DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wilkins et al. (U.S. 2021/0097791).
As to claim 5, Wilkins discloses an expansion component, para-0092+, comprising:
a case (301 or 401, para-0138+), comprising a bottom plate (300), a top plate (not label, but the top plate is formed on top of the openings 310, 418), and a first to fourth side edges (side walls 302) that are sequentially connected, wherein the first to fourth side edges (302) are respectively connected to the bottom plate (300) and the top plate to form an accommodating space;
two openings (310, 418), running through the top plate and located on the first side edge, wherein the two openings are respectively adjacent to the second side edge and the fourth side edge;
a partition (divider 406), arranged in the accommodating space and parallel to the bottom plate (300), wherein the partition (406) divides the accommodating space into an upper compartment and a lower compartment; and
a plurality of electronic components (204-218, 252-262), arranged in the accommodating space and scattered in the upper compartment and the lower compartment.
As to claim 6, Wilkins further comprising two assembly grooves (the grooves within the openings 310, 418), respectively corresponding to the two openings (310, 418), wherein the two assembly grooves are connected to the top plate and are recessed toward the bottom plate (300).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Wilkins in view of Degner et al. (U.S. 2013/0327507).
Regarding claims 7, Wilkins discloses all of the limitations except for two
fans, respectively assembled in the two assembly grooves.
Degner teaches a portable electronic device (100) as shown in figure 1
comprising two fans (102, 104), respectively assembled in the two assembly grooves.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Degner employed in the assembly of
Wilkins in order to provide excellent heat dissipation structure.
Regarding claims 8, Wilkins as modified by Degner teaches two heat
dissipation pipe grooves (106) are recessed on a side of the top plate away from the
bottom plate, and the two heat dissipation pipe grooves respectively extend from the
third side edge to the two corresponding openings.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Wilkins in view of Oberpriller et al. (U.S. 20120170203).
Regarding claims 12, Nakajima discloses two [[waterproof]] cover plates
(143), correspondingly covering the two openings (138), except for the cover plate acts
as a waterproof.
Oberpriller teaches a quick mount system for computer terminal (100) as shown
in figures 14-15 comprising the waterproof cover (1430) covering the opening of the
housing (103).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filling date to have a teaching of Oberpriller employed in the expansion
component of Wilkins in order to prevent water and dust entering into the component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11, and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1, 4, and 15-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
For claims 1, 4:
In response to remarks and claimed amendments made in Applicant’s Amendment filed on 01/16/2026, applicant’s arguments are persuasive. Amended claims have been considered and upon conclusion of a comprehensive search of the prior arts. The Office indicates that the claim, as amended, are allowable.
For claims 15-20:
Neither the references cited nor the cited references teach, suggest, or in combination of an expansion component having a first circuit board, accommodated in the upper compartment; a second circuit board, accommodated in the lower compartment; at least one battery, accommodated in the lower compartment and electrically connected to the second circuit board; and a connector, penetrating the partition and electrically connected to the first circuit board and the second circuit board.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,4-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847