DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 05/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1,11,17-20 and their dependent claims under Stubbs have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Stubbs in view of Futaki. Stubbs does not disclose that decision is based on the location of the storage device, Futaki teaches that the decision is based on the location of the storage device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 10-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stubbs et al. US 2016/0271800. in view of Futaki JP 10139108 A (Translation provided with applicant’s IDS).
Stubbs discloses a robot control method, executed by a control device, the method comprising:
(Re claim 1) “determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation” (‘retrieve an inventory item manually’ para 0021, 0024). “controlling an operation of a robot according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation, so that the robot avoids performing an operation at the same storage position simultaneously with the user” (‘slow down, stop, or reroute’ para 0019).
Stubbs discloses knowing the location of the workers, the robots, and the storage, Stubbs knows what storage is located near the worker and stops or alters the operation of the robot if the worker enters the robots work zone or the robot approaches the worker’s work zone. These work zones can include adjacent storage locations.
Stubbs does not disclose associating the position of the user with a storage location and using and controlling the operation of the robot based on the storage locations nor:
wherein the determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation:
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of: when it is determined, according to the detection information, that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit, determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between the arm of the user and the storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position;
wherein the controlling an operation of a robot according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, controlling the robot to stop performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit.
Futaki teaches:
wherein the determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation (‘HS’ abstract, figure 1).
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of: when it is determined, according to the detection information, that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit, determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between the arm of the user and the storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position (HS,WS, TR, P figure 1) The pressure mat detects the user is adjacent to a specific storage position of temporary storage shelving.
wherein the controlling an operation of a robot according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, controlling the robot to stop performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit (‘to/from the storing part 1 near to the place where the human stands is not conducted’ abstract, ‘the loading / unloading is not performed not only to the storage unit 1 from which the rod-shaped body 11 is removed but also to the adjacent storage unit 1, is also good’, lines 41-42 page 3).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Stubbs to include wherein the determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation:
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of: when it is determined, according to the detection information, that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit, determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between the arm of the user and the storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position;
wherein the controlling an operation of a robot according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, controlling the robot to stop performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit;
In short determining the storage position being accessed and controlling the robot based on that storage position and not merely the locations of the user, because preventing a robot from accessing the storage location and storage locations adjacent to the storage location being accessed can prevent dangerous situations for the user if the robot does something that that moves objects adjacent to the user or transfers force to objects adjacent to the user which may have a domino effect.
(Re claim 2) “determining a locked storage position or a locked shelving unit according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation; and controlling the operation of the robot according to the locked storage position or the locked shelving unit; wherein the locked shelving unit comprises the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation; and the locked storage position comprises the storage position at which the
user performs the operation, or the locked storage position comprises the storage position at which the user performs the operation and a storage position within a preset range around the storage position at which the user performs the operation” (‘worker’s work zone’ para 0021, 0024).
(Re claim 3) “, the detection device comprising at least one of the following: a pressure sensor, a laser radar sensor, an infrared sensor, a visual acquisition device, and a grating sensor” (para 0022, 0075, 0083).
(Re claim 6) “a protruding mechanism configured to perform an operation on a to-be-handled object; and the controlling the robot to stop performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit comprises: canceling an operation performed by the robot at a current storage position or temporary storage shelving unit, and if the protruding mechanism has stretched into
the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit, controlling the protruding mechanism to retract or stop” (para 0090).
(Re claim 7) ”in a case that the robot is taking out the to-be-handled object, the controlling the
protruding mechanism to retract comprises at least one of: controlling the protruding mechanism to retract if the protruding mechanism fails to drag the to-be-handled object; and controlling the protruding mechanism to take out the to-be-handled object if the protruding mechanism successfully drags the to-be-handled object. wherein in a case that the robot is placing the to-be-handled object, the controlling the protruding mechanism to retract comprises at least one of: controlling the robot to take back the to-be-handled object if the protruding mechanism does not place the to-be-handled object steadily; and controlling the protruding mechanism to retract if the protruding mechanism has placed the to-be-handled object steadily” (para 0090).
(Re claim 8) “when the robot is performing an operation at a first storage position on the temporary storage shelving unit, if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at a second
storage position on the temporary storage shelving unit, controlling the robot to stop performing the operation at the temporary storage shelving unit after completing the operation at the first storage position; when the user is performing an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit, controlling the robot to perform an operation at another storage position other than the storage position at which the user performs the operation, or controlling the robot to perform an operation at another temporary storage shelving unit other than the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation; or controlling the robot to wait until the operation performed by the user at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit is completed and then perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit” (‘slow down, stop, or reroute’ para 0019).
(Re claim 10) Stubbs does not disclose that the storage position is configured to place a to-be-handled object, and the temporary storage shelving unit comprises a plurality of storage positions; one side of the temporary storage shelving unit is used for the user to perform an operation, and the other side is used for the robot to perform an operation, a protection apparatus configured to prevent the robot from contacting with the user is arranged on the side of the temporary storage shelving unit, which is used for the user to perform an operation.
Futaki teaches the storage position is configured to place a to-be-handled object, and the temporary storage shelving unit comprises a plurality of storage positions; one side of the temporary storage shelving unit is used for the user to perform an operation, and the other side is used for the robot to perform an operation (WS, TR, P figure 1). a protection apparatus configured to prevent the
robot from contacting with the user is arranged on the side of the temporary storage shelving unit, which is used for the user to perform an operation (HS, 22 figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Stubbs to include that the storage position is configured to place a to-be-handled object, and the temporary storage shelving unit comprises a plurality of storage positions; one side of the temporary storage shelving unit is used for the user to perform an operation, and the other side is used for the robot to perform an operation, a protection apparatus configured to prevent the robot from contacting with the user is arranged on the side of the temporary storage shelving unit, which is used for the user to perform an operation because it helps to physically protect the user from potential harm.
Stubbs discloses a robot control method, executed by a robot, the method comprising:
(Re claim 11) “determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation” (‘retrieve an inventory item manually’ para 0021, 0024). “performing an operation according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation, to avoid performing an operation at the same storage position simultaneously with the user” (‘slow down, stop, or reroute’ para 0019).
Stubbs does not disclose:
determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of:
when it is determined, according to the detection information, that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit, determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between an arm of the user and a storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position
wherein the performing an operation according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, stopping performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit.
Futaki teaches:
determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation (‘HS’ abstract, figure 1).
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of:
when it is determined, according to the detection information, that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit, determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between an arm of the user and a storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position (HS, WS, TR, P figure 1).
wherein the performing an operation according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, stopping performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit. (‘to/from the storing part 1 near to the place where the human stands is not conducted’ abstract, ‘the loading / unloading is not performed not only to the storage unit 1 from which the rod-shaped body 11 is removed but also to the adjacent storage unit 1, is also good’, lines 41-42 page 3).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Stubbs to include:
determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of:
when it is determined, according to the detection information, that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit, determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between an arm of the user and a storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position
wherein the performing an operation according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, stopping performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit.
In short determining the storage position being accessed and controlling the robot based on that storage position and not merely the locations of the user, because preventing a robot from accessing the storage location and storage locations adjacent to the storage location being accessed can prevent dangerous situations for the user if the robot does something that that moves objects adjacent to the user or transfers force to objects adjacent to the user which may have a domino effect.
(Re claim 12) “the detection device comprising at least one of the following: a pressure sensor, a laser, a radar sensor, an infrared sensor, a visual acquisition device, and a grating sensor” (para 0022, 0075, 0083).
(Re claim 14) “if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at a second storage position on the temporary storage shelving unit when an operation is being performed at a first storage position on a temporary storage shelving unit, completing the operation at the first storage position and then stopping performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit (‘slow down, stop, or reroute’ para 0019).
(Re claim 15) “when the user is performing an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit, performing an operation at another storage position other than the storage position at which the user performs the operation, or performing an operation at another temporary storage shelving unit other than the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation; or waiting until the operation performed by the user at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit is completed and then performing an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit” (‘slow down, stop, or reroute’ para 0019, ‘wait’ para 0090).
(Re claim 16) Stubbs does not disclose that the storage position is configured to place a to-be-handled object, and the temporary storage shelving unit comprises a plurality of storage positions; one side of the temporary storage shelving unit is used for the user to perform an operation, and the other side is used for the robot to perform an operation, a protection apparatus configured to prevent the robot from contacting with the user is arranged on the side of the temporary storage shelving unit, which is used for the user to perform an operation.
Futaki teaches the storage position is configured to place a to-be-handled object, and the temporary storage shelving unit comprises a plurality of storage positions; one side of the temporary storage shelving unit is used for the user to perform an operation, and the other side is used for the robot to perform an operation (WS, TR, P figure 1). a protection apparatus configured to prevent the
robot from contacting with the user is arranged on the side of the temporary storage shelving unit, which is used for the user to perform an operation (HS, 22 figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Stubbs to include that the storage position is configured to place a to-be-handled object, and the temporary storage shelving unit comprises a plurality of storage positions; one side of the temporary storage shelving unit is used for the user to perform an operation, and the other side is used for the robot to perform an operation, a protection apparatus configured to prevent the robot from contacting with the user is arranged on the side of the temporary storage shelving unit, which is used for the user to perform an operation because it helps to physically protect the user from potential harm.
Stubbs discloses a control device, comprising:
(Re claim 17) “at least one processor; and a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor, and the instructions, when being executed by the at least one processor, are configured to perform operations of:” (para 0025, 0040). “determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation” (‘retrieve an inventory item manually’ para 0021, 0024). “controlling an operation of a robot according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation, so that the robot avoids performing an operation at the same storage position simultaneously with the user (‘slow down, stop, or reroute’ para 0019).
Stubbs does not disclose:
wherein the determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation;
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of: when it is determined, according to the detection information, that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit, determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between the arm of the user and the storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position;
wherein the controlling an operation of a robot according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, controlling the robot to stop performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit.
Futaki teaches:
wherein the determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation (‘HS’ abstract, figure 1).
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of: when it is determined, according to the detection information, that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit, determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between the arm of the user and the storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position; (HS, WS, TR, P figure 1,4).
wherein the controlling an operation of a robot according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, controlling the robot to stop performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit (‘to/from the storing part 1 near to the place where the human stands is not conducted’ abstract, ‘the loading / unloading is not performed not only to the storage unit 1 from which the rod-shaped body 11 is removed but also to the adjacent storage unit 1, is also good’, lines 41-42 page 3).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify they system of Stubbs to include:
wherein the determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation;
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of: when it is determined, according to the detection information, that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit, determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between the arm of the user and the storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position;
wherein the controlling an operation of a robot according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, controlling the robot to stop performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit.
In short determining the storage position being accessed and controlling the robot based on that storage position and not merely the locations of the user, because preventing a robot from accessing the storage location and storage locations adjacent to the storage location being accessed can prevent dangerous situations for the user if the robot does something that that moves objects adjacent to the user or transfers force to objects adjacent to the user which may have a domino effect.
Stubbs discloses a robot, comprising:
(Re claim 18) “at least one processor; and a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor, and the
instructions, when being executed by the at least one processor, are configured to perform operations of” (para 0025, 0040). “determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation” (‘retrieve an inventory item manually’ para 0021, 0024). “performing an operation according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation, to avoid performing an operation at the same storage position simultaneously with the user” (‘slow down, stop, or reroute’ para 0019).
Stubbs does not disclose:
wherein the determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information. the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation;
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of:
when it is determined, according to the detection information, that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit. determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between the arm of the user and the storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position;
wherein the performing an operation according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, stopping performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit.
Futaki teaches:
wherein the determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information. the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation (‘HS’ abstract, figure 1).
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of:
when it is determined, according to the detection information, that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit. determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between the arm of the user and the storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position (HS, WS, TR, P figure 1,4).
wherein the performing an operation according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, stopping performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit (‘retrieve an inventory item manually’ para 0021, 0024). “performing an operation according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation, to avoid performing an operation at the same storage position simultaneously with the user” (‘slow down, stop, or reroute’ para 0019).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Stubbs to include:
wherein the determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information. the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation;
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of:
when it is determined, according to the detection information, that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit. determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between the arm of the user and the storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position;
wherein the performing an operation according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises:
if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, stopping performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit.
In short determining the storage position being accessed and controlling the robot based on that storage position and not merely the locations of the user, because preventing a robot from accessing the storage location and storage locations adjacent to the storage location being accessed can prevent dangerous situations for the user if the robot does something that that moves objects adjacent to the user or transfers force to objects adjacent to the user which may have a domino effect.
Stubbs discloses a robot control system, comprising:
(Re claim 19) “a temporary storage shelving unit, a robot, and a control device the temporary storage shelving unit comprising at least one storage position configured to place a to-be-handled object; the control device being configured to perform operations of:” (para 0025, 0040). “the temporary storage shelving unit comprising at least one storage position configured to place a to-be-handled object” (130 figure 2A). “the control device being configured to perform operations of: determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation” (‘retrieve an inventory item manually’ para 0021, 0024). “controlling an operation of a robot according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation, so that the robot avoids performing an operation at the same storage position simultaneously with the user; and the robot being configured to perform an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit under indication by the control device” (‘slow down, stop, or reroute’ para 0019, ‘wait’ para 0090).
Stubbs does not disclose:
wherein the determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation;
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of: when it is determined, according to the detection information, that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit, determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between the arm of the user and the storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position;
wherein the controlling an operation of a robot according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, controlling the robot to stop performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit; wherein the robot is further configured to stop performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit if it is detected that the user starts to perform the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit.
Futaki teaches:
wherein the determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation (‘HS’ abstract, figure 1).
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of: when it is determined, according to the detection information, that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit, determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between the arm of the user and the storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position (HS, WS, TR, P figure 1,4).
wherein the controlling an operation of a robot according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, controlling the robot to stop performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit; wherein the robot is further configured to stop performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit if it is detected that the user starts to perform the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit (‘retrieve an inventory item manually’ para 0021, 0024). “performing an operation according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation, to avoid performing an operation at the same storage position simultaneously with the user” (‘slow down, stop, or reroute’ para 0019).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Stubbs to include:
wherein the determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation;
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of: when it is determined, according to the detection information, that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit, determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between the arm of the user and the storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position;
wherein the controlling an operation of a robot according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, controlling the robot to stop performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit; wherein the robot is further configured to stop performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit if it is detected that the user starts to perform the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit.
In short determining the storage position being accessed and controlling the robot based on that storage position and not merely the locations of the user, because preventing a robot from accessing the storage location and storage locations adjacent to the storage location being accessed can prevent dangerous situations for the user if the robot does something that that moves objects adjacent to the user or transfers force to objects adjacent to the user which may have a domino effect.
Stubbs discloses a computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions, the computer-executable instructions, when being executed by a processor, are configured to perform operations of:
(Re claim 20) “determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation; and controlling an operation of a robot according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation, SO that the robot avoids performing an operation at the same storage position simultaneously with the user” (‘retrieve an inventory item manually’ para 0021, 0024). “determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation; and performing an operation according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation, to avoid performing an operation at the same storage position simultaneously with the user” (‘slow down, stop, or reroute’ para 0019, ‘wait’ para 0090).
Stubbs does not disclose:
wherein the determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation;
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of: when it is determined, according to the detection information. that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit, determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between the arm of the user and the storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position;
wherein the controlling an operation of a robot according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, controlling the robot to stop performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit;
Futaki teaches:
wherein the determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation (‘HS’ abstract, figure 1).
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of: when it is determined, according to the detection information. that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit, determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between the arm of the user and the storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position (HS, WS, TR, P figure 1,4).
wherein the controlling an operation of a robot according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, controlling the robot to stop performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit (‘retrieve an inventory item manually’ para 0021, 0024). “performing an operation according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation, to avoid performing an operation at the same storage position simultaneously with the user” (‘slow down, stop, or reroute’ para 0019).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Stubbs to include wherein the determining a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit at which a user performs an operation comprises: acquiring detection information sent by a detection device, and determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation;
wherein the determining, according to the detection information, the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises at least one of: when it is determined, according to the detection information. that the user appears within a preset range around a temporary storage shelving unit, determining that the user is performing an operation at the temporary storage shelving unit; and when it is determined, according to the detection information, that an arm of the user stretches into a storage position or a distance between the arm of the user and the storage position is less than a preset value, determining that the user is performing an operation at the storage position;
wherein the controlling an operation of a robot according to the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit at which the user performs the operation comprises: if it is detected that the user starts to perform an operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit when the robot is performing an operation at a storage position or a temporary storage shelving unit, controlling the robot to stop performing the operation at the storage position or the temporary storage shelving unit;
In short determining the storage position being accessed and controlling the robot based on that storage position and not merely the locations of the user, because preventing a robot from accessing the storage location and storage locations adjacent to the storage location being accessed can prevent dangerous situations for the user if the robot does something that that moves objects adjacent to the user or transfers force to objects adjacent to the user which may have a domino effect.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stubbs/Futaki in view of Johnson et al. US 2020/0246972.
Stubbs/Futaki discloses the system as rejected above.
Stubbs/Futaki does not disclose determining a priority of the another storage position or the another temporary storage shelving unit according to a distance between the another storage position or temporary storage shelving unit and the robot, to control the robot to perform an operation according to the priority of the another storage position or the another temporary storage shelving unit.
Johnson teaches determining a priority of the another storage position or the another temporary storage shelving unit according to a distance between the another storage position or temporary storage shelving unit and the robot, to control the robot to perform an operation according to the priority of the another storage position or the another temporary storage shelving unit (‘next priority task … proximity of the second task’ para 0057).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Stubbs/Futaki to include determining a priority of the another storage position or the another temporary storage shelving unit according to a distance between the another storage position or temporary storage shelving unit and the robot, to control the robot to perform an operation according to the priority of the another storage position or the another temporary storage shelving unit because it can improve the efficiency of the system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TIMOTHY R. WAGGONER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655 B
/TIMOTHY R WAGGONER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655