DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Regarding the amendment filed 05/26/2026: Claims 1, 3-7, and 9-22 are pending. Claims 2 and 8 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Rejection Under 35 USC 103
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1, 3-4, 6, 15-17, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Wouters (US 2017/0010231 A1, heretofore referred to as Wouters) in view of Hashizume (US 2021/0302347 A1, heretofore referred to as Hashizume) in further view of Aytug et al (US 2023/0288362 A1, heretofore referred to as Aytug) have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, a new rejection has been formed in view of Wouters, see below.
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejection of claims 5 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wouters in view of Hashizume in view of Cummings et al (US 2018/0003685 A1, heretofore referred to as Cummings) in view of Aytug have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, a new rejection has been formed in view of Wouters, see below.
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejection of claims 7, 9-14, and 21-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummings in view of Wouters in view of Hashizume in view of Aytug have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, a new rejection has been formed in view of Wouters, see below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Wouters (US 2017/0010231 A1) in view of Hashizume (US 2021/0302347 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wouters teaches a sensor (Wouters; Fig 1, Element 100) for detecting a vapor (Wouters; Par 0069), the sensor comprising:
a substrate (Wouters; Fig 1, Element 103 and Par 0069; Wouters teaches an insulation carrier, i.e. a substrate to form the sensor on);
a pair of electrodes disposed on the substrate (Wouters; Fig 1, Elements 101 and 102 and Par 0069); and
a polymer support (Wouters; Fig 1, Element 104) disposed on the substrate such that the polymer support is in contact with the pair of electrodes (Wouters; Par 0069; Wouters teaches the sensing element is a polymer-ionic liquid gel in contact with both electrodes), wherein the polymer support comprises an ionic salt (Wouters; Par 0004 and 0069; Wouters teaches the polymer contains an ionic liquid which is formed by salts in a liquid state), wherein the polymer support is configured to absorb at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate (Wouters; Par 0039, Par 0069, and 0080; Wouters teaches the polymer absorbs the vapor analyte of interest and the gas dissolves in the ionic liquid polymer), wherein, when the polymer support absorbs at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate (Wouters; Par 0039; Wouters teaches the gas dissolves in the ionic liquid polymer), a conductivity of the polymer support increases (Wouters; Figs 2-4 and Par 0070-0071; Wouters teaches the impedance of the polymer drops, i.e. the conductivity increases), wherein an impedance of the polymer support is measurable to detect the vapor (Wouters; Figs 2-4 and Par 0070-0071; Wouters teaches the impedance of the polymer drops, i.e. the conductivity increases), and wherein measuring the impedance of the polymer support uses a power amount when the impedance is measured approximately once per second (Wouters; Par 0054; Wouters teaches the power supply is providing power in the 50-100 mV range).
Wouters is silent on wherein the polymer support is configured to absorb at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate into the polymer support, wherein, when the polymer support absorbs at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate into the polymer support and wherein measuring the impedance of the polymer support while the ionic salt is solvated in the polymer support.
Hashizume teaches wherein the polymer support is configured to absorb at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate into the polymer support (Hashizume; Fig 1, Element 103, Par 0028, Par 0089, and Par 0096; Hashizume teaches wherein the vapor is absorbed into the sensing membrane), when the polymer support absorbs at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate into the polymer support (Hashizume; Par 0028, Par 0089, and Par 0096; Hashizume teaches using a polymer skeleton to support an adsorbing salt membrane where the two parts act as a co-ion system to measure a vapor) and wherein measuring the impedance of the polymer support while the ionic salt is solvated in the polymer support (Hashizume; Par 0013 and Par 0085; Hashizume teaches the impedance measurement happens while the salt is solvated).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the apparatus of Wouters with the ion adsorbtion of Hashizume in order to have a wider range of sensing membranes (Hashizume; Par 0028).
Wouters and Hashizume does not explicitly teach for “wherein measuring the impedance of the polymer support consumes less than 50 microwatts of average power”.
Wouters teaches the impedance measurements of the polymer support are in the range of 180Kohms to 130Kohms (Wouters; Fig 4 and Par 0071).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to keep the power usage under 50 microwatts as at the measurement resistances of Wouters, the voltage would be in the range of 3V-1.14V, which is in the typical range of measurements for sensors, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wouters and Hashizume teaches the sensor of claim 1, wherein the ionic salt comprises one or more of tetrabutylammonium tetrafluoroborate, tetraethylammonium tetrafluoroborate, tetramethylammonium tetrafluoroborate, lithium tetrafluoroborate, silver tetrafluoroborate, tetramethylammonium hexafluorophosphate, tetraethylammonium hexafluorophosphate, tetrabutylammonium hexafluorophosphate, tetrabutylammonium chloride, tetraethylammonium chloride, tetramethylammonium chloride, tetramethylammonium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide, tetrabutylammonium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide, tributylmethylammonium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide, tetraethylammonium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide, tetrabutylammonium triflate, tributylmethylammonium triflate, 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl) imide, or tri ethyl sulfonium bis(trifluoromethyl sulfonyl) imide (Wouters; Par 0063; Wouters teaches using at least 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium trifluoromethanesulfonate as well as other triflates as the ionic liquid).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wouters and Hashizume teaches the sensor of claim 1, wherein the polymer support comprises one or more of poly(ethyl methacrylate), poly(butyl methacrylate-co-methyl methacrylate), poly(methyl methacrylate-co-ethyl acrylate), poly(ethylene oxide), poly(vinyl pyrrolidone), poly(acrylonitrile), poly(vinyl acetate), poly(vinyl butyral-co-vinyl alcohol-co-vinyl acetate), poly(ethylene-co-vinyl acetate), poly(1-vinylpyrrolidone-co-vinyl acetate), poly(methyl methacrylate), poly(vinylidene fluoride), poly(vinylidene fluoride-co- trifluoroethylene), poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-hexafluoropropylene), poly(dimethyldiallylammonium) bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, or poly(dimethylpyrrolidinium) bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide (Wouters; Par 0065 Wouters teaches using at least poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-hexafluoropropylene) and other fluoropolymers).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wouters and Hashizume teaches the sensor of claim 1 further comprising: a pair of contact pads disposed on the substrate, each of the pair of contact pads in communication with one of the pair of electrodes (Wouters; Par 0050; Wouters teaches the sensing element is in contact with each electrode).
Regarding claim 15, Wouters teaches a method of detecting a vapor (Wouters; Par 0069) comprising: measuring an impedance (Wouters; Figs 2-4 and Par 0070-0071; Wouters teaches the impedance of the polymer drops, i.e. the conductivity increases) of a polymer support (Wouters; Fig 1, Element 104), wherein the polymer support is disposed on a substrate (Wouters; Fig 1, Element 103 and Par 0069; Wouters teaches an insulation carrier, i.e. a substrate to form the sensor on) such that the polymer support is in contact with a pair of electrodes disposed on the substrate (Wouters; Fig 1, Elements 101 and 102 and Par 0069; Wouters teaches the sensing element is a polymer-ionic liquid gel in contact with both electrodes), wherein the polymer support comprises an ionic salt (Wouters; Par 0004 and 0069; Wouters teaches the polymer contains an ionic liquid which is formed by salts in a liquid state), wherein the polymer support is configured to absorb at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate (Wouters; Par 0039, Par 0069, and 0080; Wouters teaches the polymer absorbs the vapor analyte of interest and the gas dissolves in the ionic liquid polymer), wherein, when the polymer support absorbs at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate (Wouters; Par 0039; Wouters teaches the gas dissolves in the ionic liquid polymer), a conductivity of the polymer support increases (Wouters; Figs 2-4 and Par 0070-0071; Wouters teaches the impedance of the polymer drops, i.e. the conductivity increases), wherein measuring the impedance of the polymer support uses a power amount when the impedance is measured approximately once per second (Wouters; Par 0054; Wouters teaches the power supply is providing power in the 50-100 mV range); and detecting the vapor based on the measured impedance of the polymer support (Wouters; Par 0080; Wouters teaches the impedance determines the concentration of the analyte of interest).
Wouters is silent on wherein the polymer support is configured to absorb at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate into the polymer support, wherein, when the polymer support absorbs at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate into the polymer support and wherein measuring the impedance of the polymer support while the ionic salt is solvated in the polymer support.
Hashizume teaches wherein the polymer support is configured to absorb at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate into the polymer support (Hashizume; Fig 1, Element 103, Par 0028, Par 0089, and Par 0096; Hashizume teaches wherein the vapor is absorbed into the sensing membrane), when the polymer support absorbs at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate into the polymer support (Hashizume; Par 0028, Par 0089, and Par 0096; Hashizume teaches using a polymer skeleton to support an adsorbing salt membrane where the two parts act as a co-ion system to measure a vapor) and wherein measuring the impedance of the polymer support while the ionic salt is solvated in the polymer support (Hashizume; Par 0013 and Par 0085; Hashizume teaches the impedance measurement happens while the salt is solvated).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the apparatus of Wouters with the ion adsorbtion of Hashizume in order to have a wider range of sensing membranes (Hashizume; Par 0028).
Wouters and Hashizume does not explicitly teach for “wherein measuring the impedance of the polymer support consumes less than 50 microwatts of average power”.
Wouters teaches the impedance measurements of the polymer support are in the range of 180Kohms to 130Kohms (Wouters; Fig 4 and Par 0071).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to keep the power usage under 50 microwatts as at the measurement resistances of Wouters, the voltage would be in the range of 3V-1.14V, which is in the typical range of measurements for sensors, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wouters and Hashizume teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the ionic salt comprises one or more of tetrabutylammonium tetrafluoroborate, tetraethylammonium tetrafluoroborate, tetramethylammonium tetrafluoroborate, lithium tetrafluoroborate, silver tetrafluoroborate, tetramethylammonium hexafluorophosphate, tetraethylammonium hexafluorophosphate, tetrabutylammonium hexafluorophosphate, tetrabutylammonium chloride, tetraethylammonium chloride, tetramethylammonium chloride, tetramethylammonium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide, tetrabutylammonium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide, tributylmethylammonium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide, tetraethylammonium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide, tetrabutylammonium triflate, tributylmethylammonium triflate, 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl) imide, or tri ethyl sulfonium bis(trifluoromethyl sulfonyl) imide (Wouters; Par 0063; Wouters teaches using at least 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium trifluoromethanesulfonate as well as other triflates as the ionic liquid).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wouters and Hashizume teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the polymer support comprises one or more of poly(ethyl methacrylate), poly(butyl methacrylate-co-methyl methacrylate), poly(methyl methacrylate-co-ethyl acrylate), poly(ethylene oxide), poly(vinyl pyrrolidone), poly(acrylonitrile), poly(vinyl acetate), poly(vinyl butyral-co-vinyl alcohol-co-vinyl acetate), poly(ethylene-co-vinyl acetate), poly(1-vinylpyrrolidone-co-vinyl acetate), poly(methyl methacrylate), poly(vinylidene fluoride), poly(vinylidene fluoride-co- trifluoroethylene), poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-hexafluoropropylene), poly(dimethyldiallylammonium) bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, or poly(dimethylpyrrolidinium) bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide (Wouters; Par 0065 Wouters teaches using at least poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-hexafluoropropylene) and other fluoropolymers).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wouters and Hashizume teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the vapor is detected when the impedance of the polymer support is below an impedance threshold (Wouters; Par 0080; Wouters teaches a lookup table of the impedence values or calibration values may be used to determine when the analyte is detected).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Wouters and Hashizume teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising: measuring a phase angle associated with the polymer support (Wouters; Fig 2 and Par 0070; Wouters teaches the phase may be used to detect the vapor).
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wouters (US 2017/0010231 A1) in view of Hashizume (US 2021/0302347 A1) in view of Cummings (US 2018/0003685 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Wouters, as modified by Hashizume, teaches the sensor of claim 1.
Wouters as modified is silent on wherein the vapor comprises one or more of propylene carbonate (PC), ethylene carbonate (EC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC), ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC), dimethoxyethane (DME), or gamma-butyrolactone (GBL).
Cummings teaches wherein the vapor comprises one or more of propylene carbonate (PC), ethylene carbonate (EC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC), ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC), dimethoxyethane (DME), or gamma-butyrolactone (GBL) (Cummings; Par 0022; Cummings teaches at least propylene carbonate and other carbonate species).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the apparatus of Wouters as modified with the gas analyte species of Cummings in order to detect off-gassing in any environment that has off-gassing from a battery (Cummings; Par 0021 and 0023).
Regarding claim 18, Wouters, as modified by Hashizume, teaches the method of claim 15.
Wouters as modified are silent on wherein the vapor comprises one or more of propylene carbonate (PC), ethylene carbonate (EC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC), ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC), dimethoxyethane (DME), or gamma- butyrolactone (GBL).
Cummings teaches wherein the vapor comprises one or more of propylene carbonate (PC), ethylene carbonate (EC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC), ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC), dimethoxyethane (DME), or gamma-butyrolactone (GBL) (Cummings; Par 0022; Cummings teaches at least propylene carbonate and other carbonate species).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the apparatus of Wouters as modified with the gas analyte species of Cummings in order to detect off-gassing in any environment that has off-gassing from a battery (Cummings; Par 0021 and 0023).
Claims 7, 9-14, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummings (US 2018/0003685 A1) in view of Wouters (US 2017/0010231 A1) in view of Hashizume (US 2021/0302347 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Cummings teaches a system for detecting a vapor (Cummings; Fig 1, Element 100 and Par 0030), the system comprising:
a battery (Cummings; Fig 1, Element 102 and Par 0029; Cummings teaches the vapor may be from off-gassing of a battery); and
a sensor (Cummings; Fig 1, Element 104) disposed proximate the battery (Cummings; Par 0029; Cummings teaches the sensor is next to the battery), when the sensor absorbs at least some of the vapor, a conductivity of the sensor increases (Cummings; Par 0030; Cummings teaches as the sensor absorbs the off-gassing analyte from the battery the resistance decreases and the conductivity increases).
Cummings is silent on wherein the sensor comprises: a substrate; a pair of electrodes disposed on the substrate; and a polymer support disposed on the substrate such that the polymer support is in contact with the pair of electrodes, wherein the polymer support comprises an ionic salt, wherein the polymer support is configured to absorb at least some of the vapor, wherein, when the polymer support absorbs at least some of the vapor, a conductivity of the polymer support increases, wherein an impedance of the polymer support is measurable to detect the vapor, and wherein measuring the impedance of the polymer support uses a power amount when the impedance is measured approximately once per second.
Wouters teaches wherein the sensor (Wouters; Fig 1, Element 100 and Par 0069), comprises: a substrate (Wouters; Fig 1, Element 103 and Par 0069; Wouters teaches an insulation carrier, i.e. a substrate to form the sensor on);
a pair of electrodes disposed on the substrate (Wouters; Fig 1, Elements 101 and 102 and Par 0069); and
a polymer support (Wouters; Fig 1, Element 104) disposed on the substrate such that the polymer support is in contact with the pair of electrodes (Wouters; Par 0069; Wouters teaches the sensing element is a polymer-ionic liquid gel in contact with both electrodes), wherein the polymer support comprises an ionic salt (Wouters; Par 0004 and 0069; Wouters teaches the polymer contains an ionic liquid which is formed by salts in a liquid state), wherein the polymer support is configured to absorb at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate (Wouters; Par 0039, Par 0069, and 0080; Wouters teaches the polymer absorbs the vapor analyte of interest and the gas dissolves in the ionic liquid polymer), wherein, when the polymer support absorbs at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate (Wouters; Par 0039; Wouters teaches the gas dissolves in the ionic liquid polymer), a conductivity of the polymer support increases (Wouters; Figs 2-4 and Par 0070-0071; Wouters teaches the impedance of the polymer drops, i.e. the conductivity increases), wherein an impedance of the polymer support is measurable to detect the vapor (Wouters; Figs 2-4 and Par 0070-0071; Wouters teaches the impedance of the polymer drops, i.e. the conductivity increases), and wherein measuring the impedance of the polymer support uses a power amount when the impedance is measured approximately once per second (Wouters; Par 0054; Wouters teaches the power supply is providing power in the 50-100 mV range).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the apparatus of Cummings with the polymer sensor of Wouters in order provide a better resistance to humidity in the environment (Wouters; Par 0004 and 0071).
Cumming as modified by Wouters is silent on wherein the polymer support is configured to absorb at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate into the polymer support, wherein, when the polymer support absorbs at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate into the polymer support and wherein measuring the impedance of the polymer support while the ionic salt is solvated in the polymer support.
Hashizume teaches wherein the polymer support is configured to absorb at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate into the polymer support (Hashizume; Fig 1, Element 103, Par 0028, Par 0089, and Par 0096; Hashizume teaches wherein the vapor is absorbed into the sensing membrane), when the polymer support absorbs at least some of the vapor causing the ionic salt to solvate into the polymer support (Hashizume; Par 0028, Par 0089, and Par 0096; Hashizume teaches using a polymer skeleton to support an adsorbing salt membrane where the two parts act as a co-ion system to measure a vapor) and wherein measuring the impedance of the polymer support while the ionic salt is solvated in the polymer support (Hashizume; Par 0013 and Par 0085; Hashizume teaches the impedance measurement happens while the salt is solvated).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the apparatus of Wouters with the ion adsorbtion of Hashizume in order to have a wider range of sensing membranes (Hashizume; Par 0028).
Cummings, Wouters, and Hashizume does not explicitly teach for “wherein measuring the impedance of the polymer support consumes less than 50 microwatts of average power”.
Wouters teaches the impedance measurements of the polymer support are in the range of 180Kohms to 130Kohms (Wouters; Fig 4 and Par 0071).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to keep the power usage under 50 microwatts as at the measurement resistances of Wouters, the voltage would be in the range of 3V-1.14V, which is in the typical range of measurements for sensors, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cummings, Wouters, and Hashizume teaches the system of claim 7. Wouters further teaches wherein the ionic salt comprises one or more of tetrabutylammonium tetrafluoroborate, tetraethylammonium tetrafluoroborate, tetramethylammonium tetrafluoroborate, lithium tetrafluoroborate, silver tetrafluoroborate, tetramethylammonium hexafluorophosphate, tetraethylammonium hexafluorophosphate, tetrabutylammonium hexafluorophosphate, tetrabutylammonium chloride, tetraethylammonium chloride, tetramethylammonium chloride, tetramethylammonium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide, tetrabutylammonium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide, tributylmethylammonium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide, tetraethylammonium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide, tetrabutylammonium triflate, tributylmethylammonium triflate, 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl) imide, or tri ethyl sulfonium bis(trifluoromethyl sulfonyl) imide (Wouters; Par 0063; Wouters teaches using at least 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium trifluoromethanesulfonate as well as other triflates as the ionic liquid).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cummings, Wouters, and Hashizume teaches the system of claim 7. Wouters further teaches wherein the polymer support comprises one or more of poly(ethyl methacrylate), poly(butyl methacrylate-co-methyl methacrylate), poly(methyl methacrylate-co-ethyl acrylate), poly(ethylene oxide), poly(vinyl pyrrolidone), poly(acrylonitrile), poly(vinyl acetate), poly(vinyl butyral-co-vinyl alcohol-co-vinyl acetate), poly(ethylene-co-vinyl acetate), poly(1-vinylpyrrolidone-co-vinyl acetate), poly(methyl methacrylate), poly(vinylidene fluoride), poly(vinylidene fluoride-co- trifluoroethylene), poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-hexafluoropropylene), poly(dimethyldiallylammonium) bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, or poly(dimethylpyrrolidinium) bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide (Wouters; Par 0065 Wouters teaches using at least poly(vinylidene fluoride-co-hexafluoropropylene) and other fluoropolymers).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Cummings, Wouters, and Hashizume teaches the system of claim 7. Wouters further teaches wherein the vapor comprises one or more of propylene carbonate (PC), ethylene carbonate (EC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC), ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC), dimethoxyethane (DME), or gamma-butyrolactone (GBL) (Cummings; Par 0022; Cummings teaches at least propylene carbonate and other carbonate species).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Cummings, Wouters, and Hashizume teaches the system of claim 7. Cummings further teaches wherein the battery releases the vapor when a temperature of the battery is greater than a temperature threshold (Cummings; Par 0023; Cummings teaches extreme temperatures cause the battery to off-gas).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Cummings, Wouters, and Hashizume teaches the system of claim 7. Cummings further teaches wherein the battery releases the vapor due to a fault associated with the battery (Cummings; Par 0023; Cummings teaches the battery may off-gas to do damage or defects).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Cummings, Wouters, and Hashizume teaches the system of claim 7. Wouters further teaches further comprising: a computing device (Wouters; Fig 1, Element 106 and Par 0069) in communication with the sensor and configured to measure an impedance of the polymer support or a phase angle associated with the polymer support (Wouters; Par 0069 and Par 0070; Wouters teaches the impedance response is measured and the phase may be used to detect the vapor).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Cummings, Wouters, and Hashizume teaches the system of claim 14. Wouters further teaches wherein the computing device is configured to indicate detection of vapor when the impedance of the polymer support is below an impedance threshold and/or the phase angle associated with the polymer support has shifted such that the phase angle exceeds a phase angle threshold (Wouters; Fig 2, Fig 4, Par 0069, Par 0070, and Par 0071; Wouters teaches the impedance response and phase angle responses are measured and used to determine the concentration is above the desired level).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Cummings, Wouters, and Hashizume teaches the system of claim 21. Cummings further teaches wherein the computing device is configured to take corrective action to prevent a catastrophic failure of the battery (Cummings; Par 0067; Cummings teaches an alert signal is sent to allow preventative measures to be taken), the corrective action includes automatically stopping a charging of the battery or causing the battery to stop supplying power (Cummings; Par 0067 and Par 0077; Cummings teaches preemptive measures are taken when the alert is signaled to prevent thermal runaway, i.e. shutting off the battery).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Patel et al teaches a low-power ionic sensor.
/ADAM S CLARKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858