel- chromium alloy such as Inco718 [0037]. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the apparatus of Watanabe to be configured to heat one region above solvus and the other below solvus for the purpose of forming gradated metal parts such as Ni-Cr products with regions of differing microstructures and mechanical properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the prior art teaches the heating and temperature are controlled by a controller, but that the prior art does not teach or suggest the temperatures and heating rates are based on a model based on desired microstructure changes. This is not persuasive as the claim is directed to an apparatus, where the structural limitations are critical (apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does) (See MPEP 2114); in this case, applicant admits the prior art teaches a device with a structure that (1) heats an object to first and second temperatures and given heating rates; (2) the heating is controlled by a controller; (3) a microstructure is formed as a result. Applicant appears to argue the apparent method step of first determining the first and second temperatures and heating rates with a model should further limit the apparatus claims; this is not persuasive, the apparatus still performs the same function whether the temperatures and rates were first determined by an advanced algorithm, with a chalkboard, or mentally and whether the resulting microstructure was desired or not.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO D MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738