DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action responds to the Application filed on 2/6/2023 and IDS filed on 5/28/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Najibi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 12,417,336 B1).
As per claim 1, Najibi discloses:
A method comprising:
constructing a set of reference design contents associated with a set of reference design recipes (See Col 44 to Col 6; Line 35, i.e. learning from data previously collected from IC designer’s modification session…every permutton setting…software setting…design settings, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. different relevance setting … previous circuit design … high relevance , See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10, See Col 13; Line 1-25, i.e. previous circuit design…setting related to a simulation –[prior art include previous circuit design considered as the reference design and setting of the previous circuit design considered as the recipe])
determining a content similarity between a user design content and a reference design content taken from the set of reference design contents (See Col 7; Line 16-42, i.e. how similar a prior design session compared to the current design session, See Col 13; Lines 1-25, i.e. identify similarities between the current circuit design and the one or more previous circuit designs); and
executing a design flow specified by a reference design recipe associated with the reference design content, as a result of the content similarity reaching a predetermined threshold (See Col 13; Lines 1-25, i.e. apply values obtained from the simulation data…setting related to a simulation, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. if there is high relevance 112, a very similar previous circuit design was found and the system can use the same permuton settings, See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10 –[prior art use settings from previous design for current design, considered as the design flow specified by the reference design recipe as cited above]).
As per claim 2, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses wherein each reference design content is associated with a reference design recipe in the set of reference design recipes (See Col 44 to Col 6; Line 35, i.e. learning from data previously collected from IC designer’s modification session…every permutton setting…software setting…design settings, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. different relevance setting … previous circuit design … high relevance , See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10, See Col 13; Line 1-25, i.e. previous circuit design…setting related to a simulation).
As per claim 3, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses wherein constructing the set of reference design contents comprises: constructing the reference design content from content parameters that include one or more design recipe parameters in the reference design recipe (See Col 44 to Col 6; Line 35, i.e. learning from data previously collected from IC designer’s modification session…every permutton setting…software setting…design settings, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. different relevance setting … previous circuit design … high relevance , See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10, See Col 13; Line 1-25, i.e. previous circuit design…setting related to a simulation).
As per claim 4, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses constructing the user design content from content parameters that include one or more design recipe parameters in a user design recipe (See Col 13; Lines 1-25, i.e. apply values obtained from the simulation data…setting related to a simulation, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. if there is high relevance 112, a very similar previous circuit design was found and the system can use the same permuton settings, See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10).
As per claim 5, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses wherein constructing the set of reference design contents comprises: constructing the reference design content from a reference design flow based on one or more content parameters which specify a technology targeted by the reference design flow (See Col 6; Line 1-35, i.e. library cell choices…IC size, IC aspect ratio, See Col 14; Lines 23-35, i.e. optimized for a target semiconductor manufacturing technology).
As per claim 6, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses wherein constructing the set of reference design contents comprises: constructing the user design content from a user design flow based on one or more content parameters which specify a technology targeted by the user design flow (See Col 6; Line 1-35, i.e. library cell choices…IC size, IC aspect ratio, See Col 14; Lines 23-35, i.e. optimized for a target semiconductor manufacturing technology).
As per claim 7, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses fetching the reference design content from a database (See Col 44 to Col 6; Line 35, i.e. learning from data previously collected from IC designer’s modification session…every permutton setting…software setting…design settings, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. different relevance setting … previous circuit design … high relevance , See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10, See Col 13; Line 1-25, i.e. previous circuit design…setting related to a simulation, See Col 1; Line 45-67, i.e. searching a database for data associated with previous design sessions).
As per claim 8, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses wherein executing the design flow comprises: optimizing the design flow while carrying out a machine learning session (See Col 13; Lines 1-25, i.e. apply values obtained from the simulation data…setting related to a simulation, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. if there is high relevance 112, a very similar previous circuit design was found and the system can use the same permuton settings, See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10, See Abstract, i.e. using machine learning to modify a current circuit design is provided).
As per claim 9, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 1 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses wherein executing the design flow comprises: executing the design flow based on a reference machine learning model associated with the reference design content (See Col 6; Lines 1-35, i.e. multiple machine learning strategies including incrementally searching entire search spaces…implemented learning strategies can be changed or adjusted based on how similar a prior search is with respect to a current design).
As per claim 10, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 9 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses fetching the reference design content and the reference machine learning model from a database (See Col 44 to Col 6; Line 35, i.e. learning from data previously collected from IC designer’s modification session…every permutton setting…software setting…design settings, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. different relevance setting … previous circuit design … high relevance , See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10, See Col 13; Line 1-25, i.e. previous circuit design…setting related to a simulation, See Col 1; Line 45-67, i.e. searching a database for data associated with previous design sessions).
As per claim 11, Najibi discloses:
A non-transitory machine-readable medium having instructions stored thereon, instructions being configured to cause a system having at least one processor to execute (See Figure 7, i.e. static memory and processing device):
constructing a set of reference design contents associated with a set of reference design recipes (See Col 44 to Col 6; Line 35, i.e. learning from data previously collected from IC designer’s modification session…every permutton setting…software setting…design settings, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. different relevance setting … previous circuit design … high relevance , See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10, See Col 13; Line 1-25, i.e. previous circuit design…setting related to a simulation –[prior art include previous circuit design considered as the reference design and setting of the previous circuit design considered as the recipe]);
determining a content similarity between a user design content and a reference design content taken from the set of reference design contents (See Col 7; Line 16-42, i.e. how similar a prior design session compared to the current design session, See Col 13; Lines 1-25, i.e. identify similarities between the current circuit design and the one or more previous circuit designs); and
executing a design flow specified by a reference design recipe associated with the reference design content, as a result of the content similarity reaching a predetermined threshold (See Col 13; Lines 1-25, i.e. apply values obtained from the simulation data…setting related to a simulation, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. if there is high relevance 112, a very similar previous circuit design was found and the system can use the same permuton settings, See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10 –[prior art use settings from previous design for current design, considered as the design flow specified by the reference design recipe as cited above]).
As per claim 12, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 11 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses wherein each reference design content is associated with a reference design recipe in the set of reference design recipes (See Col 44 to Col 6; Line 35, i.e. learning from data previously collected from IC designer’s modification session…every permutton setting…software setting…design settings, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. different relevance setting … previous circuit design … high relevance , See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10, See Col 13; Line 1-25, i.e. previous circuit design…setting related to a simulation).
As per claim 13, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 11 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses wherein constructing the set of reference design contents comprises: constructing the reference design content from content parameters that include one or more design recipe parameters in the reference design recipe (See Col 44 to Col 6; Line 35, i.e. learning from data previously collected from IC designer’s modification session…every permutton setting…software setting…design settings, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. different relevance setting … previous circuit design … high relevance , See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10, See Col 13; Line 1-25, i.e. previous circuit design…setting related to a simulation).
As per claim 14, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 11 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses wherein the instructions is configured to cause the system further to execute: constructing the user design content from content parameters that include one or more design recipe parameters in a user design recipe (See Col 13; Lines 1-25, i.e. apply values obtained from the simulation data…setting related to a simulation, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. if there is high relevance 112, a very similar previous circuit design was found and the system can use the same permuton settings, See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10).
As per claim 15, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 11 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses wherein constructing the set of reference design contents comprises: constructing the reference design content from a reference design flow based on one or more content parameters which specify a technology targeted by the reference design flow (See Col 6; Line 1-35, i.e. library cell choices…IC size, IC aspect ratio, See Col 14; Lines 23-35, i.e. optimized for a target semiconductor manufacturing technology).
As per claim 16, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 11 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses wherein constructing the set of reference design contents comprises: constructing the user design content from a user design flow based on one or more content parameters which specify a technology targeted by the user design flow (See Col 6; Line 1-35, i.e. library cell choices…IC size, IC aspect ratio, See Col 14; Lines 23-35, i.e. optimized for a target semiconductor manufacturing technology).
As per claim 17, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 11 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses wherein the instructions is configured to cause the system further to execute: fetching the reference design content from a database (See Col 44 to Col 6; Line 35, i.e. learning from data previously collected from IC designer’s modification session…every permutton setting…software setting…design settings, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. different relevance setting … previous circuit design … high relevance , See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10, See Col 13; Line 1-25, i.e. previous circuit design…setting related to a simulation, See Col 1; Line 45-67, i.e. searching a database for data associated with previous design sessions).
As per claim 18, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 11 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses wherein executing the design flow comprises: optimizing the design flow while carrying out a machine learning session (See Col 13; Lines 1-25, i.e. apply values obtained from the simulation data…setting related to a simulation, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. if there is high relevance 112, a very similar previous circuit design was found and the system can use the same permuton settings, See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10, See Abstract, i.e. using machine learning to modify a current circuit design is provided).
As per claim 19, Najibi discloses all of the features of claim 11 as discloses above wherein Najibi also discloses wherein executing the design flow comprises: executing the design flow based on a reference machine learning model associated with the reference design content (See Col 6; Lines 1-35, i.e. multiple machine learning strategies including incrementally searching entire search spaces…implemented learning strategies can be changed or adjusted based on how similar a prior search is with respect to a current design).
As per claim 20, Najibi discloses:
A system for manufacturing a semiconductor device, the system comprising: at least one processor; at least one non-transitory computer readable medium that stores computer executable code; and the at least one non-transitory computer readable medium, the computer executable code and the at least one processor being configured to cause the system (See Figure 7, i.e. static memory and processing device) to:
construct a set of reference design contents associated with a set of reference design recipes (See Col 44 to Col 6; Line 35, i.e. learning from data previously collected from IC designer’s modification session…every permutton setting…software setting…design settings, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. different relevance setting … previous circuit design … high relevance , See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10, See Col 13; Line 1-25, i.e. previous circuit design…setting related to a simulation –[prior art include previous circuit design considered as the reference design and setting of the previous circuit design considered as the recipe]),
determine a content similarity between a user design content and a reference design content taken from the set of reference design contents (See Col 7; Line 16-42, i.e. how similar a prior design session compared to the current design session, See Col 13; Lines 1-25, i.e. identify similarities between the current circuit design and the one or more previous circuit designs), and
execute a design flow specified by a reference design recipe associated with the reference design content, as a result of the content similarity reaching a predetermined threshold (See Col 13; Lines 1-25, i.e. apply values obtained from the simulation data…setting related to a simulation, See Col 7; Line 16 to Col 8 ; Line 58, i.e. if there is high relevance 112, a very similar previous circuit design was found and the system can use the same permuton settings, See Col 8; Line 59 to Col 10; Line 10 –[prior art use settings from previous design for current design, considered as the design flow specified by the reference design recipe as cited above]).
Conclusion
/NHA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851