DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 in the reply filed on Jan. 13th 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-7, 11-14 and 20 are examined in this office action. Claims 8-10 and 15-19 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "at least a portion of the second insulating structure overlaps the first and second contact plugs" in lin. 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because the first contact plug 171 and the second contact plug 172 are separate and there is no a (single/same/continue) portion of the second insulating structure 130 overlaps both 171 and 172. For examination purposes, examiner has interpreted "at least a portion of the second insulating structure overlaps the first and second contact plugs" to be consistent with the cited prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ching et al. (US 20190067444), hereinafter Ching.
Regarding claim 1, Ching teaches a semiconductor device (Abstract) comprising:
active regions (fig. 16B, region below epitaxy layers 136; para. 0065) including a first active region (region below left 136) and a second active region (region below right 136) parallel to each other (Annotated fig. 16C, both parallel along A-A' direction) and respectively extending on a substrate (fig. 16B, substrate 102; para. 0036) in a first horizontal direction (Annotated fig. 16C, A-A' direction);
a field region (fig. 16B, region below left dummy fin structures 116; para. 0043) defining the active regions (region below 136) on the substrate (102);
a first insulating structure (left 116) extending in the first horizontal direction (A-A' direction) on the field region (region below left 116) between the first active region (region below left 136) and the second active region (region below right 136);
a gate structure (Annotated fig. 16C, metal gate electrodes 148 marked with ‘1st' and ‘2nd'; para. 0078) extending, in a second horizontal direction (B-B' direction), to intersect the active regions (region below 136) and the first insulating structure (left 116) on the substrate (102);
source/drain regions (136 as source/drain regions; para. 0065) disposed on at least one side (up and down side) of the gate structure (148), the source/drain regions (136) including a first source/drain region (left 136) disposed on the first active region (region below left 136) and a second source/drain region (right 136) on the second active region (region below right 136); and
a common contact plug (Annotated fig. 16C, source/drain contacts 152 marked with ‘common’; para. 0082) disposed on a first side (down side) of the gate structure (148) and electrically connected (fig. 16B, 152 connect 136) to the first and second source/drain regions (136) opposing each other in the second horizontal direction (B-B' direction), wherein the first insulating structure (left 116) includes a first portion (left 116 below 148) overlapping the gate structure (148) in a vertical direction (vertical direction), perpendicular to the first and second horizontal directions (A-A' and B-B' directions), and a second portion (left 116 outside 148) other than the first portion (left 116 below 148), and
at least a portion of the second portion of the first insulating structure (fig. 16B, left 116 outside 148) overlaps the common contact plug (152) in the vertical direction.
(Annotated fig. 16C)
Regarding claim 2, Ching teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the gate structure (fig. 16C, 148 and more clearly in fig. 11A, here is poly gate electrode 120; para. 0051) is in contact with at least a portion of an upper surface of the first portion of the first insulating structure (upper surface of left 116 under 120), the gate structure (120) is in contact with at least a portion of a side surface of the first portion of the first insulating structure (side surface of left 116 under 120), and
the common contact plug (fig. 16B, 152) is in contact with an upper surface of the second portion of the first insulating structure (upper surface of 116 outside 148).
Regarding claim 3, Ching teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein an upper surface of the first insulating structure (fig. 16B, upper surface of left 116 outside 148) is positioned on a level lower than (lower than 152 and 152 has the same upper surface of 148) that of an upper surface of the gate structure (upper surface of 148), relative to the substrate (102).
Regarding claim 11, Ching teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the common contact plug (fig. 16B, 152) is in contact with an upper surface of the first source/drain region (upper surface of left 136), an upper surface of the second source/drain region (upper surface of right 136), and an upper surface of the first insulating structure (upper surface of left 116).
Regarding claim 12, Ching teaches the semiconductor device of claim 11, wherein the common contact plug (fig. 16B, 152) has a portion (portion above left 116) extending onto (indirectly on) a side surface of the first insulating structure (side surface of left 116).
Regarding claim 14, Ching teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first insulating structure (fig. 16B, left 116) includes at least one of SiN, SiON, SiCN, or SiOCN (SiCN, SiOCN; para. 0044).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching in view of Zang et al. (US 20200135723).
Regarding claim 4, Ching teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising:
a second insulating structure (Annotated fig. 16C, middle 116) spaced apart from first insulating structure (left 116) and extending parallel to the first insulating structure (left 116) on the field region (region below left 116); and
the gate structure (148) includes first and second gate structures (148 marked with 1st and 148 marked with 2nd) opposing each other in the second horizontal direction (B-B' direction).
Ching fails to explicitly teach a gate isolation pattern extending in the first horizontal direction on the second insulating structure;
the second insulating structure are disposed between the first and second gate structures, and
the second insulating structure overlaps the gate isolation pattern in the vertical direction.
However, Zang teaches a gate isolation pattern (Zang: fig. 10, gate cut isolation 900; para. 0034) extending in the first horizontal direction (Zang: direction perpendicular to the paper, similar to A-A' direction of Ching) on the second insulating structure (Zang: middle dielectric bar 500; para. 0034, similar to 116 of Ching);
the second insulating structure (Zang: middle 500) are disposed between the first and second gate structures (Zang: metal gate 1000 on the left and right; para. 0036, similar to 148 of Ching), and
the second insulating structure (Zang: middle 500) overlaps the gate isolation pattern (Zang: 900) in the vertical direction.
Zang and Ching are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of gate isolation structures.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add gate isolation pattern as taught by Zang.
Doing so would realize a gate isolation with an improved aspect ratio and more flexible for gate isolation position. (Zang: para. 0034).
Regarding claim 5, Ching in view of Zang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein an upper surface of the gate isolation pattern (Zang: fig. 10, upper surface of 900) is positioned on a level substantially the same (same level) as or higher than that of an upper surface of the gate structure (Zang: upper surface of 1000).
Regarding claim 6, Ching in view of Zang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein the second insulating structure (Zang: fig. 10, middle 500) includes a material the same (Zang: from same material/layer; para. 0029) as that of the first insulating structure (Zang: 500 on the left), and has an upper surface (Zang: upper surface of middle 500) having a level substantially the same (Zang: same height) as that of an upper surface of the first insulating structure (Zang: upper surface of 500 on the left).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching in view of Zang as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Hsueh et al. (US 20200006334).
Regarding claim 7, Ching in view of Zang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 4, further comprising:
the first source/drain region (Ching: fig. 16B and Annotated fig. 16C, region below left 136) disposed on a second side (up side) opposing the first side (down side) of the gate structure (Ching: 148 with 1st, 2nd) in the first horizontal direction (Ching: A-A' direction); and
the second source/drain region (Ching: region below right 136) disposed on the second side (up side) of the gate structure (Ching: 148), wherein at least a portion of the second insulating structure (Ching: middle 116) overlaps a generic connect structure (Ching: connect structure marked with 'generic') in the vertical direction.
Ching in view of Zang fails to explicitly teach a first contact plug electrically connected to the first source/drain region;
a second contact plug electrically connected to the second source/drain region
at least a portion of the second insulating structure overlaps the first and second contact plugs in the vertical direction.
However, Hsueh teaches a first contact plug (Hsueh: fig. 18, left 112) electrically connected to the first source/drain region (Hsueh: left epitaxial source/drain regions 80; para. 0058, similar to 136 of Ching);
a second contact plug (Hsueh: contact 113; para. 0058) electrically connected to the second source/drain region (Hsueh: middle left 80);
at least a portion of the second insulating structure (Hsueh: dielectric material 140; para. 0058, similar to 116 of Ching) overlaps the first and second contact plugs (Hsueh: 140 overlaps 113 OR 140 overlaps the generic connect structure of Ching with plugs 113 and 112) in the vertical direction.
Hsueh, Zang and Ching are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of gate isolation structures.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the first contact plug and second contact plug as taught by Hsueh.
Doing so would realize contacts to connect source/drain regions and dielectric material to reduce the chance of undesirable electrical shorts between contact and gate (Hsueh: para. 0058).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching in view of Ju et al. (US 20210343713).
Regarding claim 11, Ching teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1 including the active regions (fig. 16B, region below 136).
Ching fails to explicitly teach a plurality of channel layers disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction on the active regions, wherein the plurality of channel layers is at least partially in contact with the source/drain regions.
However, Ju teaches a plurality of channel layers (Ju: fig. 15, semiconductor layer 220 as channels; para. 0020) disposed to be spaced apart from each other (Ju: 220 are spaced apart) in the vertical direction on the active regions (Ju: transistor regions 202A/B; para. 0020, similar to region below 136 of Ching), wherein the plurality of channel layers (Ju: 220) is at least partially in contact with the source/drain regions (Ju: fig. 16, epitaxial source/drain features 310A/B; para. 0041, similar to 136 of Ching).
Ju and Ching are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fin structure channel of transistor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a plurality of channel layers as taught by Ju.
Doing so would realize a plurality of channel layers in a transistor region to increase packing density of transistors density (Ju: para. 0064).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching in view of Zhou et al. (US 20200126998).
Regarding claim 20, Ching teaches a semiconductor device (Abstract) comprising:
a first active region (fig. 16B, region below left epitaxy layers 136; para. 0065) and a second active region (region below right 136) parallel to each other (Annotated fig. 16C, both parallel along A-A' direction) and respectively extending on a substrate (fig. 16B, substrate 102; para. 0036) in a first horizontal direction (Annotated fig. 16C, A-A' direction);
first, second, and third field regions (fig. 16B and Annotated fig. 16C, regions below one further left, left, middle dummy fin structures 116; para. 0043) defining the first and second active regions (region below left and right 136) and spaced apart by the first and second active regions (region below left and right 136);
a first insulating structure (fig. 16B, left 116) extending in the first horizontal direction (A-A' direction) on the second field region (region below left 116) between the first active region (region below left 136) and the second active region (region below right 136);
a second insulating structure (Annotated fig. 16C, middle 116) extending parallel to the first insulating structure (left 116) on the first field region or the third field region (region below middle 116);
gate structures (Annotated fig. 16C, metal gate electrodes 148 marked with 1st and 2nd; para. 0078) including first and second gate structures (148 marked with 1st and 148 marked with 2nd) extending, in a second horizontal direction (B-B' direction), to intersect the first and second active regions (region below left and right 136) and the first and second insulating structures (left and middle 116) on the substrate (102), the first and second gate structures (148 marked with 1st and 2nd) opposing each other in the second horizontal direction (B-B' direction);
source/drain regions (136 as source/drain regions; para. 0065) including first source/drain regions (left 136) disposed on at least one side (up and down side) of the gate structures (148) and disposed on the first active region (region below left 136) and second source/drain regions (right 136) disposed on the second active region (region below right 136);
a common contact plug (Annotated fig. 16C, source/drain contacts 152 marked with common; para. 0082) electrically connected to the first source/drain regions (left 136) and the second source/drain regions (right 136); and
a gate isolation pattern (Annotated fig. 16C, extent/top portion of middle 116 between 148 marked with 1st and 2nd) disposed between the first and second gate structures (148 marked with 1st and 2nd) on the second insulating structure (middle 116), wherein each of the gate structures (148) includes a gate electrode (148) extending in the second horizontal direction (B-B' direction) and a gate spacer (spacer 126; para. 0053) disposed on at least one side surface (up and down side) of the gate electrode (148).
Ching fails to explicitly teach insulating liners extending in the first horizontal direction on side surfaces of each of the first and second insulating structures;
the insulating liners and the gate spacer include a same material.
However, Zhou teaches insulating liners (Zhou: fig. 13, first sidewall spacer 211; para. 0094) extending in the first horizontal direction (Zhou: direction perpendicular to the paper, similar to A-A' direction of Ching) on side surfaces of each of the first and second insulating structures (Zhou: side surfaces of interlayer dielectric layer 212; para. 0094, similar to 116 of Ching);
the insulating liners (Zhou: 211 made of SiN; para. 0091) and the gate spacer (Zhou: dummy gate sidewalls 205 made of SiN; para. 0047, similar to 126) include a same material (Zhou: same material SiN).
Zhou and Ching are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of gate isolation structures.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add insulating liners with same material as taught by Zhou into Ching.
Doing so would realize a liner to protect the interlayer dielectric layer structure and easier for manufacture with same material (Zhou: para. 0093). Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/ZHIJUN XU/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/BRIAN TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 2818