DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 9/9/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-18, and 20-24 remain pending in the application. New claims 23-24 has been added to the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-18, and 20-24, have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection. Note discussion of US Publication 2019/0045897 by Bhatnagar and Chinese Publication CN212065915 by Pan, below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the tray protrusion mentioned in claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
(Claim 3, line 14) “opposition” should be “opposite”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 12, 14-15, 17, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 11140958 issued to Baldwin (Here forth “Baldwin”) in view of US Patent 5159999 issued to Voigt (Here forth “Voigt”) and US Publication 2019/0045897 by Bhatnagar (Here forth “Bhatnagar”).
Regarding claim 1, Baldwin discloses suitcase comprising:
a main body (Fig 1, there is a main body of luggage 10 that has an opening to store items and an opening to store tray 40);
a retractable tray (Fig 1, tray 40);
a tray opening (Fig 3-5, there is an opening where tray 40 can be seen to come out of cavity 43) in the main body configured to allow the retractable tray to move between a first position interior to the main body to an extended position with a majority of the retractable tray being exterior to the main body (Fig 3-5 the tray 40 can move from first position where tray is within an interior area of the luggage to an extended position with the retractable tray mostly outside the main body);
[Not taught: a receptacle component provided at an exterior of the main body and configured to receive a removable container;
a spring within the receptacle component and configured to raise the removable container above a surface of the suitcase]; and
[Not taught: a locking mechanism having a retractable latch configured to slide across at least a portion of an opening of the receptacle component to a first position that holds the removable container with the receptacle component and to retract to a second position within the main body of the suitcase to release the removable container from the receptacle component].
Baldwin does not expressly disclose the following Limitations:
Limitation A: receptacle component that can receive removable container and spring configured to raise the removable container
Limitation B: sliding locking mechanism
Voigt disclose a similar luggage that teaches Limitation A, a receptacle component provided at an exterior of the main body and configured to receive a removable container; and a spring within the receptacle component and configured to raise the removable container above a surface of the suitcase (Fig 1, aperture 28 is a receptacle that can hold a cylindrical removable article 12 which can be a cylindrical container on the main body; the receptacle component 28 includes a circular opening and cylindrical component configured to receive a cylindrical removable container; Fig 3 the receptacle component 28 contains a spring 32 that pushes the container 12 out of the receptacle, raising the container above the surface of the suitcase; Fig 1, the receptacle component includes a cylindrical opening that is shaped to fully receive the removable container 72).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Baldwin and Voigt before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the luggage of Baldwin to include a receptable component on the main body, as taught by Voigt, to advantageously allow a user to conveniently access and store a cylindrical article such as an umbrella to easily access it when necessary.
Bhatnagar discloses a similar receptacle component that teaches Limitation B, a locking mechanism having a retractable latch configured to slide across at least a portion of the opening of the receptacle component to a first position that holds the removable container within the receptacle component and to retract to a second position within the main body of the suitcase to release the removable container from the receptacle component (Fig 12 of Bhatnager, the locking mechanism 122 slides across a portion of the opening of the receptacle to a first position which locks the item within and then can be retracted to a second position releasing the lock to remove the item from within the receptacle component; and wherein the locking mechanism 122 is configured to fully extend across the cylindrical at the opening of the modified Baldwin and close over the removable container when the removable container is received in the opening).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of the modified Baldwin and Bhatnagar before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the receptacle component of the modified Baldwin to have a sliding locking mechanism, as taught by Bhatnagar, to advantageously prevent the item within from falling out while remaining removable.
Regarding claim 2, Baldwin further discloses wherein the retractable tray is configured to rotate in the extended position so that a surface of the retractable tray when in the extended position is perpendicular to the surface of the retractable tray when in the first position (Fig 2-5, the tray 40 swivels into the extend position such that the surface of the tray is perpendicular to the surface when it’s in its first position).
Regarding claim 5, Baldwin as modified includes all of the limitations including, wherein the receptacle component includes a circular opening and cylindrical component configured to receive a cylindrical removable container (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 1; Fig 1).
Regarding claim 6, Baldwin as modified includes all of the limitations including, further comprising the cylindrical removable container (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 1; Fig 3).
Regarding claim 7, Baldwin further discloses wherein the receptacle component further includes an external piece that extends along the exterior of the main body of the suitcase along at least a portion of a length of the cylindrical component (Fig 3, the receptacle component includes an l-shaped brace member 42 that, when the retaining apparatus 38 is removed, is an external piece that extends along the exterior of the main body of the suitcase as it is exposed to the external environment like the rest of the external main body).
Regarding claim 12, Baldwin further discloses further comprising: a rechargeable battery source (Fig 5-6, the battery 33 is rechargeable vie plug 34); and a port to access the rechargeable battery source (Fig 5, port 35 provides access to rechargeable battery).
Regarding claim 14, Baldwin further discloses further comprising: a set of multiple retractable wheels (Fig 8, back wheels 17 are retractable).
Regarding claim 15, Baldwin further discloses further comprising: a handle (Fig 8, retractable handle 11), wherein when the handle extends, each wheel in the set of multiple retractable wheels extend and when the handle retracts, each wheel in the set of multiple retractable wheels retract (Fig 8, the wheels can be extended when the handle is extended and is also capable of being retracted with the wheels are retracted).
Regarding claim 17, Baldwin as modified includes all of the limitations including wherein the receptacle component includes a cylindrical opening that is shaped to fully receive the removable container, and wherein the locking mechanism is configured to fully extend across the cylindrical at the opening and close over the removable container when the removable container is received in the opening (See the detailed description of the rejection of claim 1; Fig 1 of Voight, cylindrical opening; Fig 3 of Bhatnagar, the locking mechanism fully cover the opening and includes button 116 and cover 118).
Regarding claim 24, Voight discloses that the receptacle component extends from a corner of main body (Fig 1 of Voight).
Voight as modified does not expressly disclose the following Limitations:
Limitation C: receptacle component location along the suitcase
Bhatnagar further discloses Limitation C, a set of wheels at a first end of the main body, wherein the opening to the receptacle component is positioned at a second end of the main body opposite the set of wheels, and wherein the receptable component extends from the main body along at least a part of a length of the main body of the suitcase (Fig 1 of Bhatnagar, there is a first set of wheels 102 at a first end and a second set on the opposite side; Fig 2-3 of Bhatnagar, the receptacle component extends along the length part of the main body).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the application was filed to have the receptacle component extend from the corner of the main body of a suitcase along a length part of body, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin, Voight and Bhatnagar in view of US Publication 2016/0081469 by Undesser (Here forth “Undesser”) and Chinese Publication CN212065915 by Pan (Here forth “Pan”).
Regarding claim 3, Baldwin further comprises
an extendable handle positioned at a first side of an end of the main body, wherein the extendable handle retracts into the main body (Fig 1 of Baldwin, the extendable handle 11 retracts into the main body),
[Not taught: wherein the receptacle component and the tray opening through which the retractable tray extends are positioned at a second side of the end of the main body, wherein the second side is opposite the first side at which the extendable handle is positioned], and
wherein a tray housing includes a slot that forms the tray opening that receives the retractable tray at an interior portion of the suitcase and through which the retractable tray slides and rotates to the extended position (Fig 3-5, there is an opening slot where tray 40 can be seen to come out of slot and retraction with in by sliding and rotating), wherein the retractable tray includes:
a first portion that is held by the slot when in the extended position (Fig 1 of Bhatnagar, there is a first portion of the table that is held by the slot when the tray is in the extended position) and having a protrusion that supports the retractable tray in the extended position and stops a portion of the retractable tray from moving through the tray opening (the first portion is a protrusion attached within the slot that supports the second portion of the retractable tray in the extended position and stops a portion of the first portion from moving through the tray opening), and
a second portion opposition the first portion of the retractable tray (Fig 1, there is a first portion of the tray that remains within the slot when tray is extended and the second part of the tray is the extended portion of the tray) and [Not taught: including a shaped handle formed in a leading edge of the retractable tray].
Baldwin as modified does not expressly disclose the following limitations:
Limitation D: location of the receptacle container and tray compared to the handle
Limitation E: tray includes a handle
Baldwin as modified discloses the claimed invention except for Limitation D, the receptacle component and the tray opening through which the retractable tray extends are positioned at a second side of the end of the main body, wherein the second side is opposite the first side at which the extendable handle is positioned. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the application was filed to have the tray and receptacle component positioned on the second side of the end of the main body opposite the first side that has the extendable handle, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Pan discloses a similar suitcase that teaches Limitation E, tray includes a shaped handle formed in a leading edge of the retractable tray (Fig 3 of Pan, handle 201 is formed in a leading edge of the tray).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Baldwin as modified and Pan before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the retractable tray of Baldwin to have a handle attached to the tray, as taught by Pan, to advantageously aid in the extraction of the tray.
Claims 10, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin, Voigt, and Bhatnagar in view of US Publication 2021/0056788 by Chen (Here forth “Chen”).
Regarding claim 10, Baldwin as modified does not expressly disclose the following Limitations:
Limitation F: location component
Baldwin discloses a similar luggage that teaches Limitation F, further comprising: a location component configured to transmit a location notification for the suitcase (Para 32).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Baldwin as modified and Chen before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the Luggage of Baldwin as modified to a location component to transmit a location notification, as taught by Chen, to advantageously be able to locate lost luggage when it get too far away from user.
Regarding claim 13, Baldwin as modified does not expressly disclose the following Limitations:
Limitation G: memory, Bluetooth to access memory data
Chen discloses a similar luggage that teaches Limitation G, further comprising: memory; and a short range wireless interface configured to access data in the memory (Para 30-32 and Para 52).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Baldwin as modified and Chen before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the Luggage of Baldwin as modified to have memory data that can interface with Bluetooth, as taught by Chen, to advantageously use that information be able to locate lost luggage when it get too far away from user.
Regarding claim 16, Baldwin as modified does not expressly disclose the following Limitations:
Limitation H: wireless communication component, user display device that communicates with wireless communication component
Chen discloses a similar luggage that teaches Limitation H, further comprising: a wireless communication component that is configured to provide data about the suitcase to an application for display at a user device (Para 30-32 and Para 52).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Baldwin as modified and Chen before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the Luggage of Baldwin as modified to include a wireless communication component to provide data about the suitcase to a user’s display device, as taught by Chen, to advantageously use that information be able to locate lost luggage when it get too far away from user.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin and Bhatnagar in view of US Publication 2024/0068863 by Katsu (Here forth “Katsu”) .
Regarding claim 11, Baldwin does not expressly disclose the following Limitations:
Limitation I: weight sensor and display
Katsu disclose a similar luggage that discloses Limitation I, further comprising: a weight sensor configured to measure a weight of the suitcase and to provide the weight to a display (Abstract, Fig 11, there are weight sensors 180 and a display 150).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Baldwin as modified and Katsu before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the Luggage of Baldwin as modified to include weighing sensors and display, as taught by Katsu, to advantageously determine the weight of the luggage and allow the user to know the weight (Abstract).
Claims 18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 5159999 issued to Voigt (Here forth “Voigt”) in view of US Publication 2019/0045897 by Bhatnagar (Here forth “Bhatnagar”).
Regarding claim 18, Voigt discloses a suitcase comprising:
a main body (Fig 1, container 10 is the main body);
a receptacle component provided at an exterior of the main body of the suitcase and having an opening configured to receive a removable container (Fig 1-3, aperture 28 is the receptacle component provided on the exterior of the main body configured to have an opening to receive a removable container); and
a spring within the receptacle component and configured to raise the removable container above a surface of the suitcase (Fig 1-3, spring 32 helps to eject article 12 which is the removable container); and
a locking mechanism (Fig 1, locking mechanism 18) [Not taught: having a retractable latch configured to slide across at least a portion of the opening of the receptacle component to a first position that holds the removable container within the receptacle component and to retract to a second position within the main body of the suitcase to release the removable container from the receptacle component].
Voigt does not expressly disclose the following Limitations:
Limitation J: locking mechanism has a sliding retractable latch
Bhatnagar discloses a similar receptacle component that teaches Limitation J, a locking mechanism having a retractable latch configured to slide across at least a portion of the opening of the receptacle component to a first position that holds the removable container within the receptacle component and to retract to a second position within the main body of the suitcase to release the removable container from the receptacle component (Fig 12-13 of Bhatnager, the locking mechanism 116 has a sliding latch 122 that slides across a portion of the opening of the receptacle to a first position which locks the item within and then can be retracted to a second position releasing the lock to remove the item from within the receptacle component).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Voigt and Bhatnagar before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the receptacle component of Voight to have the locking mechanism be the sliding locking mechanism, as taught by Bhatnagar, to advantageously prevent the item within from falling out while remaining removable.
Regarding claim 20, Voigt further discloses wherein the receptacle component includes a circular opening and cylindrical component configured to receive a cylindrical removable container (Fig 1, the receptacle 28 has a circular opening and holding structure 16 which is the cylindrical component within the receptacle 28).
Regarding claim 21, Voigt further discloses comprising the cylindrical removable container (Fig 1, article 12 is the cylindrical removable container).
Regarding claim 22, Voigt further discloses wherein the receptacle component further includes an external piece that extends along the exterior of the main body of the suitcase along at least a portion of a length of the cylindrical component (Fig 3, the receptacle component includes an l-shaped brace member 42 that, when the retaining apparatus 38 is removed, is an external piece that extends along the exterior of the main body of the suitcase as it is exposed to the external environment like the rest of the external main body).
Regarding claim 23, Voigt as modified does not expressly disclose the following Limitations:
Limitation K: movable piece
Bhatnagar further discloses Limitation K, a movable piece that moves to a lowered position within the receptacle component when the retractable latch is at the first position and moves to a raised position within the receptable component when the retractable latch is retracted to the second position (Para 41 and Fig 10 of Bhatnagar movable piece is spring 120 that moves to a lower position within receptacle when latch is in first position and a portion of it is raised when the latch is retracted and locking mechanism is opened).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Voigt as modified and Bhatnagar before them, when the application was filed, to have modified the receptacle component of the modified Voight to include a movable piece, as taught by Bhatnagar, to advantageously push the container from within out allowing the user to easily pull the object out.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA KAVINI TAMIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 13 December 2025