DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0197666 to Tanaka et al.; in view of US 2022/0097524 to Choi et al; in view of US 2019/0146216 to Mourou et al.; further in view of US 11,926,344 to Roy; further in view of US 2018/0188531 to Dubey et al.
As per claim 1, Tanaka et al. teach a method, comprising:
receiving data associated with a condition perceived in an operating environment of an autonomous vehicle (paragraph 61, “detecting obstructions (pedestrians, vehicles, including bicycles and motorcycles, and other objects) present in the around vehicle 300”);
determining a first notification corresponding to the perceived condition (paragraph 7, “obtains information including the periphery of the vehicle and a state of the vehicle, and detects, as important information, information that is to be communicated to the driver preferentially over the obstruction information detected by the obstruction detector”); and
causing the first notification to be displayed on a transparent display included in a windowed surface of the autonomous vehicle (Fig. 1, paragraph 59, display 110 outputs warning message onto windshield 310), wherein the first notification is displayed as a real image on the transparent display and is visible from within the autonomous vehicle and outside the autonomous vehicle (Fig. 1, paragraph 59, visibility through the windshield implies that the driver sees the image and the image is also at least partially visible from outside).
Tanaka et al. do not necessarily teach wherein the transparent display is configured to display the first notification on both sides of the transparent display, the real image from within and outside the autonomous vehicle.
Choi et al. teach wherein the transparent display is configured to display the first notification on both sides of the transparent display, the real image from within and outside the autonomous vehicle (Fig. 9, paragraph 129, notice that the turning signal notification image is visible from both inside and outside the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Tanaka et al., so that the transparent display is configured to display the first notification on both sides of the transparent display, the real image from within and outside the autonomous vehicle, for the purpose of ensuring operation safety.
Tanaka and Choi et al. teach
wherein receiving data associated with the perceived condition comprises:
receiving data associated with an object perceived in the operating environment (Tanaka, paragraph 61, “detecting obstructions (pedestrians, vehicles, including bicycles and motorcycles, and other objects) present in the around vehicle 300”); and
receiving data associated with a vehicle intention including one or more automated driving actions to be performed by the autonomous vehicle responsive to perception of the object (Tanaka, paragraph 7, “obtains information including the periphery of the vehicle and a state of the vehicle, and detects, as important information, information that is to be communicated to the driver preferentially over the obstruction information detected by the obstruction detector”; paragraph 68, Vehicle controller 160 controls vehicle 300 based on the information output from obstruction detector 130, vehicle/driver state sensor group 150, and so on. Vehicle controller 160 is, for example, an advanced driver-assistance system (ADAS) or an autonomous driving system. Vehicle controller 160 obtains information pertaining to the speed of vehicle 300, information pertaining to autonomous driving, information pertaining to the states of other vehicles in the periphery of vehicle 300, and the like, and controls the speed, steering angle, and the like of vehicle 300.”);
determining a second notification corresponding to the perceived condition (Tanaka, Fig. 1, paragraph 59, visibility through the windshield implies that the driver sees the image and the image is also at least partially visible from outside, paragraph 106, “Notification image G may also be displayed such that the brightness thereof gradually increases. Text indicating the content of notification image G may also be displayed”, an image and its associated text may be displayed).
Tanaka and Choi et al. do not necessarily teach wherein the transparent display that uses a transparent display technology that allows for a background of the display to be transparent when displaying the first notification, wherein the transparent display comprises a transparent organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display or liquid crystal display (LCD) laminated between inner and outer glass layers of the windowed surface, wherein the first notification comprises a single visual communication that includes both the perceived condition and the vehicle intention, and a second transparent display comprising a transparent OLED display or LCD laminated disposed between the inner and outer glass layers of the windowed surface.
Mourou et al. teach wherein the transparent display that uses a transparent display technology that allows for a background of the display to be transparent when displaying the first notification (paragraph 4), wherein the transparent display comprises a transparent organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display or liquid crystal display (LCD) (paragraph 5, “Each display circuit includes a discrete array of electronically-activated light elements, which may be in the nature of LED or LCD cells”) laminated between inner and outer glass layers of the windowed surface (Fig. 2), wherein the first notification comprises a single visual communication that includes both the perceived condition and the vehicle intention (paragraph 4, “an automotive-grade exterior/interior transparent display that is operable to communicate with the vehicle occupants as well as pedestrians, cyclists, and neighboring vehicles, while allowing occupants to look out of the vehicle”; paragraph 18, “identify information based on these monitored inputs that will be relayed to the vehicle occupants or to passing pedestrians, vehicles, etc., and determine a graphical representation of the selected information” paragraph 19, ”As a dual-sided display device, the front windshield unit 18 is capable of selectively displaying a first set of images superimposed within an occupant's forward-facing field of view through the front windshield 18, and selectively displaying a second set of images, similar or distinct from the first, that are readily decipherable by persons outside of the vehicle 10.”), and a second transparent display comprising a transparent OLED display or LCD laminated disposed between the inner and outer glass layers of the windowed surface (Fig. 2, paragraph 21, “the front windshield unit 18 with dual-sided transparent display capabilities”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Tanaka and Choi, so that the transparent display that uses a transparent display technology that allows for a background of the display to be transparent when displaying the first notification, the transparent display comprises a transparent organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display or liquid crystal display (LCD) laminated between inner and outer glass layers of the windowed surface, wherein the first notification comprises a single visual communication that includes both the perceived condition and the vehicle intention, and a second transparent display comprising a transparent OLED display or LCD laminated disposed between the inner and outer glass layers of the windowed surface, such as taught by Mourou et al., for the purpose of communicating information to both vehicle occupants and exterior pedestrians, cyclists and neighboring vehicles.
Tanaka, Choi and Mourou et al. do not necessarily teach to cause the second notification to be projected outside the autonomous vehicle onto a road surface in the operating environment.
Roy teaches to cause the second notification to be projected outside the autonomous vehicle onto a road surface in the operating environment (Figs. 17 and 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Tanaka, Choi and Mourou et al., to cause the second notification to be projected outside the autonomous vehicle onto a road surface in the operating environment, such as taught by Roy, for the purpose of improving driving safety.
Tanaka, Choi, Mourou and Roy et al. do not teach causing a pattern to be displayed on the second transparent display of the windowed surface in line with the first notification, and wherein displaying the pattern in line with the first notification obfuscates the first notification from view outside the autonomous vehicle.
Dubey et al. teach causing a pattern to be displayed on the second transparent display of the windowed surface in line with the first notification, and wherein displaying the pattern in line with the first notification obfuscates the first notification from view outside the autonomous vehicle (paragraph 63, “In the first mode, which is also referred to as “privacy mode” light from the OLED display is blocked out such that the displayed information is no longer visible from the secondary side … the pixels of the OLED display and of the masking display are aligned such that pixels of the masking display can be used to selectively mask out only the illuminated pixels of the OLED display or regions around the illuminated pixels”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Tanaka, Choi, Mourou and Roy et al., by causing a pattern to be displayed on the second transparent display of the windowed surface in line with the first notification, and wherein displaying the pattern in line with the first notification obfuscates the first notification from view outside the autonomous vehicle, such as taught by Dubey et al., for the purpose of providing user privacy.
As per claim 3, Tanaka, Choi, Mourou and Roy et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the object includes a vulnerable road user (Tanaka, paragraph 61, “detecting obstructions (pedestrians, vehicles, including bicycles and motorcycles, and other objects) present in the around vehicle 300”).
As per claim 4, Tanaka, Choi, Mourou and Roy et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the first notification includes an explicit communication of at least one of: the perceived condition; and the vehicle intention (Tanaka, paragraph 7, “obtains information including the periphery of the vehicle and a state of the vehicle, and detects, as important information, information that is to be communicated to the driver preferentially over the obstruction information detected by the obstruction detector”).
As per claim 5, Tanaka, Choi, Mourou and Roy et al. teach the method of claim 1, comprising determining a first message including text; and displaying the first message in an orientation readable from outside the autonomous vehicle (Choi. Fig. 2, paragraph 81).
As per claim 6, Tanaka, Choi, Mourou and Roy et al. teach the method of claim 1, comprising: determining a second message including text; and displaying the second message in an orientation readable from inside the autonomous vehicle (Tanaka, paragraphs 76-79, see also paragraph 106, “If notification image G is text information, the text may be displayed in bold”).
As per claim 7, Tanaka, Choi, Mourou and Roy et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein causing the first notification to be displayed on the transparent display comprises causing one or a combination of text and symbols to be displayed in an augmented reality environment on the transparent display (Tanaka, Figs. 1 and 10-14, paragraphs 59 and 76-79).
As per claim 8, Tanaka, Choi, Mourou and Roy et al. teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a second notification corresponding to the perceived condition; and
causing the second notification to be displayed on the transparent display, wherein the second notification is displayed as a real image on the transparent display and is visible from within the vehicle and outside the autonomous vehicle (Tanaka, Fig. 1, paragraph 59, visibility through the windshield implies that the driver sees the image and the image is also at least partially visible from outside, paragraph 106, “Notification image G may also be displayed such that the brightness thereof gradually increases. Text indicating the content of notification image G may also be displayed”, an image and its associated text may be displayed); or causing the second notification to be projected outside the autonomous vehicle onto a road surface in the operating environment.
As per claim 9, it comprises similar limitations to those in claim 1 and it is therefore rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 10, it comprises similar limitations to those in claim 2 and it is therefore rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 11, Tanaka, Choi, Mourou and Roy et al. teach the dual view display system of claim 10, wherein the one or more automated driving actions include at least one of: brake control; throttle control; steering control; suspension control; transmission control; and drive state control (Tanaka, paragraph 68).
As per claim 12, Tanaka, Choi, Mourou and Roy et al. teach the dual view display system of claim 10, wherein the object includes another road user in the operating environment outside the autonomous vehicle (Tanaka, paragraph 61, “detecting obstructions (pedestrians, vehicles, including bicycles and motorcycles, and other objects) present in the around vehicle 300”).
As per claim 13, Tanaka, Choi, Mourou and Roy et al. teach the dual view display system of claim 12, wherein the other road user includes a vulnerable road user (Tanaka, paragraphs 61 and 123, “detecting obstructions (pedestrians, vehicles, including bicycles and motorcycles, and other objects) present in the around vehicle 300”).
As per claim 14, Tanaka, Choi, Mourou and Roy et al. teach the dual view display system of claim 9, wherein the first notification includes at least one of: a first message including text displayed in an orientation readable from outside the autonomous vehicle; and a second message including text displayed in an orientation readable from inside the autonomous vehicle (Tanaka, paragraphs 76-79, see also paragraph 106, “If notification image G is text information, the text may be displayed in bold”).
As per claim 15, Tanaka, Choi, Mourou and Roy et al. teach the dual view display system of claim 14, wherein the first and second messages are a same message (Fig. 9).
As per claim 16, Tanaka, Choi, Mourou and Roy et al. teach the dual view display system of claim 9, wherein the first notification comprises one or a combination of text and symbols (Tanaka, paragraphs 76-79, see also paragraph 106, “If notification image G is text information, the text may be displayed in bold”).
As per claim 17, Tanaka, Choi, Mourou and Roy et al. teach the dual view display system of claim 9, wherein in causing the first notification to be displayed on the transparent display, the system displays the first notification in an augmented reality environment on the transparent display (Tanaka, Fig. 1).
As per claim 18, Tanaka, Choi, Mourou and Roy et al. teach the dual view display system of claim 9, wherein the instructions further cause the system to: determine a second notification corresponding to the perceived condition; and cause the second notification to be displayed on the transparent display, wherein the second notification is displayed as a real image on the transparent display and is visible from within the vehicle and outside the autonomous vehicle (Tanaka, Fig. 1, paragraph 59, visibility through the windshield implies that the driver sees the image and the image is also at least partially visible from outside, paragraph 106, “Notification image G may also be displayed such that the brightness thereof gradually increases. Text indicating the content of notification image G may also be displayed”, an image and its associated text may be displayed).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,926,344 to Roy; in view of US 2021/0197666 to Tanaka et al.; in view of US 2022/0097524 to Choi et al; in view of US 2019/0146216 to Mourou et al.; further in view of US 2018/0188531 to Dubey et al.
As per claim 21, Roy teaches an autonomous vehicle, comprising:
least one processor (column 1, lines 50-55, “The autonomous vehicle includes a processor communicatively coupled to the sensor”); and
a memory including instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the autonomous vehicle (column 6, lines 29-51) to:
receive sensor data (column 1, lines 50-55, “The autonomous vehicle includes a processor communicatively coupled to the sensor”) from one or more sensor on the autonomous vehicle;
perceive a condition based on the sensor data, wherein the condition includes another road user in an operating environment of the autonomous vehicle (column 7, lines 30-35, “The autonomous vehicle (AV) 10 includes a sensor 15 supported by the body 14 for detecting an object in a vicinity of the autonomous vehicle 10. The object may be a pedestrian or cyclist.”);
determine a vehicle intention of the autonomous vehicle including one or more automated driving actions to be performed by the autonomous vehicle responsive to the another road user (column 8, lines 50-55, “the AV 10 will act safely to avoid the pedestrian or cyclist or to stop or yield for the pedestrian or cyclist”); and
cause a second notification to be projected outside the autonomous vehicle onto a road surface in the operating environment, wherein the second notification includes a communication of both the perceived condition (Fig. 56, shape 60) and the vehicle intention (Fig. 56, STOP sign 286 is at least indirectly, a notification that the vehicle intends to go).
Roy does not necessarily teach to cause a first notification to be displayed on the transparent display, wherein the transparent display displays the first notification on both sides of the transparent display, the first notification is displayed as a real image on the transparent display as a real image using the transparent display, and wherein the real image is visible from within the autonomous vehicle and outside the autonomous vehicle.
Tanaka teaches to cause a first notification to be displayed on the transparent display (Fig. 1, paragraph 59, display 110 outputs warning message onto windshield 310), wherein the transparent display displays the first notification on both sides of the transparent display (Fig. 1, paragraph 59, visibility through the windshield implies that the driver sees the image and the image is also at least partially visible from outside), the first notification is displayed as a real image on the transparent display as a real image using the transparent display, and wherein the real image is visible from within the autonomous vehicle and outside the autonomous vehicle (Fig. 1, paragraph 59, visibility through the windshield implies that the driver sees the image and the image is also at least partially visible from outside).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Roy to cause a first notification to be displayed on the transparent display, wherein the transparent display displays the first notification on both sides of the transparent display, the first notification is displayed as a real image on the transparent display as a real image using the transparent display, and wherein the real image is visible from within the autonomous vehicle and outside the autonomous vehicle, such taught by Tanaka, for the purpose of improving driver safety.
Roy and Tanaka do not necessarily teach wherein the transparent display is configured to display the first notification on both sides of the transparent display, the real image from within and outside the autonomous vehicle.
Choi et al. teach wherein the transparent display is configured to display the first notification on both sides of the transparent display, the real image from within and outside the autonomous vehicle (Fig. 9, paragraph 129, notice that the turning signal notification image is visible from both inside and outside the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Tanaka et al., so that the transparent display is configured to display the first notification on both sides of the transparent display, the real image from within and outside the autonomous vehicle, for the purpose of ensuring operation safety.
Roy, Tanaka and Choi do not teach wherein the transparent display that uses a transparent display technology that allows for a background of the display to be transparent when displaying the first notification, wherein the transparent display comprises a transparent organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display or liquid crystal display (LCD) laminated disposed between inner and outer glass layers of the windowed surface, wherein the first notification comprises a single visual communication that includes both the perceived condition and the vehicle intention, and a second transparent display comprising a transparent OLED display or LCD laminated disposed between the inner and outer glass layers of the windowed surface.
Mourou et al. teach wherein the transparent display that uses a transparent display technology that allows for a background of the display to be transparent when displaying the first notification (paragraph 4), wherein the transparent display comprises a transparent organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display or liquid crystal display (LCD) (paragraph 5, “Each display circuit includes a discrete array of electronically-activated light elements, which may be in the nature of LED or LCD cells”) laminated disposed between inner and outer glass layers of the windowed surface (Fig. 2), wherein the first notification comprises a single visual communication that includes both the perceived condition and the vehicle intention ((paragraph 4, “an automotive-grade exterior/interior transparent display that is operable to communicate with the vehicle occupants as well as pedestrians, cyclists, and neighboring vehicles, while allowing occupants to look out of the vehicle”; paragraph 18, “identify information based on these monitored inputs that will be relayed to the vehicle occupants or to passing pedestrians, vehicles, etc., and determine a graphical representation of the selected information” paragraph 19, ”As a dual-sided display device, the front windshield unit 18 is capable of selectively displaying a first set of images superimposed within an occupant's forward-facing field of view through the front windshield 18, and selectively displaying a second set of images, similar or distinct from the first, that are readily decipherable by persons outside of the vehicle 10.”)), and a second transparent display comprising a transparent OLED display or LCD laminated disposed between the inner and outer glass layers of the windowed surface (Fig. 2, paragraph 21, “the front windshield unit 18 with dual-sided transparent display capabilities”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Roy, Tanaka and Choi, so that the transparent display uses a transparent display technology that allows for a background of the display to be transparent when displaying the first notification, the transparent display comprises a transparent organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display or liquid crystal display (LCD) laminated disposed between inner and outer glass layers of the windowed surface, wherein the first notification comprises a single visual communication that includes both the perceived condition and the vehicle intention and a second transparent display comprising a transparent OLED display or LCD laminated disposed between the inner and outer glass layers of the windowed surface, such as taught by Mourou et al., for the purpose of communicating information to both vehicle occupants and exterior pedestrians, cyclists and neighboring vehicles.
Tanaka, Choi and Mourou et al. do not teach causing a pattern to be displayed on the second transparent display of the windowed surface in line with the first notification, and wherein displaying the pattern in line with the first notification obfuscates the first notification from view outside the autonomous vehicle.
Dubey et al. teach causing a pattern to be displayed on the second transparent display of the windowed surface in line with the first notification, and wherein displaying the pattern in line with the first notification obfuscates the first notification from view outside the autonomous vehicle (paragraph 63, “In the first mode, which is also referred to as “privacy mode” light from the OLED display is blocked out such that the displayed information is no longer visible from the secondary side … the pixels of the OLED display and of the masking display are aligned such that pixels of the masking display can be used to selectively mask out only the illuminated pixels of the OLED display or regions around the illuminated pixels”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Tanaka, Choi and Mourou et al., by causing a pattern to be displayed on the second transparent display of the windowed surface in line with the first notification, and wherein displaying the pattern in line with the first notification obfuscates the first notification from view outside the autonomous vehicle, such as taught by Dubey et al., for the purpose of providing user privacy.
Conclusion
/JOSE R SOTO LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694