This office action is in response to the request for continuation filed November 21, 2025.
Claims 1, 9, and 15 have been amended.
Claims 4 and 14 have been canceled.
Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weik et al. (US Publication 20200333756A1) in further view of Herzi (US Publication 20160110273A1) and Gorgievski et at. (US Publication 20220381651A1).
Regarding claim 1, Weik teaches a controller for a barrier operator, comprising:
a control board communicatively coupled to the barrier operator and a device (FIG. 1 schematically shows … a controller 2, which is an FPGA based Control Board ... plurality of relay controlled devices 3; a variable frequency drive 4 ... a single board computer 5 ... a motor assembly 6; a position sensor/encoder 7)([0039]; Figure 1 – a control board coupled to apparatus (i.e., a devices and barrier operators) is shown);
a display communicatively coupled to the control board (FIG. 1 schematically shows ... a display 8)([0039]); and
one or more data processors (a control board based on an FPGA ... with a micro controller with processor)([0019]) configured to:
receive device data of the device and optionally the barrier operator (The logic gates of the FPGA of the controller 2 are configured such that any signal from any device can result in an immediate change in state in regards to the conditions ... The FPGA stores event and status information)([0041] and [0042]; data of connected apparatus are monitored),
generate … content in response to the device data … and display the … content on the display … (The microcontroller (of the controller 2) reads the event and status information ... sends this information to the SBC 5 ... to operate as a hub that manages the data flow between the local human interface (display screen 8) ... the data collection from the FPGA 2 forwarded by the microcontroller and generated by the logic in the FPGA 2 ... FIG. 2 shows examples of the public assessable information([0042], [0049], [0100]; Figure 2 - exemplary display of generated information is shown).
Although Weik discloses that a variety of content including natural-language content maybe generated and displayed (The touch screen display can ... display at least ... coached step by step set-up instructions ... door control device status)([0109]). Weik differs from the claim in that Weik fails to explicitly teach the content includes encoded content (i.e., code), wherein the code represents data in a computer readable format.
However, generating and displaying natural-language content (i.e., status information) and encoded content (i.e., code), wherein the code represents data in a computer readable format (i.e., alphanumeric) is taught by Herzi (Processor 202A wraps the display error code and/or display error logs from the BIOS event log with HTML tags … the HTML content may include a message title, such as “LCD Failure”, and/or descriptive body text, such as “Please go to www.dell.com/supportABC and enter the following code: XYZ123ABC!@#$.")([0048] and [0049]).
The examiner notes Weik and Herzi teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the content of Weik to include the content of Herzi such that natural-language content and encoded alphanumeric content is generated and displayed. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating repairs to a device ([0006]; Herzi).
The combination of Weik-Herzi fails to teach the displayed encoded content comprises a QR code, wherein scanning the QR code presents remote content including repair instructions and/or diagnostic information on a handheld device.
However, displaying encoded content comprising a QR code, wherein scanning the QR code presents remote content including repair instructions and/or diagnostic information on a handheld device is taught by Gorgievski (Embodiments of the disclosure generally provide use of quick response (QR) codes as a mechanism for collecting error code history data that occur on machines in the field remotely ... the first graphical image 140 a of the first QR code 101 a is presented ... The technician 90 aims the camera 96 of the mobile device 92 at the display 110/116 so that the camera 96 scans the first graphical image 140 a ... The mobile device 92 subsequently parses the first data 146 a from the first graphical image 140 a ... the mobile device 92 uploads the first data 146 a to the computer 82 ... The computer 82 analyzes the first data 146 a ... The recommended actions are presented on the mobile display 98)([0036], [0069], [0070], and [0071]).
The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, and Gorgievski teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of Weik-Herzi to include the displaying of Gorgievski such that encoded content comprising a QR code is displayed, wherein scanning the QR code presents remote content including repair instructions and/or diagnostic information on a handheld device. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating transfer of internal error codes automatically out of the faulty machine ([0002]; Gorgievski).
Regarding claim 2, Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski teach the controller of claim 1 further comprising an input device communicatively coupled to the control board (Weik - FIG. 1 schematically shows a plurality of multiple input control devices 1)([0036]), wherein the input device is configured to generate a query signal in response to activation of the input device, and wherein the natural-language content and the encoded content are displayed on the display in response to the query signal (although Weik does not teach generating and displaying natural-language content and the encoded in response to a query signal generated in response to activation of an input device, said generating and displaying is taught by Herzi (processing device 306 executes one or more diagnostic routines in response to an error signal ... a user of IHS 200 may manually generate the error signal by pressing a pre-defined hot-key combination on keyboard 214 … return the HTML content ... the HTML content may include a message title, such as “LCD Failure”, and/or descriptive body text, such as “Please go to www.dell.com/supportABC and enter the following code: XYZ123ABC!@#$.")([0034], [0040], and [0049]). The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, and Gorgievski teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the displaying of Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski to include the generating and displaying of Herzi such that a query signal is generated upon an input device trigger and content is displayed in response. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating repairs to a device ([0006]; Herzi)).
Regarding claim 3, Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski teach the controller of claim 2, wherein the input device comprises an electrical switch or push button (Herzi - possible hot-key combinations include, but are not limited to, simultaneously pressing a function key and the power button, or pressing an escape key and the power button)([0044]).
Regarding claim 5, Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski teach the controller of claim 1, wherein the device has first state and a second state, and the device data indicates whether the device is in the first state or the second state, and optionally further comprising a relay that is electrically coupled to the device and communicatively coupled to the control board, wherein the relay is configured to generate a status signal in response to the device being in the first state or the second state, and wherein the control board is configured to generate the device data in response to the status signal (Weik - control board (discussed in further detail in the FPGA section) can sense that they are connected as well as sense their ON or OFF state)([0038]).
Regarding claim 6, Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski teach the controller of claim 1, wherein the one or more data processors are further configured to receive controller data of the controller, and to generate the natural-language content and the encoded content in response to the controller data (Weik - The microcontroller (of the controller 2) reads the event and status information from the FGPA and sends this information to the SBC 5)([0042]; stored data of the controller is retrieved to generate content).
Regarding claim 7, Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski the controller of claim 6, wherein the controller data comprises a history of the device, a life cycle of controller, a serial number of the controller, a configuration of the controller, a configuration of the device, or combinations thereof (Weik - logs, errors and fault data can be collected ... sent to the Control Board of the controller 2 and passed to the SBC 5)([0048]; a log contains historical data of a device).
Regarding claim 8, Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski teach the controller of claim 1, wherein the one or more data processors are further configured to retrieve local informational content from a local database based on the device data or the controller data, and to display the local informational content on the display, wherein the local information content comprises instructions to operate or modify the device or the controller (Weik - display install manuals and videos and provide trouble shooting instructions ... Support web pages, install directions, manuals and instructions stored on the server would also be uploaded to each controller during the manufacturing process)([0049] and [0082]).
Regarding claim 9, Weik teaches a system for a barrier operator, comprising:
a controller (FIG. 1 schematically shows … a controller 2)([0039]) comprising;
a control board communicatively coupled to the barrier operator and a device (an FPGA based Control Board ... plurality of relay controlled devices 3; a variable frequency drive 4 ... a single board computer 5 ... a motor assembly 6; a position sensor/encoder 7)([0039]; Figure 1 – a control board coupled to apparatus (i.e., a devices and barrier operators) is shown);
a display communicatively coupled to the control board (FIG. 1 schematically shows ... a display 8)([0039]); and
one or more data processors (a control board based on an FPGA ... with a micro controller with processor)([0019]) configured to:
receive device data of the device and optionally the barrier operator (The logic gates of the FPGA of the controller 2 are configured such that any signal from any device can result in an immediate change in state in regards to the conditions ... The FPGA stores event and status information)([0041] and [0042]; data of connected apparatus are monitored),
generate … content in response to the device data … and display the … content on the display (The microcontroller (of the controller 2) reads the event and status information ... sends this information to the SBC 5 ... to operate as a hub that manages the data flow between the local human interface (display screen 8) ... the data collection from the FPGA 2 forwarded by the microcontroller and generated by the logic in the FPGA 2 ... FIG. 2 shows examples of the public assessable information([0042], [0049], [0100]; Figure 2 - exemplary display of generated information is shown).
Although Weik discloses that a variety of content including natural-language content maybe generated and displayed (The touch screen display can ... display at least ... coached step by step set-up instructions ... door control device status)([0109]). Weik differs from the claim in that Weik fails to explicitly teach the content includes encoded content (i.e., code), wherein the code represents data in a computer readable format.
However, generating and displaying natural-language content (i.e., status information) and encoded content (i.e., code), wherein the code represents data in a computer readable format (i.e., alphanumeric) is taught by Herzi (Processor 202A wraps the display error code and/or display error logs from the BIOS event log with HTML tags … the HTML content may include a message title, such as “LCD Failure”, and/or descriptive body text, such as “Please go to www.dell.com/supportABC and enter the following code: XYZ123ABC!@#$.")([0048] and [0049]).
The examiner notes Weik and Herzi teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the content of Weik to include the content of Herzi such that natural-language content and encoded alphanumeric content is generated and displayed. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating repairs to a device ([0006]; Herzi).
Although the combination of Weik-Herzi discloses of a handheld device comprising processors, a camera, and a display (Weik - The computer used by the service technician can be any commonly called a laptop, desktop, pad, smartphone, smart device)([0039]; smart devices (e.g., a smartphone) contains processors, a camera, and a display). Weik-Herzi differs from the claim in that Weik-Herzi fails to teach the displayed encoded content comprises a QR which is received using the camera, retrieving remote content from a remote database based on the encoded content, wherein the remote content comprises presentation of repair instructions and/or diagnostic information, and displaying the remote content.
However, displaying encoded content comprising a QR code which is received using a camera on a handheld device, retrieving remote content from a remote database based on the encoded content, wherein the remote content comprises presentation of repair instructions and/or diagnostic information, and displaying the remote content is taught by Gorgievski (Embodiments of the disclosure generally provide use of quick response (QR) codes as a mechanism for collecting error code history data that occur on machines in the field remotely ... the first graphical image 140 a of the first QR code 101 a is presented ... The technician 90 aims the camera 96 of the mobile device 92 at the display 110/116 so that the camera 96 scans the first graphical image 140 a ... The mobile device 92 subsequently parses the first data 146 a from the first graphical image 140 a ... the mobile device 92 uploads the first data 146 a to the computer 82 ... The computer 82 analyzes the first data 146 a ... The recommended actions are presented on the mobile display 98)([0036], [0069], [0070], and [0071]).
The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, and Gorgievski teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handheld device of Weik-Herzi to include the displaying, the retrieving, and the displaying of Gorgievski such that a handheld device receives displayed encoded content comprising a QR code by a user using a camera, retrieves remote content from a remote database based on the encoded content, wherein the remote content comprises presentation of repair instructions and/or diagnostic information, and displays the remote content. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating transfer of internal error codes automatically out of the faulty machine ([0002]; Gorgievski).
Regarding claim 11, Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski teach the system of claim 9, wherein the one or more data processors of the controller are further configured to receive controller data of the controller generated by the control board, and to generate the natural-language content and the encoded content in response to the controller data (Weik - The microcontroller (of the controller 2) reads the event and status information from the FGPA and sends this information to the SBC 5)([0042]; stored data of the controller is retrieved to generate content), wherein the controller data comprises a history of the device, a life cycle of controller, a serial number of the controller, a configuration of the controller, a configuration of the device, or combinations thereof (Weik - logs, errors and fault data can be collected ... sent to the Control Board of the controller 2 and passed to the SBC 5)([0048]; a log contains historical data of a device).
Regarding claim 12, Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski teach the system of claim 9, wherein the one or more data processors are further configured to retrieve local informational content from a local database based on the device data or the controller data, and to display the local informational content on the display, and optionally wherein the local informational content comprises instructions to operate or modify the device or the controller (Weik - display install manuals and videos and provide trouble shooting instructions ... Support web pages, install directions, manuals and instructions stored on the server would also be uploaded to each controller during the manufacturing process)([0049] and [0082]).
Regarding claim 13, Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski teach the system of claim 9, wherein the controller further comprises an input device communicatively coupled to the control board (Weik - FIG. 1 schematically shows a plurality of multiple input control devices 1)([0036]), wherein the input device is configured to generate a query signal in response to activation of the input device, and wherein the natural- language content and the encoded content are displayed on the display in response to the query signal (although Weik does not teach generating and displaying natural-language content and the encoded in response to a query signal generated in response to activation of an input device, said generating and displaying is taught by Herzi (processing device 306 executes one or more diagnostic routines in response to an error signal ... a user of IHS 200 may manually generate the error signal by pressing a pre-defined hot-key combination on keyboard 214 … return the HTML content ... the HTML content may include a message title, such as “LCD Failure”, and/or descriptive body text, such as “Please go to www.dell.com/supportABC and enter the following code: XYZ123ABC!@#$.")([0034], [0040], and [0049]). The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, and Gorgievski teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the displaying of Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski to include the generating and displaying of Herzi such that a query signal is generated upon an input device trigger and content is displayed in response. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating repairs to a device ([0006]; Herzi)).
Regarding claim 15, Weik teaches a method for displaying content for a controller for a barrier operator, the method comprising:
receiving, by one or more data processors of the controller device data of a device (The logic gates of the FPGA of the controller 2 are configured such that any signal from any device can result in an immediate change in state in regards to the conditions ... The FPGA stores event and status information)([0041] and [0042]; data of connected apparatus are monitored);
generate … content in response to the device data … and displaying the … content on a handheld display of the handheld device (The microcontroller (of the controller 2) reads the event and status information ... sends this information to the SBC 5 ... to operate as a hub that manages the data flow between the local human interface (display screen 8) ... the data collection from the FPGA 2 forwarded by the microcontroller and generated by the logic in the FPGA 2 ... FIG. 2 shows examples of the public assessable information([0042], [0049], [0100]; Figure 2 - exemplary display of generated information is shown).
Although Weik discloses that a variety of content including natural-language content maybe generated and displayed (The touch screen display can ... display at least ... coached step by step set-up instructions ... door control device status)([0109]). Weik differs from the claim in that Weik fails to explicitly teach the content includes encoded content (i.e., code), wherein the code represents data in a computer readable format.
However, generating and displaying natural-language content (i.e., status information) and encoded content (i.e., code), wherein the code represents data in a computer readable format (i.e., alphanumeric) is taught by Herzi (Processor 202A wraps the display error code and/or display error logs from the BIOS event log with HTML tags … the HTML content may include a message title, such as “LCD Failure”, and/or descriptive body text, such as “Please go to www.dell.com/supportABC and enter the following code: XYZ123ABC!@#$.")([0048] and [0049]).
The examiner notes Weik and Herzi teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the content of Weik to include the content of Herzi such that natural-language content and encoded alphanumeric content is generated and displayed. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating repairs to a device ([0006]; Herzi).
Although the combination of Weik-Herzi discloses of a handheld device comprising a camera and a display (Weik - The computer used by the service technician can be any commonly called a laptop, desktop, pad, smartphone, smart device)([0039]; smart devices (e.g., a smartphone) contains a camera and a display). Weik-Herzi differs from the claim in that Weik-Herzi fails to teach the displayed encoded content comprises a QR which is received using the camera, retrieving remote content from a remote database based on the encoded content, wherein the remote content comprises presentation of repair instructions and/or diagnostic information, and displaying the remote content.
However, displaying encoded content comprising a QR code which is received using a camera on a handheld device, retrieving remote content from a remote database based on the encoded content, wherein the remote content comprises presentation of repair instructions and/or diagnostic information, and displaying the remote content is taught by Gorgievski (Embodiments of the disclosure generally provide use of quick response (QR) codes as a mechanism for collecting error code history data that occur on machines in the field remotely ... the first graphical image 140 a of the first QR code 101 a is presented ... The technician 90 aims the camera 96 of the mobile device 92 at the display 110/116 so that the camera 96 scans the first graphical image 140 a ... The mobile device 92 subsequently parses the first data 146 a from the first graphical image 140 a ... the mobile device 92 uploads the first data 146 a to the computer 82 ... The computer 82 analyzes the first data 146 a ... The recommended actions are presented on the mobile display 98)([0036], [0069], [0070], and [0071]).
The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, and Gorgievski teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handheld device of Weik-Herzi to include the displaying, the retrieving, and the displaying of Gorgievski such that a handheld device receives displayed encoded content comprising a QR code by a user using a camera, retrieves remote content from a remote database based on the encoded content, wherein the remote content comprises presentation of repair instructions and/or diagnostic information, and displays the remote content. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating transfer of internal error codes automatically out of the faulty machine ([0002]; Gorgievski).
Regarding claim 17, Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski teach the method of claim 15 further comprising receiving controller data of the controller, and generating the natural-language content and the encoded content in response to the controller data (Weik - The microcontroller (of the controller 2) reads the event and status information from the FGPA and sends this information to the SBC 5)([0042]; stored data of the controller is retrieved to generate content).
Regarding claim 18, Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski teach the method of claim 17, wherein the controller data comprises a history of the device, a life cycle of controller, a serial number of the controller, a configuration of the controller, a configuration of the device, or combinations thereof (Weik - logs, errors and fault data can be collected ... sent to the Control Board of the controller 2 and passed to the SBC 5)([0048]; a log contains historical data of a device).
Regarding claim 19, Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski teach the method of claim 15 further comprising retrieving local informational content from a local database based on the device data or the controller data, and displaying the local informational content on the display (Weik - display install manuals and videos and provide trouble shooting instructions ... Support web pages, install directions, manuals and instructions stored on the server would also be uploaded to each controller during the manufacturing process)([0049] and [0082]).
Regarding claim 20, Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski teach the method of claim 19, wherein the local informational content comprises instructions to operate or modify the device or the controller (Weik - The touch screen display can ... display at least one of: coached step by step set-up instructions for door and motor control system; display installation videos)([0109]).
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weik, Herzi, Gorgievski in further view of Czapar (US Publication 20140085309A1).
Regarding claim 10, Weik-Herzi Gorgievski teach the system as applied above, wherein remote content is retrieved (Gorgievski - The mobile device 92 subsequently generates recommended actions based on ... the recommendations received from the computer 82)([0046]). Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski differs from the claim in that Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski fails to teach the content comprises a user manual.
However, retrieving content including a user manual is taught by Czapar (A mobile phone 304 is configured to read QR code 306 displayed at interface 202 ... Mobile phone 304 is configured to interpret the QR code 306 and to communicate with a data server 308 to obtain ... a user manual)([0030] and [0031]).
The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, Gorgievski, and Czapar teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the retrieving of Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski to include the retrieving of Czapar such that a user manual is retrieved. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of providing additional documentation to assist in troubleshooting.
Regarding claim 16, Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski teach the method as applied above, wherein remote content is retrieved (Gorgievski - The mobile device 92 subsequently generates recommended actions based on ... the recommendations received from the computer 82)([0046]). Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski differs from the claim in that Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski fails to teach the content comprises a user manual.
However, retrieving content including a user manual is taught by Czapar (A mobile phone 304 is configured to read QR code 306 displayed at interface 202 ... Mobile phone 304 is configured to interpret the QR code 306 and to communicate with a data server 308 to obtain ... a user manual)([0030] and [0031]).
The examiner notes Weik, Herzi, Gorgievski, and Czapar teach displaying status of devices. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the retrieving of Weik-Herzi-Gorgievski to include the retrieving of Czapar such that a user manual is retrieved. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of providing additional documentation to assist in troubleshooting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider the reference fully when responding to this action. The document cited therein and enumerated below teaches a method and apparatus for troubleshooting an issue by presenting a QR code to retrieve remote content.
US20140288761A1
US20140303755A1
US20190347154A1
US20220206891A1
US20230186573A1
US9329966B2
US10108889B1
DE202012009447U1
JP2010219879A
QR codes and the future of hardware support
Microsoft Windows 10 Blue Screen Of Death Gets QR Code
/YONGJIA PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118